We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Residence

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Residence
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

775 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 680: English reviews
Start your review of The Residence
 Click to rate
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Great views to the sea and gardens from these self catering apartments. The staff are approachable and efficient in general despite having to communicate multilingually which must prove taxing from time to time. The comprehensive facilities of the hotel complex are available to apartment users and are well appointed. If you can't do without English Premier league football or Rugby...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cam00re
AnaTeresaMatos, Manager at The Residence, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We are very grateful for your comments. We were pleased to hear that we met your expectations and hope to see you again at one of our PortoBay group hotels. Best regards, Ana Teresa Matos

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stay at The Residence many weeks a year. Whilst some aspects remain memorable, others have deteriorated. The senior managers appear to be less visible, appear not to be as concerned as their predecessors, appear to have less interest in the owners and appear to be not as keen on quality issues. The decor in the suites has lost the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jownorth
AnaTeresaMatos, Manager at The Residence, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We would like to thank you for sharing your opinion about our hotel. We regret that we were unable to meet your expectations and we will take your comments into account so that we can improve the points you mentioned. Thank you once again. Ana Teresa Matos

Kelso, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have stayed here previously. On arrival we were disappointed with our room, seaview is very important to us. Pleased to say the Manager sorted us out very quickly. We were moved to a different room. The room facilities were very good. Breakfast was always a great way to start our day. Nothing too much trouble for any of the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Liz H
AnaTeresaMatos, Manager at The Residence, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We would like to thank you for the time you spent giving us your opinion of your experience at our hotel. We are very pleased to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us. We hope to see you again soon. Best regards, Ana Teresa Matos

Aarhus, Denmark
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This is the fifth year in a row, I've spent two weeks in The Residence. I've been in the same room, which is my favourite, and the staff has always been so helpful to make sure, I get just that room. At my latest visit, I was given another room, and when I sighed heavily and complained the receptionist did...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Marit H
AnaTeresaMatos, Manager at The Residence, responded to this review

Dear Guest, It was with great pleasure that we read your words of appreciation. Thank you for sharing your experience. We were very happy to hear that you made the most of your holiday. See you soon! Ana Teresa Matos

Beckingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We returned to The Residence again earlier this month for two weeks. I think this is about our 7th visit there. Sometimes we are lucky and get a timeshare exchange and other times, like on this occasion, we were staying on a bed and breakfast basis which is good as the wonderful selection of food at breakfast sets you up...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Haeremai18
AnaTeresaMatos, Manager at The Residence, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We are very grateful for your comments. We were pleased to hear that we met your expectations and hope to see you again at one of our PortoBay group hotels. Best regards, Ana Teresa Matos

Dunblane, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

stayed before still an excellent choice of hotel excellent breakfast the hotel is handy for restaurants and has a shuttle bus service to take you in to funchal leaving every hour the hotel has a good spa and gym for the more energetic people and each night in th Portofino bar they have musical entertainment which is very good

 Report
Helpful?
Thank norman a
AnaTeresaMatos, Manager at The Residence, responded to this review

Dear Guest, It was with great pleasure that we read your words of appreciation. Thank you for sharing your experience. We were very happy to hear that you made the most of your holiday. See you soon! Ana Teresa Matos

Bridgend
Reviewed 14 February 2017

The Portobay Residence once again lived up to our expectations. From the excellent and polite staff to its lovely sorroundings.The weather once again has been good to us with a few rain showers. The gardens are well tended and specimen plants are all labelled.The orchid garden being replanted in sections. For a holiday you really do not need to stray...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank excelsiorBridgend
AnaTeresaMatos, Manager at The Residence, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing our hotel. Your opinion is very important to us - thank you for sharing it. We are very pleased to hear that our hotel and team were able to meet your expectations. We look forward to seeing you again. Regards, Ana Teresa Matos

Leyland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 February 2017

Another wonderful holiday at the Residence. After rain on the first evening it was warm and sunny which was the icing on the cake. The accommodation was up to its usual standard and the staff as attentive as usual. We've already booked our flights for next year. Can't wait!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Eileen W
AnaTeresaMatos, Manager at The Residence, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We were very grateful for your feedback and for choosing the PortoBay group. Your words confirm the dedication of the entire team and our desire to continue to satisfy our guests needs. We look forward to your next visit! Thank you, Ana Teresa Matos

Vantaa, Finland
Reviewed 28 January 2017 via mobile

Our expectations were high for this hotel due to all reviews we had read. And it has answered to our wishes in every way. Room is very nice with super comfortable and huge bed, cleanliness is in high level. All the common areas including beautiful pool area are very well taken care too. Breakfast has pretty much all you could...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jukka W
AnaTeresaMatos, Manager at The Residence, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your comments. Nothing makes us happier than meeting the expectations of our guests. See you soon at a PortoBay hotel, Ana Teresa Matos

Stranraer, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 January 2017

Arrived 19 December, left 2 January. Can't fault it- as usual the staff in all the receptions, room cleaners, restaurant waiters and bar staff worked really hard to ensure we wanted for nothing. The gala dinners on 24 December and 31 December were fabulous and the trip up to see the fireworks, which were unforgettable, was well organised.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kath D
AnaTeresaMatos, Manager at The Residence, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We would like to thank you for the time you spent giving us your opinion of your experience at our hotel. We are very pleased to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us. We hope to see you again soon. Best regards, Ana Teresa Matos

1,032 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (377)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (51)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (96)
Viewed
View from Room (37)
Viewed
Room/Suite (32)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
1:21
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (137)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (628)
Viewed
Amenities (94)
Viewed
Eden Indoor Pool (13)
Viewed
Eden Pool (14)
Viewed
Kids Pool (6)
Viewed
One Bedroom Apartment (60)
Viewed
Porto Mare Indoor Pool (29)
Viewed
Porto Mare Pool (22)
Viewed
Dining (178)
Viewed
Studio (36)
Viewed
The Hotel (105)
Viewed
Two Bedroom Apartment (71)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.7 km away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 87 in Funchal
2,673 reviews
2.5 km away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
0.1 km away
Porto Mare Hotel
Porto Mare Hotel
#7 of 87 in Funchal
1,926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#4 of 87 in Funchal
803 reviews
0.1 km away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
0.2 km away
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
#8 of 87 in Funchal
1,308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Spa
  • Tennis Court
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Occupying the west wing of the Vila Porto Mare resort, The Residence enjoys the use of all its facilities and a real sense of community. A wide selection of carefully furnished and fully equipped apartments where comfort is our motto. The 99 units divided into studios, one and two bedroom apartments are decorated with a touch of exoticism. The Residence apartments combine views over the ocean with tropical gardens. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Residence

Address: Rua Leichlingen 7, Funchal, Madeira 9004-566, Portugal (Formerly Porto Mare Residence)
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Price Range: €134 - €965 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Residence 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotel.de, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your The Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Mare Residence Funchal
Porto Mare Residence Hotel Funchal
The Residence Madeira/Funchal
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Funchal
#4 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#6 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#7 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Residence staff and other travellers.
25 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (25)

Questions? Get answers from The Residence staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Most if not all rooms have a sea view. Only noise from the sea front park area although not intrusive or long lasting.”
 of 5 bubbles cam00re, 22 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Some apartments are very noisy and far from being private. Visitors need to stress their preferences.”
 of 5 bubbles jownorth, 8 Mar 2017 | Read review
“When booking make it clear re seaview or garden view.”
 of 5 bubbles 851lizh, 8 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Any apartment facing out to the gardens and sea”
 of 5 bubbles Haeremai18, 28 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Garden rooms are great in Porto Mare and the apartments in The residence are first class.”
 of 5 bubbles KathD369, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5