We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Scandic Grand Central Helsinki

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (389)
Room & Suite (97)
Dining (30)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Hotel direct offer!Scandic is ideal for families
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#20 of 67 hotels in Helsinki
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
A unique hotel offering first-class experiences in the best location in the centre of Helsinki. The stylish interior and the classic style of the beautiful Art Nouveau building, combined with the hotel’s relaxed atmosphere, guarantee a great stay.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Business Centre with Internet Access
Meeting rooms
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Sauna
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Air conditioning
Room service
Safe
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Minibar
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Charming
Business
Languages Spoken
English, Finnish, Swedish
Hotel links
Special Offer:Scandic Friends member always get the best price when booking with us.
340Reviews2Q+A45Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 178
  • 99
  • 38
  • 12
  • 13
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Elias wrote a review Feb 2024
Tampere, Finland20 contributions1 helpful vote
The hotel is on a very important location in the city center, adjoining the railway station, which was convinient since we arrived an left by train. I have found that Scandoc hotels have managed to maintain a certain quality in all their rooms. The hotel was the headquarters of the Finnish railway company VR, later renovated into a hotel. We had the Superior Plus room in the fourth floor (room 4001), and it offered a really nice view into the garden. The room itself was really nice and provided a good amount of space to be. There were problems with the Chromecast, which turned out not to work. Also the toilet seat cover was disfunctional. Only little things that were problems. The amenities were good, described in more detail next. There were many teas, milk, sugar and a pot for boiling water. The minibar list is as a photo for those who are interested. There was also an interesting self-guided tour of the hotel, which I found fascinating. In the bathroom there was handwash and lotion, and in the shower there was bodywash, shampoo, and conditioner. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We went to breakfast a little late (it’s only until 9:30), but they let us eat and drink in peace. The breakfast was mediocre, pretty much the same as in any other hotel. The hotel was overall quite good. It had a nice atmosphere to it. Strongly recommend it. It’s close to many interesting places, such as the art museums Ateneum and Kiasma, shopping malls, metros, buses and trams, and of course the railway station. The tracks are visible from some rooms.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
jeffyg wrote a review Feb 2023
Melbourne, Australia1275 contributions115 helpful votes
+1
Hotel's Favourite
We stayed here on two occasions in January, split with a quick trip up to Lapland. We chose this hotel for its proximity to good transport links. Although central Helsinki is pretty compact, you can't really beat being nestled between a train station, bus interchange, and tram stops out the front. We stayed in a Superior Family room for both stays. The price was pretty reasonable. The first room was little more spacious than the second and had a better bathroom layout, however in such a large heritage hotel, there will always be subtle variations between rooms. We found both rooms really quiet and warm, and the beds really comfortable. Be aware that as it's such a big hotel, the hallways are quite long. We didn't mind being right up the hall, because the room was quieter, but if you have mobility issues I'd request a room near the lifts. The breakfast was AMAZING! Such a good spread, good variety, and great quality. The only issue was that on week days it finished at 9.30am - a little early for us, but probably fine for most. Also, the staff were the best - so very helpful! We'd especially like to mention Duty Manager Anssi läkärä, who so was extremely helpful in assisting me in resolving an issue with my Scandic points. Thank you! Helsinki is a great city, and I would not hesitate to stay here again. Its so convenient, comfortable and well priced.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Grand Central Helsinki Reception, Guest Services / Front Office at Scandic Grand Central Helsinki
Responded 12 Feb 2023
Dear jeffyg, many thanks for staying with us, and for the wonderful feedback. I appreciate the thorough description of your experience with us. I happily forward your thanks to Anssi, and the rest of our wonderful team. Hope we may welcome you some day again to our hotel. All the best, Taija
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Anders J wrote a review Feb 2024
9 contributions
Our first stop in Finland was at the Grand Central. WOW! What a pleasant surprise, beautiful and charming hotel. Old and very well kept and restored. Staff meeting us were very nice and went above and beyond in helping us with recommendations for restaurants and what to see. We are looking forward to be back here for the last four days of our Finland tour. Sincerely Marianne & Anders
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
MikkoTravels74120 wrote a review Jan 2024
1 contribution
From the first step on you are amazed of the grand and architecture of this well preserved building. Front desk was very professional and fulfilled my special requests regarding the room. Nice room, bed, bed linens and stylish modern bathroom. Good breakfast buffet. Cocktail bar also nice.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Scandic Hotels
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of Tripadvisor LLC nor of its partners. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Shakirah M wrote a review Jan 2024
9 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
Located next to Helsinki's central train station and 10-15 walk to the Helsinki cathedral and other sights. We arrived late from Rovaineimi and had an early check out for our flight out. It really helped that there was a short cut to the train station at the back of the hotel, and a breakfast box could be requested. The check in and check out process was efficient and the staff who welcomed us also gave us a map to go on a self guided tour of the Art Nouveau hotel. I loved the self guided tour and the breakfast options offered. We had a lovely room with comfortable beds and good facilities. Would definitely return here on my next visit to Helsinki.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Roxanne T wrote a review Jan 2024
Sydney73 contributions52 helpful votes
I booked this hotel for the close proximity to Helsinki Central station. Overall our stay was OK, the room was comfortable for the 2 adults and 1 child (family room). However the hotel room does not have a kettle which is a shame, as it would have been nice to relax in the room with hot cup of tea. I liked the lobby area with the various seating areas, it was a great place to relax and just wait for the time to pass. We had arrived early (6:30am train from Rovaniemi), the hotel staff let us store our bags in the luggage room and allowed us to have breakfast on arrival which was most welcome and earns the hotel an extra bubble for doing so. The breakfast selection was standard fare for hotels at this level, however what sets them apart from others is they do bake pastries throughout the breakfast period.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Busy breakfast from 9am, so go earlier if you can
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Jo W wrote a review Dec 2023
Melbourne, Australia234 contributions193 helpful votes
Fabulous location next to central station. Elegant building and decor. Two single beds (with seperate duvets) pushed together to form a double. No blackout curtains which for a hotel of this calibre was surprising - this is very important during the summer months and extended daylight hours.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2023Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Grand Central Helsinki Reception, Guest Services / Front Office at Scandic Grand Central Helsinki
Responded 4 Jan 2024
Thank you for staying with us, and for the review! I'm so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay. I'm surprised to hear there were no blackout curtains, since we should have them in all the rooms. I wish I knew in which room you stayed at, so I could inform the maintenance about this issue. Hope we may welcome you to our hotel some other time soon again! Best regards, Taija
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
JHi wrote a review Dec 2023
2 contributions
If you want to have a bad start for a day, go to this hotel in a holiday season and have a breakfast. The breakfast room is not a room, it's a maze where you wander around, trying to find an empty spot, normally with no such luck. The tables are stuffed too close to one another, making sure you catch a flu, when half of the people are coughing and sneezing. Rooms and location are OK, but they don't mean much when you have this bad breakfast, which to many, is the part of the stay they wait the most.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Grand Central Helsinki Reception, Guest Services / Front Office at Scandic Grand Central Helsinki
Responded 4 Jan 2024
Dear Sir, thank you for staying with us, and for sharing your review. I'm so sorry to hear about your unpleasant breakfast experience. It sounds like you have had breakfast at a very busy rush hour. We warmly try to recommend our guests to come have breakfast as early as possible, to avoid the rush. It seems like we did not manage very well that morning informing our guests, and I'm really sorry about that. I understand your disappointment, and I agree breakfast is very important part of the hotel stay. We will do our best in the future recommending our guests earlier hours for breakfast. Happy to hear you enjoyed the location, and the room. Wish you all the best, Taija
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Edvard S wrote a review Dec 2023
1 contribution
Been here twice with family. Both times had to go to the reception in the middle of the night. Was not alone there. Complimentary ear plugs and poor sleep is not what I am expecting. Will not visit this place again. Hotel does not compansate at all and the staff was not taking our and other customers conserns very seriously. Otherwise it is nice hotel in good location. Off going alarms and band blasting all night tells you families are not wanted.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Grand Central Helsinki Reception, Guest Services / Front Office at Scandic Grand Central Helsinki
Responded 26 Dec 2023
Thank you for staying with us, and for the reviews you have given. I'm so sorry to hear that there has been this kind of unfortunate noise issue during both of your stays. There have been only couple of private Christmas parties that have had loud music after 10 PM, and it seems like you were staying here on both occasions. It is really rare that we would have a party lasting later than 10 PM. And when there is a party, we do our very best to give rooms to families very far from the party area. Unfortunately I don't know why is it that we have not done like this with you, it must have been some kind of mistake from our part. If you could kindly forward your feedback to our email, so I could look into this in more detail. I'm very sorry about this, and I hope you will give us another chance some day, to prove our hotel is almost always very quiet. Best regards, Taija
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
kwikkie2016 wrote a review Dec 2023
Rotterdam, The Netherlands142 contributions83 helpful votes
I had room 2106 - The hotel is stylish and has some nice art deco touches . My room was very small for 192 Euro (incl breakfast) it did not offer any working space . Also no coffee machine . Shower was nice. The room was very very warm - - windows can not open and heating is via some electronic system which obviously did not work. We had a company dinner with 9 guests in the hotel restaurant - if you like waiting for ONE HOUR on your main dish - go there . If you don't like it maybe better to choose another place . Food quality was good. In short - not a great place for a decent amount of money .
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: dont take room 2106
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Grand Central Helsinki Reception, Guest Services / Front Office at Scandic Grand Central Helsinki
Responded 18 Dec 2023
Dear Sir, thank you for staying with us, and for the review. I'm really sad to hear that you were not happy with the amenities included in the standard room. As you probably know, the hotel building is over 100 years old, and used to work as an office building. Due to this history, all the rooms are different to each other, and some of them don't have a desk. But we do our very best to give a room with a desk, when ever our guest requests for one. The normal room temperature in Finland is 20-21, I know that in the Netherlands you prefer it cooler. Unfortunately, for safety reasons the very old windows can not be opened. We have a kettle and other amenities available in the superior rooms, and suites. I'm very sorry to hear that you had to wait for the main course for so long! There had been some sudden unfortunate situation in the kitchen, that was the reason for this delay. I hope my colleagues in the restaurant compensated this to you somehow as an apology. I hope we will have another chance with you some day. Wish you all the best, Taija Pehkonen Hotel Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Helsinki area.
PRICE RANGE
€140 - €178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
FinlandUusimaaHelsinkiVironniemi
NUMBER OF ROOMS
1
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

SCANDIC GRAND CENTRAL HELSINKI - UPDATED 2024 Hotel Reviews & Price Comparison (Finland) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Scandic Grand Central Helsinki
Which popular attractions are close to Scandic Grand Central Helsinki?
Nearby attractions include Ateneum (0.3 km), Helsinki Central Railway Station (0.2 km), and Museum of Contemporary Art Kiasma (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Scandic Grand Central Helsinki?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Scandic Grand Central Helsinki?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Scandic Grand Central Helsinki?
Conveniently located restaurants include Cafe Roasberg, Friends & Brgrs Helsinki (Aikatalo), and Taproom Helsinki (by Sori Brewing).
Are there opportunities to exercise at Scandic Grand Central Helsinki?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre and a sauna during their stay.
Is Scandic Grand Central Helsinki located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.5 km away from the centre of Helsinki.
Are any cleaning services offered at Scandic Grand Central Helsinki?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Scandic Grand Central Helsinki offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to a business centre and meeting rooms during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Scandic Grand Central Helsinki?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Swedish, and Finnish.
Are there any historical sites close to Scandic Grand Central Helsinki?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Seurasaaren Ulkomuseo (2.3 km), Mannerheim Museum (1.8 km), and Sea Fortress Suomenlinna (3.5 km).
Is Scandic Grand Central Helsinki accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.