We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Pousada Viana do Castelo

Save
Share
Monte de Santa Luzia, Viana do Castelo 4901-909 Portugal
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
Booking.com
US$143
View deal
Free cancellation until 28/10/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Agoda.com
US$122
View deal
Free cancellation until 26/10/21
Expedia.comUS$143
Priceline
getaroom.comUS$163
View all 19 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (925)
Room & Suite (264)
Dining (85)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#4 of 27 hotels in Viana do Castelo
Travellers' Choice
The Pousada de Viana do Castelo is located atop the Monte de Santa Luzia, in Viana do Castelo. Lofty and elegant, it further enhances the beauty of the city of Viana do Castelo. It features one of Portugal's most dazzling views of the mountain, the city, the Lima river, the Atlantic Ocean and the iconic Templo de Santa Luzia which, located just a few hundred metres from the hillside, frames and fills the landscape and the view. Inaugurated in 1921, this Pousada was born of the excellent restoration and remodelling of the Hotel de Santa Luzia, maintaining its stately features that make it so unique, such as its high granite walls and broad archways. During your stay, you can take a dip in the outdoor swimming pool and enjoy the view of the Serra de Santa Luzia, the city of Viana do Castelo, as well as the gorgeous Lima river and its mouth. If you would like to relax or rejuvenate yourself, schedule at massage at our Magic Spa. Feast on minhota cuisine at the Pousada's restaurant and enjoy the sophisticated and welcoming bar, with balconies and terraces for you to admire the view. The rooms offer free Wi-Fi and feature panoramic views over the estuary of the Lima river and the city.
Read more

Location

Full view
53Somewhat walkable
Grade: 53 out of 100
0Restaurantswithin 0 km
0Attractionswithin 0 km
Contact
Monte de Santa Luzia, Viana do Castelo 4901-909 Portugal
Name/address in local language
Getting there
Lisboa Airport327 kmSee all flights
Porto Airport52 kmSee all flights
See all nearby hotels
1105Reviews6Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 674
  • 292
  • 83
  • 36
  • 20
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Jack wrote a review 15 Sep
Lisbon, Portugal38 contributions41 helpful votes
The staff is incredible, nice and always available to improve ou experience. On the other hand the property is old and not well cleaned. Restaurant has a terrible menu with an even worse wine selection. Its said how the could manage to turn an incredible location into a bad product.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Paulo Silva, Proprietário at Pousada Viana do Castelo
Responded 4 days ago
Dear Mr. "JackG130", We would like to thank you for giving us your honest opinion on your stay. Unfortunately, we did not satisfy your expectations. We would like to sincerely apologize for any inconvenience caused. We have taken note of all the issues mentioned so that improvements can be made in the short-term. We appreciate that you chose Pousada De Viana Do Castelo for your stay. We hope you will give us another opportunity to demonstrate our high service standards and regain your trust during your next visit. Kind regards, Paulo Jorge Silva Unit Manager
Read more
adafiggy wrote a review 5 Sep
Chester, United Kingdom41 contributions25 helpful votes
The Pousada is amazing, elegant and wonderful space in lounge, dining and gardens. Fabulous view of the Citadel and Viana dos Castelo. My score reflects poor sleep quality. The bedrooms have wonderful Egyptian cotton linen and heavy down duvet. The duvet would have been fine from end of October onwards but just too hot for September. The air conditioning works fine but my preference is not to have this on at night. On reflection we should have booked a room with balcony and I’d urge anyone to do that if they stay more than a night. Breakfast was excellent, everywhere was spotlessly clean , we had dinner in the restaurant on one night , I had birthday cake ( many thanks) , the menu was quite limited so guests may prefer to dine out if staying for a few days. Taxis to Viana are reasonably priced at 7.50 eu
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: See review
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Paulo Silva, Proprietário at Pousada Viana do Castelo
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Mr./Mrs. "adafiggy", On behalf of our entire team at Pousada De Viana Do Castelo, we would like to thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback. Your opinion is crucial for us to continue improving our service and anticipate our Guests' needs. It was a real pleasure for us to have you as our Guest, and we look forward to welcoming you again at Pousada De Viana Do Castelo. Best regards, Paulo Jorge Silva Unit Manager
Read more
Liz N wrote a review 1 Sep
Redhill, United Kingdom43 contributions52 helpful votes
This is a very beautiful hotel in a wonderful hilltop location with stunning views. Our room was very comfortable and looked out over the Sanctuary of Santa Luzia towards the town and the sea - a stunning view. There is a comfortable bar area and both the restaurant and bar have a large terrace that also overlooks this view. Dinner in the restaurant was a little disappointing but the range of foods for breakfast was good. The pool was also lovely - a very good size for a hotel pool of this type and when we were there, it wasn't at all busy. Staff at the hotel were very friendly and helpful. Suzi at reception deserves particular mention for her help in sorting out a problem with our onward travel. The photo was taken from our balcony.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from Paulo Silva, Proprietário at Pousada Viana do Castelo
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Mrs. "Liz N", On behalf of our entire team at Pousada De Viana Do Castelo, we would like to thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback. Your opinion is crucial for us to continue improving our service and anticipate our Guests' needs. It was a real pleasure for us to have you as our Guest, and we look forward to welcoming you again at Pousada De Viana Do Castelo. Best regards, Paulo Jorge Silva Unit Manager
Read more
Sara Rocha wrote a review Aug 2021
1 contribution
Great place!! A Wonderful view, a lovely enviroment and a very Nice staff! We Will come back for sure! The restaurant has great portuguese food. And the breakfast was delicious. Next time we Will try the pool.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
ASH wrote a review Aug 2021
Copenhagen Region, Denmark16 contributions9 helpful votes
Others have described well all the positive sides of this special place - and we agree wholeheartedly. However, we were not pleased with the allocated room that did not have a balcony - and we paid the same amount. The light and ambiance in a room with a balcony (with those views) is very different to a room with just a standard size window. Why on earth do they not differentiate the rates in the booking system, thereby meeting guest expectations? We were there for two nights and discussed it with the reception after check-in and again the next morning. Apparently (strangely), no availability so that we could move around. Would a bottle of wine have helped? Not sure - but they even did not try.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: get a room with a balcony
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
LOCATION
PortugalNorthern PortugalViana do Castelo DistrictViana do Castelo
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Pousada Viana do Castelo
Which popular attractions are close to Pousada Viana do Castelo?
Nearby attractions include Santuário de Santa Luzia (0.6 km), Fortaleza de Valenca (1.0 km), and Castelo de Lindoso (1.0 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Pousada Viana do Castelo?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Pousada Viana do Castelo?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Pousada Viana do Castelo?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Pousada Viana do Castelo?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Pousada Viana do Castelo?
Conveniently located restaurants include Porta 93 Restaurante, Restaurante Ralenti, and Casinha Boutique Café.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Pousada Viana do Castelo?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Pousada Viana do Castelo offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Pousada Viana do Castelo?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, and Portuguese.
Are there any historical sites close to Pousada Viana do Castelo?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Citania de Santa Luzia (3.2 km), Antigos Paços do Concelho (6.3 km), and Casa dos Sá Soutomaior (6.4 km).