We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Helsinki - Expo, an IHG Hotel

Save
Share
Messuaukio 1, Helsinki 00520 Finland
Lowest prices for your stay
US$111
View deal
Hotels.com
Booking.com
US$111
View deal
Expedia.comUS$112
HolidayInn.comUS$112
getaroom.comUS$135
View all 19 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (102)
Room & Suite (101)
Dining (24)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Updated 24/02/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Holiday Inn Helsinki - Expo, an IHG Hotel
Updated 24/02/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#46 of 76 hotels in Helsinki
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Property amenities
Electric vehicle charging station
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Board games / puzzles
Kids stay free
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Paid private parking on-site
Car park
Wifi
Sauna
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Kids' meals
Vending machine
Highchairs available
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Massage
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Shared lounge / TV area
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Minibar
Cable / satellite TV
Sofa bed
Bidet
Soundproof rooms
Bathrobes
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Room service
Safe
Sofa
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Clothes rack
Iron
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
On-demand films
Walk-in shower
Bath / shower
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
City view
Landmark view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Business
Languages Spoken
English, Finnish, Swedish
44Reviews0Q+A2Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 23
  • 15
  • 4
  • 3
  • 0
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Bigaitch27 wrote a review Yesterday
Rayleigh, United Kingdom144 contributions120 helpful votes
I stayed here with a mate for a two night football trip and really could not fault the hotel. First, the location is very good being a 5 minute walk max from Pasila station, which has bars, restaurants and a shopping mall located within it. From here it is less than 5 minutes by train to central station, or about 25 minute walk. The staff were all really friendly and efficient. The rooms were spotless and very comfortable and I got a great night sleep both nights. I didn’t eat here as the rooms were used really as a base so cannot comment on the food but everything else was of a very high standard and represented excellent value for money.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Bo Abrahamsen wrote a review May 2022
Denmark268 contributions82 helpful votes
The rooms and beds are extremely comfortable. Bathrooms good and clean and pleasant. There can be a slight noise from the trams outside if you are at that side of the building and a light sleeper. Breakfast buffet absolutely fine, above average but not superb. The restaurant is terrible and overpriced with both the food and the wine dismal and with limited choice. Bar is okay for the odd beer but be prepared for waits over an hour for a simple pizza. In other words, only eat here for breakfast unless in a dire emergency but the rooms are very good.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn Helsinki - Expo, an IHG Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Hello GWRfanabroad, It's always a pleasure to read the opinion of our valued guests. And it helps us understand better your needs in future stays. I have shared your observations with our management. I'm sorry to see we did not meet some of your expectations. Please, accept my apology. We love delivering the most enjoyable experience for every guest. It's been a pleasure to host you, and we look forward to serving you again. I'm sure you'll love the changes and improvements. Alejandro G. Case Manager. IHGService.
Read more
zktravels wrote a review Jan 2022
Poland175 contributions85 helpful votes
Thank you to the staff of Holiday Inn Helsinki Expo for a pleasant stay, if I return to Helsinki anytime soon I definitely will return :) PROS of the hotel: + close to 1. the Mall of Tripla where you can buy just about anything, from groceries to clothes, to medication and flowers, plentiful of restaurants and bars 2. a convention centre 3. a train station 4. Linnanmaki + while it depends on one's definiton of close proximity, I dare say it's not as distant from the city centre as it seems on the map, therefore you don't have to take a train. there are two main routes to the city centre - if you walk along the seaside it will only take you about 30 minutes to reach the Forum mall + clean rooms + a wide variety of TV channels + quite tasty coffee and tea + understanding staff, didn't disturb us upon our kind request + comfortable beds, i would fall asleep right away CONS: - costly breakfast. you can get the same amount of food you would actually consume at the hotel breakfast in one of the nearby supermarkets for 1/10 of the price.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Location
Cleanliness
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
esfcandm wrote a review Aug 2021
kent54 contributions36 helpful votes
We had to check in at short notice due to a failed AirBnB. We spent 7 nights. Reasonably spacious, very clean room, good breakfast, good staff on Reception. Everything that one could want. Thoroughly recommended.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Riikka Riihioja, Guest Services / Front Office at Holiday Inn Helsinki - Expo, an IHG Hotel
Responded 29 Aug 2021
Dear esfcandm, Thank you for your feedback on your stay with us. I am happy to hear your stay went so well. Hopefully we will see you back in Helsinki soon! :) Best regards, Riikka Shift Manager
Read more
thep2n wrote a review Nov 2020
Rhyl, United Kingdom31 contributions48 helpful votes
Had to isolate for several days before being allowed into factory to repair our machine. Covid and lack of people had closed the restaurant but gave to say Riika Tea Jan Miko Yenni helped to make it a really enjoyable rest up. Nothing too much trouble if it didn’t break any rules. Bedroom excellent loved my shower and perfect daily cleansing. Thanks guys I’ll be back! But not before your wedding Tea....good luck !!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Miko Pusztai, Owner at Holiday Inn Helsinki - Expo, an IHG Hotel
Responded 20 Nov 2020
Dear Thep2n, Thank you for your stay and feedback! I'm delighted to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay at our hotel, and that our staff was helpful during your time with us. We all hope to see you with us again! Best regards, Miko / Reception
Read more
Mikael F wrote a review Aug 2020
Helsinki, Finland24381 contributions1790 helpful votes
+1
I made the booking with my IHG points. The standard room was 20.000 points. As being an IHG Platinum member, we got an upgrade to an Executive room. The room size is the same but Executive rooms are located on the top 9th floor. Also, the room is better equipped. It has bathrobes, Nespresso machine, complimentary water, and chocolate. On arrival, I noticed that over half of the minibar items are missing. There were just wines and spirits left. For my IHG Platinum drink voucher, there were not many choices. The hotel bar was not open yet. Vouchers were just for the minibar. In the morning, we found out that there was only one bathrobe for two persons. Otherwise, the rooms are stylish and practical. Also, the room was clean. The breakfast was served in the bar. It had nearly the same standards as the restaurant breakfast before. The price was 15 euros per person.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Riikka Riihioja, Omistaja at Holiday Inn Helsinki - Expo, an IHG Hotel
Responded 17 Aug 2020
Dear Mikael F, Thank you for the review. Your stay was definitely affected by some Murphy's law. I am very sorry for all the problems you faced during your stay. Unfortunately with us the Elite vouchers are only usable for the minibar, as there is a different company running the bar and restaurant. Luckily we now have the bar open. All rooms on the 9th floor should have a bathrobe in the bathroom, and another in the closet. I am sorry this was not the case with your room and will forward your review to our housekeeping. I do hope the points you received as compensation for these problems brought you joy. See you again soon! Best regards, Riikka Shift Manager
Read more
Tony834 wrote a review Aug 2020
California82 contributions46 helpful votes
After a few stays here post Covid19 I have only been dissappointed. I have been given rooms that do not meet the basic stadards and the staff attitude is certainly "apologetic" but does not come off very genuine. I have had rooms with urine stain in the toilet and bath room, dirty towels, minibars that are empty(left to the customer to restock it!) etc so buyer beware. could potentially come with issues if you dont notice yourself. This used to be a very clean and friendly hotel what happened? for a quick one night stay this is the only IHG option at the moment. Hopefully hotel managment will start to pay more attention to their processes in these heightened times to the cleaning and service needs & requirments.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Riikka Riihioja, Omistaja at Holiday Inn Helsinki - Expo, an IHG Hotel
Responded 17 Aug 2020
Dear Tony834, Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry you feel that cleaning has been forgotten here. We are currently doing everything we can to offer our guests a clean and safe environment to stay in. I cannot connect this review to your stay, so unfortunately I cannot check what has happened with your stay. In any case, I will let our housekeeping know of your feedback. If you would like to tell more about what has gone wrong, I am happy to listen. You can always call or email us directly. Again, thank you for reviewing us as it always helps us to improve our service. Hopefully we will see you with us again soon. With kind regards, Riikka Shift Manager
Read more
Ryan M wrote a review Feb 2020
Fairbanks, Alaska45 contributions22 helpful votes
I stayed here for a week and a half for a work trip. The rooms are all very modern and clean. The public areas of the hotel are very well kept. The location has easy access to public transportation. The staff were all very helpful and met all of my needs. The breakfast buffet was excellent.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from MikoPu, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Helsinki - Expo, an IHG Hotel
Responded 4 Feb 2020
Dear N7477QNryanm, Thank you for your stay and feedback! I'm happy to hear that you liked our hotel and it's various aspects and services. I hope we will see you with us again in the future! Best regards, Miko / Reception Guest Experience Champion
Read more
Timo-J wrote a review Dec 2019
Vantaa, Finland351 contributions51 helpful votes
+1
Services; at front desk was perfect, quick and easy as expected. Room; size was what we expected. Rooms are renovated after my last visit, great job! New modern Scandinavian look. This is what hotel should feel like next to fair center. We had breakfast (included); it was bit crowded when we arrived. It’s buffet style; there are extra good selection available. Ails between buffet tables are bit narrow and there is no clear starting point, that creates some confusing where to find what. Traveled 2 adults for work
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from MikoPu, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Helsinki - Expo, an IHG Hotel
Responded 4 Feb 2020
Dear Timo-J, Thank you for your stay and feedback! It's great to hear that you enjoyed our hotel and you room, and that we were ale to meet your expectations. My apologies about the confusion during breakfast- The placement and starting points should be obvious, of course. Hopefully we've worked out the minor problems after your stay. Thank you once more, and welcome again! Best regards, Miko / Reception Guest Experience Champion
Read more
Northerntraveller73 wrote a review Dec 2019
Kaarina, Finland302 contributions106 helpful votes
+1
Stayed here for a one night while attending a conference @Messukeskus Helsinki. The hotel has gone through a renovation recently and is in good shape - rooms are modern and clean, sauna is good and conference facilities are very ok. The hotel was quiet (even quite full) and I had a good night sleep in a comfy bed and good aircon @exec room. Unfortunately there were small hickups on the way: 1) New breakfast area downstairs was too full and food ran out for short times (yes I know there was a big amount of students eating there but...) 2) One of the elevators was out of use for whole 24 hours and that made us wait the elevators sometimes too long 3) Mirros casting at the room's TV was configured bad and it wasn't working. Otherwise a good solid stay
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: The higher the better
See more room tips
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from MikoPu, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Helsinki - Expo, an IHG Hotel
Responded 4 Feb 2020
Dear Northerntraveller73, Thank you for your stay and feedback! It's great to hear that you enjoyed your time at our hotel, and that you found that the renovations did good to our hotel. I'm also glad that you were fully able to relax in your room, even during the busier nights. Quiet and calm in the rooms was one of our goals during the renovations, after all! Regarding your list of hiccups, please accept my apologies about these. We've learnt our lessons about our breakfast, and products should no longer run out for any durations of time. The lift was out of use due to scheduled (and necessary) maintenance, but we could have scheduled it a bit better to avoid clogging the remaining two lifts. I apologize for the time lost. Our TV casting system is also being overhauled to be much more user-friendly and easy to use. Hopefully these hiccups didn't affect your opinion of our hotel too much, and you'll choose us again should you visit Helsinki again. Best regards, Miko / Reception Guest Experience Champion
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$107 - US$163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
holiday inn helsinki, helsinki holiday inn
LOCATION
FinlandUusimaaHelsinki
NUMBER OF ROOMS
245
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Holiday Inn Helsinki - Expo, an IHG Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Holiday Inn Helsinki - Expo, an IHG Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Hartwall Arena (0.6 km), Messukeskus (0.05 km), and Mäkelänrinne Swimming Hall (0.6 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Holiday Inn Helsinki - Expo, an IHG Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Holiday Inn Helsinki - Expo, an IHG Hotel?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Holiday Inn Helsinki - Expo, an IHG Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Holiday Inn Helsinki - Expo, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, a parking garage, paid private parking on-site, and paid public parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Holiday Inn Helsinki - Expo, an IHG Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Bites Burgers Vallila, KOKORO Sushi (Vallila), and Italia Cafe' & Delicatessen.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Holiday Inn Helsinki - Expo, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre and a sauna during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Holiday Inn Helsinki - Expo, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Holiday Inn Helsinki - Expo, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Holiday Inn Helsinki - Expo, an IHG Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Holiday Inn Helsinki - Expo, an IHG Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Swedish, and Finnish.