We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Strandvagen 7C, Stockholm 114 56 Sweden
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
TripadvisorUS$276
Hotels.com
Expedia.comUS$278
Preferred Hotels
Algotels
ZenHotels.comUS$286
View all 21 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (571)
360
Panoramas (12)
Room & Suite (369)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#17 of 160 hotels in Stockholm
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Stylish and elegant. Hotel Diplomat is a five star luxury hotel, located on Strandvägen in the city center of Stockholm. Perfectly positioned to explore the green scenery of Djurgården, Karlaplan and the vibrant Stureplan. The unique Art Nouveau palace with stunning views over Nybroviken and Stockholm’s waterfront offers a luxurious hotel experience.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Airport transportation
Conference facilities
Car park
Wifi
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
Taxi service
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Massage
Salon
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Gift shop
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Coffee / tea maker
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
VIP room facilities
Show more
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Harbour View
Classic
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, German, Italian and 2 more

Location

100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
154Restaurantswithin 0.5 km
33Attractionswithin 0.5 km
2139Reviews18Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 1,323
  • 581
  • 150
  • 56
  • 29
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Ka_Mi_Sa_Bo wrote a review 25 Jan
London, United Kingdom24 contributions5 helpful votes
I have stayed at The Diplomat on many occasions and am super happy. It always manages that fine balance between warmth, intimacy and friendliness alongside a healthy dose of anonymity and business. The rooms are of a great standard, the beds are fantastic and the breakfast and restaurants downstairs is always with great service and quality food. The location is bang smack in the city centre with great views (if you are lucky) of the bay and seafront. Would warmly recommend it.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Amanda Ottosson, Guest Services / Front Office at Hotel Diplomat
Responded yesterday
Dear Ka_Mi_Sa_Bo, Thank you so much for your lovely review of your stay with us at Hotel Diplomat. I am delighted to read that you had a good stay with us again and that you are one of our many beloved regular guests. The whole team will be very happy to hear your kind words. I hope I get the pleasure to meet you during your next stay. Kindest regards, Amanda Ottosson Guest Relations & Special Services Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Merton wrote a review 25 Jan
1 contribution
+1
The hygiene of the hotel facility was poor. Housekeeper didn’t speak English, and could not understand my request. The room was not properly cleaned, especially the bathroom and the toilet. The spa area smelled bad with fungus on the wall.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Amanda Ottosson, Guest Services / Front Office at Hotel Diplomat
Responded yesterday
Dear Pioneer04785199963, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on your stay at Hotel Diplomat. I would greatly appreciate getting in contact with you to hear more about your stay, kindly contact me at guest.relations@diplomathotel.com Wishing you a great day. Kindest regards Amanda Ottosson Guest Relations & Special Services Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Paul A wrote a review 21 Jan
I am not one to write reviews as am I used to high service and exceptional standards. However I must say my visit to the Diplomat Sweden exceeded expectations. With absolutely Superb service and hospitality from the staff with an extra merit to staff member Isaac who welcomed us with warmth friendliness and exceptional service l. With a wealth of local knowledge he single handley made our trip to Sweden superb! Thanks Tack Iscacc
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Anna Enger -sällberg, Guest Services / Front Office at Hotel Diplomat
Responded 4 days ago
Dear Paula, Thank you for taking the time to leave such a wonderful review after your stay with us. We are delighted to read that we exceeded your expectations during your stay at Hotel Diplomat. We will definitely send your kind words to Isaac, we are definitely lucky to have him within our staff and it makes us really happy to hear that he made your trip to sweden extra special. We hope we get the pleasure of welcoming you back to Hotel Diplomat soon again. Warm regards, Anna Guest Relations Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
joheke1981 wrote a review 1 Jan
1 contribution
Poor Coffee experience in the room. No presentation of coffee selection available and I had expected better quality for this standard hotel. Our room was on the 1st floor and it was loud from the street outside.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Anna Enger -sällberg, Guest Services / Front Office at Hotel Diplomat
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Joheke1981, I´m sorry that we did not live up to the expectations regarding coffee in the room. We offer coffee machines in our categories starting from Deluxe and higher. And we are always happy to bring a kettle with coffe or tea to the room when requested and I am sorry we did not recieve this information and were able to give it to you. We will be happy to have it ready in the room for you and give you a room on a higher floor, if we get the chanse to welcome you back in the future Warm regards, Anna Guest Relations Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jiri K wrote a review Dec 2022
Prague, Czech Republic187 contributions34 helpful votes
Luxurious hotel walking distance from Gamla stan and the city center. Better rooms have the sea view and the rooms are comfortable and well laid out. Do not forget to book the retreat experience with the sauna and hammam. The restaurant is ok for breakfast, but go out for lunch and dinner. There is a nice shop facing the reception with local food and good coffee.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Caroline Sjöqvist, Gästservice/reception at Hotel Diplomat
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Jiri, What a wonderful review and thank you so much for taking the time to tell us about your stay. How great that you liked Butiken and our rooms. Warm welcome back anytime! Kind regards, Caroline Sjöqvist Front Office Manager caroline.sjoqvist@diplomathotel.com
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
L4093JQml wrote a review Dec 2022
1 contribution
There were several problems during my short stay and I won't be going back. Staff mean well but they there are significant management weaknesses and the staff are poorly trained. You can't charge premium rates and then deliver poor service
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Anna Enger -sällberg, Guest Services / Front Office at Hotel Diplomat
Responded 18 Dec 2022
Dear L4093JQml, It saddens me to hear about your experience during your stay and the feeling that you left with. Your feedback is very impportant to us and we take this very seriously. I would love to get more information about what went wrong and get in contact with you if you would be so kind to contact me at guest.relations@diplomathotel.com. I look forward to hear from you. Warm regards, Anna Guest Relations Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
sambrogiogloria wrote a review Dec 2022
Milan, Italy1 contribution
We spent 3 days in Stockholm. Stay at Diplomat Hotel made magic and unforgetable our experience. Clean and cozy room, staff kind and ready to satisfy every needs, high food quality and nice presentation, warm atmosphere everywhere.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Amanda Ottosson, Guest Services / Front Office at Hotel Diplomat
Responded 11 Dec 2022
Dear Sambrogiogloria, Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a great review of your stay with us. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and the team will all be so happy to hear your kind words. I really hope we get the pleasure of welcoming you back to us soon. Wishing you a great week. Kindest regards Amanda Ottosson Guest Relations & Special Services Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
DaleBaker2022 wrote a review Dec 2022
Munich, Germany1 contribution
I travel all over the world and have the ability to pretty much stay in the hotel of my choice. The Hotel Diplomat is an elegant without being "to much". It is located in one of the most beautiful parts of Stockholm and inviting walks left and right. The hotel has private little "hidden gem" spots such as the sitting area of guests on the 1.5 floor and the elegant sitting room on the second floor. What MAKES this hotel though is the staff. The friendly check in staff were full of good suggestions for where to take a walk and sites to see, the bar staff was friendly, entertaining and engaging. Everyone from the bell staff to the front desk to restaurant and bar staff to the charming room service girl made you feel like you were almost staying in a friend's home. If you are like me and have hundreds of thousands of "points" at every major hotel chain that exists and you just want to feel comfortable and appreciated give Hotel Diplomat a try.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Amanda Ottosson, Guest Services / Front Office at Hotel Diplomat
Responded 7 Dec 2022
Dear DaleBaker2022, Thank you so much for writing such a lovely review of your stay with us at Hotel Diplomat. I am delighted to read you have enjoyed your time here so much and that the team has made such a great impression. I will share your kind words with the whole team, I am sure they will be thrilled to read them. I really hope we get the great pleasure of welcoming you back to Hotel Diplomat very soon. Wishing you a great day. Kindest regards Amanda Ottosson Guest Relations & Special Services Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Karl S wrote a review Nov 2022
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg6 contributions4 helpful votes
Excellent service and great location. I have stayed here many times and it is always my first choice when travelling to Stockholm. Beautiful old historic building. A lot of privacy located on one of Stockholm’s best addresses and the absolute best breakfast in town. Keep on the excellent work and see you soon!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: November 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Amanda Ottosson, Guest Services / Front Office at Hotel Diplomat
Responded 27 Nov 2022
Dear 485karls, Thank you for leaving such a lovely review of your stay with us at Hotel Diplomat. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed the location, the hotel, and the breakfast so much, and I really hope we get the pleasure of welcoming you back to us soon. I would like to wish you a great week and safe travels home from Stockholm. Kind regards, Amanda Ottosson Guest Relations & Special Services Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Walther G wrote a review Nov 2022
7 contributions4 helpful votes
I am a returning customer since 2010. Great location and great historical building. Still this time everything went wrong: At arrival we had 10cm of dirty watery snow just in front of the entrance, there where taxis stop. I started my stay by destroying my shoes. It was the only sidewalk of the street that had not been cleaned. I booked 2 rooms at almost 300.€ each. Both our rooms were about 10sqm big ( mine was #217). There was not even room to store my trolley. The bathroom was about 2sqm big. These are the tiniest rooms I have ever seen in my life...in particular for that type of price. The room was not ready when we arrived around 12.30 and we left our luggage, that was deemed to be brought to the rooms. It was not: we had to come down and pick it up ourselves in the cloakroom. The worst is that when I mentioned my dissatisfaction, all I had were apologies: no commercial gesture, no discount at check-out, no offer for any sort of compensation, no drink...just the full 600€ rate for 2 rooms of 10sqm each. As regards the personnel at the front desk I had the feeling that I was talking to smiling inexperienced robots..at the exception of the very helpful gentleman in charge with the Breakfast. The hotel was I believe not full. This was not value for money and I question whether I will or not return to the Diplomat when next in Stockholm.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Caroline Sjöqvist, Gästservice/reception at Hotel Diplomat
Responded 25 Nov 2022
Dear Walther G, How unfortunate that you were unhappy with your stay, it saddens me very much that you did not enjoy your Standard Queen room of 17 sqm. We offer a wide variety of rooms and I am confident that we can find one in the future that is more to your liking. As disclosed on our website the rooms in your booked category varies from 15-20sqm, may I suggest that if you require more space to look at our larger room categories such as Double Superior or our beloved Deluxe Sea View Rooms. It disheartens me that you did not feel that we took your dissatisfaction seriously. Please let me know when you return to Stockholm and I would personally like to assist you with your reservation so that we can find you a room more suited for you. We hope to see you soon again. Best regards, Caroline Sjöqvist Front Office Manager caroline.sjoqvist@diplomathotel.com
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$254 - US$321 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
diplomat hotel stockholm
LOCATION
SwedenStockholm CountyStockholmÖstermalm
NUMBER OF ROOMS
130
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HOTEL DIPLOMAT - UPDATED 2023 Reviews & Price Comparison (Stockholm, Sweden) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Diplomat
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Diplomat?
Nearby attractions include Army Museum (0.3 km), Hallwyl Museum (0.4 km), and Strandvagen (0.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Diplomat?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel Diplomat?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Diplomat?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Diplomat?
Yes, a parking garage, paid private parking nearby, and paid public parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Diplomat?
Conveniently located restaurants include Gastrologik, Glashuset, and Wedholms Fisk.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hotel Diplomat?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre and a sauna during their stay.
Does Hotel Diplomat have airport transportation?
Yes, Hotel Diplomat offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hotel Diplomat?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Hotel Diplomat?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.