We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Rua do Cabrestante 25, Funchal, Madeira 9000-105 Portugal
8 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
US$137
View deal
Free cancellation until 07/10/22
Priceline
US$118
View deal
FindHotel
US$110
View deal
Expedia.comUS$137
Hotels.comUS$137
Lol.travelUS$138
View all 17 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (1162)
Room & Suite (396)
Pool & Beach (197)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Read more
Updated 16/02/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 16/02/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#33 of 99 hotels in Funchal
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
The Golden Residence welcomes you to a enchanting 4-star hotel in an excellent location on the south coast of Madeira. Overlooking the sea and some imposing cliffs, the opportunities for fantastic sunsets are offered every day during your holidays. Once inside, the hotel is built with many open spaces to make the most of the natural light and a modern and luxurious design with comfortable and functional public areas to rest, relax, read or socialize with your fellow guests. The atmosphere is complete with the panoramic sea views and some of the banana plantations still existing in Funchal. More than a hotel, at the Golden Residence you will find the perfect solution for a holiday where well-being and relaxation will take on a new meaning for you. The excellent service and careful attention for small detail is what makes the difference. ... and we encourage you to discover its many charms.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Children's television networks
Kids pool
Taxi service
Parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Indoor pool
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Yoga room
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Poolside bar
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Head massage
Massage
Rooftop terrace
Baggage storage
Concierge
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private balcony
Room service
Kitchenette
Microwave
Cable / satellite TV
Flatscreen TV
Bidet
Refrigerator
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Modern
Languages Spoken
English, German, Portuguese
1339Reviews80Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 709
  • 449
  • 125
  • 33
  • 24
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Jade123 wrote a review Aug 2022
Beccles, United Kingdom36 contributions11 helpful votes
+1
Had a lovely 10 day stay at this hotel. We loved the size of the apartment perfect for a family with 2 young children. Beds very comfortable & a good size shower room. Breakfast was good too with plenty of choice for everyone. Beautiful views from pool area & Kids loved the pool & made friends. All staff members lovely & friendly. We would stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Golden Residence Hotel Madeira, Owner at Golden Residence
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for having chosen the Golden Residence Hotel for your holidays as well as for having shared your experience with readers. We are very happy to know that we had the opportunity to leave you such positive experience during your stay. Looking forward to have the pleasure of welcoming you back at our hotel, we remain with best regards. Arcília Martin General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Pat O wrote a review Aug 2022
Toronto, Canada4 contributions4 helpful votes
We stayed at this beautiful hotel for 1 week in May. It was recommended by Portuguese friends in Canada. Airport bus dropped us at the door. We stayed in block C studio apartment pool view. It could not have been better. Super clean. Breakfast had an amazing selection. We had dinner out at some of the local restaurants. The local bus # 1 and 2 takes you into the centre of Funchal for 1 95 each way. Budget eating at the Pingo supermarket in the Forum shopping center. We met folks from the UK who have stayed at this hotel perhaps 30 times Staff super friendly. A great stay, will return.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Block C Pool view
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Golden Residence Hotel Madeira, Owner at Golden Residence
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your review with readers. We were very happy to acknowledge your experiences about our services and facilities. We sincerely look forward to seeing you again in a near future. Yours faithfully, Arcília Martin General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
James B wrote a review Aug 2022
Swindon, United Kingdom4 contributions5 helpful votes
Great hotel, breakfast really good with plenty to choose from, different options each day. Staff are as good as you will ever find , always helpful and smiling. Any questions or help needed at any time someone there to help. Really clean everywhere all the time. The only thing I could mark the hotel down on was the gym, was a bit basic and dated, but that’s being picky and most people wouldn’t even use it if on holiday. Great views, good location for food and drinks and transport. Only a short 20/30 mins to the airport . Would stay again and recommend. Thank you
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Stayed in building B
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Golden Residence Hotel Madeira, Owner at Golden Residence
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your review with readers. It was a pleasure to have had you as our guest. Looking forward to welcome you back at Golden Residence Hotel and thanking you for recommending us, we remain with best regards. Arcília Martin General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nicola D wrote a review Aug 2022
2 contributions4 helpful votes
We were in apartments A405 & 409. Both have views to the sea as well as banana plantation and other hotels/apartments. Rooms were extremely clean and had everything we needed and more. The kitchenette had a microwave, two burner hob, full size undercounter fridge with small freezer compartment, as well as (obviously) a kettle, cutlery and crockery. There is quite a bit of construction work going on near the hotel so it wasn't peaceful but it didn't bother us as we were out and about every day. The staff were really friendly, welcoming and helpful - including booking a trip for us one day. The inside pool and spa facilities are lovely and quiet. The outside pool isn't huge but we always went in the sea anyway. The hotel is really near the main beach (black sand and pebbles) which has a number of bars/cafes along. Also hotel is really close to some lovely restaurants which rate highly on Trip Advisor. We visited the natural pools just below the hotel and easily spent a whole day there. Buses into Funchal centre were easy, regular and one price €1.95 pp one way. Also really close (2 min walk) to the main shopping mall Forum Madeira with great shops and a brilliant supermarket. We ate in the hotel restaurant for their Madeiran night and the food was plentiful and delicious. Food, clothes, drinks all so cheap compared to the UK. Made it a really affordable holiday. Some of the negative reviews on here are correct (ie no pictures on the walls in rooms, pool bar not open, SOS buttons etc) however, the reviews are definitely harsh and some are absolutely incorrect.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
Room Tip: Block C closest to sea, pool ,restaurant. Rooms only, not apartments. A closest to...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Golden Residence Hotel Madeira, Owner at Golden Residence
Responded 9 Aug 2022
Dear Guest, We sincerely appreciate your choice by making your reservation at the Golden Residence Hotel as well as for having shared your experience with readers. It is very important for us that you know that our guests opinions are most valued and based on them we can keep our efforts to improve. Looking forward to have the pleasure of welcoming you back at our hotel, we remain with best regards. Arcília Martin General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
jamccarth wrote a review Jul 2022
Clonmel, Ireland21 contributions30 helpful votes
We stayed here for 2 weeks and can honestly say it was one of the cleanest resort hotels that we have stayed in. The place was being constantly cleaned to a very high standard. The indoor and out door pool areas are great. There is no fighting for sunbeds and we arrived at the outdoor pool at all stages of the day and had no problem getting beds at any time. While it got busy at times with kids, it never felt over run or out of control. There is no music blasting at any time and this added to the sense of serenity. Breakfast was always excelent with plenty of choices. My daughter is gluten intollerant and they had a basket with breads, cakes and biscuits for her every morning. A special word also for Carla who made omlettes to order every second day. They were excellent. My daughter also uses a wheelchair and there is no doubt that travelling with a wheelchair user is difficult. This hotel even though it is big and set over three buidings still managed to make it incredibly accessible. There were wide doors everywhere, adapted rooms and bathrooms and even a nice slow ramp into both of the pools. As i said travelling with a wheelchair is not easy but when these things are in place, it really makes the experience so much better. You can focus on the holiday rather than the obstacles. You can always judge a hotel best when you see how they deal with any issues that you may have. We did have one issue early on with one of the beds. They couldn't have dealt with it any better. I must compliment the desk manager (I should have remembered her name) who dealt with this issue so promptly and efficiently. She saw the issue, saw the solution and put it into practice immediately. We honestly couldn't have asked for more. It was laso good to see that the general manger was very present around the hotel, it alwayhs adds assurance that there is pride in the place. I can't reccomend the hotel highly enough and have already reccomended it to friends and family who are booking as we speak.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Golden Residence Hotel Madeira, Owner at Golden Residence
Responded 22 Jul 2022
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for taking the time to write and share your thoughts about your recent holiday experience at Golden Residence Hotel. Your compliments towards our hotel as well as towards our team and hotel standards of service were very much appreciated by all of us. It is always a great pleasure for us to have the opportunity to provide positive and memorable experiences to our guests while staying with us. Looking forward to welcome you back and thanking you for recommending us, we remain with best regards. Arcília Martin General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
millerde1 wrote a review Jul 2022
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom164 contributions120 helpful votes
Another lovely stay in this hotel. Exceptionally clean, spacious. Plenty of sun beds in picturesque setting. Quiet. Good location for buses into centre of Funchal. Breakfasts plentiful. Good service. We were just baffled why, when we booked two rooms together, that they were not closer to each other. I realise that maybe the apartments are not in block c but the apartment was the furthest away on the top floor at the far end of the hotel. Just an observation!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Golden Residence Hotel Madeira, Owner at Golden Residence
Responded 12 Jul 2022
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for taking the time to write and share your thoughts about your recent holiday experience at Golden Residence Hotel. Sincerely hoping that you consider our hotel for your next holidays, we remain wishing you best regards. Arcília Martin General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
no(r)mandic wrote a review Jun 2022
Groningen1135 contributions196 helpful votes
+1
We visited the hotel for a 10 days vacation. We arrived around 11 am and had to wait till 2 pm before we could enter our room. From there on everything was very good. Our suite was just as we expected it with a nice view over the ocean, clean, well maintained and equipped with all comforts. . We had to indicate a time when we wanted to go for breakfast, at first this looked a bit inconvenient, but this way it was not to crowded during breakfast. The breakfast was excellent, both the range and the quality. We took our lunch and dinner in local restaurants. In the evening the hotel is offering a buffet which is way to expensive. You can have a dinner in one of the restaurants on walking distance for half the price. The hotel has a nice swimming pool with garden with a excellent view over the ocean. The beach is about 15 minutes walk and the center of Funchal took us about 35 minutes
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Building A is near a busy road and you can hear road traffic.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Arcilia Martin, General Manager at Golden Residence
Responded 20 Jun 2022
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for having chosen to spend your holidays at Golden Residence Hotel, we have truly appreciate your kind comments. Looking forward to welcome you back to our hotel in a not too distant future, we remain with our kindest regards. Arcília Martin General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
59MARK wrote a review Jun 2022
Norwich, United Kingdom20 contributions24 helpful votes
Our first time in Madeira and certainly not our last! Our stay started with a very good check in experience. The gentleman at reception could not have been more helpful and provided lots of information during our stay. The hotel arranged for us to be picked up from the airport, which worked seamlessly. We stayed in C Block of the hotel, with a lovely room overlooking the sea. The room is spacious and clean and has everything we needed for our stay. Breakfast was extremely good with a vast choice of cooked food, breads, cheese, fruit and even locally made cake. We sat outside every morning and enjoyed our start to the day. The pool area and sun lounger areas are clean, tidy and immaculate, and there have fabulous views over the bay. We attended the hotel’s BBQ evening, which at €28 each was good value, with a great choice of meat and seafood, plus different salads and some nice desserts. All staff we met, including the ladies who cleaned our room every day, during our (too short) stay were lovely and helpful and a credit to the hotel. All in all, a wonderful experience and we will definitely return.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: If you want a sea view, ask for a room in Block C
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Golden Residence Hotel Madeira, Owner at Golden Residence
Responded 16 Jun 2022
Dear Guest, Primarily we would like to thank you for sharing your review. We are very happy to know that we had the opportunity to leave you such positive experience during your stay at Golden Residence Hotel. We assure you that we will continue to do our utmost to exceed our guest’s needs and expectations to remain your hotel of choice in Madeira. On behalf of the Golden Residence Hotel team, I hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future. Yours faithfully, Arcília Martin General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Carol S wrote a review Jun 2022
Dagenham, United Kingdom45 contributions39 helpful votes
For the first time we were staying here for 2 nights. We attended too early for check in (2pm) but they completed the check in process and let us leave our luggage in a storage room. When we returned we were given the key to room 301 in block A. This hotel has 3 blocks rising from the pool up to the main road. Block C has the pool and restaurant (and sea view rooms). Block B has reception. Block A was infact very convenient for access to the main street and shops. We had booked a mountain view self catering suite (cheaper than seaview!) But our room infact faced east and had plenty of sea view as well as views over the town. The room was excellent with a large bedroom and bathroom with double shower. A living room with sofa and dining table and chairs and a smart kitchenette hidden behind folding doors (microwave, hob unit, foldout sink and full-sized fridge. The balcony was glass walled and had a table and chairs. We were told we had breakfast included in our booking so enjoyed that both mornings - great choice buffet. Only small complaint was that the lifts in the blocks were rather confusing as to which floor was which. I am sure if we had stayed longer we would have got the hang of it.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Arcilia Martin, General Manager at Golden Residence
Responded 14 Jun 2022
Dear Guest, We sincerely appreciate the fact that you have shared your experience of our services and facilities with readers. Please be sure that our main goal is to let our guests know how special they are to us, and I’m happy that we had the opportunity to leave positive and memorable experiences throughout your stay. Looking forward to have the pleasure of welcoming you back at our hotel, we remain with best regards. Arcília Martin General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mark E wrote a review Jun 2022
Maidstone, United Kingdom170 contributions48 helpful votes
My wife and I took her father and his wife for a week to Madeira, somewhere he had always wanted to go but now at 79 with a disabled wife of 81, mobility was an issue. I emailed the hotel well in advance of the holiday and outlined our requirements and requests and I can honestly say that the hotel staff were brilliant in every respect. Nothing was too much trouble for them and we were welcomed warmly and very well looked after. The hotel restaurant is comfortable and not too badly priced and the quality of the food is excellent. Breakfast is run like a military operation and is a very pleasurable experience. Particular thanks are due to the tall slim gentleman with the moustache who checked us in on Monday 6th June in the early afternoon and then looked after us several times during the week and answered all of our questions, before he had a well - earned weekend off after a long shift finishing at 10pm on Thursday 9th June. The only improvement I could suggest is the provision of a non - slip mat for the shower, as that could be a bit slippery for elderly people like my father in law's wife, who can be prone to falls. Obrigado, Golden Residence Hotel, we will choose you again in the future.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Arcilia Martin, General Manager at Golden Residence
Responded 14 Jun 2022
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for taking the time to write and share your thoughts about your recent holiday experience at Golden Residence Hotel. We are very happy to know that we could bring you comfort and extraordinary moments while being with us. Please be sure that we’ll keep all of our efforts to surpass our guest’s needs to remain your Hotel of choice in Madeira! On behalf of the Golden Residence Hotel team, I hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future. Yours faithfully, Arcília Martin General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$71 - US$134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
golden residence apartment funchal, hotel golden residence apartment
LOCATION
PortugalMadeira IslandsMadeiraFunchal
NUMBER OF ROOMS
172
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Golden Residence
Which popular attractions are close to Golden Residence?
Nearby attractions include Forum Madeira (0.3 km), Túnel das Poças do Gomes (0.2 km), and Bacchus Bar (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Golden Residence?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Golden Residence?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Golden Residence?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Golden Residence?
Yes, paid private parking on-site is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Golden Residence?
Conveniently located restaurants include Dona Nina, Hoyo Hoyo Sabores de Moçambique, and Espettus.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Golden Residence?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Golden Residence?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Golden Residence offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Golden Residence?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, German, and Portuguese.
Are there any historical sites close to Golden Residence?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Colégio dos Jesuítas do Funchal (3.7 km), Santa Clara Convent (3.5 km), and Sao Tiago Fort (4.6 km).