We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hotel do Caracol

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Hotel do Caracol
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]}}
Add Photo Write a Review

323 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 121: English reviews
Monterey, California
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We arrived early in the morning after a sleepless night on an uncomfortable plane, and had paid for early check-in that included breakfast- turned out we didn't need to do that since everyone on our bus was checked in early anyway. It was good to have breakfast included every day, but as noted in other reviews and as is typical...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank haverstef
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I have slept in airport terminals more comfortable than that bed. It was truly awful, and I am not particularly fussy. The pillows were also not remotely adequate, to the point where I inquired where I could find a store that sells pillows so I could purchase a new one just for my stay. The mattress and pillows were so...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank K344y
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We enjoyed our stay, however have a few tips. Our rooms (trip with our adult children) had two twin beds pushed together. I've seen this on a cruise ship but made with king sheets, but this was not set up as a king. I found that a little strange. Maybe it is a European thing that I'm not aware. We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cathy V
Taunton, Massachusetts
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed in the family Suite w/ water view. Amazing view but does need some upgrades. Some cracks on wall in the studio room. Shower head in the main bathroom wouldn't stay up. No shower curtain but had 1/2 wall to supposedly keep water from going out on floor but with the shower head not staying up on the holder it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mom9600
Mattituck, NY
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The positives--friendly staff, quiet location, great views. The negatives--terrible pillows and beds, small rooms, tired appearance. The pillows are made from pieces of foam. The television is ancient and grainy. The rooms are stuffy. I would stay here again either at a great rate, or with a few of these upgrades...staff is pleasant and helpful.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 17wandalust46
Fremont, California
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We arrived at 0745 in the morning and where able to check into our room with no additional charge. We got a room with two twin beds pushed together which makes snuggling with my spouse very difficult. We had a ocean view room which was great because we kept our balcony door open 100% of the time and listened to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Luv2hikejulie
Ledyard, Connecticut
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Well worth the price. We had a garden view but could also see the ocean. Location is great. I did Iike most of the breakfast items, homemade bread, yogurt, local cheese, fresh fruit. Our room was fine, quiet, clean, beds a little too firm for me but ok. The only complaint I have was the condition of the Jacuzzi, pool...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank annie06339
Hollister, California
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here for two nights, check in was easy. We had an ocean view room, the view was great. Parking and breakfast was included, parking is in an underground garage, breakfast was poor. The hot items were cold or Luke warm. The breads and cheese were good. I noticed there wasn't a heat source under the food warmers. Had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rus O
Joaquim D, General Manager at Hotel do Caracol, responded to this review

Dear Rus Thank you for staying at Hotel do Caracol. I also would like to say that we did appreciate your feed back about our hotel and services. Just one smail info about the hot dishes in the Breakfast Buffet. We have electric food warmers and that is why you did not see a heat source under the food warmers....

Hedgesville, West Virginia
Reviewed 11 December 2016

The location was perfect for what we like. It was outside of town with a 20 min or so walk into town. The walk was safe even early in the evening although we never walked back really late in the evening. Felt perfectly safe while walking in a group of 4. Showers were hot with good pressure and large bath...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sallys44
Owen Sound, Canada
Reviewed 10 December 2016

We stayed here four nights. It is a long walk to the center of town. There was never anybody eating at the restaurant, but the good thing was it was only a 10 minute walk to Elio's Restaurant which was amazing. Breakfast was included, but the same every day and the hot section was basically cold, but the cheeses and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael A

180 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (149)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (29)
Viewed
View from Room (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
Other (69)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (31)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Angra do Heroismo
0.4 km away
Terceira Mar Hotel
Terceira Mar Hotel
#1 of 8 in Angra do Heroismo
535 reviews
1.5 km away
Azoris Angra Garden Plaza Hotel
Azoris Angra Garden Plaza Hotel
#4 of 8 in Angra do Heroismo
255 reviews
1.9 km away
Angra Marina Hotel
Angra Marina Hotel
#6 of 8 in Angra do Heroismo
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.7 km away
Aparthotel Atlantida Mar
Aparthotel Atlantida Mar
#1 of 5 in Praia da Vitoria
236 reviews
1.5 km away
Hotel Beira Mar
Hotel Beira Mar
#6 of 14 in Terceira
95 reviews
1.4 km away
Quinta das Merces
Quinta das Merces
#3 of 8 in Angra do Heroismo
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Beachfront
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Babysitting

Additional Information about Hotel do Caracol

Address: Estrada Regional no 1 | Silveira, Angra do Heroismo, Terceira 9700-193, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Azores > Terceira > Angra do Heroismo
Price Range: €53 - €94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel do Caracol 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel do Caracol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Do Caracol Angra Do Heroismo, Terceira, Portugal
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel do Caracol staff and other travellers.
37 questions
Ask a question
Lynn, Massachusetts

See all questions (37)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel do Caracol staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“You can pay to upgrade to an ocean view, but the garden side is pretty and you can still hear the surf.”
 of 5 bubbles haverstef, 29 Dec 2016 | Read review
“If you can get an Ocean View”
  • Balcony
 of 5 bubbles Luv2hikejulie, 25 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Lagoon side is nice, but it comes with a price”
 of 5 bubbles MichaelA839, 10 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Seview room.....gardenview also good.”
 of 5 bubbles 743dougb, 13 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Make sure your curtains are drawn at night. Guys peer in at night on the cove side.”
 of 5 bubbles MShevlin, 7 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay