We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Varberg Stadshotell & Asia Spa

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Varberg Stadshotell & Asia Spa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

375 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Varberg Stadshotell & Asia Spa
See the most recent reviews
Showing 80: English reviews
Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewed 17 July 2016 via mobile

Booked a standard room that looked nice on the pictures online. Arriving they first gave us a "Japan inspired" room, small as a camper and when we pulled the curtains the view was a wall just a meter away. We complained and got another room with bigger windows but still the standard was way below all expectations. I would unfortunately...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Max A
Bo S, Hotelldirektör at Varberg Stadshotell & Asia Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your stay and review, sorry to hear that you where dissatisfied with your room! We have a number different room types (25) based on three major different styles (Boutique / Classic / De Lux). However we have ambitions that all our rooms should meet expectations and to be at a good and high standard, even if there...

Imatra, Finland
Reviewed 13 July 2016

It's the old Varberg City Hall, but today it is a really nice hotel, restaurant and Spa all rolled into one. There are really fancy rooms to choose, very modern. Or then you can stay in a more oldfashioned hotel room, like I did. In the bathroom there is a tea light ready to be lit - fun. Spa has...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HarriHirvela
Bo S, Hotelldirektör at Varberg Stadshotell & Asia Spa, responded to this review

Dear Harri, thank you very much for your stay and for your nice review! Happy to hear that you had a good stay and enjoyed our facilities, rooms and restaurang - though sorry about if there where a sauna not working, we haven't had any known problem with them for the last weweks/months but I would appreciate to hear some...

oslo
Reviewed 3 July 2016 via mobile

We stayed two nights in two connecting Boutique Prestige rooms while in Varberg for a swim meet. First impression was good due to a nicely refurbished lobby and restaurant area. The room was furnished with low quality furniture albeit it was newly refurbished and clean. The bathroom had a nice separate rainfall shower and was the best part of the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank oslonorwayoslo
Bo S, Hotelldirektör at Varberg Stadshotell & Asia Spa, responded to this review

Dear Madam/Sir, thank you for your stay and review, sorry to hear that you did not like you Boutique Prestige room/s - we offer a variety of room types and styles and if we will have opportunity to have you as our guest again in the future we will be happy to offer you another type and style. Also sorry...

woking
Reviewed 28 June 2016

I have just had the pleasure of spending three nights in this wonderful hotel while visiting friends in Varberg for midsummer. From the moment we checked in at 2:30am in the morning the staff were as friendly and inviting as any hotel I have stayed in, nothing was too much trouble. The rooms are again a treat, beautifully decorated, very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank zebacat
Bo S, Hotelldirektör at Varberg Stadshotell & Asia Spa, responded to this review

Dear Sir/Madam/zebacat, thank you - we are so happy that you had a good time here in Varberg and that you enjoyed our service and facilities! Nice to hear that you manage to catch several of our environments such as sea view and our outside bar with the market - as well as indoor features. Thank you so much and...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 June 2016 via mobile

It troubles me to give 2* to such a wonder hotel. I've given 5* to far less good places. It's stylish, immaculately designed, great facilities and amenities. But I picked this spa hotel for a complete restful getaway after a very stressful period. On check in they gave me a card for the spa on the 3rd floor and I...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ChookNY
Bo S, Hotelldirektör at Varberg Stadshotell & Asia Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your stay and feedback - and I am really sorry that your stay coincided our spa-maintenance period and that we thereby couldn't offer you our full spa facilities! It is correct that we empty our pool/s from water for maintenance (depends but about once a year) this is planned about 6-8 months ahead and for this period...

dubai
Reviewed 5 June 2016 via mobile

The finest place i visited for relaxation. Packages are affordable and enables a 4 hours complete use of different facility. Different massages in vitality pool is a must try experience. Gets rid of all stress built all week long. An experience of spa that you dont want to miss once un Varberg.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank khuloodj j
Bo S, Hotelldirektör at Varberg Stadshotell & Asia Spa, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your stay at us - and we are delighted that you enjoyed our spa, hotel and facilities! And relaxation is one of our top features that we want to give our guests visiting our Asia Spa. Thank you and hope to see you again soon! Best regards / Bo Samuelsson

Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewed 29 April 2016

One night on this grand hotell is a lisa for själen. Great breakfast and dinner is good but the service on dinner was rather stange and not correct. Relax and spa is great not big but smart. Loads of room for reading and relaxing. I like the outdoor sauna and pool. Great view also.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Danielfrilans
Bo S, Hotelldirektör at Varberg Stadshotell & Asia Spa, responded to this review

Dear Daniel, thank you very much for your stay and nice to read that you enjoyed most of our services and facilities! Sorry to hear though that you did not get expected service when having dinner, if you have the time I would like hear more about what happened on my mail bo.samuelsson@varbergsstadshotell.com. Thank you for kind words and we...

A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2016 via mobile

My husband and I took our 12 year old grandson to Varberg for an 8 day business trip. Our Boutique room was perfect for the 3 of us and we loved the coffee machine! The staff went above and beyond to answer questions and give tips on day trips and restaurants in the city center. The hotel's breakfast was a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Bo S, Hotelldirektör at Varberg Stadshotell & Asia Spa, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your stay and lovely kind words! Nice to hear that you enjoyed and that your room was convenient for the three of you, and so nice that you took your grandson on your trip, hope he had a good time at us and in Varberg as well. Than you very much and to see you...

Sweden
Reviewed 20 March 2016

The classic room we booked was old and nothing special but ok. Due to the broken air conditioning we than upgraded to the Boutique room. It was very small but very nice and the air con was fine. It was very nice from the hotel to give us the opportunity without extra cost! The spa.....the spa is heaven on earth!...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Smity07
Bo S, Hotelldirektör at Varberg Stadshotell & Asia Spa, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your stay and we are so happy that you enjoyed our facilities and service! Sorry about the air condition, good that you got another room and glad that you liked it. Thank you and hope to see you soon again - welcome back to us!

Chardon, Ohio
Reviewed 17 March 2016

We are very pleased with this hotel - the rooms are lovely and the food is good. The spa is very nice and relaxing. If you can afford the mid priced or above rooms you will not be disappointed- the smallest rooms are very tight for two adults staying more than a few days. The location is also perfect -...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CIndi3377
Bo S, Hotelldirektör at Varberg Stadshotell & Asia Spa, responded to this review

Hi, thank you very much for your stay at us and we are so glad that you enjoyed our hotel and facilities! And yes, we have a number of differens room types divided in three main styles - so partly depending on purpose and length of stay etc we are happy to try to help out choosing the right one....

201 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (161)
Viewed
Room/Suite (34)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (39)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (77)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (40)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (30)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Varberg
1.9 km away
Varbergs Kusthotell
Varbergs Kusthotell
#6 of 6 in Varberg
311 reviews
28.4 km away
Falkenberg Strandbad
Falkenberg Strandbad
#1 of 3 in Falkenberg
1,600 reviews
0.3 km away
Clarion Collection Hotel Fregatten
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Hotell Havanna
Hotell Havanna
#3 of 6 in Varberg
125 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotell Gastis
Hotell Gastis
#4 of 6 in Varberg
135 reviews
1.9 km away
Apelvikens Camping
Apelvikens Camping
#5 of 6 in Varberg
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free Breakfast
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities

Additional Information about Varberg Stadshotell & Asia Spa

Address: 24-26 Kungsgatan, Varberg, Varberg Municipality 432 41, Sweden (Formerly BEST WESTERN Varbergs Stadshotell & Asia Spa)
Region: Sweden > West Coast > Halland County > Varberg Municipality > Varberg
Price Range: €136 - €178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Varberg Stadshotell & Asia Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 178
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Varberg Stadshotell & Asia Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Varberg Stadshotell & Asia Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for recently renovated rooms (and a view towards the water if you will)”
 of 5 bubbles Bjornsdotter1, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The hotel has two sides, the old is decorated in a lovely baroque style and rooms to match, the modern side is ultra stylish.”
 of 5 bubbles zebacat, 28 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Boutique rooms are cosy.”
 of 5 bubbles Danielfrilans, 29 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Go mid range price for the nicer rooms especially if traveling as a couple”
 of 5 bubbles CIndi3377, 17 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Check market days and if staying on one of those days avoid rooms at front of building.”
 of 5 bubbles FlyingScot89, 27 Jan 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay