We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

ProfilHotels Hotel Opera

Booking.comUS$126*
View Deal
May 7 May 8
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$126*
US$127*
US$126*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
ProfilHotels Hotel Opera
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

855 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 317: English reviews
Start your review of ProfilHotels Hotel Opera
 Click to rate
Thessaloniki, Greece
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Very easy and quick access to the Hotel from the Central Station and the Central Bus Station. The staff was very friendly and willing to help. Only the room was a little bit small as well as the bed, but we stayed only one night.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KostasDachau
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We opted for this hotel as we had an early morning ferry to take the next day. We had a cosy room where we were able to get a good nights sleep. Great transport links and a good breakfast. Friendly staff.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sinbad02
Johan S, Hotelldirektör at ProfilHotels Hotel Opera, responded to this review

Dear Sinbad, Thank you for staying at Hotel Opera and it´s great to see that you enjoyed your stay. Welcome back Johan Sandström, General Manager

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My room was really small with the view on the wall of the hotel next door. The bathroom was horrible (see pictures). The restaurant room and the breakfast were nice but the tables were always tidy (full of crambles, without any tablecloth). I have spent there 5 days and the staff serving breakfast was always wearing dirty kitchen aprons. This...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank M B
Johan S, Hotelldirektör at ProfilHotels Hotel Opera, responded to this review

Dear M B, Sorry to hear that we did not reach your expectations. You had booked a room in our Classic part of the hotel witch has lower standard then the rooms in the Modern part but the rooms are also 300 SEK cheaper. These bathrooms will be refurbished during 2017 but the rooms are refurbished only 4 years ago....

warwick, new york
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I was pleasantly surprised to be checked in early as I arrived by Ferry and thought I would have to store my bags a while. The ferry is a 150 SEK trip by taxi.The staff is the hotels greatest asset. They are friendly and will spend time drawing maps and giving you directions. The bartender was a good conversationalist and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank joe s
Johan S, Hotelldirektör at ProfilHotels Hotel Opera, responded to this review

Dear Joe, Thank you for staying at Hotel Opera and it´s nice to see that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and in Gothenburg.. Welcome back. Kind regards Johan Sandström, General Manager

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel has a good location with friendly staff but it is nothing too special. The pool and spa area was very small and it was complicated to have to get a key and it did not work every time. Nice vibe in general though

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joe B
Johan S, Hotelldirektör at ProfilHotels Hotel Opera, responded to this review

Dear Joe, Thank you for your feedback. Nice to see that you liked our friendly staff and that the vibe in general was nice. Kind regards Johan Sandström, General Manager

Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewed 10 March 2017 via mobile

Nice enough lunch restaurant, a lot of people it was full at lunch time. The salad bar is very good. I ordered the fish and I didn't eat it, it felt raw. The rest of my group, we were 14 people were satisfied with the food. I wouldn't go back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Norma7610
Johan S, Hotelldirektör at ProfilHotels Hotel Opera, responded to this review

Dear Noma, Nice to hear that you liked our salad bar but I´m sorry that we didn´t reach your expectations for the fish that we served. We have a very busy restaurant with lots of returning guests that would not visit us if we served poor food. So I wish that you tried the restaurant once more and give us...

Reviewed 5 March 2017 via mobile

I just finished a longer stay at this hotel and thought it could be useful for some quick reflections. First of all, as some others already have warned about. Stay away from the old rooms. If there's availability in the new section you will be told already at check-in that you've been "upgraded". I would say it's more a serious...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Junijor
Johan S, Hotelldirektör at ProfilHotels Hotel Opera, responded to this review

Dear Junijor, Thank you for taking your time to give us feedback. I agree with you that the rooms in the Classic part of the hotel are of lower standard then in the Modern part but then again the price is 300 SEK lower. The interior of the rooms have been refurbished only 4 years ago so it is only...

Klaipeda County, Lithuania
Reviewed 3 March 2017

We stayed at Hotel Opera for 3 nights. We took this hotel because of close location near bus and train stations. That's really convenient if you want to save time for trip to/from airport by bus. This hotel is surrounded by number of smaller shops and shopping malls. Rooms we had are small but cosy.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Roumenas
Johan S, Hotelldirektör at ProfilHotels Hotel Opera, responded to this review

Dear Roumenas, Thank you for staying at Hotel Opera and it´s nice to see that you enjoyed the stay and the location of the hotel. Regarding the size of the room, we do have lot´s of different sizes on our different rooms so please try one of our larger rooms next time. If you want to be guaranteed to have...

Brockenhurst, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 March 2017

Hotel Opera is very conveniently located in the middle of the city 100 metres from the central station. Thie station is also the terminus for the very efficient airport bus service to Landvetter, the Gothenberg international airport. the hotel is clean and efficient, it has a free tea and coffee service in the lbby area and a good restaurant. Room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mike B
Johan S, Hotelldirektör at ProfilHotels Hotel Opera, responded to this review

Dear Mike, Thank you for taking your time to give us feedback. It´s nice to see that you enjoyed your stay here. Hope to see you soon again. Kind regards Johan Sandström, General Manager

Oslo
Reviewed 27 February 2017

We stayed at Hotel Opera for just one night. We had a room in the old part of the hotel, but was asked if we wanted to upgrade for SEK 200,-. We would have accepted if we were staying longer, because our room was very small and the bathroom was old and not very appealing. The hotel lies in the...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank johannea2017
Johan S, Hotelldirektör at ProfilHotels Hotel Opera, responded to this review

Dear Johannea, Thank yor for staying at Hotel Opera and for your feedback. The rooms in the Classic part of the hotel do have lower standard then the ones in the Modern part. But all our bathrooms in the Classic part will now be refurbished. Breakfast is a little crowed around 9-10 on weekends but we have long opening hours...

178 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (159)
Viewed
Room/Suite (41)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (24)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Other (69)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (5)
May 7 May 8
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gothenburg hotels
0.1 km away
Scandic Europa Gothenburg
Scandic Europa Gothenburg
#32 of 67 in Gothenburg
1,146 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Eggers
Hotel Eggers
#31 of 67 in Gothenburg
222 reviews
0.2 km away
First Hotel G
First Hotel G
#19 of 67 in Gothenburg
1,196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel, Gothenburg
0.2 km away
STF Goteborg City Hotel
STF Goteborg City Hotel
#23 of 67 in Gothenburg
218 reviews
0.6 km away
Elite Plaza Hotel Goteborg
Elite Plaza Hotel Goteborg
#9 of 67 in Gothenburg
649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
4 star hotel in the heart of Gothenburg. The hotel features a lobby bar and lounge, a wellness area with jacuzzi, steam bath and sauna. Wireless internet free of charge. The business, superior and deluxe rooms are located in the new building. The hotel also has a 3-star older part with comfortable accommodation at discounted rates. Public car-parking at reduced rates. ... more   less 

Additional Information about ProfilHotels Hotel Opera

Address: 23 Nils Ericsonsgatan, Gothenburg 411 03, Sweden
Region: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Price Range: €103 - €242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — ProfilHotels Hotel Opera 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your ProfilHotels Hotel Opera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Gothenburg
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in Gothenburg
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from ProfilHotels Hotel Opera staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Oslo, Norway

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from ProfilHotels Hotel Opera staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Please ask for Bigger Beds”
KostasDachau, 20 Apr 2017 | Read review
“I was offered quiet or noisy room”
320MikeB320, 2 Mar 2017 | Read review
“fresh and rich breakfasts”
STARZTelavi, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Rooms at the front can be noisy with the trams, but have the view. Rooms at the back are quieter”
C5518DTandyc, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Check size of room before booking. We paid about £100 pn and got small room. We asked for a quiet room which we definitely got.”
P2374CRmarys, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$126* /night
View Deal
Hotels.comUS$127
TripAdvisorUS$126
TravelocityUS$127
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates