We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Porto Santa Maria Hotel

Save
Share
Avenida Mar e Comunidades Madeirenses 50 Porto Bay, Funchal, Madeira 9060-190 Portugal
E-mail hotel
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!HALF BOARD RATE
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
FindHotel
US$160
View deal
Booking.comUS$198
PricelineUS$177
travelup.comUS$209
View all 17 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (1269)
Room & Suite (339)
Videos (2)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Read more
Updated 19/06/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 19/06/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#12 of 98 hotels in Funchal
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Porto Santa Maria lies at the water's edge in the very heart of Funchal's old centre. Its close relationship to the sea, the outstanding and exclusive views over the harbour where the cruise ships dock, its picturesque surroundings and the unique flavours of its cuisine result in genuine urban tranquility. A congenial hotel offering 146 rooms, restaurant, bars, direct access to the promenade, outdoor pool, indoor pool, SPA, gym, parking...all in the heart of the city.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Billiards
Evening entertainment
Shuttle bus service
Parking
Wifi
Paid wifi
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Adult pool
Indoor pool
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Poolside bar
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Head massage
Massage
Salon
Adults only
Rooftop terrace
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Kitchenette
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Marina View
Classic
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, German and 1 more
Hotel links
Special Offer:HALF BOARD RATE

Location

Full view
97Great for walkers
Grade: 97 out of 100
132Restaurantswithin 0.5 km
59Attractionswithin 0.5 km
2581Reviews159Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1,905
  • 547
  • 91
  • 24
  • 14
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Pam h H wrote a review Nov 2021
Birmingham, United Kingdom25 contributions8 helpful votes
We have been coming here for several years. Many people have been coming regularly for 20 years. That shows the standard of this hotel. It is indeed very special and we now try to come at least once a year. It’s great hotel in a great location on the seafront, and with great sea views from many rooms. It is next to old town with lots of restaurants and about 10 mins walk into Funchal. The staff are very friendly and efficient, and the service is next to none. Nothing is too much trouble. I have a wheelchair and the hotel is accessible for wheelchair users and you can go out the back gate and walk along to the port on the flat without too much difficulty. The breakfast is excellent with a wide choice of fresh fruit, continental breakfasts and English style cooked breakfasts. The standard of food in the restaurant is very good and they now off a silver service four course meal and not buffet style meals as in the past. You can also get excellent reasonably priced bar meals. Every evening there is music entertainment in the Captains Lounge and there you can partake in a wide range of cocktails or after dinner coffees and liqueurs. The indoor pool and spa are also very good, especially in the cooler months. Most guests tend to be over 50 and in couples, but we have always come off peak.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Phil D wrote a review Mar 2020
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom11 contributions16 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
Our first visit to Madeira that did not disappoint. Hotel is an excellent location with easy walk to most locations . Certainly best location for seafood restaurants with dozens of small family run places within a few yards with excellent food. Hotel staff are very friendly and breakfast has a large choice for all tastes. Lovely sea and harbour views from our balcony , the weather was fantastic for February with 24 to 28c most of the 10 days of our stay. We only ate once at the hotel which was for dinner but with so much choice on the door step we liked to try somewhere different for almost every meal. The only minor gripe is both indoor and outdoor pools are only 1.1 meters deep which is a bit shallow for serious swimmers. Tip take the cable car to the monte palace gardens then take a toboggan ride down it’s a great day out.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: Ask for a direct forward sea view not a side sea view
See more room tips
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Carla_Bacanhim, General Manager at Porto Santa Maria Hotel
Responded 12 Mar 2020
Dear Guest, We would like to thank you for the time you spent giving us your opinion of your experience at our hotel. We are very pleased to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us. We hope to see you again soon. Best regards, Carla
Read more
Solo-yolo! wrote a review Nov 2021
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom4 contributions5 helpful votes
+1
Just had an amazing one week stay at this beautiful hotel. The location is superb, right next to Old Town with its lovely cobbled streets, restaurants, farmer's market and quirky painted doors. Funchal is within 10 - 15 minutes walk and it's a lovely city, very clean. The cable car station is next to the hotel as well as plenty of buses. Definitely an excellent choice location wise. The hotel itself is superb, spotless and the staff are friendly and helpful. I was half board and the food was really good, although not an extensive choice, what there was was excellent quality and service was efficient. The breakfast was buffet with plenty of choice too. Lunch could be found at the pool bar which was also good and reasonably priced. My room was facing a great view of the pool and sea, it was very clean, housekeeping did an excellent job daily and my bed was super comfy. It had plenty of storage and a small kitchen area which was fully equipped with crockery, cutlery etc, there was also complimentary toiletries. The facilities were good, two lovely pools, plenty of sunbeds and the garden area around the pool was well kept. There is also a beautiful roof terrace. The entertainment was low key but good, and the cocktails very good and reasonably priced too. The staff work incredibly hard, and we need to remember we are still in a pandemic, so they definitely deserve a special mention. As a female solo traveller, it's important that I feel safe and comfortable and I certainly did in this gorgeous hotel. Thank you Porto Santa Maria for making my first time in beautiful Madeira welcoming, and a amazing experience . I met some amazing people in other guests too.I'll definitely be back. I'd also recommend taking some excursions to see this beautiful island, wear good shoes! Lots of cobbled paths!! I booked with jet2 and the rep Pedro was very good. All in all ....amazing!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Travelled solo
Helpful
Share
Response from Carla Bacanhim, General Manager at Porto Santa Maria Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Guest, We were very grateful for your feedback and for choosing the PortoBay group. Your words confirm the dedication of the entire team and our desire to continue to satisfy our guests’ needs. We look forward to your next visit! Thank you, Carla
Read more
BenRinnes wrote a review Nov 2021
Buckie, United Kingdom80 contributions67 helpful votes
Our first stay at this hotel but not the first at Portobay hotels. Due to our financial position we booked a standard room. This overlooked the park and had a nice little balcony. The beauty of this hotel is the location in the old town with all its associated attractions. However this does mean noise, which goes on into the early hours and the double glazing does not stop this. Earplugs are a must and work wonders, so no complaints just an observation. The hotel is a bit too clinical for our liking and seemed to lack character. The staff were efficient, but didn't engage with people, not usual for Portobay, though I understand with the recent covid issues this is a difficult time. The facilities are excellent, the breakfast very good and everything very clean. Dining options in the evening were ok, but we only ate once as the menus didnt excite us and the old town is the real place to be. Overall a nice stay, but not quite what we expect from Portobay, and at a price point hard to justify a return visit.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Sea view must be quieter. Earplugs elsewhere.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Carla Bacanhim, General Manager at Porto Santa Maria Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Guest, It is very important for us to receive your feedback. Thank you for your comments and we look forward to your next stay at one of our hotels. Kind Regards Carla
Read more
Pauline S wrote a review Nov 2021
Horsham, United Kingdom20 contributions15 helpful votes
First the good bits. The place was very clean, the breakfast was amazing, plenty of choice and the staff did an excellent job of clearing plates and stocking the hot food. The rooms were serviced every day and we were happy with that apart from the kitchen cutlery which turned up about Thursday. The indoor swimming pool was lovely and warm if a little shallow and was empty each time I used it. The hot tub on the roof was lovely but we didn’t find it until the last day. Now, we had booked a junior suite, it looked lovely on the website with plenty of room to spread out. The room we were given did have a sea view but a much better view of the car park. This was in use day and night, was extremely busy and was a cut through to roads in the old town. There was a lot of noise all the time and this became more apparent when we used the pool terrace which was very quiet. Thank goodness the double glazing was effective and the black out curtains did a good job. We did think about asking to move but there are so few junior suites we decided to stick it out. The other VERY disappointing aspect was smoking. The hotel itself has no smoking indoors but you are allowed to smoke on your balcony. There was only one balcony below us but yes at regular intervals we had to jump up, dash inside to close the door so our room was not filled with disgusting cigarette smoke. Hardly relaxing. Would I return? No. DON’T ACCEPT ROOM 228 and maybe 128 if that was the suite below.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Check out the 3rd floor roof terrace
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Carla Bacanhim, General Manager at Porto Santa Maria Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear guest, First of all, thank you for your comments. Your opinion is very important to us. We shall carefully analyse the less positive points you mention regarding your stay. We would be happy to see you again at our hotel in order to meet your expectations. Best regards, Carla
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$151 - US$193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
porto santa maria funchal
LOCATION
PortugalMadeira IslandsMadeiraFunchal
NUMBER OF ROOMS
146
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Porto Santa Maria Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Porto Santa Maria Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Lillie Ceramics (0.3 km), Revolucion Rock Bar (0.1 km), and Caravel Art Center (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Porto Santa Maria Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Porto Santa Maria Hotel?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Porto Santa Maria Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Porto Santa Maria Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Porto Santa Maria Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Gavino Restaurante Bar, Flair Spot Bar, and Taberna Madeira.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Porto Santa Maria Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Does Porto Santa Maria Hotel have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Porto Santa Maria Hotel offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Porto Santa Maria Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Porto Santa Maria Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Porto Santa Maria Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, German, and Portuguese.