We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Muthu Raga Madeira Hotel

Save
Share
Estrada Monumental 302, Funchal, Madeira 9000-100 Portugal
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
ZenHotels.com
US$87
View deal
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
View all 17 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (548)
Room & Suite (207)
Pool & Beach (73)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Read more
Updated 13/07/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Muthu Raga Madeira Hotel
Updated 13/07/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#65 of 99 hotels in Funchal
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Idyllically situated on the hillside in the heart of Madeira’s renowned Lido area and commanding spectacular views of the surroundings from its high vantage point, the 4-star Muthu Raga Madeira Hotel is the perfect destination for a comfortable and relaxing holiday in the magical island of Madeira. Lying a short distance away from the city centre, the hotel has easy access to the popular Lido swimming pools and sea and is surrounded by the selection of shops, restaurants, cafés and bars that abound in this lively area. The nearby coastal Lido promenade, lined with a colourful array of typical Madeira flowers, also provides plenty of opportunity for picturesque strolls along the sea front. Muthu Raga Madeira Hotel provides all the comfort and well-being of a newly refurbished hotel that has earned a solid reputation for welcoming visitors to the island.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Game room
Hiking
Car hire
Parking
Public wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Poolside bar
Table tennis
Taxi service
Meeting rooms
Massage
Salon
Solarium
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Soundproof rooms
Air conditioning
Private balcony
Safe
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Ocean View
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, German and 1 more
1056Reviews60Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 197
  • 427
  • 275
  • 113
  • 45
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
SimonaCornelia wrote a review 25 Sep
Cluj-Napoca, Romania59 contributions31 helpful votes
Not at all a 4* hotel! Two and a half at the most!! Overall a very poor stay at the Muthu Raga hotel in Funchal. Positives: - location - nearby restaurants - approximately a 35 minute walk to main area of Funchal - about an hour and 15 min walk to Camara de Lobos - great sea view room - clean room and bathroom Negatives: - The room was extremely basic. Furniture and decor is old and tired. - The lifts took ages and would easily wait between 5-10 minutes to get out of the hotel. Many times we took the stairs...from the 6th floor... - Breakfast was the biggest letdown for us. Quite a few mornings I felt that the cooked food was not fresh: the omelette had greenish parts on it, the bacon and some sausages looked somehow old and grayish, overall the cooked part looked gross. I didn't even dare to serve myself to something There was a small selection of fruit, some slices of the same fruit were ok, others were almost spoiled, which means it weren't quite fresh Decent choice of breads. Same choices every day too and no variation. From 8 nights bed and breakfast, we skipped 5 of them - Bathroom was clean enough but very old, stained and rusty - Some of the towels had stains - In the middle of the bed, under the sheet, there was a towel...I don't know what for..maybe to hide something...better I wasn't curious to see - Bidet only ran hot water Would definitely NOT recommend this hotel. Go elsewhere and get better value for your money!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Muthu Raga Madeira Hotel, General Manager at Muthu Raga Madeira Hotel
Responded yesterday
Dear Ms.SimonaCornelia, We're very sorry that you didn't appreciate our hotel. Concerning the points referred, please let me make a few comments. First of all, please accept our apologies. Secondly, I can assure you that all the items served at breakfast are fresh and in good conditions. Of course, some fails may occur, but we normally take all the necessary actions to avoid them. The greenish parts it's parsil. Tha bacon and sausages are delivered 2xweek and we don't make stock of those products. We normally have 4 fruit types+fruit salad. Our breakfast all dozens of diiferent choices and it's free. We do not charge for it. Concerning the matress, you're probably refering to its protection cover. Tha bidet with hot water only, a maintenance issue. We'll check it out. Our towels are new and I'm quite surprised with that. We'll see what happened with the outside laundry with whom we work. Once again, our apologies and please accept our best regards. Jorge Xavier - GM
Read more
Scot t wrote a review 19 Sep
4 contributions
Arrival: The girl behind the desk was a nightmare, after travelling the last thing you want is to stand in a queue for 25 minutes while the receptionist checked in 2 people! The hold up was she needed printed proof of what kind of room you booked, the hotel should have this sorted. No apology, no welcome when at the front finally just stood there miserable. What a start! Room: Bed was awful and solid, got 4 extra brown blankets to lie on from reception. An older gentleman was working the evening shift a breath of fresh air so friendly and helpful compared to the girl at arrival. the room was very dusty and the door frame is coming away from the wall! Also got 2 pillows the second night as they were lumpy and past needing the bin. The young female this time was a different receptionist again friendly, warm and well kept compared to the first one. The bathroom is so old, worn and stained it wouldn't matter how often it was cleaned it never looked it. one of the bath towels had a great big hole in it. Breakfast: There was a decent selection of things available this was just a matter of choice and preference. The woman running breakfast was fabulous and on the ball. Pool: Clean and not too busy, pool bar staff kept disappearing I decided to read back through previous reviews to see if we were just unlucky and most issues have been raised several times before. No matter what excuses busy or covid the hotel has had plenty of chances to rectify the issues. Long standing issues!!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Sea view was only a side view. Paid an upgrade was shocking
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Muthu Raga Madeira Hotel, General Manager at Muthu Raga Madeira Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Scott, Thank you for your review. Please allow me to make some considerations regarding it. When a Guest arrives, of course our objective is to make all the process the fastest and smooth possible, precisely to avoid reactions like yours. But sometimes problems just show up and we must solve them right away. This was precisely the case. A person asking for a room, saying that he/she has a reservation and don't show us nothing that support that. We must help and try to find a solution, of course. We have a very good team at reception and the one that welcomed you has precisely the most complicated shift, being knowned as very professional and focused. The door frame that came out, that's a first. I'll check it right away. We have good and decent alumnium frames, and I'm wondering if you really meant what you wrote... The bathroom has some years, but it's in a very decent condition. However, I do present our apologies for not suiting your expectations. Thanking you once again, please accept our best regards. Jorge Xavier - GM
Read more
Veronikara wrote a review 7 Sep
United Kingdom21 contributions11 helpful votes
Not the usual standard for 4* hotel. A/C not working, toilet wasn't flushing properly, fridge wasn't cold enough to store food and we couldn't use the TV as the cables were making crackling noises. The lifts took ages so would easily wait between 5-10 minutes to get out of the hotel. Decor outdated and not in the best shape. Staff were however friendly, good location and a lovely view.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Muthu Raga Madeira Hotel, General Manager at Muthu Raga Madeira Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Veronikara, We're sorry that our hotel wasn't up to your expectations. We'll sort some of the issues briefly, but please note that we don't have fridges, but minibars, (not suited to store food, obviously). Thank you and please accept our best regards, Jorge Xavier - GM
Read more
Francisca O wrote a review Aug 2021
1 contribution
Great location (right in the middle of funchal) with very nice and helpfull staff. We had dinner at the hotel’s terrace almost every night and the food and view did not disapoint! Clean rooms with a nice view. We’ll be back soon!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from Muthu Raga Madeira Hotel, General Manager at Muthu Raga Madeira Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Franciscao945, Thank you very much for your kind words and review. Regards from Madeira, Jorge Xavier - GM
Read more
jessicawilson93 wrote a review Aug 2021
Peterborough, United Kingdom43 contributions20 helpful votes
We booked this trip last minute 2 days before and struggled to find somewhere to stay. We were so disappointed first of all the reception staff please train them! There is no greetings, no help given for information about the island (it’s a beautiful island they should at least ask guests if they want any recommendations), asking about how your stay is. When no one if around and you see reception staff daily not bother to greet you it is really sad! The breakfast is poor and the same each day so we went out most of the time as it was very basic. The breakfast staff were nice though. The air conditioning is the worst I have ever experienced owners of the hotel should really look into it! I moved room and heard others on the trip say how bad it is. The room is basic and outdated the pillows are terrible I had to ask for extra as they are so lumpy. However the view of the sea is nice and room is kept clean. Location is good lots of restaurants nearby and you have the lido too. If you want to get to the centre prepare yourself for a long 45 minute walk with big hills or get a bus down. During our stay the water went out called reception and was greeted with a very rude response so I couldn’t wash that evening and felt bad about contacting reception which you shouldn’t as a guest. The pool area was okay with lots of sun loungers and parasols too. Overall don’t bother spend more money and go somewhere that’s nice as Madeira is an incredible island you’ll love it!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Muthu Raga Madeira Hotel, General Manager at Muthu Raga Madeira Hotel
Responded 5 weeks ago
Dear Jessica, Thanks for your review. It's not at all what we like to read, so please allow me to add a few words... I must say that I'm very surprised to read your comments regarding our reception team. We normally get good feedback and I'm sure that maybe due to the fact that we were completely full, we're not able to give you the attention you deserve. I honestly think that was the case. Our breakfast (that we do not charge) is a full american, buffet style. It has scrambled&boiled eggs, baked beans, roasted tomatoes, mushrooms, bacon. Cheeses, ham, smoked ham, 2 types of yoghourt, croissants, bread toast, rustic bread slices small bread rolls with and without seeds, 3 types of cereals, cold milk, hot milk, espresso, latte, coffee, tea, three types of juices. And fresh fruit. To consider this as "basic"... The AC, you're absolutely right, as we faced issues in some of the rooms. We've already took the necessary measures in order to solve this. The pillows, we have some alternatives, but we do consider that you also have a point there. We are located in one of the city centers, with lots of entertaining spots and if you wish to go to the old part of town, well, it will take you around 20 minutes in a relaxed walk (I'm over 50, by the way...). No way, 45 minutes! :):):). Just to finish, I would like to thank you for letting us know your opinion and to also to present you our apologies for not fullfilling your expectations. Regards from Funchal, Jorge Xavier - GM
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$45 - US$94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
raga aparthotel funchal, raga aparthotel hotel funchal
LOCATION
PortugalMadeira IslandsMadeiraFunchal
NUMBER OF ROOMS
170
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Muthu Raga Madeira Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Muthu Raga Madeira Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Madeira Mandolin Orchestra (0.4 km), Passeio Público Marítimo e Jardins do Lido (0.3 km), and Jardim Panorâmico (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Muthu Raga Madeira Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Muthu Raga Madeira Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Muthu Raga Madeira Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Muthu Raga Madeira Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Muthu Raga Madeira Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Indian Palace Restaurant, Come Together, and MadMarket Restaurante.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Muthu Raga Madeira Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Muthu Raga Madeira Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Muthu Raga Madeira Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, German, and Portuguese.
Are there any historical sites close to Muthu Raga Madeira Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Colégio dos Jesuítas do Funchal (2.5 km), Santa Clara Convent (2.3 km), and Blandy's Wine Lodge (2.3 km).
Does Muthu Raga Madeira Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.