We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Ocean View

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Ocean View
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

42 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 19: English reviews
Start your review of Ocean View
 Click to rate
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 27 September 2016

I've been traveling for 8 months already on this current trip and have also stayed at many other hotels and hostels while traveling the world in the past years, however I have never felt so unwelcome and been treated so badly as we did at Ocean View. Firstly when we arrived after 24 hrs of traveling we were made to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank lissysjwhite
vancouver island
Reviewed 26 September 2016

Arrived at Ocean View Hostel in Lagos yesturday. We have a car and had no problem finding itbut did have a map of the area . About 2 km away from downtown but it is quiet and peaceful with a breeze coming off the ocean in the distance ( approx 15 minute walk). Staff are friendly and welcomed with a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank marimbagirl
Reviewed 22 September 2016 via mobile

Immediately disappointed because photos and descriptions was not reality ! Arrived there and saw no ocean with small children running around every where , I do not mind children but when site says adults only it was something I was not expecting ! Staff was quite friendly though , once we got there the lady checked us in then told...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Cassandra S
Winnipeg, Canada
Reviewed 8 September 2016 via mobile

After reading the reviews it seems we really lucked out. We stayed three nights here and always had very friendly encounters with the staff, although we never dealt with the owner. The welcome sangria was a nice touch. Our room was huge with a double bed and two singles and a massive ensuite for just two of us. I can't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Casey_Kendra
Biarritz, France
Reviewed 1 August 2016 via mobile

We booked one day before arrival because of an attractive price of 75€ per night to visit the place around. The personnal (Not the boss, was friendly) But, neither Algarve, a really high demand in summer or a late booking are reasons at ALL to manage such prices, here is why: -The hotel has no view on the sea as...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank camdav64
Central Arizona, Arizona
Reviewed 20 July 2016

The room felt like prison with rules of what you can not do posted on the wall. Lots of rules. No kitchen (despite it being listed in the ad and being posted on the wall that guests can use it after 9 p.m,, no use of frig, no eating your own food, nor hand washing clothes. Lots of up charges....

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Tess85132
Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 July 2016 via mobile

A friendly bed and breakfast outlet. We had a comfortable room with a very large ensuite. A small but pleasant pool area. There are 2 roof terraces and a good common lounge area. The continental breakfast was excellent. Staff very friendly and helpful. In all, good value for budget accommodation.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hoddinott182
Reviewed 28 June 2016 via mobile

So we were going to this place it was not refundable we a paid month in advance ,our plane was delayed , phones dead stuck on a plane, unable to contact them and its first time in the country and our shuttle got there fairly late 1 am from faro airport . So we're there ringing the gate bell our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Harry F
MIGUEL B, Gerente at Ocean View, responded to this review

Dear guest, our check in is only until 10 pm, you asked to get ace 11 pm we quickly accede to your request. we've been waiting for until the 12:30,remember, that check in is only until 10 pm. you never called us to say he would be late, you jus call around 1:30 am, was the registracion in my phone....

State of Sao Paulo
Reviewed 26 June 2016

We stayed at the Ocean View hostel in May 2016 and we were very satisfied. The hostel was clean, close to a nice family beach (Praia Porto de Mós), and not so fair from the city center (20 Minutes). We did everything by walking. It is true that it has many rules – you are not allowed to wash your...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gabrielah625
Asmara, Eritrea
Reviewed 6 October 2015

A note of caution - Ocean View Hotel charged my credit card twice. I wrote to them by e-mail and got a repeated answer that the manager will check his accounts and get back to me. He never did in spite of repeated requests. I have reason to believe that the double charge was deliberate and that the hotel management...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Christian M

12 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lagos hotels
1.1 km away
Casa da Moura
Casa da Moura
#26 of 51 in Lagos
159 reviews
1.1 km away
Villas D. Dinis
Villas D. Dinis
#3 of 51 in Lagos
298 reviews
1.1 km away
Carvi Hotel Lagos
Carvi Hotel Lagos
#13 of 51 in Lagos
610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Clube Porto Mos
Clube Porto Mos
#19 of 51 in Lagos
149 reviews
0.3 km away
Flow House - Guesthouse & Surf Kite Surf School
0.0 km away
Vila Graciosa Guesthouse
Vila Graciosa Guesthouse
#17 of 132 in Lagos
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Ocean View

Address: Rua das Armacoes de Pesca 21, Lagos 8600-553, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Lagos
Price Range: €26 - €89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ocean View 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and HostelWorld so you can book your Ocean View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Ocean View staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I would choose an en-suite as the queue to get to toilets in the morning will have you waiting.”
 of 5 bubbles florusselb, 27 Nov 2014 | Read review
“Pay 5 more euros and pick room for 3 people (not dorms) if possible.”
 of 5 bubbles LolaLolala, 7 Sep 2014 | Read review
“Another hostel.”
 of 5 bubbles slawas2013, 22 Sep 2013 | Read review
3 of 3