We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Pohjoinen Rautatiekatu 23, Helsinki 00100 Finland
E-mail hotel
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
US$116
View deal
Hotels.com
US$116
View deal
Trip.com
US$104
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/12/22
Booking.comUS$114
TravelocityUS$116
PricelineUS$114
View all 17 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (747)
360
Panoramas (11)
Videos (1)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#9 of 78 hotels in Helsinki
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
GreenLeaders Bronze level
Helka is a unique private hotel in the heart of Helsinki, built in an old 1920s building. Our stylish interior is decorated with carefully chosen Finnish design classics such as Alvar Aalto and Artek, to name a few. We have 151 rooms on five floors where design and functionality are well combined. Helka is close to almost everything Helsinki has to offer: main attractions, city buzz, culture, parks and calming waterside nature. For us, it’s all about you. We are passionate about customer service and making you happy is always our first priority – wherever you come from, Helka makes you feel at home. Helka is a discrimination-free zone. Helka strives for good also on a larger scale. Our owner YWCA is continuously addressing profits from hotel operations to girls and women of all ages around the world. So, you also can do good by being our guest in Hotel Helka.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Bicycle rental
Walking tours
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Parking
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Kid-friendly buffet
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Vending machine
Nightclub / DJ
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Gift shop
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Safe
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Green
Languages Spoken
English, Finnish, Swedish
2073Reviews16Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 994
  • 833
  • 195
  • 41
  • 10
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
gregoryjamesk wrote a review Nov 2022
Sunbury, Australia1 contribution1 helpful vote
This quirky hotel was one of the reasons we enjoyed Helsinki so much, each floor was a different art theme and the staff were so friendly and helpful. The breakfast was excellent, the rooms very comfortable. The bar was equally quirky with old jeans shorts stuck to the outside wall. The hotel is about a 10 minute walk from the station. Be warned, in Europe, most streets/footpaths are made with small square stones and are rough on your luggage. we returned to Helsinki at the end of our trip but stayed in a hotel next to the station for convenience but we missed the Helka so, we will return to Helsinki in the future and the Helka will be our choice to stay. We loved the place and, we'll be back!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Coming out of the station, might be best to grab a cab for the first time as it can be a little...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotelli Helka, Other at Hotel Helka
Responded 2 weeks ago
Hello, it is wonderful to hear that your trip to Helka was a success! As you said, we have tried to put a lot of attention into the interior. The “Renovation Art” gallery we have available in our hotel is just one of the many highlights of our hotel’s art 😊. The exhibition is open from 10:00 to 20:00 during the day on the 6th floor of the hotel. There is also some art on the halls of 4th, 5th and 6th floor of the hotel, so be sure to see it all when you visit Helka the next time! Great to hear that you got to the hotel safely despite the stone roads! From the Central Railway Station to Helka you can actually take a direct route without having to rely on those streets, but walk on normal asphalt streets also! It is the fastest route also :) Hope to see you again soon in the pinkest hotel of Helsinki!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
NIck wrote a review Oct 2021
London, United Kingdom4 contributions1 helpful vote
Hotel's Favourite
Loved this hotel, not an off the shelf hotel, little quirky with its own personality. Breakfast was a great selection spaced out, could get a little busy at peak times, but nice to see the fantastic cross section of guests staying at this lovely hotel. The all important WiFi was strong and in room tech worked well too
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: If you don’t like busy have breakfast earlier or later than peak time
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotelli Helka, Other at Hotel Helka
Responded 18 Nov 2021
Dear NlClifton, thank you for taking the time to answer our survey. We are glad to see that your trip seems to have gone well. If there is anything you think we can improve on we would love to hear from you. Have a great week and welcome back on your next trip to Helka :) Sincerely, - Johannes / Reception, Helka
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nicole K wrote a review Oct 2022
4 contributions3 helpful votes
I can’t say a bad word about this hotel. Anastasia really went out of her way to help us out and made our stay perfect! The room was nice and the breakfast was great! Location was good and close to public transport. We will be staying again when we return to Helsinki.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotelli Helka, Other at Hotel Helka
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you so much for the lovely review! We have delivered your nice review to Anastasia and we are looking forward seeing you again here :) Johannes / Reception
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
KatriKerem wrote a review Oct 2022
Estonia72 contributions64 helpful votes
I have stayed in Helka for about 10 nights in total, recently more often as our Helsinki office is literally around the corner. But the three stays in September-October 2022 made me choose another hotel for my 4th stay. I enjoy the atmosphere of the hotel, the personnel is super nice, there are some nice design elements. But that is not enough to make up for the rooms that are often not quiet and not comfortable. On my 1st stay I had to go down to the reception to ask for earplugs because the street facing 2nd floor room had constant traffic noise late at night. The last stay I had a room where it was not possible to turn down or switch off the ventilation/air conditioning and there was really loud noise. Luckily I was able to change the room. Actually the staff always helps out but I do not want to complain all the time, neither do I want to feel that I am always drawing the worst room in the room lottery. Often I get a room where the headside of the bed is not against the wall. The headboard is super low, so there is nowhere to lean when reading in the bed. I am posting my recent experience (this is actually the room that was changed, but beware of this room anyhow) - the TV is on the side of the bed and the head side of the bed is towards the window. I think less emphasis on design and more emphasis on basic usability would do the hotel a lot of good. The breakfast selection is fairly limited, especially for gluten free eaters. I can usually put together a decent breakfast in every hotel avoiding bread, pastries and like. But at Helka the bacon is always burnt so dark that its not edible (to my taste at least) and besides porridge there is not much left.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Check your room before setting down and ask for a change if it is uncomfortable
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotelli Helka, Other at Hotel Helka
Responded 2 weeks ago
Hello and thank you for the review. We are terribly sorry for the noise on the streets. We can always book a room on our backyard for light sleepers and are more than happy to change the room in case customer feels like city noises are bit too much at the moment. We are terribly sorry for multiple issues you have faced :(. We will definitely try to check out the ventilation issues in the room you have stayed. We recommend to customers in all cases to contact the staff because it is not considered complaining, in case the customer has an issue they want to rresolve. Thank you for the review. We will try to improve on these issues based on the review.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
aferret wrote a review Sep 2022
Zurich240 contributions163 helpful votes
Check-in was swift, yet not very personal: just another room number. The lobby is nicely decorated (and with a good scent), so is the room. While the webpage gives the impression the comfort room comes with a small sitting area (table + sofa), that was not the case in ours. Two chairs and a narrow, but long table towards the wall. The building itself is historic and shows some wear & tear, like we could get a small glimpse of the corridor between door and frame at the lower part. Don’t expect any other items in the room than what is listed on the webpage: no free bottle of water, no small fridge (but there is a shared, large one at the lobby). Breakfast was good with plenty of options. Sidenote: while most food is labelled as “organic”, the juice comes from a concentrate machine. If you can get a good price (our rate was comparably with other 4* hotels in the city that weekend) and look for nice design with otherwise no frills, it could be your place of choice. For us the stay was rather average, and we likely try another option for our next visit to Helsinki.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotelli Helka, Other at Hotel Helka
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you very much for the review. We are terribly sorry to hear that your stay was not to your liking. In finland you can drink tap water everywhere and we recommend it :). Regarding minibar: our hotel is dedicated to help the environment and our goal is to become as ecologically friendly as possible. Unfortunately, electricity consuming devices such as fridges are not good for the environment which is why we have decided not to have them. When you have food items etc. that you want to keep in the cold, we will gladly take them to our fridge at the reception. By doing this, we save together over 50.000 kWh of energy annually. Thank you for your understanding 😊 We hope to see you again soon :)
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ceebee51 wrote a review Sep 2022
Chicago, Illinois215 contributions131 helpful votes
We had a wonderful stay at the Helga which is very reasonably priced and pleasant. Breakfasts were good and staff was very helpful. The place is clean and the saunas are lovely for after dinner and before bed. The neighborhood is lovely and it is walkable to the Senate Square and port. However, if you prefer a shorter walk, you could stay somewhere closer.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotelli Helka, Other at Hotel Helka
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you so much for the pleasant review :).
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
tmaag wrote a review Aug 2022
Bern, Switzerland419 contributions174 helpful votes
We just stayed 4 nights in this brillant hotel in Helsinki. Location is top, near everything. Staff at reception was always very helpful and had a lot of information for us for visiting this exciting city. Room was good and quiet (to the backyard, we could sleep with open windows). Following the concept of the hotel, there is no minibar in the room, but a large communal fridge in the lobby area. Safe available at the reception. The hotel bar is also highly recommended. Courteous service and good (seasonal) drinks, beer, etc. Outside opening hours, drinks are available in a fridge and can be paid for at reception. Absolutely recommendable hotel for Helsinki.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
marco m wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution
Overall good, comfortable room, cleaning and above the average breakfast. The most disappointing was the staff at the reception. I ask for motorbike parking and the rate is the same like cars. Once I underline that you can accommodate 4 bikes on the same spot of a pickup I was told from the supervisor in charge, Mr Cedric, “that’s the hotel's policy”. While I was trying to find a solution we get the cherry on the cake. “…I’m sorry but I have to be fair with the other bikers that paid the full rate…!!!”. Conclusion, they want to appear smart, cool and fancy lacking in sympathy empathy and logical/practical reasoning. By the way there are 2 FREE PARKING SPOT for motorbike at around 500mt on the street.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Parking at the Hotel
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
DexterCullen wrote a review Jul 2022
Ireland136 contributions101 helpful votes
Great location. Spotlessly clean. Friendly, efficient reception.. Comfortable bed. Delicious breakfast and they packed me a breakfast when I left early. The bathroom was small, I'm 5ft 10 but not a big problem. Overall, perfect hotel that I would recommend to anyone!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
scooper212 wrote a review Jul 2022
Cologne, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany37 contributions42 helpful votes
Thank you so much to everyone at Hotel Helka, especially Anastasia and the management, plus everyone at the front desk and the breakfast buffet people! There was a slight change to our room situation since we were visiting during hot and humid weather in Helsinki, and Anastasia presented an incredibly generous offer that completely makes me believe there are genuinely good people in our world. I've told everyone I know in Germany (where I live) to come and stay here just based on that kindness! I will also tell friends at home in the United States. There were also fun and friendly vibes all around in this hotel. Lots of insightful art, the sauna, and an atmosphere of welcoming everyone. My young kid who accompanied me on this trip named his stuffed animal Helka just because he enjoyed being there. And just like everyone said, the location is super practical: very accessible to a shopping mall, different art museums and Temppeliaukio church. And breakfast is NOT to be skipped. We will come back soon! Kiitos Hotel Helka!!!!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: Ask for street-facing rooms. They were actually quiet!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$103 - US$142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
helka hotel helsinki
LOCATION
FinlandUusimaaHelsinkiKampinmalmi
NUMBER OF ROOMS
155
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HOTEL HELKA - Now €105 (Was €̶1̶1̶1̶) - UPDATED 2022 Reviews & Price Comparison (Helsinki, Finland) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Helka
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Helka?
Nearby attractions include Natural History Museum (Luonnontieteellinen Museo) (0.3 km), Temppeliaukio Church (0.3 km), and Kamppi Shopping Centre (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Helka?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel Helka?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and blackout curtains.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Helka?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, a lounge, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Helka?
Yes, paid private parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Helka?
Conveniently located restaurants include Finnjavel Salonki, Cafetoria roastery, and HOKU.
Is Hotel Helka located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.7 km away from the centre of Helsinki.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hotel Helka?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Hotel Helka?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Hotel Helka offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel Helka?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Swedish, and Finnish.