We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Haven

Save
Share
Unioninkatu 17, Helsinki 00130 Finland
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
Booking.com
US$230
View Deal
Free cancellation until 04/02/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Snaptravel
US$230
US$201
View Deal
SAVE US$29
Expedia.comUS$224
eDreamsUS$230
Agoda.comUS$230
View all 14 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (855)
360
Panoramas (17)
Room & Suite (586)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#10 of 72 hotels in Helsinki
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Hotel Haven, Finland’s first member of the Small Luxury Hotels of the World chain, is designed to provide homely warmth, exclusive comfort and high-quality services for the discerning guest. The hotel with 77 individual and well-appointed rooms and premium restaurant and conference services is conveniently situated in the attractive setting of Helsinki’s Market Square.In the elegant yet cosy foyer, guests can relax by the fireplace and browse leisurely through the daily papers.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Paid public parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Parking
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Air conditioning
Room service
VIP room facilities
Laptop safe
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Marina View
Harbour View
Languages Spoken
English, Finnish

Location

Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
181Restaurantswithin 0.5 km
87Attractionswithin 0.5 km
1,541Reviews11Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 963
  • 441
  • 95
  • 20
  • 22
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
JAJ wrote a review 12 Jan
2 contributions
Generally a very good visit during a trying time. Staff courteous, and acting responsibly. The room is very nice and quite spacious. Had a tiny hiccup with the HDMI port on my TV, but it was sorted very quickly and in a very satisfactory manner. My only real issue with the room, a very minor one at that, is that there are no towel racks in the bathroom. The breakfast is also just so-so.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021
Value
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Heidi Tarilo, Other at Hotel Haven
Responded 1 week ago
Dear JAJxyz, Thank you for choosing Hotel Haven as your home while visiting Helsinki, and sharing your experience with us. I am delighted to notice that your stay with us was pleasant. We truly hope that we would have the pleasure of welcoming you back here as our guest. Meanwhile, please do not hesitate to contact me if I can assist you in any way. I wish you a lovely new year 2021! Best regards, Heidi Tarilo Front Office Manager Hotel Haven heidi.tarilo@hotelhaven.fi
Read more
Helsinkiglobus wrote a review 4 Jan
Helsinki, Finland306 contributions128 helpful votes
+1
There was a slight wait at check-in with several people queuing to the front desk. The receptionist was probably somewhat new as she was not sure about some of the questions we asked. The service was ok but nothing extortionary. Our room was a superior room on the 8th floor. The size was adequate for a superior, but the furniture of the room was surprisingly inadequate and simple. There was only 1 sofa, sofa table and 1 chair (1 chair only!) plus the bed even though there would have been room for a much ample and decorative furnishing. The sofa table was worn out and dirty with crumbs (see photo). The WC was good size and nicely designed. Water flow for the bathtub was slow with restricted hot water flow and it took ages to fill the bath with sufficient warm water. The bath being something we looked forward to as the hotel does not have sauna facilities. The air-conditioning unit in the ceiling was somewhat noisy and only provided cold air. Turned it off as it was winter. There was no in-room dining or room service which was a bit surprising for this class of a hotel. Maybe due to COVID – not sure. On the positives breakfast was served late until 12:00 noon. However, due to COVID you had to choose a breakfast slot in advance which felt bothersome as you wanted to relax and unwind and go for breakfast without pre-made schedules. Breakfast itself was the best part of the hotel experience. Set in the old (ex) Sundman’s restaurant the setting was refined and the breakfast assortment good and sufficient despite special orders (such as waffles) costing extra. The downstairs bar and lounge area is also great and refined with a wide range of drinks and whiskey assortments. All in all, a slight value-for-money (220€+ for a night) disappointment especially compared to expectations for a 4+ star design hotel. Biggest disappointments being the room furnishing and having no room service. Overall service was ok and friendly but didn’t stand out as this class of hotels should.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021
Value
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Heidi Tarilo, Other at Hotel Haven
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Helsinkiglobus, Thank you for having stayed with us and for taking time to review us here. I am sorry to hear you had to queue for a while when checking in. Normally we try to make sure we have enough personnel during times when check-in time is busy, so that our guests would not have to wait for too long and to make sure there are not too many people in the area. Hopefully you did not have to wait for too long. It might be that the person who checked you in was our trainee - she does not yet know everything but is eager to learn and has great attitude. We do to train her at every turn. The pandemic has been harsh for our industry and we too have been forced to make some adjustments to our operations. One of these being limited opening ours for our bar and room service. We do, however, have room service from Wednesday until Saturday and this is provided for us from Restaurant Sue Ellen. They were on a Christmas break until 7th January, however. Still, we at reception are always happy to assist with ordering through delivery services or help with restaurant bookings. I do thank you for this feedback as we evaluate weekly how things are developing and if we need to make changes, in order to provide the best possible service for our guests. For the breakfast we decided to have these breakfast slots, as this is the only way we can assure there are not too many people in the room at the same time. At the moment there is a restriction set by the government that we can only have 75% of the capacity at the restaurant and bar. I thank you for the feedback regarding the room. We will go through the rooms and see if there are indeed changes to be made. We have weekly quality control rounds, where we evaluate the quality of the cleaning as well as furniture, also to see if an additional chair or perhaps lamps are needed. Should you have time, please do contact us to inform the room number you stayed at, so we can see what needs to be done in the room. The bath should not function as you mentioned – the faucet for filling the tub should have ample water pressure and the temperature normally gets very warm. We truly hope that we would have the pleasure of welcoming you back here as our guest. Meanwhile, please do not hesitate to contact me if I can assist you in any way. I wish you a lovely winter! Best regards, Heidi Tarilo Front Office Manager Hotel Haven heidi.tarilo@hotelhaven.fi
Read more
Pirita wrote a review Dec 2020
Helsinki, Finland2 contributions
Haven is a beautiful hotel in Helsinki - my absolute favorite! I have both lived in this hotel and used it for work purposes, and it works perfectly for both. Haven's atmosphere is unique - when you step in, you step step in another world and forget your sorrows. Haven's rooms are beautiful and unique (there are also special rooms with very high sealings, glass paintings and curved windows), their spa products are the luxorious (the best in town, if you'd ask from me) and their furniture is colorful and unique. Their staff is very accommodating and Haven's breakfast is just lovely. Value for money is also much better than in other 5 star hotels in Helsinki. I highly recommend this hotel for anyone looking for a safe haven, a beautiful place to work or a unique stay in beautiful surroundings.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Haven, Guest Services / Front Office at Hotel Haven
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Pirita, We can not thank you enough for your kind words, it truly has been a pleasure having you here as our guest. I'll be sure to share your thanks with all the staff members. On behalf of our whole team Haven, I wish you the most amazing new year 2021! Let's hope it will a better one than it's predecessor. All the best, Heidi Tarilo Front Office Manager Hotel Haven
Read more
OliwaVasicek wrote a review Dec 2020
Helsinki, Finland427 contributions156 helpful votes
My wife and I popped in for some champagne before dinner a few minutes away. A very good champagne menu at decent prices, along with one of the best (if not the best) whisky and rum selections I have seen in Helsinki. The bar is cosy and polished and we enjoyed the seats near the large (gas) fireplace, particularly given it was a chilly December night.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotelli Haven, Other at Hotel Haven
Responded 7 Dec 2020
Dear Oliwa Vasicek I am delighted to read that you had a great experience at Hotel Haven's cozy bar. We appreciate your kind words and wish to welcome you for an overnight stay in the future as well. Next time don't just pop in, have a relaxing overnight as well. Kind regards John Wasserfall Night Manager
Read more
Ainomarj wrote a review Nov 2020
Helsinki, Finland77 contributions18 helpful votes
Finally we booked a table for Friday afternoon Tea at Haven Hotel. The dining room of the restaurant is a very fine space, altough the setting looked more like a hotel breakfast rather than afternoon tea, which was a pity, as it affected the overall atmosphere of the evening. There are three options for the afternoon tea: the basic one, with a glass of champagne and the variety of cocktails designed to pair with the food. We went with the cocktail menu (60€) and found the cocktails very interesting and rather tasty. Menus (both food and cocktails) change weekly if I understood correctly. The afternoon tea setting was for two hours (4.15 pm to 6.15 pm) and we were a bit surprised as it took the whole two hours for us to finish the tea: the setting wasn't fully booked, there were several tables vacant in the dining room that evening. Still the service was a bit slow because we had to wait for the cocktails to arrive as they didn't serve them all at once (for obvious reasons). Nevertheless the food was excellent and that's worth the 4 stars I've given for the evening. The tray was full of tasty, high-quality bites that combined beautifully with the cocktails and the tea. Especially loved the orange-cranberry scones served to us that day. Sometimes these afternoon tea menus can leave one a bit hungry (or not entirely stuffed, more likely) but this one had certainly enough on it's plate! So I can definitely recommend to try Hotel Haven's Afternoon Tea, I'll also come again myself!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Haven, Guest Services / Front Office at Hotel Haven
Responded 18 Nov 2020
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback. We appreciate your positive and kind words, and we of course take your disappointments to heart and will try to improve on them prior to your next visit. We are glad to hear you will visit us again and maybe next time we can welcome you for an overnight stay as well.
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$189 - US$279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
haven hotel helsinki
LOCATION
FinlandUusimaaHelsinki
NUMBER OF ROOMS
137
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Haven
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Haven?
Nearby attractions include The National Library of Finland (0.4 km), The Esplanadi Park (0.4 km), and Helsinki Cathedral (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Haven?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel Haven?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Haven?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Haven?
Yes, paid private parking nearby and paid public parking on-site are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Haven?
Conveniently located restaurants include Toca, Spis, and Finlandia Caviar.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hotel Haven?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre during their stay.
Is Hotel Haven located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.7 km away from the centre of Helsinki.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hotel Haven?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Hotel Haven?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Hotel Haven offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.