We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Scandic Grand Central Helsinki

Save
Share
Vilhonkatu 13, Helsinki 00100 Finland
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Hotels.com
Expedia.comUS$170
TravelocityUS$170
ScandicHotels.comUS$170
Priceline
ZenHotels.comUS$196
View all 14 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (250)
Room & Suite (83)
Dining (25)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#15 of 78 hotels in Helsinki
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
A unique hotel offering first-class experiences in the best location in the centre of Helsinki. The stylish interior and the classic style of the beautiful Art Nouveau building, combined with the hotel’s relaxed atmosphere, guarantee a great stay.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Sauna
Free breakfast
Business Centre with Internet Access
Meeting rooms
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Charming
Business
Languages Spoken
English, Finnish, Swedish
235Reviews1Q+A21Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 126
  • 72
  • 27
  • 6
  • 5
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Heikki P wrote a review 3 Dec
The hotel, especially the old side we were in, was tidy, spacious and, indeed, in many ways “grand”. On the downside, saunas were open only on the evenings and the hotel bar’s opening hours were limited. I mean, I get that the Finnish alcohol laws are the strictest after some Muslim countries, but does a hotel lobby restaurant really have to close at 0.30 on a Saturday night? God be merciful.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Be aware of where to eat and drink since hotel capacity and opening hours are limited
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Max_suomi wrote a review Nov 2022
Kuopio3 contributions
Room #3143 Can hear nearly everything from hallway and neighbour rooms. Charaster 1 Charaster 2 Charaster 3 Charaster 4 Charaster 5 Charaster 6 Charaster 7 Charaster 8 Charaster 9 Charaster 10 Charaster 1 Charaster 2 Charaster 3 Charaster 4 Charaster 5 Charaster 6 Charaster 7 Charaster 8 Charaster 9 Charaster 10
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Grand Central Helsinki Reception, Guest Services / Front Office at Scandic Grand Central Helsinki
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Max-suomi, many thank for the review. I'm sorry that this room happened to be a noisy one. Unfortunately I had no idea that this was the issue in this room, but I will look into this further. Next time we will make sure you will have a room facing the inner yard, it is the most quiet area of our hotel. Hope we may welcome you to our hotel soon again! Best regards, Taija
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lee G wrote a review Nov 2022
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania126 contributions141 helpful votes
This hotel is located next door to the railway station. Soundproofing was great and we didn't hear any of the trains. Staff was very helpful with holding our luggage before and after our trip. The lobby had a lovely fireplace and comfortable couches. Our room was quiet and spacious. The bed offered great support, with lots of comfy pillows. The bathroom was well stocked and had a nice rainfall shower head. We would stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
paolo v wrote a review Nov 2022
1 contribution
There was no body lotion in the bathroom, not a big deal. One linen had a stain, not good. I was asked to go to breakfast at a specific time…! In the hallway the sockets were broken: not nice. What has been unacceptable is that the room was facing the inside of the train station and there is absolutely no acustic insulation. It has been like sleeping, sorry not sleeping, staying directly in the train station.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Either be sure you don’t have a room facing the station, or better just go to another hotel. For...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Grand Central Helsinki Reception, Guest Services / Front Office at Scandic Grand Central Helsinki
Responded 1 week ago
Dear paolo v, thank you for the review. I'm very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. It was a very busy night at our hotel, and due to this we needed to recommend our guests to have breakfast at a certain time, so that there would not be too many people in the same time. I hope we were able to offer you a nice breakfast experience. I will let the maintenance know about the sockets, they will fix them. I hope you let our reception know about the linen, our housekeeping would have come over to change them. I'm sorry we were not able to offer you good night's sleep. I hope we may welcome you to our hotel some other time, so we can make sure that this time you would get a more quiet room. Best regards, Taija
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kay R wrote a review Oct 2022
Minneapolis, Minnesota113 contributions87 helpful votes
This is a beautiful historic hotel. It’s in a great location, right at the train station. Lobby, bar and restaurant were lovely. Our room was fresh, spacious, modern, clean and updated. Our room overlooked a few train tracks, but the windows are excellent and we never heard anything. Breakfast was excellent. Many many choices with fresh fruit and veggies. Gluten free options as well. My only complaint was the bar and restaurant are closed all day Sunday. But this hotel was so perfect, I gave it a 5 anyway.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Grand Central Helsinki Reception, Guest Services / Front Office at Scandic Grand Central Helsinki
Responded 2 Nov 2022
Dear kayr663, thank you so much for staying with us, and for your wonderful review! It's really heart-warming for us to know how happy you were with the overall experience. Hope we may welcome you to our hotel some day soon again! Best regards, Taija
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Santy R wrote a review Oct 2022
41 contributions82 helpful votes
+1
Perfect hotel: its location, design, services, staff… amazing breakfast and complet. We felt as a home. If I come back here I'll choose it again no doubts. You can enjoy every place inside,, build to fall in love. Nice experience. Thank you so much.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Grand Central Helsinki Reception, Guest Services / Front Office at Scandic Grand Central Helsinki
Responded 2 Nov 2022
Dear santyr2018, it makes me extremely happy reading your review. Thank you so much for staying with us, and sharing your experience here. I hope we may welcome you to our hotel some time soon again! Best regards, Taija
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Dave B wrote a review Oct 2022
Miami, Florida55 contributions111 helpful votes
I stayed there for a couple of nights in July. I really liked it. Took the train from the airport to the central station and it is literally around the corner. I’m not that familiar with the prices in Finland, but I know it can be expensive. It was about $100 USD a night. Clean rooms, good breakfast and friendly front desk who were nice enough to speak English with me. The hotel seemed pretty empty but it is large so that may be part of it. The large empty halls had a feeling of the “Shining” which I really liked, but let’s be honest. Finland is kind of spooky anyway - in a good way.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Nothing really. Everything was good.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Grand Central Helsinki Reception, Guest Services / Front Office at Scandic Grand Central Helsinki
Responded 2 Nov 2022
Dear David B, many thanks for your review. I appreciate that you wrote it even though it's been couple of months since your last visit. I'm trying to figure out why is it that you find Finland spooky. I hope it's not us, the Finns:) I'm happy you enjoyed your stay with us, welcome again! Best regards, Taija
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Leena H wrote a review Oct 2022
2 contributions1 helpful vote
Really delicious breakfast, with amazing selection of fresh products, cold ones and warm and also sweets. Loved the buns and croissants, but didn't find any Nutella to accompanied with croissant. Really nice tomato and eggs pan, but maybe next time some mozzarella on top in stead of emmental. Enjoyed the cafes, cappuccino and Cafe latte.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Grand Central Helsinki Reception, Guest Services / Front Office at Scandic Grand Central Helsinki
Responded 2 Nov 2022
Dear Lenuzzia1083, thank you so much for the wonderful review. I loved reading your description about our delicious breakfast buffet. You're right, we don't have Nutella, but we have another similar product available for the same purpose. I'm sorry to hear that you didn't find this. Hope to see you soon again! Best regards, Taija
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Peter Borgman wrote a review Sep 2022
Helsingborg, Sweden59 contributions46 helpful votes
The hotel was what we expected. it is what you expect from a 4 star hotel. Great located next to the station. The rooms are really sound isolated and the ventilation works great in the room. Normally you don't find a minibar in a Scandic hotel, but this has one, which is great. The biggest downside with the hotel, is that it took forever both to check in and check out, so if you have a time to keep, be sure to check in and out with a lot of time at your hand. The breakfast was great, and the refill worked great. With a big dinning room it wasn't hard to find a place to sit.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Centralvic wrote a review Sep 2022
Ballarat, Australia9517 contributions99 helpful votes
We chose the Grand Central because of its location and its beauty. Neither disappointed. The retro corridors are stunning, and every time we walked in and along the corridors, we enjoyed its beauty. Room was nice, and bed was comfortable.No noises from outside. Breakfast had plenty of choice, we thought, and check-in staff were efficient and friendly, so I'm surprised to read some negative comments. It was easy to walk to Senate Square and the harbour, and just walking around nearby was nice. We were only in Helsinki for two nights, and staying here - though a little pricey- added to the pleasure of our trip. Only complaint from me is no bath robe in the room- I didn't have room to pack one.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$144 - US$184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
FinlandUusimaaHelsinkiVironniemi
NUMBER OF ROOMS
1
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

SCANDIC GRAND CENTRAL HELSINKI - UPDATED 2022 Hotel Reviews & Price Comparison (Finland) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Scandic Grand Central Helsinki
Which popular attractions are close to Scandic Grand Central Helsinki?
Nearby attractions include Ateneum (0.3 km), Helsinki Central Railway Station (0.2 km), and Helsinki Music Centre (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Scandic Grand Central Helsinki?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Scandic Grand Central Helsinki?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Scandic Grand Central Helsinki?
Conveniently located restaurants include Cafe Roasberg, Taproom Helsinki (by Sori Brewing), and Friends & Brgrs Helsinki (Aikatalo).
Are there opportunities to exercise at Scandic Grand Central Helsinki?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre and a sauna during their stay.
Is Scandic Grand Central Helsinki located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.5 km away from the centre of Helsinki.
Are any cleaning services offered at Scandic Grand Central Helsinki?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Scandic Grand Central Helsinki offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to a business centre and meeting rooms during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Scandic Grand Central Helsinki?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Swedish, and Finnish.
Are there any historical sites close to Scandic Grand Central Helsinki?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Seurasaari Island and Open-Air Museum (2.3 km), Mannerheim Museum (1.8 km), and Sea Fortress Suomenlinna (3.5 km).