We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hotel Athinaikon

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel Athinaikon
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

245 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel Athinaikon
See the most recent reviews
Showing 131: English reviews
Gouldsboro, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Great location, very friendly staff. Conveniently placed between the Omonia (M2) and Monastiraki (M3) rail stations, there is plenty to take in and see from this location. The room, while small, was perfect for a single traveler. Nick, the manager, was very kind to let me store my main bag at the hotel at no charge while I shopped and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MCeaser
Athens, Greece
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Well. It took too long to get payment confirmation from hotel to get visa. Hotel sent me confirmation letter only after 2 days and my complain to the booking agent. Ok. I got it. Now... Only one person in a whole hotel is able to take payment from your card. Others don't know how to do it. Check-in was ok....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Viktoriia2013
HotelAthinaikon, Manager at Hotel Athinaikon, responded to this review

Hi Viktoria, prepaid bookings are usually processed same or next day made, it depends on the load of work..Just to know charges are not made by the booking companies but by the hotels and manually, booking companies do not even check if the card is valid. As you understand in peak season there might be a small delay, but all...

Hamilton, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Pros Cheap Private bathroom Airconditioning Good location - I love the busy local feel of this area, with shops, food market stalls, etc - doesn't feel as touristy. Delicious chicken pita wraps for 2 euro at a place just around the corner on Athina St Supermarket on Athina St near Omonoia Square Cons Weird shower system that wets the whole...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Abbie M
HotelAthinaikon, Manager at Hotel Athinaikon, responded to this review

Dear Abbie,if you can please email us your hotel details at info@athhotel.com to check the mattress and for the air condition issue you mentioned . I would to notify that our A/C units are cleaned on frequently basis (filters and indoor – outdoor unites ), for hygiene and for machines max. performance. Keys are left at the reception for safety...

Novi Sad, Serbia
Reviewed 18 August 2013

The hotel is situated close to Monastiraki metro station but in a terribly dirty street. The manager was incredibly rude, I literally had to beg him four times to show us to our rooms and help us with luggage up the two flights of rickety stairs. When he finally stopped eating his precious watermelon and helped us he kept yelling...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alex21_11
HotelAthinaikon, General Manager at Hotel Athinaikon, responded to this review

Dear Alex 21-11, Thank you for your stay and for your time submitting your review on tripadvisor. I do believe feedback is important for hotels to improve their services. Our hotel is located on Evrpidou street the famous bachar street where people visit and buy spices and herbs back from the early 1900s. The building is a traditional neoclassic type...

Malta
Reviewed 13 August 2013

The hotel is located very close to Omonia square where there are many tourist shops and restaurants to choose from. The lady at the reception was very nice and really helpful. They even booked us a minibus to the airport back! The room wasn't big but it was really clean! Clean towels and linen is important and it was provided!...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rit003
HotelAthinaikon, Manager at Hotel Athinaikon, responded to this review

Thank youfor your stay Rit003, i read your review on Barcelona and found it very interesting!

Ankara, Turkey
Reviewed 4 August 2013

The hotel is located very close to Omonia square. This place is some risky to chose; the first impression is not good for this hotel. However there are so many credits, such as the owners, a family that provided great service. The room was clean, with wi fi internet. The lack of elevator stand as a big drawback. In any...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Polymers
Reviewed 26 July 2013

We liked the clean bedroom and the location (we stayed in Omonia two years ago and found it a bit sketchy at night). It is a hike bringing your luggage up the stairs to the rooms so I wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone who isn't able to carry their own luggage. I was disappointed with the bathroom. The tiles...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Travels1980
HotelAthinaikon, Manager at Hotel Athinaikon, responded to this review

Dear Travels1980 , thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at the Athinaikon. Please provide us your reservation details by sending them to info@athhotel.com to check further.

Sydney
Reviewed 16 July 2013

We had a quadruple room. It was tiny but serviceable and clean. Everything worked (shower, air-con, wifi) except the TV, but it could be that we didn't understand how to work it, but we didn't need it. The location is its selling point - close to all the sights, the metro station and taxis can be easily hailed outside. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WF B
HotelAthinaikon, Manager at Hotel Athinaikon, responded to this review

Thank you !

Athens
Reviewed 10 June 2013

The service was good and very helpful The room was small but very clean and served my purposes The main thing about this hotel is that it is lacerated close to most of the attractions in Athens. On the other hand the lack of elevators made my life slightly difficult taking my baggages to the 3rd floor.

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Uri G
HotelAthinaikon, Manager at Hotel Athinaikon, responded to this review

Thanks Jjmunck, it would be a pleasure to see you on your next visit to Athens !

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 8 June 2013

This hotel is in an interesting area - not the real 'touristy' area but one where locals work and go about their business. The meat market next door is well worth a visit! We were able to comfortably walk to all the things that people want to see and do while in Athens - the National Archaeological Museum, the Acropolis,...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank jjmunck

272 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (73)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Other (19)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (194)
Viewed
Amenities (13)
Viewed
Double Room (35)
Viewed
Quadruple Room (36)
Viewed
Single Room (26)
Viewed
The Hotel (17)
Viewed
Triple Room (33)
Viewed
Twin Room (34)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Hotel Moka
#135 of 334 in Athens
159 reviews
Omonia
Hotel Cosmopolit
Hotel Cosmopolit
#154 of 334 in Athens
174 reviews
Monastiraki
Hotel Tempi
Hotel Tempi
#121 of 334 in Athens
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Aristoteles
#184 of 334 in Athens
579 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
Cecil Hotel
Cecil Hotel
#144 of 334 in Athens
326 reviews
Marina Hotel Athens
#81 of 334 in Athens
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Omonia

Neighbourhood Profile
Omonia
Omonia Square is as plain in appearance as Syntagma is grand. Surrounded largely by functional blocks from the 1950s and 60s and no longer boasting its underground stalls, the square is now mostly frequented by immigrants and bargain shoppers. The most rewarding area to explore is to the south. Set off down Athinas Street, with the Acropolis gradually coming into focus in the distance, and you will get a sense of old commercial Athens, especially at the picturesque meat, fish and vegetable markets some way beyond the City Hall. The blocks to the west of Athinas are home to many Chinese and South Asian traders, adding a multicultural atmosphere to what was until the late 1990s a very homogenous society.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Room types
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Athinaikon was among the first 10 licensed hotels in Athens and has a history of top-notch service. Located in Psiri , the young, vibrant entertainment district of Athens, the Athinakon is mere footsteps away from the city’s legendary attractions, including the historical Acropolis and the old town of Athens Plaka. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Athinaikon

Address: 40 Evripidou, Athens 105 52, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Omonia
Price Range: €29 - €49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Athinaikon 1*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Athinaikon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athinaikon Hotel Athens
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Athinaikon staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Athinaikon staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“First floor is convenient”
 of 5 bubbles roeef98, 27 Oct 2016 | Read review
“No elevator so try to get one on bottom floors”
 of 5 bubbles H9073DRsarahb, 8 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Choose a room at the back for a quiet night.”
 of 5 bubbles NeilH188, 10 Mar 2016 | Read review
“There are no good rooms, no views, nothing, it's a hole”
 of 5 bubbles lizziedripin, 25 Dec 2015 | Read review
“If you have heavy luggage, book a room on a lower floor. Otherwise, you can opt to leave items you don't need with the reception.”
 of 5 bubbles Edna98, 12 Oct 2015 | Read review
5 of 5