We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Pestana Ocean Bay Hotel

Show Prices
#32 of 87 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Pestana Ocean Bay Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,451 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,028: English reviews
Start your review of Pestana Ocean Bay Hotel
 Click to rate
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I chose this hotel as I was only away 3 days and I wanted to see the sea and this hotel guaranteed this which I got. I wish I had been higher tho but room was big, clean and comfortable If id booked after som of the reviews that cam elast week I would never have come but my idea...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vlh4
PestanaBay, Gestor at Pestana Ocean Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your staying with us and for your feedback. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. We hope we have the opportunity to welcome you again. Best Regards, The hotel Management Gilberto Gouveia

Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

Arrived in brand new Jet2.com plane to really comfortable hotel. Great view, relaxed atmosphere, spotless with friendly helpful staff. Weather yesterday glorious!! Went on North Central Island Tour (full day) to see not what is made in Madeira but how Madeira was made. Stress free, enjoyable, informative and well organised by Windsor. Guide and mini bus driver Patricia was 1st...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shirley C
PestanaBay, Diretor-Geral at Pestana Ocean Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your preference and for your review on TripAdvisor, which is very special for us. We are happy to acknowledge all your satisfaction while staying with us and visiting our beautiful island. Thank you for giving us this opportunity and for all your kind words towards our services and staff. Hope we have the chance to...

Salisbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

It is such a pleasure to come back to this hotel, to have a warm welcome and being recognized right away. That was magic for us. The hotel is spotless clean. The staff is absolutly wonderfull and eficient. When we arrived at our compartment - we had an upgrade - we could not believe it was so good and with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank applebys2017
PestanaBay, Diretor-Geral at Pestana Ocean Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for coming back once more! It is always a pleasure to have you with us. Thank you for the preference and for your review on TripAdvisor, which is very special to us. We are very glad to read all your satisfaction. Thank you for another opportunity and for all your kindness towards our services and staff...

Lightwater
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Spent a relaxing 5 days in Madeira at the Pestana Ocean Bay Hotel. Very clean and quiet hotel, great location .... not far from Funchal, regular free shuttle bus into Town, takes approx 15 mins. All inclusive and plenty of food choice. Dinning area functional and a lovely outside terraced seated eating area with a great view of the ocean....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank karen m
PestanaBay, Gerente geral at Pestana Ocean Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We are pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Your positive comments about us have been really appreciated and we sincerely hope that your travelling plans bring you back to Madeira again, so we can have the pleasure of hosting you again to offer “Memorable Moments”. Kind regards, The general manager

Helsinki, Finland
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We were pleasantly surprised by the price-quality of this hotel: the location right on the seashore was nice, the humming of the waves beneath the balcony was relaxing, the free shuttle to downtown was frequent and practical, the quality and variety of food and drink was good and the smiling staff made us enjoy this all inclusive service very much!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Junnu2017
PestanaBay, Gerente geral at Pestana Ocean Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Pestana Bay Hotel. Thank you for staying at Pestana Hotels and Resorts and we aim to deliver “The Time Of Your Life” . It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. Looking forward to welcome you in Madeira in a near future, Sincerely, The hotel Management

Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

Wonderful meal, surprise birthday cake , fabulous staff very attentive. Made my day thank you all. All staff are brilliant and helpful. Only concern would be is there enough space for everyone in high season as there is only enough space to sit now

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mezza1_12
PestanaBay, Gerente geral at Pestana Ocean Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for sharing your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Pestana Ocean Bay All Inclusive Hotel. As our guest you are our most respected advisor. We are delighted to hear you had a great time with us. Looking forward to welcoming you back, Sincerely, The hotel Management

Derbyshire
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The hotel is spotless clean, the rooms are nice and large and well equipped. The staff are lovely, and go out of their way to make sure that your holiday is perfect. As previous reviews have said, the hotel is about a 45 minute walk from Funchal town centre, but the walk is mostly along the sea front and very...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
2Thank LocalJen
PestanaBay, Gestor at Pestana Ocean Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Pestana Bay. It is always a pleasure to receive positive and constructive feedback. We are delighted to hear you had a great time with us. Looking forward to welcome you in Madeira in a near future, Sincerely, The hotel Management Gilberto Gouveia

Weymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This is our third stay at Pestana Bay, which is situated by the beach. On our arrival at reception we had a wonderful greeting from the staff who immediatly recognised us and offered us an upgrade to Pestana Gardens. There is free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel. The water in the room is always hot. The food offered is of excelent...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank keithdavidge
PestanaBay, Diretor-Geral at Pestana Ocean Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We would like to start by thanking you for your preference for Pestana Bay Hotel and for submitting in TripAdvisor with your experience. Your opinion is very important for us. It is always a pleasure to welcome you back! We are very glad to acknowledge all your satisfaction while staying with us. Thank you for another opportunity given...

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

The hotel was excellent in every respect, from the reception staff through to the chamber maids, while we where there we celebrated our 49th wedding anniversary, the hotel served us a champagne breakfast. We ate in the al a carte Italian Restaurant that, evening and there was champagne waiting on the bar when returned for the evenings entertainment. A Memorial...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank a1rbm2
PestanaBay, Gestor at Pestana Ocean Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post such a fantastic review regarding your recent stay at Pestana Ocean Bay and share it with other travelers. We were delighted to learn you had a very enjoyable time with us! We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our Hotel. Kindest regards, The hotel Management Gilberto...

newcsatle
Reviewed 1 week ago

Unfortunately our flight home was cancelled due to adverse weather on Monday 13th March. We were allocated the Pestana Bay Hotel for our overnight accommodation. I can only say that I would have been horrified had I actually booked a holiday at this dump. Other than its location this is the pits. Four star don't make me laugh. We were...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank steve m
PestanaBay, Gerente geral at Pestana Ocean Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking your time to do a review on TripAdvisor, which deserved our best attention. Due to the adverse weather conditions at the airport you were booked by someone an overnight accommodation. One night were you did the late check-in and early check-out, booked for free with all inclusive. Taking in account your review and the short time...

1,131 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (880)
Viewed
Dining (45)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (105)
Viewed
View from Room (111)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (194)
Viewed
Room/Suite (69)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
1:44
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (347)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (220)
Viewed
Amenities (34)
Viewed
Beach (10)
Viewed
Junior Suite (36)
Viewed
Pool (17)
Viewed
Dining (22)
Viewed
Studio (26)
Viewed
Suite (37)
Viewed
The Hotel (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (31)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Funchal
2.0 km away
Enotel Lido Madeira
Enotel Lido Madeira
#22 of 87 in Funchal
2,225 reviews
1.2 km away
Lti Pestana Grand
Lti Pestana Grand
#16 of 87 in Funchal
1,774 reviews
3.3 km away
Pestana Casino Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.8 km away
Vila Gale Santa Cruz
Vila Gale Santa Cruz
#2 of 5 in Santa Cruz
958 reviews
2.9 km away
Pestana Carlton Madeira
Pestana Carlton Madeira
#29 of 87 in Funchal
2,112 reviews
2.6 km away
Pestana Village Garden Resort Aparthotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Spa
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities

Additional Information about Pestana Ocean Bay Hotel

Address: Rua Praia Formosa, Funchal, Madeira 9000-247, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Price Range: €110 - €186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pestana Ocean Bay Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 217
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Pestana Ocean Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Bay Ocean Aparthotel Hotel Funchal
Pestana Bay Ocean Aparthotel Funchal
Pestana Bay Hotel Madeira
Pestana Ocean Bay Hotel Madeira/Funchal
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Funchal
#21 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#27 Family Hotel in Funchal
#30 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#36 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Pestana Ocean Bay Hotel staff and other travellers.
176 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (176)

Questions? Get answers from Pestana Ocean Bay Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All Rooms have a seaside view”
 of 5 bubbles Junnu2017, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We stayed in a Premier room, which are all located on the top floor - floor 7. ”
 of 5 bubbles LocalJen, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“refuse any room not in the main building”
 of 5 bubbles 232stevem, 16 Mar 2017 | Read review
“All rooms are sea view and the higher up the hotel the better the views.”
 of 5 bubbles BucksWanderers, 15 Mar 2017 | Read review
“There is no good rooms basic out of date room 109”
 of 5 bubbles lindmackay, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5