Copenhagen Downtown Hostel
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Copenhagen Downtown Hostel

Traveller (514)
Panorama of the Double Room Ensuite at the Copenhagen Downtown Hostel
360
Panoramas (10)
Bedbug in room
Room & Suite (146)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.0
#6 of 26 hostels in Copenhagen
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Location
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Value
Experience the international city atmosphere at Copenhagen Downtown Hostel. Come join us at our social and vital hostel, we offer a welcoming environment to meet people from all over the world! Copenhagen Downtown is only a 10-minute walk from Central Station, the Tivoli Gardens and the city center. A cozy atmosphere, living art, and a vibrant cultural life make Copenhagen Downtown unique. It is a hotspot for different nationalities, expressions and life stories where performing artists, as well as Copenhageners and visitors from all over the world, come together. The hostel is cozy yet cool with a retro design and a friendly, relaxed vibe. Our trendy lounge provides the ideal surroundings to chill or socialize and meet other guests. Our café offers an all-you-can-eat-and-drink breakfast buffet for an unbeatable price. Guests can also relax in our cinema and chill out area that was just recently refurbished.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Entertainment staff
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Happy hour
Snack bar
Evening entertainment
Walking tours
Board games / puzzles
Nightclub / DJ
Outdoor furniture
Shared bathroom
Room types
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
Trendy
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, Danish

Location

Vandkunsten 5, Copenhagen 1467 Denmark
Name/address in local language
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 100 out of 100
100
Copenhagen Airport
Sturup Airport
52.6 km
See all flights
København Hovedbanegård Station
9 min
4.0
4.0 of 5 bubbles1,878 reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Reviews summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI

Copenhagen Downtown Hostel seems to strike a chord with its central location, highly appreciated for its proximity to attractions and bustling vibe. While travelers commend the hostel for its cleanliness and the niceties of staff, experiences with the service have been inconsistent. Guests have called out the convenience of in-room charging ports, though the lack of lockers and occasional cold showers have been a concern. Although the rooms are acknowledged as quiet, some visitors have encountered issues with space, flooding, and odors. Opinions on value are divided, as additional costs and the breakfast selection have not met everyone's expectations.
Location
Central
Rooms
Cramped
Value
Mixed
Cleanliness
Clean
Service
Inconsistent
Amenities
Satisfactory

Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or the opinions in it. For more information, please read the traveller reviews and learn more about how the site works.
1,878Review20Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 809
  • 626
  • 197
  • 109
  • 137
Traveller safety
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
David P wrote a review Jan 2020
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I was traveling alone and had a positive experience at this hostel. I met friendly travelers, the bar is fantastic (they have really good events each night), and the beds were comfortable enough. The rooms were clean and the decorations were fantastic, with really cool bunk beds made of metal pipes. For the price and location, this hostel can’t be beat. There’s so much to do within a 5-10 minute walk, and it’s really easy to find from public transit. The breakfast is a pretty typical European selection, with a surprisingly good assortment of vegan options, but no fresh fruit or vegetables (once again — pretty standard in Europe). Noise does travel from the bar to the rooms upstairs, but I had no issues sleeping and I’m a very light sleeper; they provide free ear plugs, and because there are 7 floors I imagine you could just ask to be on a higher floor if it’s too loud.

I will preface the negative side of my review by noting that I have only stayed at 5 other hostels in the past. I had good (better?) experiences at all of those, but I heard from other travelers at Copenhagen Downtown Hostel that this was the best hostel they’ve ever stayed at — so take that for what you will.

The bathrooms tend to be kind of dirty at this hostel because there are so few bathrooms. I think there’s 8 dorm rooms on each floor, and only 1 sink (!!!), 2 toilets, and 3 showers. The cleaning staff do a great job, but due to the sheer number of people using the very limited bathrooms, they get dirty by 9/10 AM. I had heard that Danes aren’t very cordial, but I was a little surprised by the receptionists. They would really only answer one question at a time, which I found strange. This was consistent for all the receptionists. After they answered your first question, they would sometimes turn around and ignore you. Honestly, I didn’t care that much because it’s a hostel — you get what you pay for, and I don’t expect the staff to move mountains. Just anticipate a little bluntness, and you’ll have a great stay!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from CphDowntown, Guest Relations Manager at Copenhagen Downtown Hostel
Responded 12 Jan 2020
Dear David, We truly appreciate your feedback, as it helps us in our continuous process of improving our services and facilities. It is very rewarding that you liked our location - we have the best location in the old historical part where you can experience the authentic Copenhagen. Regards to the selection of breakfast we have noted your comments. However, we would like to believe that we offer a variety of choices. Thanks for pointing this out to us! Thank you for commenting on our prices. We have great deals with affordable prices as well, live music, happy hour, free events and we constantly work on keeping our prices competitive. Regarding the cleanliness of shared bathrooms; our dedicated housekeeping team cleaned the bathrooms on floors several times a day, but during the day rush, it got dirty quickly. However, we wish you had informed us during the stay so that we would sort them out straight away. I am also pretty surprised that our staff ignored your questions, normally this is where we get our highest reviews. You can rest assured that we will take immediate care of the points of criticism you brought up and hope to welcome you again someday. Kind regards, Edyta
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sunshine1772 wrote a review Jan 2020
Sydney, Australia
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed in a private room, nice views from room. The room is extremely small and the bathroom is a tiny all in one toilet, shower, basin thing. Was very slippery if you went in there after using the shower, could do with some hand rails or slip mat or something. The bed wasn't comfy and beware if you are tall as bed is small. The walls are very thin so you will hear absolutely any noise in the halls including people yelling, vomiting and the incredibly creaky stairwell door. The location is great very central and the staff were friendly and helpful but not a good place if you want sleep and comfort.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from CphDowntown, Guest Relations Manager at Copenhagen Downtown Hostel
Responded 17 Jan 2020
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. It is great to hear that you enjoyed our great location which enables our guests to easily discover our beautiful city and must-see attractions.  We know the rooms and bathrooms may seem small. It is however often the norm in Copenhagen and it is necessary for us to do it that way in order to be able to offer affordable accommodation in the city centre of one of the most expensive cities in the world, and then we encourage our guests to enjoy the city or hang out in our common areas. We apologise about noise and advise you if you come back to us, ask our staff for some earplugs or room on a higher floor so the noise won't be a problem. Lastly, I would add that our reception is open 24/7 and the staff would be more than happy to address any concerns you may have if you had let us know. They are always helpful and happy be at service to our guests. We are sorry your stay wasn't as you expected, but we hope you enjoyed Copenhagen overall and that you will give us another chance. Kind regards, Edyta
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
A lot to digest? Read an AI-generated summary of recent traveller reviews.
Rick and Suzanne wrote a review Apr 2022
Sweden
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We took a long midweek, Wed to Fri, in Copenhagen, one of our favorite cities, for my wife's 60th birthday. She found the CDH on the net, website was very pro and we booked a room with bath for about half the price of a hotel, as did my sister and brother in law. The hostel had a great location one block from the main shopping area and surrounded by plenty of restaurants and pubs. It also had its own bar/breakfast area. Very friendly and helpful staff, first rate. Loved the vibe. Best hostel we've ever stayed at and will come back. Boomers like me have a lot in common with Gen Z, we're on fixed income and appreciate value for money. And it's fun to be with a varied group of guests of different ages. Lively downstairs, no noise upstairs. Perfect.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Sister's room on top floor was bigger than ours on the first floor, but all was fine.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Brad H wrote a review Feb 2020
Chicago, Illinois
2.0 of 5 bubbles
They have a popular bar on the ground floor, so my room on the first floor was right above a thumping speaker. Earplugs and playing loud white noise only helped a little, and it was a bad night of sleep. They said they couldn't move me because they were all booked up, which I understand, but it still made for a miserable experience. The private rooms all face the street, so on the first floor, because the bar has outdoor seating, I could also hear the people on the sidewalk talking and smell their cigarette smoke.

In the private rooms the beds go across the room perpendicularly, so that the head of the bed touches one wall and the foot of the bed the other wall. I am 5'11" (180cm) and I couldn't quite stretch out all the way because my feet would hit the wall. If you sleep curled up or aren't very tall this won't be a problem, but it was another reason it was hard to sleep.

Finally, a note about the bathrooms in the private rooms: there isn't a separate shower. There is a showerhead in the ceiling and the whole bathroom is the shower. Cool spacesaving idea, but the problem is that (a) once one person takes a shower, every surface is covered in water, which is a problem if there are two people sharing the room and (b) the toilet paper gets soaked and mushy. Not a great design after all.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Avoid rooms on the first few floors
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from jelkjaer ., Owner at Copenhagen Downtown Hostel
Responded 21 Feb 2020
Thank you for your constructive feedback! We are sorry to read that your experience with us wasn't what you would have wanted and expected from it. Our reception is open 24 hours and we always aim to do as much as possible for our guests to have a good stay in Copenhagen. We feel the bar is a good place to meet fellow travelers as well as locals, but we appreciate that it is not seen as such by everyone. The bathroom design you mentioned is quite common in Copenhagen, but we are aware that guests from the other countries are not used to it and we are sorry that you didn't like it. We will take your comments on board in order to improve and once again thank you so much for reviewing us. Best regards, Martina
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Miguel Rocha wrote a review Oct 2021
Delft, The Netherlands
+1
1.0 of 5 bubbles
The worst hostel I've ever been to.
We booked what they call in the website an "ensuite room" for 3 nights and stayed only 1 night:

Facilities: The elevator was out of order (the room was on the 4th floor); You couldn't completly close one of the room's windows; Globally the hostel seems unclean and unsafe;

Cleanliness: We had plastic forks and bottles under the bed and the room didn't smell as clean.

Private bathroom: Didn't work properly. In fact it is a small shower (just a ceiling shower) which floods after one minute of use, where they've put a sink and a toilet. It's almost impossible to move inside and I'm not even a tall man. The commands of the shower are the same as the sink and not working properly, so you get water on you from the ceiling when using the sink. The siphon is fixed... with tape. It disgusted us to use the bathroom, even wearing flip flops.

Security: We had a guy stinking of haxixe following us from the streetdoor to the room door, who then pretended to try to open the door of the next room.

Customer service: We requested the refund of the 2 nights we didn't use the room for obvious reasons and are still waiting for them to answer. Our bad experience with this Hostel will probably go on, considering the legal actions we will have to take to get our money back.

if you want to spend a few days in Copenhagen don't book this Hostel, run from it. It is the most unconfortable place to stay and worsens your experience in this beautiful city.
In my native language we have a word for this kind of places: "espelunca"
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Marinella P wrote a review Jun 2020
1.0 of 5 bubbles
DON’T RENT A BIKE THERE!
I went for a night with friends and we decided to rent bikes for 24 hours, they charged us 110 kr for each bike, when we went to pick them up it was really difficult to choose them because all of them were in an awful condition, we took three on them and just two blocks away, when we were crossing an avenue my friend’s rear wheel got completely stuck almost having an accident. We went back immediately to the reception to return the bikes and ask for a refund since the bikes were not only difficult but dangerous, and we were told we should send them an email asking for the refund. Since there, it’s been three weeks sending emails without and answer and trying to phone call them without an answer.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
David wrote a review Feb 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Copenhagen Downtown Hostel has a perfect location, it's located in the center of the city and can go anywhere on foot. Very friendly and close staff. There is also a bar in the hostel, good atmosphere and perfect place to interact with people and make new friend. Only thing I missed was a kitchen in this place, everything else well. If I visit the city again, I will stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from jelkjaer ., Owner at Copenhagen Downtown Hostel
Responded 20 Apr 2020
Thank you so much for all your kind words about our staff members and for taking the time to share the experience of your recent stay at Copenhagen Downtown. It is very nice to read that you were happy with the location of our hotel and our facilities. It would be great to see you again in one of our hotels someday :) Stay safe and regards from the Downtown team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Erik B wrote a review Feb 2023
1.0 of 5 bubbles
The room we got when we arrived was not cleaned at all, the beds were not made, the towels were not changed. We notified reception and they gave us another room (upgrade to one with private bathroom instead of shared and a double bed), and this time it was clean and prepared, so that was fine. In the night we wanted to go to sleep early, around 22:30, and we had just gone to bed when we heard a loud bang on our door. We ignored it, assuming that someone was pranking us, but after 15 minutes there was another knock on the door, and immediately after that it got opened, without us giving consent!! I heard "I'm from reception, is it okay if I come in?" It really wasn't, but I said yeah what's up, and the guy, standing at the door which was half-opened, and not looking inside, said "a guy here thinks he has forgotten his underwear in this room, have you seen it maybe?" I was too tired to process this unbelievably idiotic question properly, but I said "no, we haven't" and then he said "and what about a shower gel in the bathoom?" At this point I was getting mad and I said "yes, there is shower gel" and he STARTED COMING IN THE ROOM but then said "but not the small ones which are usually there, I mean a big bottle" and then I said "okay then no" and he left. Before the door closed, I think I heard the guy who apparently asked him to come and disturb us say "they probably took it"😭😭😭 Like why would someone take your dirty underwear or shower gel that can be bought for 20 kroner. And it's not like the cleaning lady will go to the administration and say "oh look, some dirty undies and half-full shower gel, maybe we should keep them", of course if they were actually forgotten there and were found by housekeeping, they would be thrown out. Total abomination, disrespecting guests' privacy because of dirty underwear. Apart from this, the shower was so small and everything got wet when we were taking a shower, and since the shower hear is embedded into the ceiling, it keeps on dripping right on top of your head when you're using the toilet. The bed was crazy high, and the power sockets were blocked by the mattress. Overall very bad. Only the location was nice.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
AllanDiegoBrito wrote a review Feb 2020
Dublin, Ireland
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Great structure, well located and reasonable price - a find, since the city is one of the most expensive in the world. On the ground floor of the hostel there is a super lively pub, great place to have a few beers and play pool. The cleaning of the hostel is ok, done daily. Breakfast is not included in the daily rate, but it is well worth paying for. Super hearty, with several sweet and savory options. You pay only once and you can eat as many times as you like. The staff is attentive. I had no problem during my stay and would stay at this hostel again without any problems. I recommend it to all travelers!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from CphDowntown, Guest Relations Manager at Copenhagen Downtown Hostel
Responded 12 Feb 2020
Dear Allan, Thank you for your valuable review. We are glad you had a great time with us and that you enjoyed the very vibrant atmosphere we create here at the hostel. We are, in fact, the coolest place to hang out in Copenhagen with cheap drinks, free events, happy hour, great value for money and the friendliest staff as well. It is also very rewarding to hear that our breakfast buffet was to your liking, and thank you for appreciating our location in the old historical part where you can experience the authentic Copenhagen. We look much forward to have you around for more action! Cheers and regards, Edyta
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Naomi Davidson wrote a review Feb 2022
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This was my first time travelling alone ever, so I was a little nervous about staying in a hostel dorm. However, my experience at Cph Downtown Hostel was great. I was upgraded free of charge from 12-bed to 6-bed dorm, the bed itself was very comfortable and there was absolutely no noise at night. There was also a good energy about the bar in the evening. I found the location excellent, within walking distance to Rådhuspladsen and Cristiansborg Slot (5 minutes or less). The only negative would be that the toilets are perhaps a little dirty/grubby, however this could be due to other guests rather than the hostel itself. I would definitely return here if back in Copenhagen.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Answer from Eva E
Malmö, Sweden5 contributions
By train.
Answer from sarah80802022
Goettingen, Germany5 contributions
yes they did, and card payments
David M asked a question Jan 2018
Bristol, United Kingdom10 contributions7 helpful votes
Have you an area for bike storage?
Answer from Carlo E. Brown
No, not anymore!
anciselly asked a question Oct 2016
Recke, Germany6 contributions
Do they require credit card?
Answer from JawaharC
Mumbai, India167 contributions51 helpful votes
I paid by credit card. I don't know if they accept cash.
thisyapper wrote a tip Nov 2023
38 contributions5 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"locker room has an electronic system and towels can be bought in the hotel"
Read full review
Krasimir M wrote a tip Oct 2023
16 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Common hall is getting crowded and quite noisy in the evening, but if you don't mind - this is your place! "
Read full review
Regiane F wrote a tip Oct 2023
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Need to improve the toilet on the private room. Is very small and is weird have shower almost touching the toilet."
Read full review
Beth C wrote a tip Aug 2023
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Costs an extra 30DKK to rent a towel. Great happy hour with super cheap drinks and shots every night from 8-9pm "
Read full review
David L wrote a tip Jul 2023
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Stay away. There are plenty of other hostels and capsule hotels in Copenhagen. This one is not worth the money, even if it's cheap."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Copenhagen area.
PRICE RANGE
€38 - €71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
danhostel copenhagen downtown hotel copenhagen
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Danhostel CopenHagen Downtown
LOCATION
DenmarkZealandCopenhagenIndre By (Inner City)
NUMBER OF ROOMS
88
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

COPENHAGEN DOWNTOWN HOSTEL | UPDATED 2024 Reviews & Price Comparison (Denmark) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Copenhagen Downtown Hostel
Which popular attractions are close to Copenhagen Downtown Hostel?
Nearby attractions include Tivoli Gardens (0.5 km), Clockedin Escape Room (0.2 km), and Crime Passionnel (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Copenhagen Downtown Hostel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Copenhagen Downtown Hostel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a snack bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Copenhagen Downtown Hostel?
Yes, paid public parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Copenhagen Downtown Hostel?
Conveniently located restaurants include C´ho Fame, Restaurant Krebsegaarden, and Marv & Ben.
Is Copenhagen Downtown Hostel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.4 km away from the centre of Copenhagen.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Copenhagen Downtown Hostel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, and Danish.
Are there any historical sites close to Copenhagen Downtown Hostel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Rosenborg Castle (1.1 km), Christiansborg Slot (0.4 km), and Our Saviour's Church (1.3 km).
Does Copenhagen Downtown Hostel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the city view available here.
All Copenhagen HotelsCopenhagen Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in CopenhagenHotels near Copenhagen Downtown Hostel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire