We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
26 Katarinavaegen, Stockholm 104 65 Sweden
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$103
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
US$103
View deal
Hotels.com
US$103
View deal
TravelocityUS$103
PricelineUS$115
ZenHotels.comUS$133
View all 19 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (175)
360
Panoramas (18)
Room & Suite (295)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#91 of 160 hotels in Stockholm
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
GreenLeaders Silver level

Finding an ideal family-friendly hotel in Stockholm does not have to be difficult. Welcome to Scandic Sjofartshotellet, a nice option for travellers like you.

While staying at Scandic Sjofartshotellet, visitors can check out Sodermalm (0.1 mi) and Fjallgatan (0.4 mi), some of Stockholm's top attractions.

Rooms at Scandic Sjofartshotellet Hotel provide a flat screen TV, and getting online is easy, with free wifi available.

In addition, Scandic Sjofartshotellet offers a fitness center and free breakfast, which will help make your Stockholm trip additionally gratifying.

While in Stockholm, you may want to check out some of the restaurants that are a short walk away from Scandic Sjofartshotellet Hotel, including Stockholms Gastabud (0.5 mi), Frantzén (1.2 mi), and Nystekt Stromming (0.3 mi).

If you are interested in exploring Stockholm, check out one of the military museums, such as Army Museum, Royal Armory, and Maritime Museum.

Scandic Sjofartshotellet looks forward to welcoming you on your visit to Stockholm.

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Conference facilities
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Wifi
Sauna
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Rooftop bar
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Green
Languages Spoken
English, Danish, Norwegian, Swedish

Location

Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
127Restaurantswithin 0.5 km
30Attractionswithin 0.5 km
1261Reviews4Q+A54Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 286
  • 482
  • 305
  • 136
  • 52
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
annika m wrote a review Nov 2022
Turku, Finland12 contributions1 helpful vote
Very nice, basic hotel. Nice, clean rooms. We stayed in a standard room. Location is good. Easy to access by metro or bus. There is big reconstruction of the Slussen area going on, but you don't hear any of that inside the hotel/ rooms. Breakfast is very good.There is a nice gym at the hotel you can access and also sauna. Friendly staff and helpful
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Scandic Hotels
Date of stay: November 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
AndersE wrote a review Oct 2022
Skutskar, Sweden3103 contributions30 helpful votes
Scandic hotels might not the most exciting ones. But you always know they wont let you down! My "concert crew" is me and two other fullgrown males who wants a three bed room without the double bed, can be a bit tricky to find but here they have it! Room a bit on the small side but not to bad. Roomy bathroom and good beds albeit one is a "murpy". Good breakfast, but it was a bit overrun by people at the weekend. Looking forward to be able to visit the roof top bar some other time!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
rolivi436422 wrote a review Sep 2022
Paris, France1 contribution
Room very small. Queen size bed was140 cm wide, everywhere else in Europe is 160 cm. This makes a deception upon arrival. Description of the bed should be "standard double bed" and not Queen size bed.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with ScandicHotels.com
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Nikolas Garcia, General Manager at Scandic Sjofartshotellet
Responded 9 Oct 2022
Hi and thank you for your feedback! We are sorry the bedsize didn´t live up to your expectations, and we hope you in spite of this had a pleasant stay. Thank you and welcome back, Best regards, Nikolas Garcia General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
tswall571539 wrote a review Sep 2022
Clitheroe, United Kingdom1 contribution
Holiday. We enjoyed our time in the beautiful city of Stockholm but are dismayed and shocked by the hotels inadequate payments system. The hotel 🏨 is attempting to take payment for our rooms again, nearly two weeks after we left and despite being shown the payment on my credit card. I will never stay with them again.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with ScandicHotels.com
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of Tripadvisor LLC nor of its partners. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Nikolas Garcia, General Manager at Scandic Sjofartshotellet
Responded 9 Oct 2022
Hello, thank you for your feedback! We are very sorry that there were problems with the settlement, this doesn´t normally occur and maybe there was a delay between the bank and our systems. Again we apologize and hope you had a pleasant stay in spite of this. Best regards, Nikolas Garcia General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sirpa-Maija V wrote a review Aug 2022
Helsinki, Finland2 contributions
We enjoyed our stay at Scandic Sjöfartshotellet. The location is perfect, the rooms was well cleaned and comfortable. The staff was friendly. We were a group of seven persons, and we must leave the hotel very early in the morning and we couldn’t take breakfast in the restaurant. Hotel organized breakfast boxes to us and the consistence of the boxes was excellent.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with ScandicHotels.com
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Nikolas Garcia, General Manager at Scandic Sjofartshotellet
Responded 31 Aug 2022
Hi! Thank you for your feedback. We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us. Welcome back! Best regards, Nikolas Garcia
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Abbie M wrote a review Aug 2022
Edinburgh, United Kingdom3 contributions1 helpful vote
I enjoyed my stay at Scandic Sjofartshotellet. The location is perfect to explore the city, the room was larger than expected as well as clean and comfortable. The staff was friendly and always ready to help. The breakfast was good and there was a large variety of choice. I travelled with my dog and he was also warmly welcomed and there was even a welcome gift waiting for him in our room.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with ScandicHotels.com
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Nikolas Garcia, General Manager at Scandic Sjofartshotellet
Responded 31 Aug 2022
Dear Abbie, thank you very much for your review! We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us, and hope you visit us again soon, Best regards, Nikolas Garcia
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Shawna S wrote a review Aug 2022
1 contribution
I stayed at this Hotel for a week in early August 2022, and I had a WONDERFUL experience. I came from the USA, and this was my first time in Sweden. I will start with the things I liked MOST about this hotel. Favorite Things: 1.Rooftop Bar- After hanging out in the city all day, we discovered this gem one night. The view is amazing, and you can order drinks as well as small dishes from the hotel restaurant. They play music, and there are hotel guests as well as locals that come here after work. The bartenders (Lenny and Marcus and some others) were ALL so amazing and helpful. They gave drink suggestions, advice on sites to visit, and were super friendly. They looked liked they loved their jobs, and every night we went up there, they welcomed us like we were old friends. There was a greeter/security/entrance hostess (Violet) who was exceptional. She would welcome everyone personally, and when some people got too loud and drunk, she would calm them down, or expertly escort them out of the bar. I saw her telling the bartenders to give water to some ladies who clearly had too much to drink, and helping people call taxis to get home. The staff at the bar was just so professional, I loved it!!! 2.Breakfast- The breakfast buffet here was sooo good. It's an added charge to the room cost if you choose this. You have to call the front desk a day ahead and put your name on the schedule for a certain time. However they had so many delicious options: meats, cheese, crepes, breads, pate, eggs, jams, fruit, cereals, yogurts, meatballs, bacon, sausages, coffee, teas, pickles, juices, etc. There was a great hostess (I think her name was Julia), she gave me the BEST directions on ow to navigate into Stockholm, what bus to take, where to get off. She actually took time off from work and drew me a map. Not to mention, one day my friend was sick and could not come to breakfast, and Julia gave me a tray to bring food to the room, and she put a cute note on the tray that said "feel better"! 3. Staff- The staff made this hotel experience so good! If it wasn't for the staff, this would be just another forgettable hotel. The guys at the front desk were as helpful as they could be. We asked for advice on getting around, restaurant choices, clubs to go to, etc. Everyone was so helpful. Phillip the night manager, spent several minutes printing up and directing me how to take the ferries to get around, even though he was training a new night person, and still had his own work to do. Maricela (I think?) gave us so many good ideas on places to go, and even came up to our room when we had a problem. Natalie also gave us cuisine ideas, and told us we should go to Uppsala (which I did not regret). She was patient as we asked a million questions. 4. Room- was clean. And they had black out curtains for the 19 hours of sunlight that we had during our stay. Rooms are small, and furniture is not impressive and barely there. 5. The lights only work when your keycard is in the holder by the door. This is cool because it lets the lights go off when you are out of the room...lest waste of energy. 6. There are snacks at the font desk area. A couple nights, I bought ice cream sandwiches, and a cookie or candy bar. Hotel: 1. General Room: The decor is not modern, but the place was clean, and had no odors. This is Europe so be prepared for rooms that are not as large as American hotel rooms. I visited with a girlfriend, and we had two beds in a standard room. We both had 50lb suitcases, and we could not have BOTH suitcases opened up on the floor at the same time. The beds were thinner than I expected, but they were surprisingly comfortable. We also had a room with an AMAZING window, overlooking the water (and some construction) and this really helped to make the room seem larger. The bathrooms were more modern and fairly decent in size, but there was no separation between the toilet, sink, or shower areas. The stand up shower had a swinging curved glass door, that did not go to the bottom, so this meant that when you showered, the water often went into the areas of the sink. So, after every shower, we had to towel dry the floors. But, the water pressure and temperature was not a problem. 2. Location- To be honest, I loved the location. It is in Slussen, and was walking distance to ferries, the Metro, and buses. We utilized all these while we were there, and the #3 bus stops right in front of the hotel. Also it is walking distance to the old town of Gamla Stan, and we spent many days here, as there are lots of restaurants and souvenir shops here. Also a short 10 min bus ride to Stockholm city. 2. Amenities: There is no AC. We were able to borrow a small oscillating fan, and this helped out. But, if you don't mind opening the window at night, the air was pretty cool and fresh. During the day, you should probably be out seeing the sites, so you won't really notice the lack of AC in the room. The weather was pretty cool while we were there. No day was excruciatingly hot. -There is one iron for over 400 guests (the entire hotel) - There is one ice machine for the entire hotel - there was a gym, but was so busy, I did not visit it -Free wifi-this was spotty until I got the correct password from the front desk - No in room refrigerator. This was not a problem for me, until the last day, when I wanted to bring back some goodies that needed to be chilled before putting into my temperature controlled cooler bag. - Nowhere to lock up valuables. Sweden is a cashless society, so you will have no use for cash, here. All you need is your credit or debit card. - Room cleaning- You have to request this. They try to minimize washing/water waste, so no one will change linens, clean rooms, or give you towels unless you request this with the front desk. We had to put in 2 requests before someone came. -TV- never put this on. I had a good time here. However, I spent most days outside sightseeing. Once I left my room for breakfast, I only returned to change for dinner (sometimes), and then to get ready for bed. Although, the price could have been a little cheaper for what you get...but I don't recall how much more we had to pay because we did the breakfast option.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Get a room on a higher floor with a window overlooking the water
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Åsa Wernsten, Owner at Scandic Sjofartshotellet
Responded 15 Aug 2022
Dear Shawnas, thank you so much for your kind words, I Have shared this with my fellow workers and the are all so happy. This made their day. I wish you a nice summer and autumn and hope to see you again in Stockholm and at our hotel. Best regards Åsa, Scandic Sjöfartshotellet
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
hfrykl724358 wrote a review Aug 2022
1 contribution
Overall very good. Perhaps the room could have been bigger, as could the bed, and I would have loved to be able to open the window. But otherhwise everything was satisfying. From breakfast to clenliness, comfort and service.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with ScandicHotels.com
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of Tripadvisor LLC nor of its partners. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Åsa Wernsten, Owner at Scandic Sjofartshotellet
Responded 15 Aug 2022
Hallo, Thanks for your feedback on you recent stay with us. So nice to hear that you had a pleasant hotel experience and we hope to see you soon again! Best regards Åsa
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Margarit M wrote a review Aug 2022
1 contribution
First we were given a room on groundfloor , right next to the street, for a family with a baby ...with a very small bad attached to the wall and really small room. After complain we were able to change the room to higher floor at least . However had to set our daughter to sleep on the floor somehow to we all could fit .. No daily service either. Just a really nice location next to the waterside and and at the end we got a nice view from higher floor.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with ScandicHotels.com
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Åsa Wernsten, Owner at Scandic Sjofartshotellet
Responded 15 Aug 2022
Dear Guest, Thanks for sharing your hotel experience with us, it helps us improve and get even better at what we do. We’re sad to hear that you were not satisfied withyour stay this time. After all we’re pleased to hear that you liked the view and we hope you will stay with us again soon and give us a chance to give you a better hotel stay. All the best, Åsa at Scandic Sjöfartshotellet
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
one of many wrote a review Aug 2022
1 contribution
2 adults and 2 children on a holiday trip for 3 nights. No aircondition in a hot room, fans were offered but would not been effective in that heat. Staff has No sense of service at all and was not even interested in helping in any way. Reception desk could not even answere if roomservice dinner was avaiable they only said you got to go to restaurant and ask them. They did not even make the effort to make a quick call or anything to see if it was possible. Breakfast staff standing in the way talking to eachother of their personal problems and saying i don't care. Breakfast staff also starting to clean the tables and picking away halfly done meals while we still are eating. We asked them to fix the roof light in the room because it was not working and the card holder for all lights were glitching, they only managed to put a new card in the holder and nothing else. We went to the terass/skybar at 16.30 the day before and asked if dinner was possible to eat there ( we werent sure if it was to early to serve dinner) We got an answere with an attitude, " yes we serve dinner, even the Whole Meny" and then she turned her back at us and walked away and there we stood alone at the skybar. ( we walked away and grabbed a burger 10 min away instead ) The lack of interest and no sense of service from staff make me to NOT Recomend this place. If you want a better hotel experience there are better options in central stockholm.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Åsa Wernsten, Owner at Scandic Sjofartshotellet
Responded 15 Aug 2022
Hi, Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. We’re so sad to hear that you didn’t get the great service that you expected during your stay. We’ll look into this incident and will take actions to prevent it from happening in the future. I would much appreciate if you contacted me directly at the hotel to try to sort this out in the best possible way. Of course we hope that you choose to stay with us also next time and give us a chance to give you a better hotel experience. Best Regards Åsa, Service Team Manager, Sjöfartshotellet
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$93 - US$153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
scandic sjofartshotellet stockholm, scandic sjofartshotellet hotel stockholm
LOCATION
SwedenStockholm CountyStockholmSodermalm / Slussen / Sodermalm Borough
NUMBER OF ROOMS
212
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

SCANDIC SJOFARTSHOTELLET - UPDATED 2022 Reviews

Frequently Asked Questions about Scandic Sjofartshotellet
Which popular attractions are close to Scandic Sjofartshotellet?
Nearby attractions include Sodermalm (0.2 km), Katarina Hissen (0.4 km), and Stockholm City Museum (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Scandic Sjofartshotellet?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a rooftop bar, free wifi, and free breakfast.
What food & drink options are available at Scandic Sjofartshotellet?
Guests can enjoy a rooftop bar, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Scandic Sjofartshotellet?
Conveniently located restaurants include Woodstockholm, The Secret Garden, and Omnipollos Hatt.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Scandic Sjofartshotellet?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre and a sauna during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Scandic Sjofartshotellet?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Scandic Sjofartshotellet?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Scandic Sjofartshotellet offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and conference facilities during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Scandic Sjofartshotellet?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Swedish, Danish, and Norwegian.
Are there any historical sites close to Scandic Sjofartshotellet?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Kungliga Djurgården (2.2 km), Skogskyrkogården (4.5 km), and Storkyrkan (0.8 km).