We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Kajaaninkatu 17, Oulu 90100 Finland
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
US$163
View deal
Hotels.com
Destinia.com
US$158
View deal
Booking.comUS$163
TravelocityUS$163
Priceline
View all 15 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (49)
Room & Suite (29)
Dining (19)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#8 of 11 hotels in Oulu
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
A peaceful hotel in the centre of Oulu, near the railway station. Friendly service, refurbished rooms, a comfortable restaurant and a relaxation suite with sauna and swimming pool guarantee a relaxing visit. The hotel also has modern meeting facilities and good parking opportunities.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid public parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hot bath
Sauna
Free breakfast
Skiing
Indoor play area for children
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Parking
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Kids' meals
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Centre with Internet Access
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English, Finnish, Swedish
218Reviews1Q+A1Room tip

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 37
  • 83
  • 67
  • 16
  • 15
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Finnishfamily2019 wrote a review Dec 2022
2 contributions
Do not go there on Sundays! There is no Sauna, Pool, and No Food in the evenings. Rules changed whenever they wanted. Customers do not get information about new regulations. Price is still the same, no matter what is available.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Scandic Hotels
Date of stay: December 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of Tripadvisor LLC nor of its partners. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Scandic Oulu City, General Manager at Scandic Oulu Station
Responded 4 weeks ago
Hello! Oh dear, I'm sorry to read your stay with us did not meet your expectations. You are partly right about the necessary restrictions we have placed on some of our services for Sundays. Exception is the swimming pool itself which can be used also on Sundays. Naturally many people would like to combine sauna & pool but due this energy crisis we have decided to close down saunas on Sundays because of the very low usage. I wish you had a good night sleep at our hotel and enjoyed the breakfast too so hopefully your entire stay was not a huge disappointment. Happy New Year 2023! Best regards, Juha
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Santtu M wrote a review Nov 2022
1 contribution
Really nice Hotel. I feel really welcomed. Hotel staff is Really friendly and kind and makes smile on my face. Hotel is clean and nice. Sauna and pool was good. I will visit here again. Love it! Food In the lobby bar was exellent, even that I did'nt get pizza what I was hoping. And thats because they were sold out. So that tells something about the taste.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Scandic Oulu City, General Manager at Scandic Oulu Station
Responded 12 Dec 2022
Hello and thank you so much for this superb review! Your description of your visit tells it all so I'd better not comment too much onto it. We're planning to do some changes into our pub Kummeli's menu and interior so you're most welcome to visit us again and test our new dishes. I'd say we will be ready with the changes during the first half of January. Merry Christmas! Best regards, Juha
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Tyomatkalla wrote a review Nov 2022
Tampere, Finland1 contribution
One night experience only. Normal Scandic quality, good breakfast. Sleeping was a bit hard cuz I could hear all noises from hallway like door would been open. Could see light between door and frame so it's not a miracle that voices can be heard. Poor soundproofing to hallway, could not hear clear voices from other rooms. Good position near railwaystation.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Scandic Hotels
Date of stay: November 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of Tripadvisor LLC nor of its partners. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Scandic Oulu City, General Manager at Scandic Oulu Station
Responded 12 Dec 2022
Hello! Thank you very much for visiting us and sharing your experience online. I'm sorry your stay wasn't entirely what you expected especially in regards to noise isolation. That is something we need to take a closer look at room by room. I'm glad you found some positive features too such as our location and breakfast which of course is something we are proud of. I wish you a Merry Christmas and hope to see you at Scandic Oulu Station soon again! Best regards, Juha
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ulpunen wrote a review Jul 2022
Helsinki, Finland28 contributions35 helpful votes
When in Oulu, I always stay here. My... umpteenth time, and always 3 or more nights. The location central but quiet, excellent staff, comfy and cozy rooms, sauna and swimming pool (one of the reasons to come back) and more than awesome breakfast! And as the hotel is not too big, the relaxed atmosphere among everyone makes you feel at home (with better supplies) Highly recommend for all!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Scandic Hotels
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of Tripadvisor LLC nor of its partners. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Scandic Oulu City, General Manager at Scandic Oulu Station
Responded 10 Aug 2022
Hi there! What an excellent feedback, thank you very much! I totally agree with you on the way you describe our hotel here in Oulu. Even though we are located in the city center, this is a peaceful hotel with all the necessities a convenient hotel stay requires. We also have a great team working in both of our hotels and that is something I'm very proud of. Thank you for your recommendations and choosing Scandic over and over again during your trips to Oulu. We hope to see you soon again at Scandic Oulu Station! Best regards, Juha
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Phil wrote a review Jun 2022
La Coruna, Spain2359 contributions359 helpful votes
Well managed hotel with friendly staff. Clean comfortable room in the city center. Good breakfast with all you need. Sun light black out curtains for the summer months. Short walk to train station and local buses (to airport) Good Wi-Fi. All together a perfect stay.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Scandic Oulu City, General Manager at Scandic Oulu Station
Responded 10 Aug 2022
Hello! Thank you so much for this superb review! I also want to thank you for choosing Scandic when visiting Oulu a while ago. It is very nice to read you had a pleasant stay with us here at Scandic Oulu Station. Friendly staff, convenient location, clean room and a good breakfast - there is not much else you need to enjoy your stay :). I wish you'll choose Scandic again the next time you visit Finland & Oulu! Best regards, Juha
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Valtteri O wrote a review Mar 2022
1 contribution
Room in poor condition needs facelift quickly. broken outlets, shower dripping, bathroom door bubbling from moisture, sewer not draining properly. No air conditioning super hot even in winter needed to open the window to cool the room. Stayed for a week for business use would not come back before major renovation. Price suggested that I would receive better quality room. Breakfast was good. Hard to catch sleep when you here everything from outside.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Scandic Oulu City, General Manager at Scandic Oulu Station
Responded 22 Apr 2022
Hello! Thank you for this very informative feedback which I appreciate a lot. I was wondering if you told about these faults to us during your visit or latest at check out? This would give us the opportunity to fix things right away. I'm afraid a major renovation will not be done in a while because the last one was carried out only about five years ago. Thank you for visiting us and please remember there are two Scandic hotels in Oulu for you to choose. Best regards, Juha
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
tutkimusmatkailija wrote a review Mar 2022
Finland58 contributions32 helpful votes
Quite old and a little bit overpriced average level hotel. Located on a quiet street. Rooms were tidy, but a kettle would've been a nice basic addition to it. Views from the rooms weren't special at all, even though we stayed on top floor. I would recommend this hotel for short stays only.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Scandic Oulu City, General Manager at Scandic Oulu Station
Responded 11 Apr 2022
Hi there! Thank you for taking some time and sharing your experience online here on Tripadvisor. It seems like your visit was reasonable good even though you found some details that could be better. That is actually why we value our guests opinions because we try to improve our operations based on them. We will be increasing the number of rooms with kettles and warm drinks selection little by little. However that will take some time as there are quite a number of rooms to take care of with such a feature. Thank you for visiting us and hopefully you will do that again - even for a short stay :). Best regards, Juha
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Hande63 wrote a review Nov 2021
1 contribution
Old fashioned hotel in the heart of Oulu and very near of the railway station. Did not startle. Had to wait staff when checked in :(. The room was ok, the bed comfortable and there were enough pillows. Maybe the cleaning woman was too short, because the upper shelf was dusty in the wardrobe. Nice bar. Breakfast ok, but the personnel (youngsters) did not bring the finished porridge soon enough to get any. The egg butter needed more butter, was difficult to spread over the Karelian pie. However, the variety of food met the satisfaction.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Scandic Hotels
Date of stay: November 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of Tripadvisor LLC nor of its partners. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Scandic Oulu City, General Manager at Scandic Oulu Station
Responded 3 Jan 2022
Hello and thank you very much for your feedback. I can see that we still have a few things to do in order to create better guest experiences. Therefore these observations of yours are very valuable for us and we take them seriously. I wish you had a good night sleep at our hotel in Oulu and choose Scandic also the next time you need a hotel room on you journeys. All the best and take care, Juha
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC nor of its partners.
aulisj2015 wrote a review Oct 2021
Hameenkyro, Finland10 contributions4 helpful votes
While returning home from the north we spent a night here in Oulu. The hotel was nice and peaceful, although the holiday season increases the number of passengers. The hotel was nicely situated, so we were able to make a nice evening walk in the city centre.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Scandic Hotels
Date of stay: October 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of Tripadvisor LLC nor of its partners. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Scandic Oulu City, General Manager at Scandic Oulu Station
Responded 28 Oct 2021
Hello! A very nice review, thank you! There actually is not very much for me to add to your comments because I totally agree with you. Thank you for visiting Scandic Oulu Station. We hope to see you soon again! Best regards, Juha
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Rami wrote a review Sep 2021
Kouvola, Finland14 contributions2 helpful votes
Traveling for business. Nice and good location close to railwaystation and vity venter. Inhouse restaurant and meny other good options near by. Pool and sauna awailable like gym as well. Good service!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Scandic Hotels
Date of stay: September 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of Tripadvisor LLC nor of its partners. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Scandic Oulu City, General Manager at Scandic Oulu Station
Responded 21 Oct 2021
Hello! Thank you very much for this nice review and visiting our hotel in Oulu. I totally agree with you on all the issues you pointed out on your feedback. I'm especially happy you liked our service because that is what also matters a lot. I hope we can welcome you to Scandic Oulu Station soon again! Best regards, Juha
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$130 - US$155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
cumulus hotel oulu
LOCATION
FinlandNorthern OstrobothniaOulu
NUMBER OF ROOMS
207
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

SCANDIC OULU STATION - UPDATED 2022 Reviews (Finland)

Frequently Asked Questions about Scandic Oulu Station
Which popular attractions are close to Scandic Oulu Station?
Nearby attractions include Exit Oulu (0.09 km), Mallaskellari (0.5 km), and Exit Oulu rotuaari (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Scandic Oulu Station?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Scandic Oulu Station?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Scandic Oulu Station?
Yes, paid public parking on-site is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Scandic Oulu Station?
Conveniently located restaurants include Ravintola Sauraha, Garam Masala, and Ravintola Hella.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Scandic Oulu Station?
Yes, guests have access to a sauna during their stay.
Is Scandic Oulu Station located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.5 km away from the centre of Oulu.
Are any cleaning services offered at Scandic Oulu Station?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Scandic Oulu Station?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Scandic Oulu Station offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to a business centre and meeting rooms during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Scandic Oulu Station?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Swedish, and Finnish.