We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Original Sokos Hotel Puijonsarvi

Save
Share
Minna Canthin katu 16, Kuopio 70100 Finland
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Booking.com
View all 15 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (213)
Room & Suite (95)
Dining (24)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#2 of 11 hotels in Kuopio
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Original Sokos Hotel Puijonsarvi is located next to a park in the center of Kuopio, 700 meters from the railway station. The hotel has a variety of dining options, guests have free access to sauna and fitness room.
Read more
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Bicycles available
Nightclub / DJ
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Centre with Internet Access
Car park
Wifi
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Vending machine
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Massage
Neck massage
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Business
Languages Spoken
English, Finnish, Swedish
380Reviews0Q+A30Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 81
  • 188
  • 91
  • 17
  • 3
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Jyrki wrote a review Aug 2021
Helsinki, Finland11 contributions2 helpful votes
Hotel has two different sides and tunnel between them. First time it might feel confusing. Hotel Rooms are renovated lately in other side of street. Hotel staff is very professionals especially in Check-In. I got my room earlier from desk because my flight to Kuopio arrived early. With Roomservice I had difficulties to contact. Breakfast was ok.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Try to Avoid rush hours in check-in and Check-Out. It’s possible to do online as well
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Puijonsarvi, Other at Original Sokos Hotel Puijonsarvi
Responded 12 Aug 2021
Hi Relax31501368848. Thank you for the review. Room service can be crowded at times, especially when the hotel and restaurants are fully booked. I apologise the inconvenience over the room service. We always do out best to make the service fluent. Great to hear that you were happy with the service you got during the stay. I will tell the feedback to our staff. I hope you will visit us again. Have a great summer! Greetings, Tatu Hotel Manager
Read more
hyannisonmymind wrote a review Aug 2021
Espoo, Finland19 contributions5 helpful votes
+1
The hotel was mainly ok with a nice small gym and sauna on the 7th floor. Parking was reasonably priced and there were several places outside. The location was also nice and within walking distance from restaurants etc. we tried the fun cat cafe across the street (called Tiramisu) and the nice Greek style restaurant Kreeta a few blocks from the hotel. However, we had a SuperiorX room to fit three adults which was otherwise comfortable but cannot be recommended because it has a bathroom which has see through glass walls and door! The whole layout in the bathroom is also strange and it’s impossible to take shower normally with the tub blocking the space. And the bathroom lights up the whole room if someone needs to go there during the night. So definitely choose some other room if staying here.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Even though there are plenty of parking spots they do fill up so get there early.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Puijonsarvi, Other at Original Sokos Hotel Puijonsarvi
Responded 12 Aug 2021
Dear hyannisonmymind, Thank you for the review. I`m sorry to hear that the room you stayed in, wasn`t the most suitable for you. However, there is few different types of rooms within room type SuperiorX. Other rooms in the same room type have different kind of floor plan and decoration. Rooms do not have see through glass walls or bathtubs. Next time you stay in our hotel, please inform us, that you want to stay in a different type of room that you stayed this time. Our staff will help you to choose the most suitable room for you. I`m happy to hear that you were pleased with the location and services at the 7th floor. Hopefully we can welcome you back again, have a good summer! Greetings, Tatu Hotel Manager
Read more
Mikael F wrote a review Jul 2021
Vantaa, Finland21408 contributions1492 helpful votes
+1
We have stayed in the same suite a few years ago. Then we felt that the room was sparsely furnished. After that, the suites have been refurbished. Now there was too much furniture, at least in the living room. The bathtub had been removed from the spacious bathroom. The air conditioning worked lazily and mostly in the room corridor. The living room window could be opened but not in the bedroom. So we had another hot night. The hotel was fully booked also here. The breakfast buffet was the most chaotic we encountered on our six-night trip. Luckily they had opened the Ehta restaurant for extra tables. It was pleasantly calm there but a long way to the buffet. Maybe another coffee and juice station could be set in Ehta. Our stay had a quite good value for a summer sale (-40%) price of 214 euros.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Puijonsarvi, Other at Original Sokos Hotel Puijonsarvi
Responded 12 Aug 2021
Dear Mikael, Thank you for the review. I`m sorry to hear that you faced problems with the air conditioning during the stay. Cooling system has been under high strain during the exceptionally hot summer. With the support of the maintenance staff, we always do our best to solve the issues immediately. When the hotel is fully booked, we provide different breakfast time periods for our customers and open more space to make the breakfast experience more fluent. Good to hear, that the usage of restaurant Ehta has provided more calmness in breakfast. Have a great summer and welcome again! Greetings, Tatu Hotel Manager
Read more
zzzerman wrote a review Jul 2021
115 contributions28 helpful votes
Hotel was full when we checked in and we had to wait in line for good 20 minutes but it is understandable during the COVID times. Room was not big but it was clean, quiet and air conditioning was working well. It seems that rooms have been renovated not long ago. Breakfast was typical Finnish hotel breakfast with some local speciality. Friendly and good service in breakfast.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Hotel parking available outdoors and parking hall.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Puijonsarvi, Other at Original Sokos Hotel Puijonsarvi
Responded 12 Aug 2021
Hi zzzerman. Thank you for the review. Ongoing summer has been exceptionally and delightfully lively. Although it causes some delays as our telephone lines are crowded at times. We always do our best to ensure fluent communication with the hotel. Thank you for the understanding. I´m glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. In July we opened our new breakfast room and completed the renovation of rooms just above the breakfast room. Have a good summer, hopefully we will see you again! Greetings, Tatu Hotel Manager
Read more
JariJK wrote a review Jun 2021
Kouvola, Finland4893 contributions295 helpful votes
+1
This is a very big hotel in two buildings, which are connected with a walking tunnel. The older building has Art Nouveau style. The location is very central, next to Snellman Park (Snellmaninpuisto) and Kuopio Cathedral. This is also an environment friendly Green Key hotel and an allergy friendly hotel. However, dogs are allowed in some rooms. They have both a parking garage, two outdoor parking areas and eight charging points for electric cars. They also have a gym but unfortunately it isn't open 24/7 as in many other hotels. They have very many different room types in the hotel. We stayed in Jorma Uotinen's junior suite. Jorma Uotinen may be the most famous Finnish dancer. He is a singer and a choreographer, too. He has worked as the artistic director of Finnish National Ballet and Kuopio Dance Festival. Jorma Uotinen has stayed in this special junior suite and he has also designed the interior of this junior suite. Other celebrities have also stayed in this junior suite, including Dave Mustaine (Megadeth). Our junior suite was suitable for four adults. We had two rooms and a bathroom. We had a stylish bathtub and a separate shower in the bathroom. However, unfortunately water pressure was very low. We had a big bed in the bedroom and a sofa bed for two adults in the living room. View from the big bedroom was in two directions. We also had two televisions, free Wifi, a water kettle, a coffee machine (for capsules), a minibar, a safety deposit box and self-adjustable air-conditioning. Breakfast was OK but all too crowded. As a conclusion I can say that this hotel is very good but not perfect.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Ask Jorma Uotinen's junior suite! It is excellent!
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Puijonsarvi, Other at Original Sokos Hotel Puijonsarvi
Responded 12 Aug 2021
Hi Jari, Thank you for the inclusive review. I`m pleased to hear that you enjoyed staying in our hotel. Indeed we are part of Green Key - program and one central part of being environment friendly is reducing the consumption of water. By lowering the water pressure we are able to do that. Of course, at the same time we want to keep the pressure high enough, so that our customers can take a shower fluently. In july we opened our new breakfast room named Onni. Onni designed specifically for hotel breakfast use providing more space and atmosphere. Again, thank you for your review. I hope we will see you again. Have a great summer! Greetings, Tatu Hotel Manager
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$134 - US$198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
FinlandNorthern SavoniaKuopio
NUMBER OF ROOMS
300
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Original Sokos Hotel Puijonsarvi
Which popular attractions are close to Original Sokos Hotel Puijonsarvi?
Nearby attractions include Mysteeri Kuopio - Escape Room with a Strory (0.4 km), Kuopion Korttelimuseo (0.3 km), and Kuopio Museum (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Original Sokos Hotel Puijonsarvi?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Original Sokos Hotel Puijonsarvi?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Original Sokos Hotel Puijonsarvi?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Original Sokos Hotel Puijonsarvi?
Yes, a parking garage and paid private parking on-site are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Original Sokos Hotel Puijonsarvi?
Conveniently located restaurants include Ravintola Boka, Restaurant Urban, and Pizzeria Sorrento.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Original Sokos Hotel Puijonsarvi?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre and a sauna during their stay.
Is Original Sokos Hotel Puijonsarvi located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.7 km away from the centre of Kuopio.
Are any cleaning services offered at Original Sokos Hotel Puijonsarvi?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Original Sokos Hotel Puijonsarvi?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Original Sokos Hotel Puijonsarvi offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.