We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Porto Mare Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Porto Mare Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,801 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Porto Mare Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,331: English reviews
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Just stayed here for a week with my husband and 4 year old son. The hotel grounds and swimming pools are lovely and very well maintained, as is the hotel itself. The decor in the rooms is a little dated but not shabby at all and the rooms are nice and spacious with comfortable beds and good showers. Buffet breakfast... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank Terri Anne E
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback about your holiday experience at Porto Mare hotel. Good to know that you consider us a good four star hotel. In fact we are not classified as a five star hotel, we are a four star hotel. For a five star experience within the Porto Bay in Madeira we have The Cliff Bay... More 

Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

This was our fifth visit to the Porto Mare/Eden Mar. We have always loved the tropical gardens and the high-quality activities. But this time we had a bad experience: on 9th and 10th July, workmen with a chainsaw cut down all the trees and bushes in the garden facing the sea, including the rare dragon tree. The manager told me... More 

Helpful?
6 Thank Mhlanga
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your support by staying with us once again. Regarding this post and as previous explanations the reasons that took us to remove two palm trees and other bushes from our lovely garden were mentioned on the emails sent to you before. Once again please understand that as a manager we have to decide what is... More 

Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Having never been to Madeira before unsure of what was in store for our 12 night break! From the minute we arrived we were totally impressed with the great hotel facilities including the lovely gardens, views of the sea and staff. We thoroughly enjoyed the excellent Happy Hour each evening, entertainment included - beware of the Poncha cocktail! Breakfast every... More 

Helpful?
5 Thank BrendaUK2014
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for the “Superb stay in Porte Mare” review and also for being our guest for the first time..but not the last hopefully!. Pleased to know that you had such a positive holiday experience. Sincerely hope to welcome you soon, Warm regards Muito obrigado, . .. ANTONIO PAIS More 

tonbridge
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Hotel gardens beautiful and very well kept. The hotel is clean and well run.We had an apartment that was very spacious , we had paid extra for a sea view , this was really disappointing, it was a side sea view so we looked over a road and a car park, it was noisy.(fully booked so not able to change)... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank Clare J
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Just to thank you for the review about your recent holiday experience at Porto Mare and regret to know that we were not able to fulfill your needs and expectations. Apologize for the room assigned to you. We do have some rooms with the location mentioned by you and when the hotel is fully booked we do need... More 

Worcestershire
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We read so many positive comments about the island of Madeira that we were really looking forward to this - our first visit. We chose the Porto Mare based on tripadvisor comments and were not disappointed. The hotel was contained in a fabulous tropical garden. The Porto Mare was one of three hotels sharing the complex - the other two... More 

Helpful?
5 Thank SpatanWorcestershire
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you also for the positive feedback regarding your recent first stay at our hotel and happy to learn that overall you have enjoyed it . Due to our high occupancy we are not able to guarantee a specific room but we can always do our best to at least offer you a similar one in location/view. We... More 

Dongen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for our honeymoon in a junior suite. The room was very large, clean, luxurious and had a big balcony with a nice sea side view. When we arrived the whole room was decorated with rose petals and we received a bottle of free champagne. We also were (positively) surprised with a decorated table and champagne when we... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank Tvb84
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Many thanks for staying at our hotel celebrating such an important event of your life’s. Also thank you for the time you spent sending us feedback about it and happy to learn that you had a good time with us. We would be most pleased to welcome you for a future visit to Madeira and our hotel. Warm... More 

Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

Loved this hotel. Very clean even though it is a huge complex. Never appeared busy and could always get a sunbed near to the pool. Entertainment was a bit hit and miss but it was okay apart from 'Mr Brown' who was very irritating.... There was a 'live' band on the Saturday night and these were excellent.... Over all a... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Eggybread69
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Just a short note to say thank you for the time you spent in our hotel and for your thoughts about it. Good to know that you had a positive holiday experience with us. Regarding the entertainment just to let you know that every day we have two different bars with different entertainment.. We will be most pleased... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Stayed in this particular hotel for the first time from 3rd to 10th July 2014 and the stay was wonderful. Accommodation and staff were first rate. The hotel could not be faulted in any way. The restaurants, are all very good with great food and great service. The grounds are absolutely superb and better than many gardens with all plants... More 

Helpful?
5 Thank William L
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Just a short note to say thank you for the time you spent in our hotel and for your thoughts about it. It is rewarding to know that you had a positive holiday experience with us. We will be most pleased to welcome you on a future visit to Madeira, Warm regards, Muito obrigado . .. ANTONIO PAIS More 

New Zealand
Level Contributor
115 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

From the first moment we arrived to the moment we left, the service and attention to detail was impeccable - they really couldn't have been more helpful or more professional. Eg. Our room in The Residence wasn't ready on arrival due to previous guest being unwell so we were offered a different room and half-board to compensate in Vila Porto... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Safarinjema2014
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Many thanks for staying at our hotel and for the comprehensive feedback about it. I do apologize for wi.fi service where we made already some changes in order to improve the quality of the signal. Happy to learn that overall you have enjoyed the facilities and different services we do offer within our property. It would be a... More 

Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

I have positively reviewed this Hotel before and returned again this June. My last review was superlative rich and to be fair I didn't believe this hotel complex could get better: but it has. The gardens are more beautiful, the staff are even more helpful and overall everything has been put in place for a terrific holiday. I am sure... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank hoban13
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Just a short note to say thank you for the time you spent in our hotel and for your thoughts about it. So good to know that we were able to exceed your previous holiday experience with us. We will be most pleased to welcome you, Warm regards, Muito obrigado . .. ANTONIO PAIS More 

1,672 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1048)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (145)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (324)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
View from Room (109)
Viewed
Room/Suite (80)
Viewed
Dining (64)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (312)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (588)
Viewed
Amenities (94)
Viewed
Eden Indoor Pool (13)
Viewed
Eden Pool (13)
Viewed
Junior Suite (44)
Viewed
Kids Pool (6)
Viewed
Porto Mare Indoor Pool (28)
Viewed
Porto Mare Pool (22)
Viewed
Dining (179)
Viewed
Standard Room (31)
Viewed
Superior Room (30)
Viewed
The Hotel (128)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (36)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (10)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.6 km away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 86 in Funchal
2,510 reviews
0.1 km away
The Residence
The Residence
#6 of 86 in Funchal
753 reviews
0.2 km away
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
#10 of 86 in Funchal
1,261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 km away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
3.3 km away
Porto Santa Maria Hotel
0.1 km away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Tennis Court
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Babysitting
  • Airport Transportation
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Porto Mare hotel occupies the central wing of the Vila Porto Mare resort and benefits from the use of all its facilities. There are many different corners and atmospheres here ... something new to discover every day. The rooms combine views over the ocean with tropical gardens. Four restaurants, six bars, an ice-cream parlour, five pools, SPA, sports and children's facilities... ... more   less 

Additional Information about Porto Mare Hotel

Address: Rua Simplicio Passos Gouveia, 21, Funchal, Madeira 9004-565, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Price Range: €115 - €207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Porto Mare Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Porto Mare Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Mare Funchal
Porto Mare Hotel Madeira/Funchal
Porto Mare Madeira
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Funchal
#6 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#8 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#10 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#11 Family Hotel in Funchal
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Porto Mare Hotel staff and other travellers.
53 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (53)

Questions? Get answers from Porto Mare Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“View to the sea from upper floors”
 of 5 bubbles AnnaMarieB605, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Check out your sea view BEFORE you unpack!”
 of 5 bubbles 264lynnec, 20 Nov 2016 | Read review
“All room are quiete, higer floors have Ocean views.”
 of 5 bubbles trondogmarit, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Junior suite view of gardens, which are stunning”
 of 5 bubbles Machpelan, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Book a sea view if possible”
 of 5 bubbles david48jay, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay