We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Original Sokos Hotel Ilves

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (352)
Room & Suite (240)
Dining (27)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#5 of 21 hotels in Tampere
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
This central, 19-story high hotel offers fantastic views over the city in a prominent location in the heart of town, at the back of Tammerkoski. The hotel is close to all services such as shopping center and restaurants, as well as the lively nightlife. Sokos Hotel Ilves has 3 restaurants, pub and a nightclub meaning that your palette will never get bored. Your taste buds will be pampered with Northern European delicacies, flavors from Italy, Mexico and France though you are only on a visit in Finland. The hotel has meeting facilities for 300 people and offers free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel, making it easy for you to stay in contact with important business associates as well as friends and family. To truly relax during your stay, take a dip in our pool or unwind in the sauna, the perfect tonic for a day of business meetings or sightseeing.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Electric vehicle charging station
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Bicycles available
Nightclub / DJ
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Paid private parking on-site
Car park
Wifi
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Sauna
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Air conditioning
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
River View
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English, Finnish, Swedish
927Reviews1Q+A74Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 287
  • 468
  • 135
  • 29
  • 8
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Sari S wrote a review Feb 2024
77 contributions11 helpful votes
Hotel is renovated that is good. Rooms are clean, super clean huge plus for that! Bed is dopg, get a good night sleep. But you can hear everything thrue walls, even cough. Retaurant are not good, eat elsewhere. But hotel athmosphere is good, but still I will go another hotel next time.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Parking! Do not park under hotel. Whole parking place is too small for any cars.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sokos Hotel Tampere, Other at Original Sokos Hotel Ilves
Responded 27 Feb 2024
Hello Sari! Thank you for your visit and your feedback! Nice to hear that you liked our renovated rooms and slept well. Sorry to hear that one of our restaurants didn't fill up your expectations this time. You are still welcomed again! Best regards, Emma Reception
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Maya P wrote a review Jan 2024
Jyväskylä, Finland28 contributions28 helpful votes
Beautiful room, freshly renovated. Nice view from the 15th floor, very quiet as requested. Good deco and lights. Stylish and fresh. Dirty waterglasses in the bathroom: someones eyelash in one and a dirty fingerprint inside another. Uncomfortable bed, didnt feel stable. Two sleeping pillows+ decorative pillow. Breakfast was almost good, it had everything right on paper but all veggies had dried from surface from the prep, apparentently from the previous night. Orange juice tasted like it’s been industrially made, not from orange. Staff was very friendly and nice. Parking on the lower garage level = you have to carry your luggage up steep stairs. Signs are not clear, also really small space for cars, not clearly marked spaces = people park on 2 spots.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sokos Hotel Tampere, Other at Original Sokos Hotel Ilves
Responded 31 Jan 2024
Dear 667busybee, Thank you for your review. I'm sorry to hear there were problems with the room. I hope you contacted the reception during your stay and we were able to fix the problems straight away. Sad to hear that you didn't like our beds. I will tell your feedback also to our breakfast! Great to hear that you liked our renovated rooms! Lovely that our staff was friendly, I will tell many thanks to them! Best regards, Saila Service Manager Original Sokos Hotel Ilves
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Jenny wrote a review Jul 2023
Copenhagen, Denmark8 contributions2 helpful votes
It was beautiful hotel and the location is perfect. Many restaurats/bars/ coffee places are near. Also big shopping center is around the corner. Breakfast was amazing. Big plus was that we got to charge our car for only 5€. There where many charging machines And thats not so common.I will go again.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sokos Hotel Tampere, Other at Original Sokos Hotel Ilves
Responded 31 Jul 2023
Hi Jenna, Thank you for your stay and review. Welcome again! BR, Tuuli Reception
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
kmp828 wrote a review Jul 2023
Helsinki, Finland44 contributions7 helpful votes
Great location with great view over Tampere. Check-in was terrible, took really long time. Breakfasts was a hassle. Hard to find tidy table. Long queues to get the food and when you finally get there, there were only empty plates.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sokos Hotel Tampere, Other at Original Sokos Hotel Ilves
Responded 31 Jul 2023
Thank you for your review kmp828! I'm sorry to hear that there was a wait when you were checking in. I hope that your stay was nice even though there was a hassle at the breakfast and you were able to find everything you needed there. BR, Tuuli Tontti Service Manager Reception
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
MJ_Aspen wrote a review Jul 2023
Valkeakoski, Finland4 contributions
Visited here for a one night stay in July 2023 with my son. The service at the reception was very friendly and smooth, we didn't have to wait a long time even though the hotel was apparently quite full. The reception staff was also very friendly and attentive towards my son, and it seems the hotel is a great option for lone travelers, couples and families all alike. Our room was on the 9th floor with a decent view partly towards the river and partly towards the roofs of the shopping mall next door. The room was recently refurbished and very clean, and we really liked it. Even though the room was almost directly opposite the elevators it was still very quiet and peaceful. The problem with the room was the temperature, which was too hot for getting a comfortable sleep. I had to use a wet towel to cool myself during the night. Another problem was with the bed. While it was basically very comfortable, the mattress topper didn't stay in its place and was sliding out of the bed so that it needed to be adjusted several times. My son even fell from the bed once because of this problem. Maybe the problem is worse with the twin beds we had compared to the bigger beds. Another small issue is with the children's playroom. While it's great that the hotel has this area for the kids, compared to other parts of the hotel it felt kind of unfinished and shabby, and it feels like the space allocated to it could be used more efficiently to provide more options for the kids. The air hockey strikers need replacing, the bottom felt has been worn out and it doesn't slide smoothly on the table anymore. The swimming pool area looks nice even though we didn't have time to try it. Breakfast had many options and provided a great start for the new day. The location of the hotel is great in the heart of Tampere with plenty of restaurants and shopping options close by. The location is also convenient for public transportation, and arrival by car is also possible. Overall a very good experience, but not perfect as the sleep could have been better due to the hot room temperature and the sliding mattress toppers. Also the children's playroom needs some attention.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sokos Hotel Tampere, Other at Original Sokos Hotel Ilves
Responded 31 Jul 2023
Hi MJ, Thank you for your review and stay with us! I hope you brought up the problem with the air condition and bed during your stay so we were able to fix the problem. Hope to see you again! BR, Tuuli Reception
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Tuuli E wrote a review Jun 2023
Turku, Finland66 contributions22 helpful votes
Really tidy, stylish and modern hotel. Stayed here for business and slept really well in the room. The room was on the 9th floor with really nice views to the riverside, although I heard from others that their views weren't as great - towards the shops. Ate in Amarillo and Ballroom 3, the meals were rather good and there were enough options, I liked the breakfast especially. All in all, I would stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sokos Hotel Tampere, Other at Original Sokos Hotel Ilves
Responded 18 Jun 2023
Hi, Thank you for your feedback. I am happy to hear that you liked the food in our restaurants, and that the room was nice as well :) Hope to see you again soon! Kind regards, Tanja Korhonen Reception Service Manager Original Sokos Hotel Ilves
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Anders K wrote a review May 2023
78 contributions37 helpful votes
This is a typical Sokos Hotel. If you want to see how long it can take to check-in, you need to visit this one. It can take very long. Not too organized staff. Well, the guests were not the easiest ones. Lots of hassle. Me not like. Also, no contactless payments by phone due to deposit. Me not like.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sokos Hotel Tampere, Other at Original Sokos Hotel Ilves
Responded 30 May 2023
Hello Anders, Thank you for your feedback. I am very sorry to hear that your check-in didn't go smoothly and you had to wait a long time. Hopefully your stay with us was otherwise pleasant and we'll have you as our guest again some time. Have a great summer. Kind regards, Tanja Korhonen Reception Service Manager Original Sokos Hotel Ilves
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
JM wrote a review Apr 2023
Espoo, Finland2 contributions
The Hotel staff was very welcoming and helpfull. Clean and tidy as expexted. Only downside is that the parking garage is old and parking spaces thus quite small for modern vehicles. You gotta be careful there.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sokos Hotel Tampere, Other at Original Sokos Hotel Ilves
Responded 1 May 2023
Hi! Thank you for your feedback. Nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us :) Hope to see you again soon! Kind regards, Tanja Korhonen Reception Service Manager Original Sokos Hotel Ilves
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Mikael F wrote a review Apr 2023
Helsinki, Finland30625 contributions2527 helpful votes
+1
On arrival morning, I changed our booking from the nearby Scandic to this hotel. I found out that the price of the Presidential Suite had been dropped to 363 euros. The normal price of this suite is around 750 euros and the price with the green S-bonus card is around 550 euros. In July 2014, we paid the summer sale price (-40 %) of 340 euros. The hotel was recently renovated. The decor of this spacious top-floor suite is now much more stunning than it was. However, during our stay, we found two big problems. The air conditioning is working lazily. This suite and half of the other rooms are facing south. It was a sunny Easter day and the sun was shining all day to the suite and it was too hot. The windows cannot be opened. The second issue was the poor sound insulation. Everything could be heard through the doors of the connecting room. The ice-hockey team Tappara won that evening and in the middle of the night at 3:00, a loud party was started in the neighboring room. Although our bedroom was not next to that room, we woke up. The banging and screaming were at that level. Maybe, the neighboring room should be kept vacant if the hotel is not fully booked. The same thing can happen in the other direction. I am sure that this suite is booked for many kinds of parties. It is very suitable for that. The same issues were left we found during our previous stay: long queues for check-in and busy breakfast.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Minna M wrote a review Sept 2022
United Kingdom11 contributions9 helpful votes
Spacious and clean bedroom and bathroom. Breakfast ok in Finnish standards. Newly renovated. Would be better if swimming pool was open in the morning and afternoon (currently only evening) and if beds & pillows were more comfortable. We were unable to turn the temperature down so it was on the warmer side to sleep.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Tampere area.
PRICE RANGE
€119 - €178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
sokos hotel tampere
LOCATION
FinlandPirkanmaaTampere
NUMBER OF ROOMS
336
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

ORIGINAL SOKOS HOTEL ILVES - UPDATED 2024 Reviews & Price Comparison (Tampere, Finland) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Original Sokos Hotel Ilves
Which popular attractions are close to Original Sokos Hotel Ilves?
Nearby attractions include ElämysTeeri - Room Escape (0.2 km), Church of St. Alexander Nevsky and St. Nicholas (0.3 km), and Hämeensilta (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Original Sokos Hotel Ilves?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and free breakfast.
Which room amenities are available at Original Sokos Hotel Ilves?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Original Sokos Hotel Ilves?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Original Sokos Hotel Ilves?
Yes, a parking garage, paid private parking on-site, and paid public parking on-site are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Original Sokos Hotel Ilves?
Conveniently located restaurants include Rioni Tampere, Kauppahalli, and Zeytuun.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Original Sokos Hotel Ilves?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Is Original Sokos Hotel Ilves located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.3 km away from the centre of Tampere.
Are any cleaning services offered at Original Sokos Hotel Ilves?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Original Sokos Hotel Ilves?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Original Sokos Hotel Ilves offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.