We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Scandic Hotel Opalen

Show Prices
GreenLeadersBronze level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Scandic Hotel Opalen
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

899 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Scandic Hotel Opalen
See the most recent reviews
Showing 249: English reviews
Gothenburg, Sweden
Reviewed 16 August 2016

Review collected in partnership with ScandicHotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 691alfa
Mariestad, Sweden
Reviewed 15 August 2016

Have tried other Scandic and this one was very dissapointing. The room was so small, felt old and almost dirty. The room had permanent lights that made sleeping hard. The breakfast was very good, fresh and had a lot of options.

Review collected in partnership with ScandicHotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elifood
OpalenGuestRelations, Manager at Scandic Hotel Opalen, responded to this review

Hi Elifood, thank you for taking your time to give us a review on Tripadvisor. I´m sad to hear that your latest stay was such a disappointment. I can however give you the great news that we are about to renovate our hotel during 2017 so I hope that you in the future want to come back to us again....

Warszawa
Reviewed 10 August 2016

We spent 4 nights in Scandic Opalen, in superior plus room. Hotel is quite OK, however, there were some minor issues. Hotel is conveniently located, in the middle of the entertainment district of Gothenburg, next to Avenyn, Liseberg and Scandinavium. It is a plus, but also a minus, because the hotel lobby is like a railway station – all day...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marek79
Miami Beach, Florida
Reviewed 8 August 2016 via mobile

I normally spend 30-40 nights per year on various Scandic hotels in Scandinavia. This was a so called "free night" using loyalty points. We were passing through Gothenburg on our final days of our holidays and our anniversary.To go out for dinner, do some shopping etc. Arriving we first get a double room with a queen size bed. The room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Keja60
Reviewed 5 August 2016 via mobile

Having not booked a hotel until we landed we picked this hotel up for around £70 a night. The hotel manager was willing to match the price we found online for us to book directly with him. The reception staff were very friendly and even helped us write a wedding card in Swedish. The room was clean and comfortable and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jobisagoodone
Denver, Colorado
Reviewed 5 August 2016 via mobile

Friendly from desk. Not as good quality in regards to my room compared to Scandic Continental in Stockholm - I probably cost me more😰. This hotel nearby a movie theater and if your watching a football a big event here it 7min walking distance. Gothenburg overall you can bike all over the city, train accessibility if also there, walking best...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Raysixtus
OpalenGuestRelations, Manager at Scandic Hotel Opalen, responded to this review

Hi Raysixtus, thank you for taking your time to give us a review on Tripadvisor and for your description of our location. I´m sad to hear that your latest stay was such a disappointment. I can however give you the great news that we are about to renovate our hotel during 2017 so I hope that you in the future...

Gothenburg, Sweden
Reviewed 25 July 2016

My husband and I stayed at Opalen for one night being "tourists" in our own city together with our two small children! :-) It was a very nice family getaway - our room was comfortable and very clean with comfortable beds. Breakfast was excellent and plentiful with both hot and cold options. We only stayed one night and did not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Katarina B
Hyvinkaa, Finland
Reviewed 25 July 2016

Hotel location is very good, it is easy to walk city centre for shopping & dining. Breakfast is okey and tasty. Hotel rooms are very small, there is no good place to open your luggage. Air condition is not working, so it´s very difficult to sleep in hot room and if you open a room window, cars etc disturb your...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Miketapio
OpalenGuestRelations, Manager at Scandic Hotel Opalen, responded to this review

Hi Miketapio, thank you for taking your time to give us a review on Tripadvisor. I´m sad to hear that your latest stay was such a disappointment. I can however give you the great news that we are about to renovate our hotel during 2017 so I hope that you in the future want to come back to us again....

Danville, United States
Reviewed 24 July 2016

Friendly hotel with an excellent breakfast. Easy location in the center of the city with easy walking distance to attractions. Plenty of people that speak excellent english. Room I stayed in was not huge, but I was not coming to sit in my room so that was OK.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Daniel H
Reviewed 17 July 2016 via mobile

This hotel would have been a wonderful place to stay ten years ago. It's central, right in the middle of Göteborg with walking distance to almost everything. Stunning views if you get a room on a higher floor. But, it's become a bit old and worn. Gurgling pipes, scratched sink, out of place modern shower curtains and worst of all...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kajsa J
OpalenGuestRelations, Manager at Scandic Hotel Opalen, responded to this review

Hi Kajsa J, thank you for taking your time to give us a review on Tripadvisor. I´m sad to hear that your latest stay was such a disappointment. I can however give you the great news that we are about to renovate our hotel during 2017 so I hope that you in the future want to come back to us...

196 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (158)
Viewed
View from Room (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (44)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (80)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (38)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gothenburg hotels
0.5 km away
Scandic Rubinen
Scandic Rubinen
#29 of 68 in Gothenburg
823 reviews
0.5 km away
Elite Park Avenue Hotel
Elite Park Avenue Hotel
#21 of 68 in Gothenburg
795 reviews
0.8 km away
Scandic Crown
Scandic Crown
#35 of 68 in Gothenburg
848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hotell Liseberg Heden
Hotell Liseberg Heden
#45 of 68 in Gothenburg
330 reviews
0.5 km away
Gothia Towers
Gothia Towers
#14 of 68 in Gothenburg
3,754 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotell Onyxen
Hotell Onyxen
#52 of 68 in Gothenburg
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Scandic Opalen hotel is located in central Gothenburgh within easy reach of shopping, restaurants and culture. The hotel is a perfect base for exploring the city's many attractions like the Poseidon statue, all the exihibtions held at Svenska Mässan, Universeum and the Museum of World Culture. Gothenburg's famous amusement park - Liseberg - is only a short walk away. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Scandic Hotel Opalen

Address: Engelbrektsgatan 73, Gothenburg 402 23, Sweden
Region: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Price Range: €89 - €175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Hotel Opalen 4*
Number of rooms: 353
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Scandic Hotel Opalen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Hotel Gothenburg
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Gothenburg
#26 Luxury Hotel in Gothenburg
#28 Business Hotel in Gothenburg
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Scandic Hotel Opalen staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Toledo, Ohio
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Scandic Hotel Opalen staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“City View is the best”
 of 5 bubbles loouiss, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Premium/VIP rooms are not much more expensive and get you a room on the top floor with bigger windows.”
  • View from 13th floor room (north)
  • View from 13th floor room (north)
 of 5 bubbles dhmacher, 29 Aug 2016 | Read review
“The higher up the better views you get”
 of 5 bubbles jockeh2015, 20 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Rooms on floors 9-13 are new and have panoramic views.”
  • Panoramic view from room 1226
  • Panoramic view from room 1226
  • Gothenburg by night
 of 5 bubbles Marek79, 10 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Not near elevators”
 of 5 bubbles Miketapio, 25 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5