We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Dorisol Estrelicia

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Dorisol Estrelicia
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

380 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 116: English reviews
Start your review of Dorisol Estrelicia
 Click to rate
Chatham, Canada
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The room was smaller but had great amenities for those who prefer not to dine out every day. There was a stove top, microwave and sink which enabled us to prepare meals right there and dine on the balcony. They have good facilities as far as pools, tennis, etc. and an opportunity to work on your calf and thigh muscles...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank debra_lynn_k
Filipa T, Diretor de vendas at Dorisol Estrelicia, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, but we think this is about our Hotel Dorisol Mimosa and not Estrelicia... The rooms at Estrelicia don´t have a kitchenette, only the rooms at Mimosa do. Since they share the same reception desk and all facilities, we can see how it was easy to mix them up. We hope that your enjoyed your stay...

Roma
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

quiet hotel in a beautiful area about three hundred meters from the sea (the island of Madeira has all uphill and downhill roads) where it begins a beautiful pedestrian promenade of up to Camara de Lobos, the center of Funchal is located about 2 kilometers, the staff is very kind, breakfast is always the same every day, dinner changes every...

Review collected in partnership with Alpharooms
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 7poker11
Filipa T, Diretor de vendas at Dorisol Estrelicia, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of our Hotel Dorisol Estrelícia! We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 March 2017

our flight was delayed and the airline put the whole plane full of people in this hotel for the night and thank god it was for 1 night only, many of us had stated that if we had to stay another night in funchal due to the flight delay then we would be finding our own accommodation as there was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Philip E
Filipa T, Diretor de vendas at Dorisol Estrelicia, responded to this review

We were only able to receive so many guests at the last minute because the ones we were expecting did not arrive, due to the airport being closed for 2 days. All our hotels were fully booked because we are a good value 3 star hotel and offer good value for money. Obviously if you are a 4 or 5...

Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 March 2017

Please don't come to this hotel!!! We arrived home last night and what a relief!! This hotel needs taking off the list! The staff are so unfriendly especially the poolside bar manager. Never known such rudeness anywhere before. He couldn't even bother to look at you to speak! It was the only bar open so if you wanted to watch...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vanda T
Filipa T, Diretor de vendas at Dorisol Estrelicia, responded to this review

We are very sorry not to have met your expectations. We are a good 3 star hotel and offer very good value for money. We apologize for any inconveniences suffered, but would like to state that we offer buffet meals with many choices, and our clients usually compliment us on the friendliness and helpfulness of our staff. We will pass...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 March 2017 via mobile

This has to be the worst hotel I've ever stayed at in my entire life!!! I give it one star because I can't give it less or it's have none!!! Had to change to a different room as the first one had a hole in the wall, broken glass and bed bugs! Yes bed bugs!! Receptionist didn't seem to care...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank catia202
Filipa T, Diretor de vendas at Dorisol Estrelicia, responded to this review

We very much regret not having met your expectations, but if you are a 4 or 5 star client you would, of course, find us lacking. However, we are a good 3 star hotel and offer very good value for money. All our meals are cooked fresh every day and served buffet style, with a lot to choose from. We...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 February 2017

We were looking forward to visiting the island of Madeira and booked Dorisol Estrelicia as wanted to go "all inclusive " and there were only a couple of hotels on the island that offered this. I was aware of the location and that there were 160 steps before you could reach the hotel doors ! And also aware of the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank debzzmitchell
DorisolHotels, Gestor de Relações com o Cliente at Dorisol Estrelicia, responded to this review

Thanks for your comment, and already we apologize for the stay not go as planned. Your feedback is extremely valuable to us, as we strive to improve with each and every stay. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back and exceed your expectations.

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 February 2017

Good friendly service received from all hotel staff. However Terrace Bar lacked atmosphere and Piano Bar where entertainment held had no bar service available. Room excellent though as bedside tables are fixed twin beds cannot be moved apart. Good sized flat screen TV with many channels. Modern shower-room. Buffet Dining area can be very congested at times. Food acceptable though...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank archie1939
Filipa T, Diretor de vendas at Dorisol Estrelicia, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of our Hotel Estrelícia! We are pleased to learn that you seem to have enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Tamworth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 December 2016 via mobile

Booked as cheap but it is only 3 star just Hotel indoor pool good and that area Main lobby area good Evening entertainment paints Food clean but not any choice especially for children and very boring type of food breakfast limited but normally is in places like these Rooms clean tidy apart from the mould in the cupboard but wow...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alex L
Filipa T, Diretor de vendas at Dorisol Estrelicia, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of our Hotel Estrelícia. We are glad to note that you enjoyed your stay with us, and your comments will be passed on to the appropriate departments for imediate improvement. We hope to welcome you back in the near future!

Broadstairs
Reviewed 21 November 2016

The Dorisol complex consists of three tower blocks set on a steep hillside - Buganvilia (nearest the road), Estrelicia and Mimosa high up the hill. To get to the shared reception of Estrelicia and Mimosa there are over 160 broad, shallow steps with a handrail and benches to rest every 50 steps. Taxis, minibuses and jeeps can get up to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sue W
Filipa T, Diretor de vendas at Dorisol Estrelicia, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of our Hotel Estrelicia! We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back in the near future.

england
Reviewed 24 October 2016

The hotel is up a steep hill so not for people with walking difficulties unless you hire a car then no problem, also taxis are reasonably priced too. The hotel room was spacious maid service every day with clean towels every other day and sheets changed regularly. The restaurant had a good selection of food the salads were lovely, choice...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 130,201
Filipa T, Diretor de vendas at Dorisol Estrelicia, responded to this review

Thank you ever so much for such a positiv review of our Hotel Estrelícia! We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back in the near future.

208 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (171)
Viewed
View from Room (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (36)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (17)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (28)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (53)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (37)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Funchal
0.3 km away
Dorisol Florasol
Dorisol Florasol
#56 of 87 in Funchal
360 reviews
0.1 km away
Dorisol Buganvilia
Dorisol Buganvilia
#65 of 87 in Funchal
355 reviews
0.0 km away
Dorisol Mimosa
Dorisol Mimosa
#71 of 87 in Funchal
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Alto Lido Hotel
Alto Lido Hotel
#40 of 87 in Funchal
551 reviews
17.5 km away
Dom Pedro Madeira
Dom Pedro Madeira
#1 of 2 in Machico
715 reviews
0.3 km away
Raga Madeira Muthu Hotel
Raga Madeira Muthu Hotel
#44 of 87 in Funchal
705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
  • Spa
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Tennis Court
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting

Additional Information about Dorisol Estrelicia

Address: Rua Casa Branca 98, Funchal, Madeira 9004-535, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Price Range: €42 - €115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dorisol Estrelicia 3*
Number of rooms: 148
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dorisol Estrelicia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dorisol Estrelicia Funchal
Dorisol Estrelicia Hotel Funchal
Dorisol Estrelicia Madeira/Funchal
Hotel Style:
#31 Spa Hotel in Funchal
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Dorisol Estrelicia staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Dorisol Estrelicia staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Higher floor apartments off the reception area parking lot are less noisy.”
debra_lynn_k, 8 Apr 2017 | Read review
“don't bother booking any room”
673philipe, 18 Mar 2017 | Read review
“insist on a room with a balcony”
debzzmitchell, 12 Feb 2017 | Read review
“There are some sea view rooms with balconies”
SueW80, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room with a sea view the sunset and sunrise are lovely”
130201, 24 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5