We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Shiado Hostel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Shiado Hostel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

146 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Shiado Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 73: English reviews
Madeira, Portugal
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2012

Shiado Hostel it´s a wonderfull place to stay in Lisbon city. It made me feel at home. *****

Helpful?
3 Thank Dina C
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Perhaps for a hostel this is a nice place, but I had a horrible experience staying here in the private room which was promoted on their website. At 55 euro it was a complete ripoff. The hostel is not clean - overflowing waste bins in the bathroom, no toilet paper in one of the two toilets the entire 24 hour... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Jb10115
Shiado H, Owner at Shiado Hostel, responded to this review

We are sorry you didn't find what you were looking for in our hostel. Your review is unfair, anyway, and I guess it was due to some personal discomfort which hasn't much to do with our service. We noticed in your Tripadvisor profile that the other property you reviewed is a 4 stars hotel in Ericeira. Of course you can't... More 

Queenstown, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2011

Quite clean hostel. frinedly and helpfull people working there. Good free breakfast and internet. Good location too.

Helpful?
2 Thank hauke m
The Hague, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2011

First thing you notice is the friendly staff. Very centrally located - we stayed for 4 nights and will go back there and recommend to others. Common spaces are kept very neat and tidy, loved the creative drawing in the common spaces.

Helpful?
2 Thank Mary_Thomas26
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2011

Very nice place, clean, great location - 3 minutes from underground Baixa-Chiado, friendly and helpful staff, breakfast, good price for night. Good place to stay if you are planning to spend 3-5 days in Lisabon. I will definitely choose it when I visit Portugal next time.

Helpful?
2 Thank KseniaPavl
Cologne, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 September 2011

First the design of the common rooms and the sleeping rooms is good. Second the staff is very friendly and helpful. Third the atmosphere is welcoming, comfortable and relaxing. I enjoyed my stay a lot and would always come back.

Helpful?
1 Thank nickfeist
Antwerp, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 August 2011

Absolutely friendly and helpful staff, who speak various languages. Lovely creative decoration everywhere. Free internet, big living room, kitchen facilities and free breakfast. Cool artistic vibes in this place which is very well (centrally) located!

Helpful?
1 Thank EvelienPaessens
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2011

We stayed in a twin room for one night. Positives: Great location, really friendly staff, nicely decorated rooms, good price, wifi available throughout the hostel Negatives: Shared bathroom (but obviously that's standard for a hostel, and the bathrooms did seem to be kept in good condition)

Helpful?
3 Thank Anonymous189839
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2011

Everything about this place is top notch. The location could not be better for both sightseeing/public transport links and being in the middle of the action. Ideal for all age groups, with excellent staff and excellent staff, at excellent value. I cannot recommend this place enough.

Helpful?
2 Thank Ade89210
Ourense, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 May 2011

I thought this hostel was absolutely *fabulous.* We were there for Carnival, but the hostel wasn't full (it was just our party of 3 in the 6 bedroom), so it was pleasantly quiet and peaceful. It is very central, just down the street from the shopping district and lots of great places to eat. We found the front desk staff... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Guardamelo

89 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (46)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (43)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (38)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Goodnight Backpackers Hostel
Chiado & Carmo
Lisbon Poets Hostel
Lisbon Poets Hostel
#15 of 378 in Lisbon
387 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Yes! Lisbon Hostel
Yes! Lisbon Hostel
#3 of 378 in Lisbon
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Golden Tram 242 Lisbonne Hostel
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Lost Inn Lisbon Hostel
Lost Inn Lisbon Hostel
#4 of 378 in Lisbon
312 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Travellers House
Travellers House
#9 of 378 in Lisbon
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Chiado & Carmo

Neighbourhood Profile
Chiado & Carmo
The traditionally trendy "Chiado" (literally, "squeak", the nickname of a 16th century poet) offers plenty of cafes, restaurants and bars where you can stop for a cafe or cocktail, after exploring its streets, shops, art galleries, theaters, museums and viewpoints. It's also the home to the statue of the famous statue of portuguese poet Fernando Pessoa, having is usual espresso at "A Brasileira" as he used to. You can also enjoy breathtaking views of Lisbon from the Elevador de Santa Justa or the Carmo Convent, for example. A commercial neighborhood at its core, especially for its Garrett and Carmo streets, Chiado is to this day a mandatory visit in Lisbon.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Shiado Hostel is located in the Chiado area, the artistic and cultural soul of Lisbon, famous for its cafes the most renowned theatres and the oldest bookshops in town. A perfect spot for meeting people, having interesting conversations and relaxing in a great environment! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Shiado Hostel

Address: Rua Anchieta 5 30, Lisbon 1200-023, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Chiado & Carmo
Price Range: €23 - €61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Shiado Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Shiado Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Shiado Hostel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Shiado Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Privates, mixed or female dorms. The latter is opposite the bathroom.”
 of 5 bubbles butterflyrach, 7 Mar 2015 | Read review
“Dorm room 8 is where I stayed.”
 of 5 bubbles Annapropriate, 29 Aug 2014 | Read review
“I stayed in a mixed dorm room (# 8).”
 of 5 bubbles KateEwen, 1 May 2014 | Read review
“if u don't want to pay for the towel, do bring your own. the rooms are all very good. if u need any help, just approach the registration counter and the person manning the counter will be able to help you out! =D enjoy your stay there!!”
 of 5 bubbles gin_st, 8 Dec 2013 | Read review
“All rooms are quiet, but if you can afford it I would really recommend getting your own private room. The beds are incredibly comfortable and privacy is always nice.”
 of 5 bubbles Eiden123, 16 Feb 2013 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay