We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Scandic Laajavuori

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (84)
Room & Suite (50)
Dining (10)

View prices for your travel dates

Hotel direct offer!Scandic is ideal for families
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#7 of 8 hotels in Jyväskylä
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Hotel in suburban area catering to tourists & conventions; 4 km to town & railway station; 18 km to JYV airport.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Bicycle rental
Bowling
Indoor play area for children
Parking
Wifi
Indoor pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Sauna
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Kids' meals
Snack bar
Game room
Hiking
Skiing
Nightclub / DJ
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Airport transportation
Business Centre with Internet Access
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Facial treatments
Massage
Baggage storage
Gift shop
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
3.5 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Family
Languages Spoken
English, Finnish, Swedish
Hotel links
Special Offer:Scandic Friends member always get the best price when booking with us.
368Reviews1Q+A9Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 65
  • 138
  • 94
  • 54
  • 17
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Sarmarmik wrote a review Feb 2024
Savonlinna, Finland1 contribution
The room was noisy and too warm. Every step and normal speech was heard to the room. And children running and shouting in the corridor even at midnight. Light was seen all around the door, insulation was poor. We slept very poorly. There are families with children everywhere. We just wanted a little bit quiet and peacefull time with each other as a couple. That didn't work. Food is avarage. Nothing special. Restaurant was big and there wasn't any privacy. It reminded me of a school cafeteria. Service was friendly and good. In a whole, the experience was disappointing.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Scandic Hotels
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of Tripadvisor LLC nor of its partners. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Scandic Laajavuori, Guest Services / Front Office at Scandic Laajavuori
Responded 1 Mar 2024
Hi, Thank you for your feedback! I apologize that you have not had the best experience with us. Because of the winter holidays, we have had a lot of families staying with us during the last couple of weeks, like always when it's the time for the school holidays. I will forward your feedback about your restaurant experience to our restaurant manager, so they can go through it with their team. We hope that you will give us another chance to give you a better experience with us someday! Best regards, Ansku/Receptionist Scandic Laajavuori
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC nor of its partners.
avatar-image
Sarkta wrote a review Jul 2022
3 contributions
Hotel's Favourite
Nice overnight as always. Located out of city center but perfect for us. From the upper floor rooms with balconies you have a beautiful view to towards the the city. At 8 PM you can even hear the trumpet music "Oi päivät seutuvilla Päijänteen"
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Scandic Laajavuori, Guest Services / Front Office at Scandic Laajavuori
Responded 31 Jul 2022
Dear Sarkta, Thank you for your lovely review! We are very pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again! Best regards, Ansku Receptionist/Scandic Laajavuori
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
385sanelma wrote a review Feb 2024
51 contributions3 helpful votes
Room was big (and old), but the level of service varies. Some served well and some did not. The cleaner didn't come all week. The hotel's operating system changed during the week, which caused difficulties with invoices and unjustified overdrafts on payment cards. The location of the hotel is good, but the hotel facilities need renovation. The plus side is that the hotel offers plenty of different activities, such as bowling, a spa and an escape room.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Scandic Laajavuori, Guest Services / Front Office at Scandic Laajavuori
Responded 1 Mar 2024
Hi, Thank you for your feedback! I am really sorry to hear that your stay with has not been the most succesful. I will forward your feedback about the cleaning to the head of the housekeeping department, so they can go through it with their team. The housekeeping should at least pick up the thrash from the room every day. We recognize the retroness of our hotel and the time for some renovations is hopefully coming soon. We hope to see you again! Best regards, Ansku/Vastaanotto Scandic Laajavuori
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
VirallinenValvoja wrote a review Feb 2024
1 contribution
Hotel's best days were in about 40 years ago. Very well worn rooms. The door was crooked and the hall could be seen between the frames (and of course also heard). The waiter forgot the order and charged the wrong price. The spa was of average quality.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Scandic Hotels
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of Tripadvisor LLC nor of its partners. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Scandic Laajavuori, Guest Services / Front Office at Scandic Laajavuori
Responded 1 Mar 2024
Hi, Thank you for your feedback! I am sorry to hear that your experience about staying with us has not been the most succesfull and that you have not felt you got the value for your money. We regocnize the retroness of our hotel and the time for some renovations are hopefully coming soon. We hope to see you again! Best regards, Ansku/Receptionis Scandic Laajavuori
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC nor of its partners.
avatar-image
Teppo H wrote a review Feb 2024
Helsinki, Finland7 contributions1 helpful vote
Laajavuori is beautiful place for winter trips. During our stay hotel had only one open restaurang, with very limited and unhealthy offerings. Hotel had not enough personnel to offer decent service. Pools and saunas were okay. Place could be okay families with little children.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Cross coutry skiing routes are fine.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Scandic Laajavuori, Guest Services / Front Office at Scandic Laajavuori
Responded 1 Mar 2024
Dear Teppo, Thank you for your feedback considering your stay with us in Laajavuori! I am very sorry to hear that our services has not been able to meet your needs. I am happy to hear that you have enjoyed your time in our spa. We hope to see you again! Best regards, Ansku/Vastaanotto Scandic Laajavuori
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Team Lykke wrote a review Jul 2023
Esbjerg, Denmark288 contributions57 helpful votes
+1
Beautiful location. We had a superior room with balcony and view to the lake. The room was spacious with a bedroom and separate room for the kids. Toilet with shower and an extra bath with bathtub, sink and plenty of space. Nice with coffee, tea and chocolate and fridge in the room. Free parking and a lot of parking spaces. Friendly staff in the reception. The spa is very good and warm. You can use the towels and bathrobes from the room.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Scandic Laajavuori, Guest Services / Front Office at Scandic Laajavuori
Responded 26 Jul 2023
Dear Teamlykke Thank you for your stay at Scandic Laajavuori and thank you for your lovely feedback and the time you have spent writing the feedback. Hopefully see you again here at Scandic Laajavuori! Have a lovely summer! Kind regards, Aino Heikkilä / Head Concierge
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Sherpa595074 wrote a review Jun 2023
2 contributions
Hotel is representative of it’s building time (so don’t expect modern nordic style) but everything is clean and the rooms are spacious. Spacious rooms are a big plus for us and the nice spa with very good opening times! Our child said that this is the best hotel in the world as it has very good play areas, nice swimming pools and crystal sauna and a lollipop on her pillow. Location outside city center is good for us as we travel to cottage by car from here.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Scandic Hotels
Date of stay: June 2023
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Scandic Laajavuori, Guest Services / Front Office at Scandic Laajavuori
Responded 3 Jul 2023
Hi Sherpa595074 Thank you for your stay at Scandic Laajavuori and thank you for the nice review! We are so happy to hear that you have enjoyed your time and had the time to do all the activities what we have to offer for families. Hopefully see you back soon in our hotel! Have a great Summer! Kind regards, Aino Heikkilä / Scandic Laajavuori
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Vilma T wrote a review Jun 2023
6 contributions2 helpful votes
We stayed in Scandic Laajavuori from Sunday to Monday. It would be important to let the guests to know that the restaurant is closed on Sundays. The lobby cafe serves snacks but has no vegetarian options (only hot dogs, meat pies and salads with chicken or shrimp). We did not realize this and ended up in a situation at 6 PM where the only option to have proper food is to drive to the city centre which is several kilometres away. The breakfast on Monday morning was also serving old bread and for instance cucumber from the previous day. So I really can not recommend staying here on Sunday! Other than the food issues, the premises are great, particularly with kids, there are a lot of activities for them both indoors and outdoors. The pool is nice and warm and serves well for its purposes.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Scandic Hotels
Date of stay: June 2023
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Scandic Laajavuori, Guest Services / Front Office at Scandic Laajavuori
Responded 3 Jul 2023
Dear Vilma T Thank you for your stay at Scandic Laajavuori. We have normally kitchen closed on Sundays but summer and high seasons it will be open on Sundays too. I am sorry that we didnt have anything for you to eat in our Foodmarket restaurant. We will keep that in mind when we change our food products. You can also order food to the hotel if you wish so you dont have to leave the premises. I am happy that you have otherwise enjoyed the stay and our facilities in the hotel. Hopefully see you soon back with us! Kind regards, Aino Heikkilä / Front Office Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
blaa231 wrote a review May 2023
Nurmijarvi, Finland1 contribution
the wishes I announced in advance were not taken into account. the keys stopped working and my wife couldn't get the key at all because the room was said to be for one even though I had paid for two. the previous resident's hair was in the floor drain of the shower.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Scandic Hotels
Date of stay: May 2023
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of Tripadvisor LLC nor of its partners. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Scandic Laajavuori, Guest Services / Front Office at Scandic Laajavuori
Responded 2 Jun 2023
Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback! We do our best to take our guest's wishes in consideration depending on the availability. I apologize that we have not been able to meet yours. I will forward your feedback about the cleanliness to our housekeeping department, because there definitely should not be any signs of the previous guests when the new ones arrive. I am not sure what have happened with your reservation and the keys, since I do not know under what name the reservation has been, so I could investigate it further. If you want to discuss about the case more closely, please send us an email to laajavuori@scandichotels.com Best regards, Ansku Shift Leader Front Office Scandic Laajavuori
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC nor of its partners.
avatar-image
specialsmith wrote a review Mar 2023
Tampere, Finland1 contribution
Great family vacation experience! The staff were super helpful and always friendly and service-minded. Room was nice, spa filled all our expectations and the restaurant offered decent affordable dinners for family purposes. Winter vacation program arranged for families was really nice touch by the hotel! Made our stay a great success. Walking distance to the ski resort makes this hotel a perfect location for winter vacation.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: South side room may be hot, although the view will be superior on that side.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Scandic Laajavuori, Guest Services / Front Office at Scandic Laajavuori
Responded 13 Apr 2023
Dear Mobile28841789748 Thank you for your stay at Scandic Laajavuori and your great review! We are so happy that you selected us for your family vacation and enjoyed the best what our hotel has to offer! Hopefully see you again back with us! Kind regards, Aino / Scandic Laajavuori
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Jyväskylä area.
PRICE RANGE
€123 - €156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
FinlandCentral FinlandJyväskylä
NUMBER OF ROOMS
196
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

SCANDIC LAAJAVUORI - UPDATED 2024 Hotel Reviews & Price Comparison (Jyväskylä, Finland) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Scandic Laajavuori
Which popular attractions are close to Scandic Laajavuori?
Nearby attractions include The Alvar Aalto Museum (3.3 km), Toivolan Vanha Piha (3.4 km), and Natural History Museum of Central Finland (2.8 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Scandic Laajavuori?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and free breakfast.
What food & drink options are available at Scandic Laajavuori?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Scandic Laajavuori?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Scandic Laajavuori?
Conveniently located restaurants include Pollowaari, Kissanviikset, and Figaro Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Scandic Laajavuori?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Does Scandic Laajavuori have airport transportation?
Yes, Scandic Laajavuori offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Scandic Laajavuori?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Scandic Laajavuori?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Scandic Laajavuori offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Scandic Laajavuori?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Swedish, and Finnish.