We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Original Sokos Hotel Kupittaa

Save
Share
Joukahaisenkatu 6, Turku 20520 Finland
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
Booking.com
ZenHotels.com
US$159
View deal
Expedia.comUS$161
Orbitz.com
Travelocity
View all 13 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (70)
Room & Suite (23)
Dining (9)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#11 of 20 hotels in Turku
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Original Sokos Hotel Kupittaa is a cozy and welcoming hotel, in the new and vibrant heart of Kupittaa in Turku. The hotel rooms are new, attractive and fresh and our restaurant Bistro Elli prepares tasty bistro dishes with a modern twist and offers the best beers and house wines. Hotel services include also deli&bar and sauna&gym.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Electric vehicle charging station
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Highchairs available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Rooftop terrace
Paid private parking on-site
Wifi
Sauna
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Kids' meals
Rooftop bar
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
ATM on site
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Room service
Walk-in shower
Bath / shower
Safe
Sofa
Telephone
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English, Finnish, Swedish
79Reviews0Q+A6Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 26
  • 21
  • 17
  • 12
  • 3
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Nickan wrote a review Dec 2022
7 contributions
Rooms were modern, clean and had a nice twist! Loved the map-wallpaper with QRcodes so you could check places to go. Was amazed that the hotel was so quiet even if the windov faced down to the busy street. Didn't hear anything from the rooms next to me eighter. Breakfast was good but during rush hour the bread was all gone! At least the white, fresh baked bread. And the rooms were smart rooms! The lights were planned so smart and you could turn them on and off from several spots. The bathroom nightlight was the best, turned on automatically when you entered and was placed under the sink. I will never stay at any other hotel in Turku than this!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: All rooms are quiet.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
250pasir wrote a review Dec 2022
Valkeakoski, Finland242 contributions148 helpful votes
I visited during the spring in the hotel before my current visit. The quality has decreased a lot in few months. When we arrived, room did not have bed set for our kid even if he was part of reservation. Well, bed was set rapidly but all the others like towels, glasses, mugs etc were forgotten and we needed to request them. We went to order pizza but they were too hurry to do pizza since pizza was not the default one but a bit modified. Local pizzeria in 700m did not have issue with it.. Breakfast is chaos, coffees are out many times during the service same for other items that were served. One person taking care of dishes from tables and you may guess she could not do that for whole big buffet room. Breakfast was very bad experience and it seems that other claim the same but hotel does not care. When we were leaving, just the receipt to hand but no queries how was the stay etc. May be they knew already that service was under any level. I do not think I got what I paid so I'm going to make reclamation. Let see what they respond or do they even care. I'll update the review after getting responses. My recommendation is to select Seurahuone, Kupittaa has severe issues in service and general hospitaliness.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Select other hotel, severe issues in customer service and hospitality.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Sanna A wrote a review Nov 2022
Europe23 contributions2 helpful votes
I stayed two nights in November. Staff was friendly although seemed a bit unexperienced. Soundptoofing in room was non existent, everything from corridor could be heard in the room. Quite a long wait for the elevators. Both mornings the porridge was cold at breakfast (on 1st morning it was just brought from the kitchen), and on the second morning the coffee machine was empty and I had to ask it to be refilled. Small things, but shouldn’t happen if you want people to come back.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
MUHAMMEDSANCAR wrote a review Oct 2022
Istanbul, Türkiye628 contributions491 helpful votes
I Stayed there only one night. It was very close to Turku railway station, just 50 meters away. Close to Turku city center(2 km by walk). Breakfast was good. What I like is there was a good restaurants downstairs called Elli Bistro. We enjoyed there a lot. Room was so big and it was good. Definitely recommended
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Heidi i wrote a review Aug 2022
1 contribution
Stayed for 5 days, a really stylish and beautiful atmosphere. Friendly staff and 24/7 deli. Vegan options at breakfast and restaurant disappointing, more effort would be needed. Cleanliness 3/5 stars.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
JariJK wrote a review Aug 2022
Kouvola, Finland5317 contributions336 helpful votes
+1
Original Sokos Hotel Kupittaa is situated in the same building complex with Kupittaa Railway Station. There is an indoor corridor between the hotel and the station. For the next two years (since August 15th, 2022) Kupittaa Station will be the main railway station of Turku, because the railway station in the core of the city will be renovated. The surroundings of Original Sokos Hotel Kupittaa aren't very beautiful. There are big roads, two construction works, a large hospital, colleges and offices around the hotel. Traffic noise disturbed our sleep quality a bit. The walking distance to the city center is about two kilometers. Rooms are modern and stylish, either black or white. We had a safety deposit box, an iron and an ironing board, a fridge, an electric kettle and a table fan in our standard room. The air-conditioning system seemed to be self-adjustable but it wasn't possible to adjust it because it was remote controlled. Vegan birch soap and shampoo by Lumene were available in our bathroom but there wasn't any conditioner or body lotion. This big hotel has three lifts (elevators) but only two of them were available for customers. The third lift was locked and reserved only for the staff, also in the evening. That was very silly. Lifts were congested all the time and we had to wait lifts very long. The breakfast buffet was available from 6.30 am to 10 am on weekdays. There is one buffet table right next to the reception and another buffet table on the opposite side of the restaurant. Especially the buffet next to the reception was congested all the time. They informed that 9 am - 10 am is the busiest breakfast time. However, on Thursday August 4th they closed another buffet at 9.10 am. First they took away all scoops. So people took food with their forks. Soon the staff took away all food, too. I asked why they did so and they answered: "We have to make it before 10 am." What! The breakfast buffet should be open until 10 am and 9 am - 10 am is the busiest time according to themselves! Drinking glasses were out very often. I asked for new glasses but the waitress started to drink herself and asked to wait. Some people got glasses under the counter, other people not. The deli on the ground floor was open 24/7 (at least now). I am not sure if it is always so. The rooftop bar (the sky bar) of the hotel is very good. Also delicious mocktails are available. The small rooftop gym with view is situated peculiarly next to the bar. Customers may also use the nearby M&M Kuntotalo Kupittaa Gym for free.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Malin N wrote a review Aug 2022
1 contribution
When we arrived at the hotel early, the receptionist took her time to notice us, she could have greeted us and told us she has to finish up something first before checking us in. Then the checking in part was problematic because we arrived at 13:35 and our room wasn't ready. We didn't expect it to be, but wanted to check in when there was no que and also wanted to leave our car in the garage before walking to the nearby Adventure park for kids. She explained a lot about the parking and when I looked a bit confused, she bluntly asked if it was too much and I told her it was, she repeated the main parts in a quite snappy tone. We got to check in and went out for a loooong walk. In the evening when we came back to the hotel and wanted to pick up the keycards from the reception, we again got to wait not beeing seen for a while. When we got up to the room the sofabed had not been turned down for our two bigger kids, but they had brought a crib bed that we hadn't asked for, for our 3 years old. It made it a bit more cramped in the room. The room wasn't cleaned properly, there are shelves inside the door for storage, but they were very dusty and one of tge glasses had some lipgloss on it, for some reason there were also two ironingboards in tge room. There were also some trash from the previous guests on the bathroom shelf. The hotel seems unorganized and the receptionists seem so busy with their computers they don't greet the guest. In the evening the restaurant was busy and when dining with three kids you would like it to go smoothly. The positive thing was they had a kids buffet that you could choose from, however I wish they would have realized that the pauses between the courses for adults also weren't necessary as the kids don't have the nerves to sit and wait while their parents wait for their different courses. The buffet style breakfast doesn't work with near full capacity, and the layout of the breakfast seemed to vary from one morning to another, which doesn't make it easier as a guest to know where would be the smartest to go and get your food. There aren't enought elevators when there are a lot of guests in the hotel, I've never seen such traffic in the stairs in a 9 floors high hotel.. 2/3 elevators were for guests and one for staff. In summertime there are a lot of familys as guests and there is no playroom at all in the hotel. The street noise even on the 7th floor is very notable and on our second morning they blew up something on the construction site across the street at 6 o'clock in the morning and at 6:45... There wasn't any mention of such possible noises even in our reservation confirmation.. All in all not nearly the best experience in Sokos hotels. Hope they find ways to improve the ecperience.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
kristin wrote a review Jul 2022
Halden Municipality, Norway1 contribution
The room had a lot of dust on the trim and on the shelves. There were also hair in the shower drain when we came, so it was not from us. They didn’t remove it the next time they came and cleaned the room either. They also clean only every third day. They also forgot to clean around the sink and on the toilet to give some examples, so the cleaning was all over poorly. We had two rooms and there were the same bad cleaning things/problems on both rooms. There were also old white stains on the carpet. The breakfast was ok, and the rooftop bar was cosy. No noise from the outside of the hotel or in the hall.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: There were few parking places in the hotels parking garage. And it was also very narrow parking...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
donnaa80 wrote a review Jun 2022
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania69 contributions39 helpful votes
Sokos hotels are like no other. They’re not just a place to sleep while you explore a city, they are a destination. When it comes to friendly and helpful staff, modern and comfortable rooms, and delicious food, I have found few hotels come close the the standard of care and the beautiful interior design that you find at Sokos. I have stayed at several Sokos hotels around Finland and each one has a unique character, while offering the same excellent breakfasts, comfortable beds, and delightful staff. In fact, I am planning a trip around Finland, specifically to stay at each Sokos hotel that I have not yet visited. If you want to be as excited about the hotel as you are about your purpose for staying in a hotel, stay at a Sokos.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Conveniently located - you can lwalk to central Turku, and the train station is next to the...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Original Sokos Hotel Kupittaa, Marketing at Original Sokos Hotel Kupittaa
Responded 13 Jul 2022
Hello donnaa80, Thank you for your excellent review! We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and hope you will visit us again on your next trip to Finland. Have a lovely summer! Best regards, Reception
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
AnniZelina wrote a review Jun 2022
Finland20 contributions3 helpful votes
Loved our visit here once again. Only minus goes to the parking garage being full after paying 15 euros for parking there. We didn’t get a refund and had to park outside of the hotel + pay again via Easypark. Bummer.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Original Sokos Hotel Kupittaa, Marketing at Original Sokos Hotel Kupittaa
Responded 13 Jul 2022
Hi, Thank you for your excellent review. I'm sorry to hear you didn't get a refund on your parking fee, you should have gotten one in the reception when you informed us that the garage was full! Hopefully we get to have you as our guest again soon. Best regards, Reception
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$130 - US$162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
FinlandSouthwest FinlandTurku
NUMBER OF ROOMS
196
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

ORIGINAL SOKOS HOTEL KUPITTAA - UPDATED 2022 Reviews & Price Comparison (Turku, Finland) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Original Sokos Hotel Kupittaa
Which popular attractions are close to Original Sokos Hotel Kupittaa?
Nearby attractions include Luostarinmäen Käsityöläismuseo (1.1 km), Turku Cathedral (1.0 km), and Sibeliusmuseum (1.0 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Original Sokos Hotel Kupittaa?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a rooftop bar, free wifi, and free breakfast.
Which room amenities are available at Original Sokos Hotel Kupittaa?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, blackout curtains, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Original Sokos Hotel Kupittaa?
Guests can enjoy a rooftop bar, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Original Sokos Hotel Kupittaa?
Yes, paid private parking on-site is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Original Sokos Hotel Kupittaa?
Conveniently located restaurants include Delhi Darbar, Yangtze Chinese Restaurant, and Restaurant Gustavo.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Original Sokos Hotel Kupittaa?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre and a sauna during their stay.
Are pets allowed at Original Sokos Hotel Kupittaa?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Original Sokos Hotel Kupittaa?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Swedish, and Finnish.
Are there any historical sites close to Original Sokos Hotel Kupittaa?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Turku Cathedral (1.0 km), Abo Akademi (1.0 km), and Littoisten Verkatehdas (5.9 km).
Is Original Sokos Hotel Kupittaa accessible?
Yes, it offers reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.