We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

483 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More
There are newer reviews for The House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 364: English reviews
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 19 October 2011

I stayed here for five or perhaps it was six nights in October. Initially there were two of us and we shared the Belem room - a nice room with private balcony looking away from the main part of the city and with some views of the river. (I stayed in the room on my own once my travelling companion...

Thank Iantravelling
fcpcc1, Owner at The House, responded to this review

Dear Iantravelling, Thank you so much for taking the time to write about us. I am glad you liked it as I was, unfortunately, unable to come by and say goodbye. I always like to do that but it is not possible everytime. I'm glad you mentioned the rooftop party as I was afraid it might have been disturbing for...

Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed 18 October 2011

I just spent the weekend in Lisbon. My mother and I stayed at The House in Lisbon. It is in the Lapa district, a 2 minute walk to tram 28. The B&B is spotless, the breakfast delicious (homemade breads, cereal, fresh orange juice, cheese and meats), but more importantly, the staff is helpful, friendly, and go way beyond the call...

1Thank genabbott
Austin, Texas, United States
Reviewed 16 October 2011

This is probably the most wonderful place I've ever stayed. Francisco and Pilar did everything in their power to make certain our stay was excellent. The rooms are beautiful, and the terrace is staggeringly perfect and has a view of all of Lisbon. I love that there are no tvs in the rooms, it forces you to get out and...

Thank Kris M
Reviewed 15 October 2011

The views of Lisbon and the Tagus River from The House's rooftop terrace are simply among the best in the city. Francisco and his staff provided excellent concierge services (restaurant suggestions, how to get to Sintra on public transit, etc.) to me and my friends throughout our stay. The House is located right next to the starting point of scenic...

Thank William H
Barcelona, Catalonia, Spain
Reviewed 14 October 2011

we travelled to lisbon on our first anniversary...and i am happy to say the house was a wonderful choice...francisco was extremely friendly and well informed...he gave us great travel advice and even drove my husband to pick up his rental car..the staff are as efficient as possible and the rooms are charming...on the whole a perfect ten.our thanks to francisco...

Thank keeshu
Reviewed 14 October 2011

For all the hype this place gets I was really expecting a lot but at the same time preparing myself to be a little disappointed. Honestly, for me, the reverse happened .. This place delivered BEYOND the hype. And I think this was because I felt immediately at home here, like I'd arrived home, after much travelling, to a familiar,...

Thank Ckillin
fcpcc1, Owner at The House, responded to this review

Dear CKillin, Thank you so much for your review. Having travelled by myself in the past I know that, while being a good experience, it sometimes can be a bit "heavy" on you. Due to this we always try to keep a closer eye on our solo travellers (just to make sure they are always well) and come up with...

Washington, DC
Reviewed 12 October 2011

I loved everything about The House. Francisco was helpful from the moment I booked the room and he employs a wonderful staff also. Pilar and Rita took very good care of us, making sure we knew where we were going and giving us excellent recommendations for restaurants. The rooms were spotless and the decor was not your typical B&B, more...

Thank parsonslogic
Geneva, Switzerland
Reviewed 7 October 2011

Just go, you can't miss it. Trust me, you will regret if you don't stay in this hotel :)

Thank 595regis
Ulverston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 September 2011

Stayed for two nights lovely service very friendly and helpful. Taxi easy to get around if there is a couple of you between €3 & €5. Would recommend sightseeing bus €15 each for 24 hours hop on hop off free access to buses trams and elavators good value. The house is fantastic lovely people and will help with anything you...

Thank shelley12
Barrie, Canada
Reviewed 24 September 2011

We stayed at the House from Sept 18-23, 2011. We arrived from Canada on an early flight that arrived at 8am. Francisco's staff let us check in early and even offered us breakfast. After an long overnight flight we were so happy to just check in an have a sleep. The B@B has an amazing terrace which you can see...

Thank Paul154980
fcpcc1, Owner at The House, responded to this review

Dear Paul, Thank you so much for your post. It is the best reward for us knowing that our guests enjoy staying at TheHOUSE! If you don't mind, I will take this opportunity to ask future guests to tell us their arrival and departure times, as we always try to manage in order to facilitate early check-ins and late chek-outs...

322 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (165)
View from Room (24)
Hotel & Grounds (23)
Dining (7)
Bathroom (3)
Room/Suite (8)
Family/Play Areas (2)
Videos (1)
Other (97)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

All TripAdvisor Photos (138)
Amenities (16)
Grandfather's Suite (29)
Master Bedroom (26)
Nanny's Bedroom (18)
Playroom (14)
Dining (11)
The Hotel (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (19)
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Dining (4)
Room/Suite (6)
Bathroom (1)
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Casa do Patio by Shiadu
#8 of 226 in Lisbon
629 reviews
Vila Garden Guesthouse
#29 of 226 in Lisbon
60 reviews
Principe Real
Casa do Jasmim by Shiadu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lapa 82 - Boutique Bed & Breakfast
Casa Amora Guesthouse
#2 of 226 in Lisbon
727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
In what used to be a big family's home in the best neighbourhood in Lisbon, The HOUSE is a "boutique B&B" that offers its guests a sophisticated but relaxed ambiance inside, and a terrace with a breathtakingly beautiful view over Lisboa. Come, you will feel at home in The HOUSE. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The House

Address: Travessa do Pinheiro 11 4th Floor, Lisbon 1200-763, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Price Range: €58 - €137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The House 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The House Hotel Lisbon
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The House staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
Clarkesville, Georgia
over a year ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from The House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“if you really want to go, don't book the Library room”
  • the place to take bath
  • this is literally the whole room
  • the smelly tiny bathroom... with minimum facilities...
  • the tiny room, bathroom is next to the mirror and very close to the bed
  • the place to take bath...
 of 5 bubbles fox_yue_hu, 13 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Stay elsewhere.”
 of 5 bubbles VancouverZengirl, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
“The hotel is on two levels, choose according to your mobility.”
 of 5 bubbles frp_en_voyage, 10 Sep 2015 | Read review
“The girls room is large with a newly redone bathroom and very comfortable”
  • Night view of Lisbon from rooftop
 of 5 bubbles daniellS5747SJ, 23 Jul 2015 | Read review
“View all the rooms on their website as they are all different”
 of 5 bubbles nicholas169, 21 Apr 2015 | Read review
5 of 5