We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Urban House Copenhagen by MEININGER

Save
Share
Colbjoernsensgade 5/11, Copenhagen 1652 Denmark
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Official Site
US$91
View deal
Priceline
Booking.comUS$97
FindHotelUS$97
eDreamsUS$97
Expedia.com
Travelocity
View all 11 deals
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (926)
360
Panoramas (12)
Room & Suite (206)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#4 of 92 Speciality lodging in Copenhagen
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Urban House Copenhagen by MEININGER is a hotel/hostel hybrid located in the hippest part of Copenhagen, Vesterbro. Vesterbro is an up-and-coming vibrant neighbourhood filled with quirky cafes and restaurants; in the midst of it all is where Urban House was created. We offer both private and dorm rooms, but the real magic happens on the ground floor. Here you'll find a bar and restaurant, a lounge area, a library, a game room, a self-service kitchen, and a bike shop. Our Urban Family is available 24/7 to assist with your every need.
Read more
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Yoga classes
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Game room
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Snack bar
Billiards
Evening entertainment
Board games / puzzles
Shared kitchen
Shared lounge / TV area
Express check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Bath / shower
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Trendy
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, Danish, Dutch and 5 more

Location

Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
250Restaurantswithin 0.5 km
45Attractionswithin 0.5 km
4447Reviews91Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 2,055
  • 1,615
  • 468
  • 182
  • 127
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Flitz8-A foodie travels wrote a review Sep 2021
Athens, Greece2724 contributions389 helpful votes
I had a great hostel stay here for a short stay, clean facilities, close to public transportation and to the center of Stockholm , helpful staff, lockers for before or after check in are paid so keep this in mind, good well stocked kitchen as well
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled solo
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Urban House, Overig at Urban House Copenhagen by MEININGER
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Flitz8, thank you very much for your kind review. It was a pleasure having you as a guest in our hotel. We are looking forward to welcoming you again some day. Kind regards, Urban House by MEININGER
Read more
Theodosia Russell wrote a review Sep 2021
London, United Kingdom243 contributions70 helpful votes
This is based on the room only as it was very busy downstairs and with Covid and mixing, we did not feel comfortable being surrounded by people. The room was alot bigger then we thought which was brilliant, the bed was comfortable but the pillows were very flat, we did request extra pillows online but our message was not received and as it was always busy, we did not want to really ask (was a short stay and we used towels and one spare pillow). The floors were very odd, none of them were level, I'm unsure it its the building age or just our room, it was alittle annoying but as it came to a dip in the middle. The finishes were not as great, really it could do with redecorating, there were marks on the curtain, paint missing and chips, the wall paper had a design where it looked as if there were holes on the wall. No outlet by the mirror, stick on bedlamp in the bulk beds and one side of our bed had no button for the light switch, not huge issues really, just needs updating. The room was also very cold, even with windows closed, we tried to put the heating on and nothing came on. The bathroom was big which was great but it did have some pink mould and some black mould forming aswell as some areas that needed a good scrub like the corner of the shower door by the wall, the toilet seat was abit wobbly but the shower was the worst, there was no pressure atall, the temp was far to hot and no matter what we turned it to, it was still hot and there was no fan really to take away the moisture in the air. The bathroom tap was covered in this green so needs replacing. We were abit disappointed that we put a sign up for no cleaners and it was removed, noone entered the room but the next day we did need bins changing, new soap as the soap dispenser had ran out and we had no sign on the door so thought they would check the room..We were out all day and was surpirsed noone had came in, as it was the last full day there was no point saying and as it was the evening aswell when we got in, we knew the cleaners would not be in, there were areas that needed to be cleaned as things had been spilt and left, we cleaned them ourselves, the lockers all had crumbs in and so on.. I understand that we things reopening everyone is busy, they're not massive issues and I would not say dirty, just needs checking. Staff seems nice but we did not talk to them much. At night it was very noisy, I know its outside the hotels control but we were kept up or woken up by drunks every night, alot of people kept making alot of noise outside our room in the hall aswell. This went on past 3am most mornings. Location was good, views were lovely. Overall the stay was not terrible, I would not even say it was bad but it wasn't the best, I do not think we are the type of travellers the hotel is suited to and its more a younger type that do not have children.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Urban House, Overig at Urban House Copenhagen by MEININGER
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Theodosia, thank you very much for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor. We are very sorry to read about some inconveniences you had in our hotel. We indeed have an historical building which consists out of 4 different blocks. As they connected the building a few years ago, it can seem odd as you have to go up and down in the hallways. Cleaning in our hotel is done every 3rd day, so that is the reason that your room was not cleaned during your stay. We are very sorry we did not meet your expectations concerning this point. We would have loved to tell you this at the reception, we advise you to always come down and share issues you may have. In this way we always have a change to fix things and meet your expectations. Your feedback concerning maintenance of the rooms is noted and we will take action on that in your previous room. Thank you again for sharing your story. Despite the inconveniences, we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again some day. Kind regards, Urban House by MEININGER
Read more
Diego wrote a review Sep 2021
1 contribution1 helpful vote
I was there for 2 months, I deposited 500 euros on arrival that they told me that when I left they would return it to me. 50 days have passed and they still haven't returned my deposit. They gave me an email to request it, and they answered that they had delays in the refunds due to covid, after they had a problem with my card to transfer and 2 weeks ago they did not answer my emails anymore. The worst customer experience I ever had. They still don't give me my money back.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Value
Location
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Urban House, Overig at Urban House Copenhagen by MEININGER
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear diegodK1613ZZ, thank you for sharing your concern on Tripadvisor. We are sorry to read that your deposit was not refunded and we are sorry this affected your stay so much you are given us a 1 star review. As you were a long stay guest in our hotel, you were asked to pay a deposit at check in. This deposit should be refunded at the day of your check out. As we need the same credit card to refund the amount, we could not refund it because your credit card was not working anymore. Eventually we are very happy that we were able to refund you the amount and we are again sorry for the inconvenience suffered. Thank you again for staying with us. We wish you all the best. Urban House by MEININGER
Read more
Yekna1985 wrote a review Jul 2021
11 contributions21 helpful votes
We stayed 2 nights and on the 2nd we decided to stay eat at the bar/restaurant. The tall blond waitress who worked on 12th Nov is just cold as ice. No help, not a smile, not a thank you, nothing. Not because she's used to serve students all day means she has to be impolite. I asked her where I could warm up the baby food and she said "food from outside is not allowed"... LOL I should probably order a beer and a burger for my 2 year-old kid...! For a family friendly place I was expecting better. When we ordered burgers she didn't even explained where to pick it up she just left us there with our ticket... anyway... if she is not happy to work in a happy place, she should just leave the job to someone who'll be happy to work. This is really not good for the establishment, because all the other staff we met was friendly.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Urban House, Overig at Urban House Copenhagen by MEININGER
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Carmen, thank you very much for your feedback on your stay with us. First of all, please accept my sincerest apologies for all inconveniences suffered during your stay with us. We usually get great feedback concerning the friendliness of our staff members, so we are surprised by your comment and we of course do not take this lightly. As we really want to take action, we request a little bit more information. Just to be clear, it is true that you stayed with us almost a year ago? If this is the case, we believe that the person you are referring to is not longer working with us. As we have plenty of different types of guests in the hotel, we are used to handling families as well. Again we are sorry that this affected your stay with us. We hope you will give us the chance to better serve you in the near future. Kind regards, Urban House by MEININGER
Read more
Monuranjan wrote a review Oct 2020
13 contributions5 helpful votes
If you are someone who is on a budget travel or don't want to burn a hole in your pocket, then this is a great option for you. My wife and I had visited Copenhagen in early Feb 2020, before Covid started. Was very happy with the stay in Urban House Just a 2-3 minutes walk from the railway station , Urban House is located in a very good spot with easy access to all modes of transportation and all the important areas of the city are easily accessible. The hostel is pretty cool with a good bar and restaurant downstairs and great staff. We stayed in a private room which was decent with all the necessary amenities. The hostel has a large kitchen with a dining area where you can store or cook your own food. There are play areas, lounges and a nice bar to chill and of course the fellow travellers you meet adds up to the experience. There are self check-in options and you can literally check in to your room without even interacting with anyone. Loved staying here and would recommend this place to everyone. Few Tips : 1) If you want to explore the city , it is better to buy a day ticket / pass which will give you access to trains and buses. You will get them in the nearby train station 2)If you want to explore the city on bike - download this app called 'Donkey Republic'. They have good bikes available almost in every part of the city with decent rates and numerous pick up and drop spots. The bike experience will become hassle free with this app. 3)There is a 7/11 close to the hostel , if you are looking for cheaper options for food Hope this helps.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Urban House, Other at Urban House Copenhagen by MEININGER
Responded 13 Nov 2020
Dear Monuranjan, Thank you for your wonderful review! We are thrilled to receive your comments and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and all the features that make Urban House Copenhagen by MEININGER so special. We are looking forward to welcome you back soon! Sincerely, Urban House Copenhagen by MEININGER .
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$55 - US$143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
DenmarkZealandCopenhagenInner Vesterbro / Vesterbro - Kongens Enghave
NUMBER OF ROOMS
235
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Urban House Copenhagen by MEININGER
Which popular attractions are close to Urban House Copenhagen by MEININGER?
Nearby attractions include Tivoli Gardens (0.4 km), Curfew (0.2 km), and Mikkeller Bar (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Urban House Copenhagen by MEININGER?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Urban House Copenhagen by MEININGER?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Urban House Copenhagen by MEININGER?
Conveniently located restaurants include Maple Casual Dining, Smagsloeget (Vesterbro), and Bowl Market Copenhagen.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Urban House Copenhagen by MEININGER?
Yes, guests have access to yoga classes during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Urban House Copenhagen by MEININGER?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Urban House Copenhagen by MEININGER?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, German, Dutch, Swedish, Danish, and Serbian.
Are there any historical sites close to Urban House Copenhagen by MEININGER?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Rosenborg Castle (1.8 km), Our Saviour's Church (2.0 km), and Christiansborg Slot (1.0 km).
Is Urban House Copenhagen by MEININGER accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.