We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Original Sokos Hotel Puijonsarvi

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (226)
Room & Suite (121)
Dining (29)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#2 of 9 hotels in Kuopio
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Original Sokos Hotel Puijonsarvi is located next to a park in the center of Kuopio, 700 meters from the railway station. The hotel has a variety of dining options, guests have free access to sauna and fitness room.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Bicycles available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Car park
Wifi
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Vending machine
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Neck massage
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Business
Languages Spoken
English, Finnish, Swedish
390Reviews0Q+A30Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 82
  • 195
  • 92
  • 17
  • 4
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Mariai wrote a review Aug 2023
77 contributions71 helpful votes
Puijonsarvi is legendary - it had the coolest night club in town in the 1980's :) The hotel has an excellent location near Kuopio's main attractions and the breakfast buffet is maybe the best I've had at this hotel chain. Service is always friendly no matter how busy the house may be.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: The market, museums and harbor area are a walking distance away. Leave your car at the parking...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Pauli P wrote a review Jul 2023
Oulu193 contributions76 helpful votes
Very good option at Kuopio centrum. Centrally enough but quiet. Nice and cozy rooms, proper breakfast. Everything went and worked as easy as it should in Finland :) Easy living with reasonable prices.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Travellerak2013 wrote a review Apr 2022
Lahti, Finland3412 contributions119 helpful votes
+1
Very good hotel just middle of city center Kuopio. Hotel have 2 buildings connected each other with tunnel. Good and friendly service on reception. Hotel room was renovated, so that was good quality and quite quiet also. Bed was ok, not softest one but quite good. Bathroom quite small but ok for me travelling alone.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Jyrki Makkonen wrote a review Aug 2021
Helsinki, Finland23 contributions2 helpful votes
Hotel has two different sides and tunnel between them. First time it might feel confusing. Hotel Rooms are renovated lately in other side of street. Hotel staff is very professionals especially in Check-In. I got my room earlier from desk because my flight to Kuopio arrived early. With Roomservice I had difficulties to contact. Breakfast was ok.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Try to Avoid rush hours in check-in and Check-Out. It’s possible to do online as well
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Puijonsarvi, Other at Original Sokos Hotel Puijonsarvi
Responded 12 Aug 2021
Hi Relax31501368848. Thank you for the review. Room service can be crowded at times, especially when the hotel and restaurants are fully booked. I apologise the inconvenience over the room service. We always do out best to make the service fluent. Great to hear that you were happy with the service you got during the stay. I will tell the feedback to our staff. I hope you will visit us again. Have a great summer! Greetings, Tatu Hotel Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
hyannisonmymind wrote a review Aug 2021
Espoo, Finland19 contributions5 helpful votes
+1
The hotel was mainly ok with a nice small gym and sauna on the 7th floor. Parking was reasonably priced and there were several places outside. The location was also nice and within walking distance from restaurants etc. we tried the fun cat cafe across the street (called Tiramisu) and the nice Greek style restaurant Kreeta a few blocks from the hotel. However, we had a SuperiorX room to fit three adults which was otherwise comfortable but cannot be recommended because it has a bathroom which has see through glass walls and door! The whole layout in the bathroom is also strange and it’s impossible to take shower normally with the tub blocking the space. And the bathroom lights up the whole room if someone needs to go there during the night. So definitely choose some other room if staying here.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Even though there are plenty of parking spots they do fill up so get there early.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Puijonsarvi, Other at Original Sokos Hotel Puijonsarvi
Responded 12 Aug 2021
Dear hyannisonmymind, Thank you for the review. I`m sorry to hear that the room you stayed in, wasn`t the most suitable for you. However, there is few different types of rooms within room type SuperiorX. Other rooms in the same room type have different kind of floor plan and decoration. Rooms do not have see through glass walls or bathtubs. Next time you stay in our hotel, please inform us, that you want to stay in a different type of room that you stayed this time. Our staff will help you to choose the most suitable room for you. I`m happy to hear that you were pleased with the location and services at the 7th floor. Hopefully we can welcome you back again, have a good summer! Greetings, Tatu Hotel Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Mikael F wrote a review Jul 2021
Helsinki, Finland30625 contributions2527 helpful votes
+1
We have stayed in the same suite a few years ago. Then we felt that the room was sparsely furnished. After that, the suites have been refurbished. Now there was too much furniture, at least in the living room. The bathtub had been removed from the spacious bathroom. The air conditioning worked lazily and mostly in the room corridor. The living room window could be opened but not in the bedroom. So we had another hot night. The hotel was fully booked also here. The breakfast buffet was the most chaotic we encountered on our six-night trip. Luckily they had opened the Ehta restaurant for extra tables. It was pleasantly calm there but a long way to the buffet. Maybe another coffee and juice station could be set in Ehta. Our stay had a quite good value for a summer sale (-40%) price of 214 euros.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Puijonsarvi, Other at Original Sokos Hotel Puijonsarvi
Responded 12 Aug 2021
Dear Mikael, Thank you for the review. I`m sorry to hear that you faced problems with the air conditioning during the stay. Cooling system has been under high strain during the exceptionally hot summer. With the support of the maintenance staff, we always do our best to solve the issues immediately. When the hotel is fully booked, we provide different breakfast time periods for our customers and open more space to make the breakfast experience more fluent. Good to hear, that the usage of restaurant Ehta has provided more calmness in breakfast. Have a great summer and welcome again! Greetings, Tatu Hotel Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
zzzerman wrote a review Jul 2021
117 contributions48 helpful votes
Hotel was full when we checked in and we had to wait in line for good 20 minutes but it is understandable during the COVID times. Room was not big but it was clean, quiet and air conditioning was working well. It seems that rooms have been renovated not long ago. Breakfast was typical Finnish hotel breakfast with some local speciality. Friendly and good service in breakfast.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Hotel parking available outdoors and parking hall.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Puijonsarvi, Other at Original Sokos Hotel Puijonsarvi
Responded 12 Aug 2021
Hi zzzerman. Thank you for the review. Ongoing summer has been exceptionally and delightfully lively. Although it causes some delays as our telephone lines are crowded at times. We always do our best to ensure fluent communication with the hotel. Thank you for the understanding. I´m glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. In July we opened our new breakfast room and completed the renovation of rooms just above the breakfast room. Have a good summer, hopefully we will see you again! Greetings, Tatu Hotel Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
JariJK wrote a review Jun 2021
Kouvola, Finland5509 contributions384 helpful votes
+1
This is a very big hotel in two buildings, which are connected with a walking tunnel. The older building has Art Nouveau style. The location is very central, next to Snellman Park (Snellmaninpuisto) and Kuopio Cathedral. This is also an environment friendly Green Key hotel and an allergy friendly hotel. However, dogs are allowed in some rooms. They have both a parking garage, two outdoor parking areas and eight charging points for electric cars. They also have a gym but unfortunately it isn't open 24/7 as in many other hotels. They have very many different room types in the hotel. We stayed in Jorma Uotinen's junior suite. Jorma Uotinen may be the most famous Finnish dancer. He is a singer and a choreographer, too. He has worked as the artistic director of Finnish National Ballet and Kuopio Dance Festival. Jorma Uotinen has stayed in this special junior suite and he has also designed the interior of this junior suite. Other celebrities have also stayed in this junior suite, including Dave Mustaine (Megadeth). Our junior suite was suitable for four adults. We had two rooms and a bathroom. We had a stylish bathtub and a separate shower in the bathroom. However, unfortunately water pressure was very low. We had a big bed in the bedroom and a sofa bed for two adults in the living room. View from the big bedroom was in two directions. We also had two televisions, free Wifi, a water kettle, a coffee machine (for capsules), a minibar, a safety deposit box and self-adjustable air-conditioning. Breakfast was OK but all too crowded. As a conclusion I can say that this hotel is very good but not perfect.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Ask Jorma Uotinen's junior suite! It is excellent!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Puijonsarvi, Other at Original Sokos Hotel Puijonsarvi
Responded 12 Aug 2021
Hi Jari, Thank you for the inclusive review. I`m pleased to hear that you enjoyed staying in our hotel. Indeed we are part of Green Key - program and one central part of being environment friendly is reducing the consumption of water. By lowering the water pressure we are able to do that. Of course, at the same time we want to keep the pressure high enough, so that our customers can take a shower fluently. In july we opened our new breakfast room named Onni. Onni designed specifically for hotel breakfast use providing more space and atmosphere. Again, thank you for your review. I hope we will see you again. Have a great summer! Greetings, Tatu Hotel Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Ruoh-is wrote a review Apr 2021
Espoo, Finland140 contributions95 helpful votes
We needed a break when driving from Lapland to Helsinki and reserved a room with a short notice. We did not expect much, but were positively surprised! The service in the reception, restaurant and over breakfast was smiling, friendly and yet very professional (all the covid 19 precautions were meticulously followed). Somehow they managed to maintain a small, local, non-chain hotel feeling - even If the hotel of course is large and very much part of a again. The room was ok - clean, quiet and comfortable enough
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020
Value
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Puijonsarvi, Muu at Original Sokos Hotel Puijonsarvi
Responded 19 Apr 2021
Dear Ruoh-Is Thank You for visiting us and taking time for reviewing our hotel premises and services. It gives us much pleasure to hear that we managed to fulfill your expectations. I will pass this feedback throughout the house. Have a nice spring time and you are more than welcome to visit our cosy local hotel soon again.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
henri_s wrote a review Mar 2021
Espoo, Finland1501 contributions382 helpful votes
+1
We stayed for one night with our dog. Check in was fast and staff very friendly and they gave a welcome bag to the dog. Common areas stylish and very clean. Room tiny and a bit dated and nothing special. Tiny minibar. Ice bucket could be taken from the bar. Sauna was on top floor, stylish and cozy, free water. Gym looked nice. Corona presautions were taken seriously. Breakfast excellent, large selection and one of the best I have ever had in Finland. Lots of fruits, Müsli, breads and even kalakukko. Also some sweets for spring breakers. Extremely good experience with breakfast. Price for one night was 144€ including the dog for the cheapest category for two so quite expensive.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Puijonsarvi, Other at Original Sokos Hotel Puijonsarvi
Responded 9 Mar 2021
Dear Henri_s, Thank you for your lovely feedback! We are happy to hear you enjoyed your visit with us and you had a tasty breakfast with kalakukko among other breakfast specialities. Yes we take current situation seriously and make sure all guests feel safe while visiting us. For your next visit we would like to recommend our Junior suite, which also welcomes family pets. A little bit more space and luxury with own sauna and bathtub. Warmly welcome again and keep safe! Kind regards,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Kuopio area.
PRICE RANGE
€132 - €173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
FinlandNorthern SavoniaKuopio
NUMBER OF ROOMS
300
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

ORIGINAL SOKOS HOTEL PUIJONSARVI - UPDATED 2023 Reviews & Price Comparison (Kuopio, Finland) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Original Sokos Hotel Puijonsarvi
Which popular attractions are close to Original Sokos Hotel Puijonsarvi?
Nearby attractions include Kuopion Korttelimuseo (0.3 km), Kuopio Museum (0.2 km), and Mysteeri Kuopio - Escape Room with a Strory (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Original Sokos Hotel Puijonsarvi?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Original Sokos Hotel Puijonsarvi?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Original Sokos Hotel Puijonsarvi?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Original Sokos Hotel Puijonsarvi?
Yes, a parking garage and paid private parking on-site are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Original Sokos Hotel Puijonsarvi?
Conveniently located restaurants include Ravintola Boka, Pizzeria Sorrento, and Kuzina Wine & Daily.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Original Sokos Hotel Puijonsarvi?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre and a sauna during their stay.
Is Original Sokos Hotel Puijonsarvi located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.7 km away from the centre of Kuopio.
Are any cleaning services offered at Original Sokos Hotel Puijonsarvi?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Original Sokos Hotel Puijonsarvi?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Original Sokos Hotel Puijonsarvi offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.