We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Pestana Cidadela Cascais

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Pestana Cidadela Cascais
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,088 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Pestana Cidadela Cascais
See the most recent reviews
Showing 614: English reviews
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 July 2016 via mobile

First time to Cascais and we hit the jackpot with this lovely hotel. Situated in the old fort it is a good mix of old and ultra modern. From arrival the reception team made us very welcome and gave a tour of the hotel and all the amenities. As we arrived a little early they took us to the bar...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GGWakey
Odete F, Gerente de relações com clientes at Pestana Cidadela Cascais, responded to this review

Dear Ms. GGWakey, Thank you for your comments and for the kind words about our staff and service! We were very happy and just want to receive it many more times so that we can continue to surprise. See you soon! Joana Soeiro Hotel Manager

London,England
Reviewed 18 July 2016

Just got back from a wonderful week at this renovated former 400 years old fortress hotel. Thoroughly modern internally but has kept some of the old fort stonework inside. The staff are all friendly,helpful,and polite, and a bonus that they all spoke English. Nothing seemed to be too much trouble for them. Our room was always very clean. Breakfasts held...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NML28London
Odete F, Gerente de relações com clientes at Pestana Cidadela Cascais, responded to this review

Dear Mr. NML28London, Thank you for your comments and for the kind words about our staff, service and food! We were very happy and just want to receive it many more times so that we can continue to surprise. Kind Regards, Joana Soeiro Hotel Manager

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 July 2016

Hotel is ideally located and staff are fantastic. Very welcoming and speak english (i can't speak Portuguese) The two pools are very nice esp indoor pool with attached spa's etc Breakfast was very pleasant and wide variety of food available

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank sc0ttycampbell
Odete F, Gerente de relações com clientes at Pestana Cidadela Cascais, responded to this review

Dear Mr. sc0ttycampbell, Thank you very much for your review about your recent stay at the Pestana Cidadela Cascais, Pousada & Art District and for sharing your experience here with us on Tripadvisor. Your feedback is very important for us and we are very happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay wth us. We look forward to welcome...

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 17 July 2016

Beautiful hotel, friendly and knowledgeable staff. Perfect location as you are near enough everything but not in the middle of it all. Cascais is a great destination and the hotel added to the whole holiday experience.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank maureentheresed
Odete F, Gerente de relações com clientes at Pestana Cidadela Cascais, responded to this review

Dear Ms. Maureentheresed, Thank you very much for the review that you have submitted in this website about your recent stay at the Pestana Cidadela Cascais, Pousada & Art District. We are very happy to hear that you have appreciated your stay with us, especially the good location and the staff. We look forward to welcome you again. With kind...

Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 July 2016

The Pestana is an excellent modern hotel within the walls of the old citadel of Cascais, furnished with a wide variety of modern art. While if you look really hard, if you're a nit-picker you could find small areas of wear and tear, these are minute and the overall image is of a top-quality, well-maintained hotel in an impressive location...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank KentCouple
Odete F, Gerente de relações com clientes at Pestana Cidadela Cascais, responded to this review

Dear KentCouple, Thank you very much for the review that you have submitted in this website about your recent stay at the Pestana Cidadela Cascais, Pousada & Art District. Good notice of your comments have been taken into consideration, and we are very happy to hear that you have appreciated your stay with us. With kind regards, Joana Soeiro Hotel...

East Sussex, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 July 2016 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights in July and had a lovely relaxing time. Super comfortable bed and pillows were excellent which is unusual even for a good hotel. Breakfast is served on a terrace overlooking the marina. There are tables each side of a walkway and we recommend the tables that are on the hotel side rather than marina side...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fiona H
Odete F, Gerente de relações com clientes at Pestana Cidadela Cascais, responded to this review

Dear Ms. Fiona H., Thank you very much for your review about your recent stay at the Pestana Cidadela Cascais, Pousada & Art District and for sharing your experience here with us on Tripadvisor. Your feedback is very important for us, we always try to keep our hotel up to the standard expected by our visitors in order to offer...

Brussels, Belgium
Reviewed 14 July 2016

amazing location... this hotel is build in between the old walls of the Cidadela de Cascais. The breakfast is very extensive. Hotel is quite expensive, but offers you great service. The wellness is also very recommandable!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ellen D
Odete F, Gerente de relações com clientes at Pestana Cidadela Cascais, responded to this review

Dear Ms. Ellen D., Thank you very much for your review about your recent stay at the Pestana Cidadela Cascais, Pousada & Art District and for sharing your experience here with us on Tripadvisor. Your feedback is very important for us, we always try to keep our hotel up to the standard expected by our visitors in order to offer...

Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 July 2016

I believe this Hotel may possibly pay to be a member of "The Leading Hotel Of The World" in order to attract customers? Very disappointed with the standard of bedroom we had, the food and wine service at Dinner, the Breakfast, the swimming pools and the ambiance! Also the indoor swimming pool with relaxing balcony and the balcony Restaurant being...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank gourmandise
Marta E, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Cidadela Cascais, responded to this review

Dear Mrs. gourmandise We appologize the late response. Here in Pousada we are not a tradicional hotel, our architecture is very particular and all of our rooms they are different from each other. We kept the builing old structure and for that reason all the rooms are facing different sides. Your comments will be considered because the service you described...

York, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 July 2016

Really lovely hotel location and staff. Food is excellent. love the tapas. Staff are very good, professional and really helpful. rooms lovely. Marina very pretty, park is great. We had a superior double room which was massive, very comfy bed and outside seating area. Had spa treatment and that was really lovely and relaxing. The bar area is a really...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank matthewcharlesh
Odete F, Gerente de relações com clientes at Pestana Cidadela Cascais, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Matthewcharlesh, Thank you for your comments and for the kind words about our staff, service and food! We were very happy and just want to receive it many more times so that we can continue to surprise. Best Regards, Joana Soeiro Hotel Manager

Hertford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 July 2016

I can't say I liked this place much. It is an expensive place and well positioned, but it was just not very comfortable. The whole place is sprawling, which it would be as it used to be a fort. The corridors are more like a prison block in places and it takes ages just to get about. Quite oppresive. Whilst...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank lordstow
Odete F, Gerente de relações com clientes at Pestana Cidadela Cascais, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Lordstow, The Pestana Cidadela Cascais, Pousada & Art District takes this opportunity to thank you for your review and for choosing our hotel for your holiday. Your opinion is very important for us and we feel very sorry to hear that we did not manage to meet your expectations totally. We would have liked to have had the...

941 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (530)
Viewed
Room/Suite (68)
Viewed
Dining (40)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (29)
Viewed
View from Room (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (179)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (176)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (324)
Viewed
Amenities (48)
Viewed
Junior Suite (32)
Viewed
Dining (69)
Viewed
Superior Balcony by Paulo Arraiano (32)
Viewed
Superior Balcony by Paulo Brighenti (33)
Viewed
Superior Room by Pedro Matos (31)
Viewed
The Hotel (79)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (87)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (25)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (31)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cascais hotels
0.5 km away
Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa
1.2 km away
Hotel Cascais Miragem
Hotel Cascais Miragem
#3 of 38 in Cascais
1,073 reviews
0.6 km away
The Albatroz Hotel
The Albatroz Hotel
#9 of 38 in Cascais
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
InterContinental Estoril
0.5 km away
Farol Hotel
Farol Hotel
#7 of 38 in Cascais
705 reviews
3.5 km away
Martinhal Cascais
Martinhal Cascais
#1 of 38 in Cascais
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Spa
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Spa
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Breakfast included
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This luxury hotel, Pestana Cidadela Cascais, is set within the walls of the historical fortress, the emblematic 16th century Citadel of Cascais, in the centre of Cascais. It is a place where ancient meets modern, and many of the rooms are dramatically set into the former barracks which makes each space a different experience, while others, more modern, enjoy spectacular views to the sea or over the huge internal patio spaces. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Pestana Cidadela Cascais

Address: Avenida Dom Carlos I | Fortaleza da Cidadela, Cascais 2750-310, Portugal (Formerly Pousada de Cascais)
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Cascais
Price Range: €110 - €270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Pestana Cidadela Cascais 5*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Pestana Cidadela Cascais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Cascais
#6 Spa Hotel in Cascais
#6 Business Hotel in Cascais
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Cascais
#8 Luxury Hotel in Cascais
#11 Romantic Hotel in Cascais
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Pestana Cidadela Cascais staff and other travellers.
11 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (11)

Questions? Get answers from Pestana Cidadela Cascais staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Same floor and corridor as breakfast restaurant facing either way”
 of 5 bubbles MuttonSt, 16 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Please not the court!”
 of 5 bubbles Dimonte0412, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Superior Sea view room is the most expensive but really doesn't worth it”
  • not the most impressive sea view from the balcony
 of 5 bubbles vz700, 27 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room with a balcony”
 of 5 bubbles Herman1745, 20 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Junior suites are beautiful! But all rooms we saw looked of a lovely quality.”
  • Standard room
  • Junior suite bedroom
 of 5 bubbles Buggybex, 16 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5