Axel - Guldsmeden Hotels
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Axel - Guldsmeden Hotels

Traveller (1128)
Nice beautiful room
Room & Suite (463)
Lunch
Dining (54)

View prices for your travel dates

No prepayment needed
€178
Go to your Happy Price
€178
€178
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.0
#39 of 124 hotels in Copenhagen
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Value
Axel Guldsmeden is an experience of charm and style, and the best night’s sleep you will find in inner Copenhagen. Situated in the heart of Vesterbro, Axel has 129 rooms, conference facilities, an organic brunch & evening restaurant and a luxurious spa with own-brand organic products.The four-star Axel Guldsmeden is the environmentally friendly choice for a visit to Copenhagen – all products, food & drink, furnishings and services either organic, fair-trade or both.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Special diet menus
Meeting rooms
Spa
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Private balcony
Safe
Telephone
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is officially classified according to Hotelstars Union standards.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Quirky Hotels
Romantic
Languages Spoken
English, Danish, German, Swedish

Location

Colbjoernsensgade 14, Copenhagen 1652 Denmark
Name/address in local language
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 100 out of 100
100
Copenhagen Airport
Sturup Airport
53.2 km
See all flights
København Hovedbanegård Station
3 min
2,254Reviews38Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 892
  • 836
  • 350
  • 129
  • 47
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Kayers94 wrote a review Mar 2020
Didcot, United Kingdom45 contributions35 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We picked this place mainly that it offered a spa, although I also loved the interior design and four poster beds. We opted for the double superior room which had a beautiful stone bath and balcony overlooking the courtyard.

You have to pay an additional cost for both spa and breakfast (we decided not to go for the breakfast as there were plenty of places we wanted to try out in the heart of the city). The spa is well worth it if you want to relax in the sauna, steam room or hot tub, however we made sure to go down when it just opened to avoid lots of people.

The hotel is literally a few minutes walk from the central station and not too far from lots of local restaurants and shops. My only gripe was that we were placed in a room next to the stairwell and the walls/doors seem paper thin. We could hear guests coming and going at 5 in the morning and we could also hear another guest’s crying baby from shut room. Luckily we brought earplugs but some noises even got through them.

Overall a very pleasant stay, but be warned that some rooms don’t seem to be very well sound proofed.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nick W wrote a review Jan 2020
22 contributions41 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My partner and I stayed at this hotel for two nights in December 2019 and we were very impressed! We arrived after midnight to check in (after notifying the hotel prior) and the staff were very welcoming and did a speedy but thorough check in so we could get to our room and rest. The room was very clean and had impressive environmental touches, such as the use of wood including for the door key, refillable and recyclable water bottles, general efforts to reduce the use of plastics, bamboo toothbrushes, and a range of other items and services. The bed was very comfortable and the room was very well heated during the winter. The room was small but was perfect for the two of us. The hotel is very well located near the major train station, metro, Tivoli and Meatpacking District. Everything was within easy walking distance. We would highly recommend this hotel and will definitely stay here again the next time we travel to Copenhagen.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Amanda S wrote a review Jan 2020
London, United Kingdom8 contributions7 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My partner and I eloped to Copenhagen last weekend and we wanted to stay somewhere nice, but still affordable. We managed to book this hotel whilst they were having a promotion and it was perfect. After reading reviews, I requested a quiet room and we had no problems with noise (and I'm a light sleeper). I can understand that it might be noisy if you're staying in a room facing the street, but that's also the price you pay for being 3 minutes from the train station. We were within walking distance of most things or the metro is 3 minutes away and although we weren't out very late, we still felt like the neighbourhood was safe considering it's close proximity to the main train station.

We had a superior double room and it was the perfect size for a couple. It was cozy, but we didn't feel like we were on top of each other and it was nice to have a kettle with tea and coffee in the room and we really appreciated the special eco touches that were left. The bed was also very comfortable! We didn't try the breakfast, but we did use the spa which was small but nice. If we stayed again, we'd probably skip the spa, but it's nice to have the option.

The staff was super friendly and helpful and were so kind to us when they saw us in our wedding attire. They really made our stay great! I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a unique and friendly place to stay in Copenhagen. It exceeded our expectations.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sonia J wrote a review Aug 2021
Brasov, Romania12 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The staff at this hotel deserve a review as they are exceptional. They all had a natural down to earth friendliness. They made excellent recommendations for sights to see and in particular understanding our likes, recommended restaurants that we really loved. This hotel felt like home and we would definitely return.

It’s an eco hotel and their shower gels, shampoos, conditioners, body creams and oils were free of harmful chemicals but also smelled lovely and worked really well! The spa was a treat with complimentary body scrubs and products. They also had snacks and water to keep you hydrated in-between the sauna and steam room and there was a cold bath.

The hotel vibes are cool and easy with lots cosy outdoor corners where you could enjoy a delicious cocktail in the evening.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: The hotel recommends airport travellers use public transport (environmental) to get there. It was...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sonny H wrote a review Jul 2020
Havdrup, Denmark1 contribution2 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We are a danish couple living in cph, actually just 700 m frem Axel Hotel. We have stayed with great success both at this hotel and other Guldsmeden hotels before.
So I booked the penthouse suite with private terrace and hot tub for our 24 hours without the kids.
Entering the room,, it looked worn down and everything could use a bit of paint. but we quickly got on to the roof and saw the hot tub and then went out to the city to eat.
Back in the evening we quickly went to the roof, looking forward to the hot water, just too realise that the water was really cold. Called the reception and they send someone that just told us to wait 30 min, realising after that time that the water temperatur did not go up we called again, a person came again and ask us to wait again, we were offered drinks while waiting,, but we wanted our hot tub,, thats why we paid premium price. After some time and again realising that this hot tub must be broken and after being told to wait another hour, they gave us another room with a working hot tub on the roof and with champagne for free.
So everything ended successfully and we enjoyed our 24 (21) hours without the kids,, But just asking why it took so long until we got the other room + the room without the roof is not really a suite and breakfast is not worth the money.
So Guldsmeden, we really like you,, but please start being the hotel you once were,
all the best,, a couple near by :-)
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Bakr Abdellaoui wrote a review Nov 2020
Viseu, Portugal3 contributions4 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed a night at Axel and the overall experience was good. Decent sized room with a nice tub. Staff is very nice & helpful. The spa was very relaxing. The breakfast was terrible and by far the worst aspect of the hotel. When you pay 50€ for breakfast (for two) you’d expect a lot more than some vegan bread & eggs. Go out to the hundreds of cafes nearby and get a lot more for a fraction of the price.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nadia Kamber wrote a review Mar 2020
2 contributions5 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Though I can’t comment as a guest, I can certainly say that their customer service is anything but accommodating. Due to travel bans and restrictions caused by the Coronavirus, I was forced to cancel my trip to Copenhagen. Since the terms of my booking at Axel clearly stated that all charges were non refundable, I didn’t expect that they would necessarily reimburse me, but I had hoped for some compassion and understanding. I asked if a partial reimbursement was possible and they can keep the rest as a cancellation fee, they said no. I asked if converting my booking into credit was an option and they offered me the impossible solution of giving me credit that is valid for 18 months on the condition that I provide my revised dates to them within 24-48 hours. Furthermore, this so-called solution came with its own fee. I tried explaining that with the crisis at hand, I had no way of knowing when I would be able to travel again, nor can I give them a random date in the future when I still don’t know what my schedule is like in the coming months. The woman from the booking team simply responded very smugly with a ‘that’s too bad’. It was obvious that they had no intention of helping me and were simply pressuring me into making the cancellation in such a way that they are somehow justified in keeping my money. Furthermore, I sent an email expressing my grievance to which I received no response. Of course when I do reschedule my trip, there is no way I would ever stay here. Very disappointing and shameful service from a four star hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Hotelchef Baasch, General Manager at Axel - Guldsmeden Hotels
Responded 14 Mar 2020
Dear Nadia Kamber We do not find this a legitimate review since you were never here, but react to the cancellation terms not on our booking site Ecohotels.com - but on Booking.com . You chose - and paid for - a NON Refundable offer from Booking.com late February. You therefore made this booking at a time where the entire world was at alert of the horrible corona virus and still you chose a non-refundable rate?? We had no obligation but offered you to move the reservation, at a very fair fee, but of course to a specific date. Our team has done beyond when you consider the fact that you shouted on the phone and reacted by being very angry. You do not mention it, but as you know the person you were travelling with booked directly with Guldsmedens booking website Ecohotels.com (which is always cheaper and more flexible), which is why she cancelled her entire booking with no cost. Kind regards Mette Baasch
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
asub wrote a review Aug 2022
Budapest, Hungary28 contributions14 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Very nice hotel, good location with all the sustainable fancy stuff, very kind staff.
Sleep quality was not great though, as there is no A/C, and we had a top floor room, it was very hot, so we had to escape the room as quickly as possible during the day as well. It stayed hot for the night too, and since the room was facing the bar, it was also too noisy when the window was open. The bar should close at 10 pm, but it was not the case.
Wifi was also super weak, almost unusable.
Breakfast is very expensive and not included in the room rate, also feels overrated. With all these, the hotel is on the way too expensive end.
I would recommend this hotel though, if you are not traveling in hot weather.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Skip the breakfast, you can find great places for that very nearby for cheaper. Ask for a lower...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jeff W wrote a review Jul 2023
12 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Nothing has changed since our last visit two years ago, which is to say this is still an ideal stay in Copenhagen. Beds are as comfy as ever, rooms are well designed, and staff are first rate. A three minute walk from Central Station if you find the side entrance, otherwise 5 minutes—super convenient. 15 minutes or so to the major walking street in the old town, 15 minutes to Hart bakery where you will discover cardammon crescent heaven, and 20 or so minutes to Island Brygge. We had a small double on the 4th floor with a balcony overlooking the garden. Don’t expect to fit your steamer trunk disguised as a suitcase in the space, but for two travelers with carry on luggage it was plenty of room. The bedroom is separate from an entry with an armoire, bathroom is spacious, and while ours had only a tub with hand held shower, it was fully equipped and we made the hand shower adjustment easily. No air, but as others have pointed out, Copenhagen usually cools off at night so opening the windows made for a pleasant sleep (and the hotel provides a fan for the room if you prefer closed windows). Axel and sister properties will remain our first choice when in Copenhagen.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
majufka wrote a review Sept 2022
Newbridge, Ireland18 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We have booked this hotel for it's cozy, charming and unique look and its eco features. And we were not dissapointed. It has a very funky, casual, but yet somehow classy feel. It is conviniently located just few minutes walk away from the main train station and Tivoli, and within easy walking distance to the old town. All the staff were super nice and welcoming. We loved the egg chairs in the lobby, the courtyard and this cute bedroom deco with dragonfly motives. The room itself was suprisingly quite small, given we have booked a superior one, it was barely a room to walk around the bed. The bed and bed linen though were really, really comfy and we had really good rest. The bathroom with a separate bath and walk in shower was amazing, the decor was very charmy and all the provided bath and body products were absolutely gorgeous too. The bath was large and the rain shower was great too. . However the bathroom floor is not leveled very well as each time one of us was taking a shower, the entire floor was getting flooded - so badly that you could not even use a toilet after the shower without getting your feet all wet. And all that water just stayed there on the floor, so we had to keep pushing it down the drain with the towels. Someone came up the first day to check/clean the drain, but that did not help much at all. The next day it was exactly the same. We were offered another room, but since it was half way through our stay and the new room was without the bath and balcony, we didn't decide to move.
Overall our stay was very good, but that shower experience really spoiled it unfortunatelly, not what you expect from a 4 star hotel in the European capital.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
IloveEarth asked a question Aug 2019
Saar, Bahrain37 contributions10 helpful votes
Air conditioner in rooms ?
Answer from David K
Cleveland, Ohio1,478 contribution240 helpful votes
Sorry. I believe the hotel rooms are not air conditioned. Mine had a big ceiling fan.
Christirdh asked a question Aug 2019
Port Washington, New York234 contributions125 helpful votes
Is there air conditioning in the rooms?
Answer from Douglas D
Melbourne, Australia116 contributions58 helpful votes
Roughly the same comments. I don't know about the hotel's specific luggage storage policy, but if they will not do it, you can store it at the train station which is only a 5 min walk away. Plus the train is the best way to get to and from the airport.
Answer from raj650
United States47 contributions42 helpful votes
It’s not close to the cruise terminal. 350 DK to get there. I would pick something closer and a better value.
AngelineTanAC asked a question Apr 2019
Petaling Jaya, Selangor, Malaysia
Do you have coffee/tea facilities in the room?
Answer from raj650
United States47 contributions42 helpful votes
Only the first day. Never refreshed despite a call and conversation with staff. Asked us to pay in the cafe.
Helene M wrote a tip Mar 2024
Vaxjo, Sweden46 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Just enjoy and relax!"
Read full review
Lars Kvestad wrote a tip Oct 2023
3 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Make sure you do not stay in a room next to the elevator shaft in the second building. "
Read full review
bcn3465 wrote a tip Sept 2023
Barcelona, Spain7 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"book direct - they tend to give you a better offer and upgrade"
Read full review
doragr84 wrote a tip Jul 2023
Athens, Greece137 contributions121 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Get iced water before heading back to your room. The rooms are not equipped with fridge"
Read full review
Hebert Santos wrote a tip Apr 2023
Santander, Spain46 contributions32 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Make sure you have enough data in your telephone"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Copenhagen area.
PRICE RANGE
€176 - €270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
axel hotel copenhagen
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
AXEL GULDSMDEN
LOCATION
DenmarkZealandCopenhagenInner Vesterbro / Vesterbro - Kongens Enghave
NUMBER OF ROOMS
212
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

AXEL - GULDSMEDEN HOTELS - UPDATED 2024 Hotel Reviews & Price Comparison (Copenhagen, Denmark) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Axel - Guldsmeden Hotels
Which popular attractions are close to Axel - Guldsmeden Hotels?
Nearby attractions include Tivoli Gardens (0.4 km), Mikkeller Bar (0.3 km), and Curfew (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Axel - Guldsmeden Hotels?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Axel - Guldsmeden Hotels?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Axel - Guldsmeden Hotels?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Axel - Guldsmeden Hotels?
Conveniently located restaurants include Maple Casual Dining, Bloom Vesterbro, and Smagsloeget (Vesterbro).
Are there opportunities to exercise at Axel - Guldsmeden Hotels?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Axel - Guldsmeden Hotels?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Axel - Guldsmeden Hotels?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Axel - Guldsmeden Hotels offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and conference facilities during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Axel - Guldsmeden Hotels?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, German, Swedish, and Danish.
All Copenhagen HotelsCopenhagen Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in CopenhagenHotels near Axel - Guldsmeden Hotels
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire