We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

First Hotel Kong Frederik

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
First Hotel Kong Frederik
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

758 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for First Hotel Kong Frederik
See the most recent reviews
Showing 538: English reviews
Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 September 2015

Very nice hotel with excellent service and perfect location close to the center of Copenhagen. Perfect for business trips, couples, groups and families. Staff are servicesminded and very helpful. Rooms are nice and cleand with a very good breakfast

Review collected in partnership with FirstHotels.com

Helpful?
Thank fruSkjonhaug
GM_FHKF, General Manager at First Hotel Kong Frederik, responded to this review

Dear fruSkjonhaug, I am delighted to see that you had a pleasant stay and enjoyed our services. Especially I am happy to see that you liked the service by our team. We are looking forward of seeing you here in the future and thank you for taking your time to complete our survey. Best regards, Your Kong Frederik Team Henric... More 

Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 September 2015

When technical problems in the room is the cause of a guest having to change room, a room should be provided immediately. If not there must be a refund of money. I had to pack my bags twice during my 4 day stay. The first time due to a dysfunctional toilet. I had to move out of my room in... More 

Review collected in partnership with FirstHotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Gry M
GM_FHKF, General Manager at First Hotel Kong Frederik, responded to this review

Dear Gry M Thank you very much for taking your time to post a review here at Tripadvisor. I do apologize for the experienced you had this weekend, I know that our Front Office Manager has contacted you here yesterday direct after your stay. We are looking forward of seeing you here again, Best regards YOUR KONG FREDERIK TEAM Henric... More 

Travellers are raving about these Copenhagen hotels

Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 5 September 2015

Great old style look and atmosphere of the hotel. The staff is very kind and helpfull. Tasty breakfasts. There are rooms on both sides, street and inner, one can choose acording to his sleep preference.

Review collected in partnership with FirstHotels.com

Helpful?
Thank jakubj570
GM_FHKF, General Manager at First Hotel Kong Frederik, responded to this review

Dear Jakubj570 I am delighted that you had a great business visit to Copenhagen and a great stay at my hotel. I hope we will have the pleasure of seeing you here again soon, Best regards Your Kong Frederik Team Henric Carlsson, General Manager More 

Margate City, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed 4 September 2015

Close to train station, but very noisy street (buses). No outlet in bathroom for appliances, other than a mans razor...small old room. Seems ok for a male business traveler. I'd probably request an inner room if I had to stay there.

Review collected in partnership with FirstHotels.com

Helpful?
Thank lorettap95
GM_FHKF, General Manager at First Hotel Kong Frederik, responded to this review

Dear lorettap95 Thank you very much for taking your time to post a review of your stay. I appreciated the opportunity to communicate with you directly after your stay and we do offer First Lady Rooms - specially designed for female travellers. However, all rooms should be suitable for everyone and we have taken this note to improve the outlets... More 

Amherst, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 September 2015

Positives: Location, location, location. Beds were comfortable. Internet was free and unlimited. Staff was exceptional. Negatives: we stayed during the only hot days of the summer and the lack of airconditioning (or airing out the room) was uncomfortable. Breakfast is not included and is (in my opinion) expensive at the onsite restaurant. We walked a couple of blocks to a... More 

Review collected in partnership with FirstHotels.com

Helpful?
Thank christineb295
GM_FHKF, General Manager at First Hotel Kong Frederik, responded to this review

Dear christineb295 I am very happy to see that you liked our location, internet offering and especially felt well taken care of by our team members. In a heritage building such as ours, we do not have individual air condtion, as it usually are a very mild climate in Copenhagen. Furthermore we do have several options with breakfast included or... More 

Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2015 via mobile

My girlfriend and I really enjoyed our stay in this hotel and left at the end of the week very content. As soon as we walked in we were greeted by a helpful man who welcomed us and checked us in quickly. When we got to our room we were pleased with the decor and bed size. The only downside... More 

Helpful?
Thank Brodie L
GM_FHKF, General Manager at First Hotel Kong Frederik, responded to this review

Dear Brodie L I am very happy to see that you and your girlfriend had a pleasant stay and enjoyed your visit to Copenhagen. Thank you for taking your time to review us and given us feedback, it would be a pleasure of seeing you here again Hospitality yours - The Kong Frederik Team Henric Carlsson, General Manager More 

Jupiter, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 31 August 2015

My stay in August 2015 was with a knitting group/cruise. The hotel was okay, but my major complaints were: hotel room was very hot and if your room faced the inner courtyard, people sat and talked until late at night keeping you from sleeping.

Review collected in partnership with FirstHotels.com

Helpful?
Thank O7120SDkarenc
Bergen, Norway
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 August 2015

Despite the fact that the website had screwed up my reservation the staff was extremely helpful and friendly. Rooms are very nice with complimentary minibar, but the area is a bit noisy and there is no aircondition. Great breakfast!

Review collected in partnership with Amoma.com

Helpful?
Thank OnkLReis1DMac
Aarhus
1 review
Reviewed 28 August 2015

Nice interior design and overall good service, but compared to price: 1. I expected possible parking near the hotel - they suggest Q-park many blocks away, which is un-comfi when you travel with a lot of luggage. 2. Room hadn't windows to fresh air or was air-conditioned. Very very warm - and made it hard to sleep at all. 3.... More 

Review collected in partnership with FirstHotels.com

Helpful?
Thank mir355
GM_FHKF, General Manager at First Hotel Kong Frederik, responded to this review

Dear Mir355 Thank you very much for taking your time to review your stay. I am delighted to see that you enjoyed the friendly service as well as the lemon tart in the restaurant, I am totally agree - it is a great experience! It is correct we do not offer a garage in the hotel, there aare several options... More 

Reykjavik, Iceland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 25 August 2015

The location is very nice, close to Tivoli, the city centre and it is easy to catch public transportation from close by to visit the zoo and many other tihngs. The room was nice and cozy, with a complimentary soft drink bar. There were some problems for us though. First, we hit a series of very warm days (not complaining... More 

Helpful?
Thank Saevar-I
GM_FHKF, General Manager at First Hotel Kong Frederik, responded to this review

Dear Saevar-I Thank you very much for taking your time to review your recent visit to Copenhagen. I am delighted to see that you enjoyed the service by our staff, find us cozy, liked our free minibar and took benefit of our location. I do apologize, however, that you were disturbed by street noise. Please contact us directly if you... More 

128 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (106)
Viewed
Room/Suite (24)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Other (53)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Indre By (Inner City)
First Hotel Twentyseven
First Hotel Twentyseven
#48 of 118 in Copenhagen
1,847 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
The Square Copenhagen
The Square Copenhagen
#33 of 118 in Copenhagen
2,164 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Scandic Palace Hotel
Scandic Palace Hotel
#18 of 118 in Copenhagen
1,776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel SP34
Hotel SP34
#26 of 118 in Copenhagen
776 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Skt. Petri
Skt. Petri
#32 of 118 in Copenhagen
1,894 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Ascot Hotel
Ascot Hotel
#68 of 118 in Copenhagen
979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Indre By (Inner City)

Neighbourhood Profile
Indre By (Inner City)
This is the heart of old town Copenhagen, with its blend of charming old buildings and bold new architecture, broad avenues and tiny streets as well as picturesque canals and a modern harbor. The inner city is home to the Royal Danish Theatre, which consists of three buildings, two of which are new and situated on the harbor front. The streets, squares and venues of the inner city and its surrounding neighborhoods, are alive all year round with everything from jazz festivals to outdoor ice skating rinks and parachuting at the lakes right in the center of the city. This compact area boasts beautiful old castles, tranquil parks, and bustling squares where you can always find a bench to stretch out your legs whenever you need a break.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Charming townhouse hotel located in City Center of Copenhagen. The Town Hall Square, Tivoli Gardens, Stroeget and the main train station is located within five minutes walk. ... more   less 

Additional Information about First Hotel Kong Frederik

Address: Vester Voldgade 25, Copenhagen 1552, Denmark
Region: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By (Inner City)
Price Range: €106 - €273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — First Hotel Kong Frederik 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your First Hotel Kong Frederik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1st Hotel Kong Frederik
Kong Frederik Copenhagen
Hotel Kong Frederik
Hotel Style:
#31 Luxury Hotel in Copenhagen
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from First Hotel Kong Frederik staff and other travellers.
14 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (14)

Questions? Get answers from First Hotel Kong Frederik staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Prefer higher floors to keep distance to traffic and night clubs.”
 of 5 bubbles Wings24, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“if you want a cooler room ask for one and they can locate you at a specific area of the hotel”
 of 5 bubbles VictoriaW357, 20 Nov 2016 | Read review
“you can get street view.”
 of 5 bubbles mool, 27 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Fifth floor is somehow more bearable”
 of 5 bubbles Diana_Mangalagiu, 23 Sep 2016 | Read review
“If you get a room that overlooks the "courtyard" there is minimal noise compared to the street.”
 of 5 bubbles betwms, 14 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay