We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Laajavuorentie 30, Jyväskylä 40740 Finland
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.com
US$135
View deal
TripadvisorUS$135
Hotels.com
Booking.comUS$135
TravelocityUS$135
ScandicHotels.comUS$135
PricelineUS$135
View all 15 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (75)
Room & Suite (53)
Dining (16)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#6 of 9 hotels in Jyväskylä
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Hotel in suburban area catering to tourists & conventions; 4 km to town & railway station; 18 km to JYV airport.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Bowling
Game room
Indoor play area for children
Parking
Wifi
Indoor pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Sauna
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Kids' meals
Snack bar
Hiking
Skiing
Nightclub / DJ
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Airport transportation
Business Centre with Internet Access
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Facial treatments
Hammam
Massage
Baggage storage
Gift shop
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Ironing service
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Family
Languages Spoken
English, Finnish, Swedish
342Reviews1Q+A7Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 65
  • 131
  • 87
  • 44
  • 15
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Fleur wrote a review Aug 2022
Groningen, The Netherlands3 contributions
We stayed in a family room on a warm day. The room was extremely hot and the windows were locked. A ventilator was present but noisy and only moving the hot air around. Reception next morning shrugged off our complaints: oh! But we have a key for the windows. The reception was not answering the phone on the day we arrived. The girl said she had not had the time to answer the phone because they were understaffed. The Little Italy restaurant, in line with its name, served extremely small portions of good pasta. The strawberry dessert had no strawberries. The main course plates were never removed from the table, dessert was simply placed next to the empty plates. On a more positive note, the kids got a nice welcome drink and liked the pool.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Scandic Laajavuori, Guest Services / Front Office at Scandic Laajavuori
Responded 11 Aug 2022
Dear 352fleurk Thank you for your visit to Scandic Laajavuori. I am sorry you got a bad experience in our hotel. We have been blessed with the summer weathers in Finland and unfortunately it has a huge effect to our rooms as we don't have the adjustable cooling system at the moment. I will forward your feedback also to our restaurant side. This has a lot to talk about in our next management meeting today and we take all the feedbacks very seriously. Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback. That is the only way we can improve our services. I am very glad that you enjoyed the kids welcome drink and our pool are. Hopefully you will come and visit our hotel again in the near future. Kind regards, Aino Heikkilä Head Concierge / Front Office Manager Scandic Laajavuori
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sarkta wrote a review Jul 2022
3 contributions
Nice overnight as always. Located out of city center but perfect for us. From the upper floor rooms with balconies you have a beautiful view to towards the the city. At 8 PM you can even hear the trumpet music "Oi päivät seutuvilla Päijänteen"
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Scandic Laajavuori, Guest Services / Front Office at Scandic Laajavuori
Responded 31 Jul 2022
Dear Sarkta, Thank you for your lovely review! We are very pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again! Best regards, Ansku Receptionist/Scandic Laajavuori
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
MLXMLX wrote a review Jul 2022
Vyborg, Russia17 contributions20 helpful votes
Very thin walls, and people slammed doors through the night, and these noises went through the doors. They should invest on door pumps that people can't and won't slam the doors. Restaurant was quite good.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Scandic Hotels
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of Tripadvisor LLC nor of its partners. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Scandic Laajavuori, Guest Services / Front Office at Scandic Laajavuori
Responded 29 Jul 2022
Dear MLXMLX, Thank you for your feedback! I am very sorry to hear that the noises of other guests has disturbed your stay with us. I am happy to hear that you have liked our restaurant. You are warmly welcome to visit us again. Best regards, Ansku Receptionist/Scandic Laajavuori
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Juha R wrote a review Jun 2022
2 contributions1 helpful vote
Abismal experience. We stayed at the hotel on June with our dog and they had no air conditioning. The temperature was above 30 degrees in the room - completely intolerable. They did offer a cooler but it was quite useless. Aircon was in the public spaces but not in the room. Why?? Avoid at all costs.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Never go here in the summertime
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Scandic Laajavuori, Guest Services / Front Office at Scandic Laajavuori
Responded 29 Jun 2022
Dear Juha R Thank you for your stay at Scandic Laajavuori. We don't have the air condition in our hotel as this is so old building so the renovation is going to be hopefully in the near future. Especially now when the days has been really warm it is a shame that we don't have the cooling system in our hotel. Hopefully we will see you again in the future when we will get the renovation done. Have a lovely summer days. Kind regards, Aino / Reception
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Harry L wrote a review Jun 2022
3 contributions
No air conditioner, yes you read correctly... The hotel is pretty old and you can tell that. All rooms are stuffy without air conditioner so staying overnight on hot summer days is a nightmare. As a hotel a big minus, works as a public swimming pool.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Scandic Laajavuori, Guest Services / Front Office at Scandic Laajavuori
Responded 29 Jun 2022
Dear L4arryH Thank you for your stay at Scandic Laajavuori. It is true that we don't have the air condition in our hotel and it surely is shown especially on this warm summer days. Hopefully you will visit our other Scandic Hotels in the near future and come back to us when the nights get cooler. Have a wonderful and sunny summer days and thank you for your time to leave us feedback. Kind regards, Aino / reception
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kallio62 wrote a review Jun 2022
Helsinki, Finland43 contributions14 helpful votes
An old, dirty hotel with a tasteless and expensive dinner. The breakfast buffet in the morning looked good, but all the hot dishes were cold. I cannot recommend to anyone. Sad to see so many families spending their holidays here. There is also a "spa" here you can't even imagine how dirty and worn it is. Good thing is parking space - there was lot of space.., not wondering why
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Scandic Laajavuori, Guest Services / Front Office at Scandic Laajavuori
Responded 29 Jun 2022
Dear Kallio62 Thank you for your stay at Scandic Laajavuori. I am sorry to hear you didn't have the experience in our hotel what we would expect for our guests to have. I am sorry for that. I hope you will visit Scandic Hotels in the future. Have a great and warm summer. Kind regards, Aino/ Reception
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
349susis wrote a review May 2022
12 contributions20 helpful votes
Unfortunately the hotel had so poor air quality that I was not able to sleep well. I woke up in the middle of the night and had trouble breathing. Breakfast was good though and the hotel is located in a very beautiful area close to many outdoor activities.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Scandic Hotels
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Scandic Laajavuori, Guest Services / Front Office at Scandic Laajavuori
Responded 10 Aug 2022
Dear 349susis Thank you for your visit at Scandic Laajavuori. I am sorry that you had a good night sleep. We are fortunate to have had this lovely warm summer but unfortunately it will pay back to us as our rooms doesn't have the cooling air-condition system yet. I am happy that you enjoyed our breakfast and surrounding areas, they are so beautiful indeed. Hopefully see you again in our hotel someday in the future. Have a lovely August Kind regards, Aino Heikkilä Front Office Manager / Head Concierge
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Isolintu wrote a review Apr 2022
1 contribution
Nice service, good breakfeast and rustic 70's interior was saddly overrided by the coldness of the room due to lack of central heating, malfunctioning insulation in the windows and balcony door. Even the two existing movable electric heaters, that were found in the room (so this is a known issue for them) didn't fix the issue. We both got a flue from there. Can't recommend the place for this reason of rooms not being suitable for living.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Scandic Hotels
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Scandic Laajavuori, Guest Services / Front Office at Scandic Laajavuori
Responded 1 May 2022
Dear Isolintu, Thank you for sharing your hotel experience with us, it helps us improve and get even better at what we do. We’re sad to hear that you were not satisfied with the temperature in the room. As your guest experience is really important to us, we’ve already taken the next step forward for trying to resolve the coldness in the room. I am sorry that you got the flue from here. After all we’re pleased to hear that you liked the service and breakfast and we hope you will stay with us again soon and give us a chance to give you a better hotel stay. All the best, Aino at Scandic
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Taru N wrote a review Apr 2022
1 contribution
We chose the hotel based on recommendation for families. Our kids are 1,5 and 4 and they totally loved the play rooms (3!), scavenger hunt and spa area. The staff was very helpful and kind. Breakfast was average, no special complaints. Our room was really big (suite) which was excellent with small children. Even though the looks and style of the building are seriously outdated, the activities for kids compensated in a way that we would come again. With just adults, I would maybe choose a more modern hotel. One wish I have for the pool area, some kind of small water slide would be great (there would be space for it in kid's pool).
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Scandic Laajavuori, Guest Services / Front Office at Scandic Laajavuori
Responded 10 Apr 2022
Dear Tarun, Thank you for your review! We are glad to hear that you and your family have enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to see you again soon! Kind regards, Ansku Receptionist Scandic Laajavuori
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Pathfinder655222 wrote a review Jan 2022
24 contributions5 helpful votes
We went for christmas and we were there three days. Place is near nature and that was one reason to choose this place but staff didn't know area very well. Even this was "christmas" at hotel it didn't manage to take us to christmas feeling. Reseption staff was too busy or there were something else going. When we arrive there were some problems with room location and so but they mange it. There were no "christmas" at room, no decoration, no cookies, no nothing for to feel christmas at room. And there were other guests dirt in floor and windows were full of hand marks and so and when I tell this to reception they wasn't even sorry about that. Best part was staff at restaurant, they make you feel wanted and service was excellent even food didn't it. Like there were two different place were you were even we were in same hotel. And those three days I heard other customers complaining about cleaning whiteout any reaction at reception. When I went to see spa there were also some problems, two saunas was out of order and there were only one traditional sauna left to use. Any on there complaining reception was not sorry at all in any point. If you are at Jyväskylä or making trip there, there are many better hotel at that region.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Scandic Laajavuori, Guest Services / Front Office at Scandic Laajavuori
Responded 13 Jan 2022
Dear Pathfinder655222 Thank you for you stay at Scandic Laajavuori and thank you for taking the time to leave us your important feedback about our service. This is very valuable for us and will give me a big reason to have a serious staff meeting regarding these issues and feedbacks regarding our reception staff reactions. This makes me so sad as the service is always so caring and the most important thing in our hotel so there is a lot to discuss with my team. Without your feedback I wouldn't have this information so I am forever grateful for you for giving this information to me and at the same time deeply sorry what you have been going through. I hope you can send me email so I can make up your spoiled Christmas feeling in our hotel. I hope you will give us another change and will come again to Scandic Laajavuori. That would mean so much to our whole team in the hotel. Have a wonderful and better year 2022 and once again thank you for your time. Kind regards, Aino Heikkilä / Head Concierge Scandic Laajavuori aino.heikkila@scandichotels.com
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$117 - US$145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
FinlandCentral FinlandJyväskylä
NUMBER OF ROOMS
196
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

SCANDIC LAAJAVUORI - UPDATED 2022 Reviews

Frequently Asked Questions about Scandic Laajavuori
Which popular attractions are close to Scandic Laajavuori?
Nearby attractions include The Alvar Aalto Museum (3.3 km), Toivolan Vanha Piha (3.4 km), and Natural History Museum of Central Finland (2.8 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Scandic Laajavuori?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and free breakfast.
What food & drink options are available at Scandic Laajavuori?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Scandic Laajavuori?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Scandic Laajavuori?
Conveniently located restaurants include Pollowaari, Kissanviikset, and Figaro Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Scandic Laajavuori?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Does Scandic Laajavuori have airport transportation?
Yes, Scandic Laajavuori offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Scandic Laajavuori?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Scandic Laajavuori?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Scandic Laajavuori offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Scandic Laajavuori?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Swedish, and Finnish.