We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Pousada de Queluz Palace Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Pousada de Queluz Palace Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

257 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Pousada de Queluz Palace Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 118: English reviews
Scarborough, Maine
Reviewed 31 October 2016

We needed to fill one night on our Portugal travels and settled on this wonderful hotel. Staff was extremely friendly with a universal sense of humor. We felt pampered, particularly by the best gin-and-tonic of our lives

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bruce M
Tiago G, General Manager at Pousada de Queluz Palace Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Bruce M, Thank you for taking your valuable time sharing your experience in Pousada de Queluz. I am delighted to read your comments and I am happy that you had a great experience with us and that the services of our staff met your expectations. I have personally conveyed your feedback to the teams and they are all very...

Panama City, Panama
Reviewed 18 October 2016

This is an acceptable little hotel right across the street from the Palace and within easy walking distance of a few good restaurants. The rooms are an ok size and the bathroom ample but our bed was horrible and our slightly brown carpet was very soiled. Service at the desk was almost nonexistent and we often just walked behind the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HolyCrossSanPedro
Tiago G, General Manager at Pousada de Queluz Palace Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mr. HolyCrossSanPedro, Thank you so much to have shared your experience and concerns about your last stay at Pousada de Queluz . In fact it is based on the opinions and feedback of our customers and friends, that we can meet the expectations of those who we have the privilege of receiving at the Pousadas de Portugal. We work...

Regensburg
Reviewed 6 October 2016 via mobile

Nice, old atmosphere, good breakfast. Room cleaning service came late, additional 5€ service charge if you order food in the bar. Breakfast ok, chairs uncomfortable. Location very good. Conclusion: as described in the subject line.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Wumpsi
Tiago G, General Manager at Pousada de Queluz Palace Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Wumpsi, Thank you so much to have shared your experience and concerns about your last stay at Pousada de Queluz . In fact it is based on the opinions and feedback of our customers and friends, that we can meet the expectations of those who we have the privilege of receiving at the Pousadas de Portugal. We work...

Dorset
Reviewed 4 October 2016

Stayed as part of a group. The area isnt too great at the moment, but restoration and upgrading going on. The hotel stands within a large open area and doesnt have much in the way of communal areas, just a small bar and lounge area, but our room was a good size. The food in the restaurant, in the old...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hilliya
Tiago G, General Manager at Pousada de Queluz Palace Hotel, responded to this review

Dear hilliya, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback following your recent visit to Pousada de Queluz. I hope that you had a pleasant return journey. I greatly appreciate your comments on our Pousada and services as we find both positive and negative feedback constructive to come up with ways to eliminate all elements of dissatisfaction and...

Putnam, Connecticut
Reviewed 27 September 2016

Excellent accommodations, service and food. A gem in the pousada offerings! Quiet, comfortable room, excellent service from friendly staff, dining in the palace of kings and easy access to the Versailles of Portugal!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dianeshoshin
Tiago G, General Manager at Pousada de Queluz Palace Hotel, responded to this review

Dear dianeshoshin, Thank you for taking the time to share your opinion, with your great comments and the reference to our excellent accommodations, service and food. It's with great honor that we receive your comments. We are delighted to read the awesome comments about your stay at the Pousada de Queluz, and especially about our Staff members. Effectively we are...

Almancil, Portugal
Reviewed 20 September 2016

A huge disappointment and not to be recommended. Apart from breakfast, there is no dining facility in the hotel. Their supposed restaurant is a 5 min walk away across cobbles - soft soled shoes a must. The only place we could get something to eat for lunch was the workmen's cafe up the road. Once you leave the room both...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jenny885A
Tiago G, General Manager at Pousada de Queluz Palace Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jenny885A, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at Pestana Pousada de Queluz. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies regarding the mentioned issues. Unfortunately, being in a building located in the guardhouse of Queluz Palace, from 1654, that served as a...

Great Dunmow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 August 2016

There are Pros and Cons to this Pousada. Pros: 1. The staff are very polite and nice with helpful advice when asked. 2. The bed was very comfortable. Cons: A. The bathroom had a dirty mark on the floor tiles when we arrived, which was still there when we left after 5 days. I gave the mark a rub with...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mezman
Management response:

Dear Guest, Thank you for your visit and for your important opinion. We deeply regret to learn we could get your expectations and will seriously improve our service. Best Regards A.Teixeira

Reviewed 23 August 2016 via mobile

Great location when visiting the palace. The food was pretty average especially when considering the high prices. My avocado was so hard as to be inedible. We were the only diners apart from a large tour group. Unexciting wine list. The dessert buffet was the highlight of a disappointing meal.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Min M
Tiago G, General Manager at Pousada de Queluz Palace Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Min M, We appreciate that you take the time to share with me your experience and we are indeed very sorry that we did not reach your expectation. Usually our food is praised for their taste and quality. Be sure that I will remind our Restaurant Chef to pay more attention on what you mentioned. Thank you for...

Reviewed 2 August 2016 via mobile

The palace is simply remarkable; beautiful indoors, big rooms with stunning decor; The walk trough the gardens was amazing, I enjoyed it soo much. We arrived one hour before closing so we were the only visitores there, that kind of gave me the feeling that I was the princess in my own palace :-)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BibiBoba
Management response:

Dear Guest, We are very pleased to learn you apreciate the Palace with his beautiful museum and gorgeous gardens. Feel like a princess in your own palace is really a wonderfull feeling. You will be the most welcome , any time , at your Palace and it will be an honour to provide you the time of your life!! Best...

Athens, Greece
Reviewed 22 July 2016

It is my second time of staying in Queluz Pousada with a time difference of about 20 years. My second stay was as satisfactory as the first and worth the small detour needed to stay in the specific hotel just outside of Lisbon. We had dinner at the restaurant which is an experience by itself, located in the old palace...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Zafiropoulos
Management response:

Dear Mr Zafiropoulos, Visiting us 20 Years after the fist visit and having the same satisfactory experience make us feel very happy, proud and motivated. We have no words to express our joy and gratitude for your so kind compliments. We hope it won't take another 20 years to give has the privilege of another visit! Best Regards A.Teixeira

185 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (146)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (35)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (47)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Other (44)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (39)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Queluz
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Pousada de Lisboa
Pousada de Lisboa
#24 of 247 in Lisbon
447 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Avenida Palace
Hotel Avenida Palace
#6 of 247 in Lisbon
2,505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Valverde Hotel
#1 of 247 in Lisbon
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Pousada de Queluz is found in the clock tower building, next to the National Palace of Queluz, known as the " Portuguese Versailles " and the permanent residence of the royal family from 1794. The building of the Tower is by the architect and staff sergeant Manuel Caetano de Sousa, and served as a warehouse and as the quarters for the staff in service to the palace. With a unique and sumptuous decor, the Pousada de Queluz, D. Maria I, is a treasure waiting to be discovered and marvelled at. The air-conditioned rooms of the Pousada de Queluz are individually decorated, with warm colours and elegant wooden furniture. The Pousada is a point of reference for whoever is looking for the Lisbon business area, idyllically situated around 14 km from Sintra and 20 km from Cascais. It comfortable decor and its rigorous rehabilitation makes the 2 rooms an excellent choice, having been carefully reconstructed for the purpose of meetings and seminars. The rooms have natural lighting and access to the internet fixed of wireless, air conditioning among other characteristics. Free parking is also available. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Pousada de Queluz Palace Hotel

Address: Largo do Palacio, Queluz 2745-191, Portugal (Formerly Pousada de Dona Maria I)
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Sintra Municipality > Queluz
Price Range: €85 - €126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pousada de Queluz Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, HotelsClick, Hotel.de, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Pousada de Queluz Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Pousada de Queluz Palace Hotel staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Pousada de Queluz Palace Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Second time staying here and the rooms are amazing.”
 of 5 bubbles 415brendac, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“All rooms are excellent and on the ground and first floor.”
 of 5 bubbles whangaparaoa, 21 Jan 2017 | Read review
“room is big and comfortable”
 of 5 bubbles C9197DNdavidl, 10 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Try to face the palace”
 of 5 bubbles BruceM348, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Wouldn't recommend any”
 of 5 bubbles HolyCrossSanPedro, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5