We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Master Johan Hotel, BW Premier Collection

Show Prices
#2 of 38 Hotels in Malmo
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Master Johan Hotel, BW Premier Collection
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

600 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 268: English reviews
Co Laois
1 review
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Location of hotel excellent so close the hub of activity restaurants, bars and shopping. A great breakfast with many options all freshly prepared. The rooms were spacious yet cozy. Staff speak excellent English and are so helpful.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Z4530QTpatriciaw
Alleröd
1 review
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We liked our stay at the hotel very much. The staff was helpful and polite, the breakfast was very tasty, the beds were large and very good, the bathroom was luxurious. The room was nice, big - and very quiet was a double door to the hall and windows facing a quiet street.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank ninah752
Rørvig
1 review
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Everything perfect, even the weather :-) This was our first stay in Malmø, and the hotel is situated perfect for shopping and sightseeing on foot. Many restaurants nearby and an interesting new area of sustainable houses at Västra hamn near Turning Torso.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank philipfV3075KQ
Management response:

Thank you for your kind words! Lovely to hear that the weather was great aswell :) Yu are welcome back to stay with us next time you visit Malmö. Best regards Kim Axelsson, front desk. More 

St Julians
1 review
Reviewed 1 week ago

Hotel in a good location, with a funny Retro feeling in my room. Old fashioned TV, alarm clock, bed and shower cabin. It was like when I was travelling in the mid 90th. I guess it was luxury back then, but now it´s mostly weared out. Great breakfast.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank michaeljL7567NP
Management response:

Thank you for your review! We are right now updating the rooms to make them feel less of the 90's, keep an eye open on our Instagram (masterjohanhotel) or Facebook to see the transformation :) Welcome back next time you visit Sweden! Best regards Kim Axelsson, front desk. More 

Paris, France
1 review
Reviewed 1 week ago

The Master Johan was recommended to me by a friend living in Copenhagen. This hotel is very appropriate for staying a few days (I was on a business convention for 3 days). It is in the historical center, near very good eating establishments. Service is very professional and there is a most useful parking area just under the building. Rooms... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank PhilippeLaratte
Management response:

Thank you for your kind words! We love to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us :) You are welcome next time you´re coming to Sweden for a business convention or even better, for vacation :) Best regards Kim Axelsson, front desk. More 

Copenhagen
Level Contributor
41 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed at Master Johan for our anniversary and stayed om a junior suite. Part of the hotel is beautifully renovated, our room was not part of that. The room was huge, but tired. The tv might be B&O but its old (not even flatscreen), there was not aircon, and we had to open the windows at night, and lay... More 

Helpful?
Thank sigge29
Schweighouse
1 review
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel is a minute from the central square with all the restaurants and also only 5 minutes from the central station. The rooms are large with nice bathrooms and the beds are big and comfortable. The hotel has a lot of charm.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank markhE7439SU
Management response:

Thank you for your review! Nice to hear that you had a lovely stay in Malmö :) You are welcome back next time you´re on vacation. Best regards Kim Axelsson, front desk. More 

Rafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Charming staff. Wonderful room with great bathroom and really comfy generous bed. Breakfast was varied, simple and as good as I have had. Perfect location. This is probably the best value hotel I've ever stayed in.

Helpful?
Thank willbug
Management response:

Thank you for your review! Lovely to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us :) Welcome back next time you visit Malmö! Best regards Kim Axelsson, front desk. More 

Landshut
1 review
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The room I had was at ground level facing street. Very loud in the morning. A bad experience for my colleague was that his order went wrong on his mistake but the reaction at the desk was not custom oriented as he got a really poor room to the same high price rate.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank wolfgang725
Management response:

Thank you for your review! We´re sorry that you felt that way, your colleague got our last room since we were fully booked and that´s also the reason the price was high. We hope that you come here again, don´t hesitate to contact us in that case by phone or email. Best regards Kim Axelsson, front desk. More 

Nieuw Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

One of the best places ever stayed for business in Sweden. Personal, comfertable, stylish , just perfect. Large rooms , lots of great details, find out your self. Great B & O tv, some 5 stars hotels can learn from this place. Breakfast, one of the best ever had in Scandinavia, you have to like "homy" feeling, all food high... More 

Helpful?
Thank roelandrutger
Management response:

Thank you for your kind words! It´s just that feeling we want you to experince when you are here :) You are welcome next time you visit Malmö, a great breakfast before a hard day of work is excellent! Best regards Kim Axelsson, front desk. More 

219 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (157)
Viewed
Room/Suite (28)
Viewed
Bathroom (24)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (20)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
2:57
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (73)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (62)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (42)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malmo hotels
Gamla Staden
Mayfair Hotel Tunneln
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gamla Staden
Clarion Collection Hotel Temperance
Elite Hotel Savoy
#12 of 38 in Malmo
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free Breakfast
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hotel Mäster Johan is a modern boutique hotel with 69 rooms. Constructed following time-honoured guidelines to give our guests the perfect atmosphere for living pleasure. Our goal is to offer the very finest in personal service and consideration. Mäster Johan is centrally located, within easy walking distance to the Central Railway Station and trains to Copenhagen Airport, buses and a wide variety of excellent restaurants. Visit our web page for our best prices. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Master Johan Hotel, BW Premier Collection

Address: 13 Maester Johansgatan, Malmo 211 21, Sweden (Formerly Master Johan Hotel)
Region: Sweden > Skane County > Malmo
Price Range: €92 - €186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Master Johan Hotel, BW Premier Collection 4.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Master Johan Hotel, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Malmo
Malmö Best Western
Best Western Malmö
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Malmo
#2 Luxury Hotel in Malmo
#3 Romantic Hotel in Malmo
#9 Family Hotel in Malmo
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Master Johan Hotel, BW Premier Collection staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Salem, Massachusetts
Uppsala, Sweden
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Master Johan Hotel, BW Premier Collection staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Stay on an upper floor for quiet mornings.”
 of 5 bubbles willbug, 18 Nov 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are good but perhgaps avoid a ground floor room next to lounge area”
 of 5 bubbles Grillt, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The rooms are equal.”
 of 5 bubbles larsgk, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room with interior windows, one looks over the inner square. The most quiet rooms in the hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles Jan_Mylemans, 30 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Higher floor, and a room on the South side”
 of 5 bubbles belbest, 22 Nov 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay