We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Varbergs Kusthotell

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Varbergs Kusthotell
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

350 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Varbergs Kusthotell
See the most recent reviews
Showing 68: English reviews
Gothenburg, Sweden
Reviewed 19 October 2016

Nice hotel with good food. The spa area is quite small so it doesn't offer much but nice if only have a little time to spend in the spa. The food was good but the coffee is weak. The conference rooms a little cold and the air-condition makes you want to put on some additional clothing to avoid stiff shoulders....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ammi72swe
Torhild M, Guest Relation Manager at Varbergs Kusthotell, responded to this review

Dear Ammi, Thank you so much for your review, it means a lot to us. We are greatful that you had a pleasant stay - we will look into the strength of our coffee and also the temperature in the conference room. Hope to see you again! Best regards Torhild Molvig

Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewed 2 October 2016

I've stayed at hotels for over 30 years. This was seriously the worst ever. The lobby was gorgeous! My room, something around 3 stars . And the reception is a MESS! They messed up our reservation for 7 people, for 2 nights so badly, all 4 times I was at the front desk with a new person trying to figure...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 415denise
Torhild M, Guest Relation Manager at Varbergs Kusthotell, responded to this review

Dear Denise, Thank you for your feedback, we are sorry to hear that your staying was so terrible. We embrace all views and work towards improving. Best regards Torhild Molvig

Reviewed 2 September 2016

Spent a weekend at this hotel earlier this summer. As we travel with a dog we were happy to be able to get a "dog room". It even had it's own little patio which opened up to the big lawn in front of the restaurant so we could let our dog out that way. Very nice. The room was a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jonas D
Torhild M, Guest Relation Manager at Varbergs Kusthotell, responded to this review

Dear Jonas, Many thanks for your kind review. We are so greatful that you had a pleasant stay and we are hoping to see you and your dog with us soon again. Best regards, Torhild Molvig

Copenhagen, Denmark
Reviewed 11 August 2016

The service is ok, the surroundings is perfect, the rooms are ok, prices om drinks and food are too high bur the spa is really nice. The breakfirst is fair, not perfect. The walk to Varberg is wonderfull, and the city is really nice.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tina A
Torhild M, Guest Relation Manager at Varbergs Kusthotell, responded to this review

Dear Tina, Thank you for your review and nice comments, we are very greatful. Nice to read that you liked our surroundings - we will shape up a little bit more with the details until next visit. Hope to see you here agin! Best regards, Torhild Molvig

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 August 2016

This imposing hotel was formally a hospital, and has been converted impressively into a modern hotel. We didn't like the very formal, dark décor - it felt more like a business hotel than a seaside resort- but others may like this. The setting next to the sea was the best we found in the area - 10/10. Disappointing: 1. Restaurant:...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Grev2012
Yerevan, Armenia
Reviewed 17 July 2016

Wonderful location on seaside very close to see (50 m?), very friendly staff, comfortable rooms with nice and modern furniture, very good restaurant and excellent food, and excellent environment (forest and sea)! Highly recommend to those who wish to travel and prefer to stay close to the nature!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AGarik
Torhild M, Guest Relation Manager at Varbergs Kusthotell, responded to this review

Dear guest, Many thanks for your nice review and recommendations. We feel very proud! Have a nice summer and welcome back some other time. Kindly, Torhild Molvig Varbergs Kusthotell

Reviewed 25 June 2016 via mobile

Stopped for a drink while walking around Varberg. Great Appelviken cocktail made by a very nice bartender. Sit outside to have a drink,the view is wonderful.We visited their spa shop which was amazing. I would definitely want to spend a day there.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank alexandravasilis
Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 14 June 2016 via mobile

Our expectations were widely surpassed at this old hospital-turned-hotel by the sea. It's very conveniently located 35 or so min walk from the railway station passing the old fortress. It's a spectacular scenery and dramatic history framing this area at the boarders of Denmark, Sweden and Norway. The hotel is located at the beach in a few large old buildings...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kalle46
Reviewed 4 June 2016 via mobile

This is a beautiful hotel right by the sea which caters to your every need for relaxation, staff are very helpful and the spa is perfect to help you forget the days stresses. I enjoyed the food and since I am gluten intolerant I appreciated the alternatives that were offered. I highly recommend staying here!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Néall B
Bitola, Republic of Macedonia
Reviewed 8 April 2016

Great location next to a private beach, . The common areas are very nice. The food was incredible, pricey but incredible.The staff was helpful and very kind. The spa facilities were very clean, excellent shower with sound,light and good relaxing, pool with salt water, saunas, thalasso spa, good spa treatments.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ljupc0

155 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (119)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (73)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (36)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Varberg
1.9 km away
Varberg Stadshotell & Asia Spa
2.1 km away
Clarion Collection Hotel Fregatten
27.0 km away
Falkenberg Strandbad
Falkenberg Strandbad
#1 of 3 in Falkenberg
2,249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Hotell Havanna
Hotell Havanna
#3 of 6 in Varberg
141 reviews
2.1 km away
Hotell Gastis
Hotell Gastis
#4 of 6 in Varberg
139 reviews
0.3 km away
Apelvikens Camping
Apelvikens Camping
#6 of 6 in Varberg
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to Varbergs Kusthotel. Nowhere is the spa tradition more important than at Varbergs Kusthotell on Sweden's west coast. There has been spa activity here for more than 200 years and the guests continue to pour in as much for the experience as for the innovative ideas. We believe that is one of the reasons we have received awards such as Europe's Best Spa. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Varbergs Kusthotell

Address: 5 Nils Kreugers Vaeg | Box 152, Varberg, Varberg Municipality 432 53, Sweden (Formerly Comwell Varbergs Kurort)
Region: Sweden > West Coast > Halland County > Varberg Municipality > Varberg
Price Range: €101 - €232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Varbergs Kusthotell 4*
Number of rooms: 158
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Varbergs Kusthotell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Varbergs Kusthotell staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Varbergs Kusthotell staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“make sure you are given the option to see at least 2 totally different rooms. They vary ENORMOUSLY for the same price.”
415denise, 1 Oct 2016 | Read review
“The ordinary rooms has the door right next to the bed. That's not nice.”
654tinaa, 10 Aug 2016 | Read review
“rooms on the second floor are quieter”
Ljupc0, 8 Apr 2016 | Read review
“There are several Buildings with different rooms”
AinaL, 28 Sep 2015 | Read review
“the adjacent buildings are newer than main building”
  • beautiful sunsets
randknew, 30 May 2015 | Read review
5 of 5