We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Koskikatu 23, Rovaniemi 96200 Finland
2 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
US$144
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
US$143
View deal
Trip.com
US$128
View deal
TravelocityUS$143
ScandicHotels.comUS$143
PricelineUS$144
View all 16 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (143)
Room & Suite (57)
Dining (20)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#6 of 13 hotels in Rovaniemi
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
A calm and cosy hotel right in the centre of Rovaniemi. Uniquely refurbished rooms with everything you need will guarantee an unforgettable visit in an authentic Lappish atmosphere for everyone who wants to experience the magic of the Arctic Circle.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Baggage storage
Wifi
Sauna
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Room service
Safe
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Green
Business
Languages Spoken
English, Finnish
352Reviews21Q+A7Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 140
  • 134
  • 52
  • 16
  • 10
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
miukulainen wrote a review Jul 2022
25 contributions42 helpful votes
This hotel was a nice suprise. During last year I have been in couple of Scandic hotels in Finland and was about never stay again in Scandic. My room had been nicely updated, so everything was basicly new. Hotel has a good location in the city center. Also the staff was friendly.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
gkelly849425 wrote a review Feb 2022
1 contribution
The hotel was fab, very central with easy access to busses to Santa Claus Village and plenty of restaurants and shops nearby. Breakfast offered lots of choice, our favourite being the really fresh breads and pastries. Rooms are warm, modern and very clean. Beds were cosy. Reception staff were very friendly and so helpful. Would definitely stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of Tripadvisor LLC nor of its partners. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Liron B wrote a review Feb 2022
Israel159 contributions58 helpful votes
Hotel is in the center of Rovaniemi, with comfortable and clean rooms, friendly and warm staff. Breakfast is great and hotel's restaurant is good as well. Highly recommended with best value for money!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Unhappy Customer wrote a review Jan 2022
1 contribution
In addition to appearing unprofessional, the staff is inconsistent in being friendly - a few times even rude. So much so, that I almost left the premises, having been insulted. This has never happened in a hotel in Finland before, and I was amazed to be present in a situation, where the customer is put to their place this way, being a mere burden to the staff. The room looked okay at first, but at closer look, had multiple stains everywhere, mostly white stains on the sofa - gross. Considering it's not the cheapest option in the city of Rovaniemi, I'd advice people traveling there to choose another option. Definitely not good value for your dollar, nor worth being subjected to bad manners, awful service and to top it off: ridicule. Never again.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: There are several large neon signs glowing straight into the rooms 24/7, in addition to a busy road.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Scandic Rovaniemi City Finland, Guest Services / Front Office at Scandic Rovaniemi City
Responded 18 Feb 2022
Hello RegularCustomer2022 and thank you for your feedback. I’m really sorry that you felt disappointed while staying in our hotel. I’m very disappointed as well, because I thought our receptionists do their best every day and create great customer experiences for all our guests. I will definitely talk with my team regarding your feedback. Receptionist obviously has not been up to the job if there has been rudeness. I'm sorry about room cleanliness as well. We need to focus more details when cleaning room like stains on the sofa. I still hope that you will be able to continue trust in the quality of our products and services. Thank you for visiting Scandic Rovaniemi City and welcome again. With best regards, Tuomo
Read more
missajmackie wrote a review Jan 2022
Bondi, Australia72 contributions76 helpful votes
Simple place to stay for a few nights in a great location in the city centre. East to walk around to all the shops and to reach the bus station for Santa Park / Santa Claus Village / Saariskela and various stops for tours. Big buffet breakfasts. Highly recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Scandic Rovaniemi City Finland, Guest Services / Front Office at Scandic Rovaniemi City
Responded 5 Jan 2022
Hi missajmackie, Thank you for your stay with us in Scandic Rovaniemi City and for taking your time to share your experience. Thank you for your excellent rating and for your high recommendation. I am very happy that you had a nice visit with use during your stay in Rovaniemi. Warmly welcome again and happy new year! Best wishes, Tammi Karjalainen
Read more
superanna80 wrote a review Dec 2021
London175 contributions74 helpful votes
+1
We booked a triple and we got a double with additional bed. The problem was the room size, Brits would say “cozy”, I would say dwarf’s size.. bathroom was like 3sqm large… Mattress thin and wobbly, pillow basically non existent .. Let’s talk now about the fun part. At present we are still dealing with Covid pandemic, the breakfast service is buffet, but - unlike Italy, where everything is protected by glass and someone is taking care of serving - here everything is like usual and anyone can go around often without facemask to get food, handle food with hands etc…. What’s the point of shutting restaurant at 20 or not serving alcoholic beverage after 17 if at the buffet everybody can do whatever they like?? Also, of course now you need to book for the sauna, but none of the hotel is checking timing and reservations and this resulted in me not being able to enjoy my reserved slot since someone else was in it!!! Final cherry on the cake, for breakfast I got scrambled eggs with “hair” which of course wasn’t mine!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Scandic Rovaniemi City Finland, Guest Services / Front Office at Scandic Rovaniemi City
Responded 5 Jan 2022
Hello superanna80, Thank you for your visit and for your review. Sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations regarding our rooms and especially our breakfast. We follow the regulations by the authorities and also have our own instructions to follow during this time. It is unfortunate that the sauna was reserved when it would had been the best time for you to use. I hope you had an enjoyable trip in Rovaniemi otherwise and I wish you all the best for the new year! Kind regards, Tammi Karjalainen
Read more
Burak A wrote a review Dec 2021
1 contribution
Finland requires Covid test for entry before your flight which is very short notice for cancellation. If you cannot travel they say ‘we cannot refund go to your insurance company’therefore better get last minute cancellation coverage. The airline also stopped direct flights after the new years due to Covid related cansellations
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Value
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
sosaidellie wrote a review Dec 2021
Sydney, Australia103 contributions36 helpful votes
The staff were interacted with on the desk are friendly, location is convenient, and breakfast was decent (though getting a table on our first morning was a challenge, in spite of having what we thought was a semi-booked slot). Our experience overall, however, was let down by the quality of housekeeping during our stay. Our room was barely straightened on our second day, cups not washed/replaced (and those that were there on arrival didn't look particularly clean), surfaces very dusty, handprints of someone else's child all over the window. Everything just felt vaguely not clean, especially after I noticed the window and dirty glasses, as well as someone else's hair in the bath. Amenities were also a let down - hair conditioner dispenser totally empty (as I discovered halfway through my shower), and milk/tea bags not replenished up after our first night. It's certainly very central, but there's nothing special about a stay here, so keep your expectations low.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Scandic Rovaniemi City Finland, Guest Services / Front Office at Scandic Rovaniemi City
Responded 5 Jan 2022
Hi sosaidellie, Thank you for taking your time to share your experience. It was nice that you found our location convenient and our front desk staff was friendly. Sorry to hear that we did not succeed with the cleaning during your stay and it affected your overall experience. We have discussed this mater with our housekeepers to make sure all procedures are followed at all times and to make sure it meets our standards. Thank you for your visit and all the best for the new year 2022! Best regards, Tammi Karjalainen
Read more
arnaud wrote a review Dec 2021
Luosto, Finland1 contribution1 helpful vote
Basic comfort for 3 days trip - Unfortunately it looks the hotel staff had difficulties to cope with the inflow of tourists: Not a single request for Covid vaccination at the restaurant, breakfast tables very dirty and no refilling of basics. Rooms were bit outdated and pretty small. Overall the experience was far from a 4 stars hotel...despite the prices
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Scandic Rovaniemi City Finland, Guest Services / Front Office at Scandic Rovaniemi City
Responded 5 Jan 2022
Hi Excursion17078843848. Thank you for your visit and for sharing your experience. It was unfortunate to hear that during your visit it was too busy to be good and we were not able to meet your expectations. I hope we can welcome you back again some other time and give you a better hotel experience. I hope you had a nice trip in Rovaniemi otherwise and you enjoyed your time. Happy New Year! Best wishes, Tammi Karjalainen
Read more
Kaev11 wrote a review Dec 2021
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Where to begin.. Never thought would happen in this hotel after so good reviews. Hotel room: Spacious and nice looking, but floor was dusty the day we arrived. The papers under water cups looked like they were used many times before already without changing.. We stayed two nights and asked for a cleanup on the second day. All they did was make beds, and put new cups still on the same dirty papers. Dinner restaurant downstairs: We had dinner on a Saturday evening and there was only ONE waitress and ONE cook.. On Saturday! We waited our foods for 1.5 hours and before us there was only ONE family. In the end we got our foods and they were burned. Asked for refund from the waitress and was nice and gave it to us. Why wasn't the restaurant closed if there is so little staff? The waitress turned out so many guests coming in while we were waiting. On the positive side, breakfast and the room it was eaten was really nice. Reception and check in procedure was nice as well. I made feedback on the automatic survey after the trip and there was a question if I want response, but nothing ever came even I checked that I want response. I think after this, I'm not staying on a Scandic hotel anymore.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
Rooms
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Scandic Rovaniemi City Finland, Guest Services / Front Office at Scandic Rovaniemi City
Responded 5 Jan 2022
Hi Kaiv933, Thank you for your visit and for your time you took to write a review. It saddened me to hear that we did not meet your expectations during your visit. We have contacted you directly about your feedback. However I hope your experience in our hotel does not affect your choice to visit any of our other hotels. I am happy to hear that you liked our breakfast area and the check in at the reception was nice. I wish you all the best for the new year and if you decide to visit us some day again we would warmly welcome you back again! Best wishes, Tammi Karjalainen
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$123 - US$178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
scandic rovaniemi hotel rovaniemi, scandic hotel rovaniemi, rovaniemi scandic hotel
LOCATION
FinlandLaplandRovaniemi
NUMBER OF ROOMS
178
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Scandic Rovaniemi City
Which popular attractions are close to Scandic Rovaniemi City?
Nearby attractions include Lordi's Square (0.2 km), Korundi House of Culture (0.4 km), and LAURI Handicraft Shop & Atelier (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Scandic Rovaniemi City?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Scandic Rovaniemi City?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Scandic Rovaniemi City?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Scandic Rovaniemi City?
Conveniently located restaurants include Ravintola Roka -Street Bistro, Cafe & Bar 21, and Yuca.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Scandic Rovaniemi City?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre and a sauna during their stay.
Is Scandic Rovaniemi City located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.08 km away from the centre of Rovaniemi.
Are any cleaning services offered at Scandic Rovaniemi City?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Scandic Rovaniemi City?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Scandic Rovaniemi City offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Scandic Rovaniemi City?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Finnish.