We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna Rovaniemi

Save
Share
Koskikatu 4, Rovaniemi 96200 Finland
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Snaptravel
US$210
View deal
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Expedia.comUS$220
View all 18 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (327)
Room & Suite (95)
Dining (42)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#6 of 14 hotels in Rovaniemi
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Contemporary Hotel situated in downtown Rovaniemi, in the heart of Finnish Lapland.
Read more
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Sauna
Free breakfast
Board games / puzzles
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Centre with Internet Access
Meeting rooms
Car park
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Kids' meals
Wine / champagne
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Green
Languages Spoken
English, Finnish, German, Swedish
630Reviews17Q+A26Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 226
  • 282
  • 91
  • 17
  • 14
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Johanna T wrote a review Jul 2021
Oulu, Finland2 contributions
We stayed three nights in this hotel in order to get a good night sleep in stead of staying at our families' overheated apartments in Rovaniemi - what a mistake it was! We thought the hotel would have air conditioning in each room: it did not. It was impossible to get a good night sleep on the first night. Also, the fridge didn't work - it was basically hot. After talking to the receptionist we changed rooms to the other side of the same corridor - still, the fridge did not work and the room was hot, although we did get a small fan to our room. A very disappointing stay indeed. During winter stays this hotel might be great. The location is excellent and the staff is very helpful. The breakfast is not exceptional, very basic.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Value
Rooms
Service
Room Tip: Rooms facing to the courtyard are slightly less overheated during summer.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Adventurer610648 wrote a review Jul 2021
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Hotel is clean and location is perfect. Staff was amazing and very polite. Unfortunately there is No aircondition even the hotel promised so. Room temperature is very uncomfortable, and you can't sleep. Visit only winter season.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Tiina Määttä, Other at Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna Rovaniemi
Responded 7 Jul 2021
Thank you for the feedback. Apologies for the heat and the uncomfortable temperature of the room. The hotel has air conditioning, but unfortunately there is no room-specific air conditioning control. Hopefully, however, your trip went well otherwise Kind regards Annukka Raasakka Duty Manager
Read more
Janne L wrote a review Apr 2021
1 contribution
Hotel itself is located almost next to beautiful Kemi river. Rooms are nice, restaurant great for breakfast and dinner, but best of all is the service level, from the desk till restaurant! Cousy, friendly but very effective. Good Lappish friendly style. Even part of bigger hotel chain, still has it's local aproach to everything, not less or not too much. Love it.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from Tiina Määttä, Muu at Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna Rovaniemi
Responded 19 May 2021
Hello, Thank your for Your lovely review! Hope to see You soon again. With sunny wishes Tiina Määttä Hotel manager
Read more
Amy wrote a review Apr 2021
1 contribution1 helpful vote
The system of the hot floor of the bathroom don't work. Water all over the bathroom They served an expire dated yogurt at the breakfast and made me real sick. The manager of the hotel was very unpolite The lobby of the hotel was dirty.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Tiina Määttä, Muu at Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna Rovaniemi
Responded 19 May 2021
Hello Amywinchester, Thank You for Your review. I'm sorry to hear that Your didn't enjoy Your stay with us. Referring to our conversations, I'm also sorry that You found me impolite, but unfortunately smoking, nor continuous smoking is not allowed in the room. Have a nice summer time! Best wishes Tiina Määttä Hotel Manager
Read more
Bryan R wrote a review Apr 2021
1 contribution2 helpful votes
The cleaning of my room was really bad. No attention to clients. Staff not corporate. I stayed in a dirty room, impossible to take a shower without to fllod and the bathroom. Much better hotels surrounding
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Travelled on business
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Tiina Määttä, Muu at Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna Rovaniemi
Responded 18 May 2021
Hello, Thank You for Your review. I'm really sorry to hear that our services did't meet with Your expectations. We would have been happy to hear Your feedback about cleanliness of the room on site so we would have been able to take care of it immediately. I'm sorry to hear that You did not found us cooperative, but unfortunately we are not able to allow smoking in the room as we discussed. Wishing You a sunny summer! Tiina Määttä Hotel manager
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$126 - US$383 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
FinlandLaplandRovaniemi
NUMBER OF ROOMS
159
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna Rovaniemi
Which popular attractions are close to Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna Rovaniemi?
Nearby attractions include Lumberjack's Candle Bridge (0.09 km), Angry Birds Park (0.4 km), and Lordi's Square (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna Rovaniemi?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna Rovaniemi?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna Rovaniemi?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna Rovaniemi?
Yes, a parking garage, paid private parking on-site, and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna Rovaniemi?
Conveniently located restaurants include Cafe & Bar 21, Kauppayhtiö, and Yuca.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna Rovaniemi?
Yes, guests have access to a sauna during their stay.
Is Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna Rovaniemi located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.4 km away from the centre of Rovaniemi.
Are any cleaning services offered at Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna Rovaniemi?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna Rovaniemi?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna Rovaniemi offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to a business centre and meeting rooms during their stay.