We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Pine Cliffs Residence, a Luxury Collection Resort

Pinhal do Concelho, Albufeira 8200-593 Portugal
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
4 people are viewing this hotel
Hotel direct offer!Unlock Member Rates!
View deal
Free cancellation until 25/09/21
View deal
Free cancellation until 25/09/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
View deal
View all 13 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (763)
Panoramas (49)
Pool & Beach (307)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
Updated 29/06/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Pine Cliffs Residence, a Luxury Collection Resort
Updated 29/06/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.


#39 of 154 hotels in Albufeira
Located at the renowned Pine Cliffs Resort, Pine Cliffs Residence, a Luxury Collection Resort, Algarve (Voted Portugal's Leading Family Resort) offers its guest the privacy two or three bedroom residence suites abundantly equipped with all modern day appliances and comfort with breathtaking views over the scenic golf course. This exclusive resort in Albufeira, Portugal provides an array of activities for all ages, including world-class golf course, five tennis courts and swimming pools, spa treatments, kids' club and private access to the beach.
Read more
Hotel links
Special Offer:Unlock Member Rates!


Full view
71Somewhat walkable
Grade: 71 out of 100
0Restaurantswithin 0 km
0Attractionswithin 0 km
Pinhal do Concelho, Albufeira 8200-593 Portugal
Name/address in local language
Getting there
Faro Airport20 kmSee all flights
Portimão Airport37 kmSee all flights
See all nearby hotels
1041Reviews113Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 551
  • 289
  • 106
  • 47
  • 48
Time of year
Traveller type
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Ana Fs wrote a review 16 Sep
Dublin, Ireland1 contribution
We stayed four nights and it was a very disapointing experience! Food was overpriced and not great, to be honest. Amenities were very dated, specially the pool areas. Not a 5 stars at all. What saved our trip was that we hired a car which enabled us to explore Albufeira, Faro and Vilamoura. I wish I had enjoy the hotel more, as I was looking forward to a relaxing holidays. Overall, very poor value for money, certainly not going back and would never recommend it !!!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Cindy G wrote a review 7 Sep
London, United Kingdom15 contributions8 helpful votes
We stayed only 2 nights in August, but we haven't been sad to leave. A lot money is being charged for the rooms, but the actual service can't keep up with the amount of people around. Staff was always polite and nice. The" better" restaurants were booked up, the only dinner that we had was of at the market place and this was unfortunately thumbs down :-( We didn't want to repeat the sad experience and eat outside, the next night. I think the facilities and size of the place are good but its not a 5 star in my eyes. Our suite was traditional with a fabulous bathroom, and a view to die for. The hotel felt a bit dated though.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Response from Manuela Malveiro, Serviços ao cliente/atendimento at Pine Cliffs Residence, a Luxury Collection Resort
Responded 1 week ago
Dear 561cindyg, Thank you for sharing your honest experience with the TripAdvisor community. We would like to start by thanking you for your compliments on the accommodation, the view and specially the kindliness of our associates. On the other hand, we apologize for falling short of meeting your expectations in some of our services.. Please know we value your comments, these have been shared with the teams and management for their review and action. Once again, we thank you for sharing your feedback and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our resort in the future. Warm regards, Guest Relations Team
Read more
Peter W wrote a review 4 Sep
London, United Kingdom222 contributions77 helpful votes
Taking everything into consideration I would say that our 10 -day family holiday was very enjoyable. However, it was only due to the diligence of my daughter who made dinner reservations well in advance that we were able to eat without problems. We had 3 small children so this was essential. The hotel shuttle buses which were supposed to run every 15 minutes were as rare as hen's teeth. We had to call in advance if we wanted a pick up at our apartment (S1122) which is a long way from all the restaurants except O Grill which does not open for dinner so we couldn't use this. I found that by tipping the driver every time brought results! The food is very expensive and the drinks, well.... For example a small beer, served in a disposable cup was €5.50 whereas at the bar next to the supermarket outside the resort was only €1.10! Of course, I expected to pay more than €1.10 but NOT five times this price! Similarly, a bottle of local Vinho Verde in the resort was €38 whereas in the supermarket if cost me €5. An unacceptable rip-off mark-up. At the swimming pool there was a very small sign which said that sun-beds could not be reserved in advance but every morning I noticed that nearly every one had a blue towel draped on it. The attendant was quite diligent though and he would sometimes take the towels off if they had been in place for over 2 hours with no sign of any guests. However, this did lead to some ugly scenes. The only way we managed to get beds was to tip the attendant generously! There should be a sign which states that if a sun-bed is unoccupied for say 1 hour it is deemed to be available to other guests. Frankly, there are just not enough sun-beds for the number of guests wishing to use them! Our apartment was excellent with plenty of space and 3 bedrooms all with their own en-suite facilities and 2 balconies. It was cleaned regularly and I cannot fault this at all. We had a full kitchen so we could prepare food for the kids at lunchtime. There was also a washing machine and dryer - essential with kids!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Room Tip: Try to get an apartment near O Grill breakfast restaurant as it's a long walk otherwise!.
See more room tips
Response from Manuela Malveiro, Guest Services / Front Office at Pine Cliffs Residence, a Luxury Collection Resort
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Peter W, Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at Pine Cliffs Residence. We are happy to know that you had a most pleasant stay and that you and your family enjoyed fully the resort, all the nice surroundings as well as the accommodation. Thank you for your kind words. Nevertheless, be sure that we took note and we have shared your very valuable comments about the shuttle, food & drinks pricing and sun beds, with the respective heads of department in order to take the necessary actions for improvement, indeed our main mission is to deliver a memorable staying experience to our guests – like you Once again, our apologies and we sincerely hope to welcome you and your family again in a near future. Please don’t hesitate to contact us if you need any assistance for a future reservation. Sincerely yours, Guest Relations Team
Read more
blondietellsthetruth wrote a review Aug 2021
London, United Kingdom22 contributions28 helpful votes
We’ve just returned from a weeks stay at pine cliffs, staying in the residence session. We ended up having a lovely time, but this was mainly down to us making the most of the situation and paying ALOT to make the holiday work for us. Plus sides to the hotel: We we’re upgraded to a 3 bedroom apartment which was lovely & kept nice and clean each day by the hardworking staff. The staff we met were all lovely. The residence pool is perfect for kids, nice and large so didn’t feel on top of people. Ogrill restaurant served a decent breakfast selection and we enjoyed their food (we opted to eat dinner early here a lot (closes at 5.30) as they food at corda cafe was just awful! Downsides: This place is just too big. You have to order a shuttle taxi to get to places or rediculous long walks. On day 1 I knew this just wouldn’t work for us as 0 flexibility so we hired two bikes with kids seats on the back (100euros per bike for the week!). The kids enjoyed this but an expensive hack. No shop onsite so have to get a shuttle taxi to access the crappy supermarket outside or a 25min walk in the sun to grab a couple of items. Drinks are massively overpriced! And served in takeaway cups around the pool. Food at corda cafe (which is the only place you can get dinner if you haven’t booked other restaurants in advance) was awful. Someone described it as a cheap rock cafe which is pretty accurate. The hotel should recommend to customers to prebook the restaurants before arriving! We arrived Friday and couldn’t book anywhere else until the Tuesday night. We have young kids so always got to places early (breakfast and dinner) so queuing wasn’t an issue at all for us like previous reviews. But I can see how it could be an issue if you are late risers or late diners. The beach was lovely but too busy for us in the day so we opted for visiting at 9.30am to enjoy some peace. It got busy by 11am. Mare restaurants is potentially lovely! But they’ve totally missed a trick on the upstairs bit. We wanted to come and watch the sunset from up there but was advised there is no waiting staff. They said we were welcome to buy from downstairs and take up there ourselves (which was fine), so we booked a babysitter (who was lovely by the way), and biked to the beach. Went upstairs to find the days left over drinks and glasses strewn all over the place, sticky tables etc. Horrid. We asked for it to be cleared which they did but not great first impression at a 5* resort. My husband then proceeded to walk upstairs with a €20 euro glass of champagne served in a coffee cup (as no glass allowed) and a mouldy strawberry on the edge. I was furious by that point. Asked for a refund which took a while. Ended up at the champagne bar instead but by then I was too annoyed to enjoy myself. Mare upstairs bit could be so so lovely! Our one night off without kids and all I wanted to do was sip a drink and watch the sun go down. The toilets in the main pine cliffs area as pretty gross. You’d expect them to be clean and smell nice at a 5* like we’ve experienced elsewhere. Kids club area. The bouncy castle is free but you have to pay for everything else! Not clear on the website. €14 euros for a go on the bungees! You pay for mini golf, the electric cars etc. What are we getting for our expensive stay at the hotel??!! Generally it’s just not 5* at all. Not even close. The staff are lovely and hard working so nothing to do with them. The hotel just needs to provide value for money.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
1 Helpful vote
Response from Manuela Malveiro, Guest Services / Front Office at Pine Cliffs Residence, a Luxury Collection Resort
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear blondietellsthetruth, We would like to thank you for the time taken to share your impressions regarding your recent experience at the Pine Cliffs Resort. Regarding the size of our resort and its location, we understand that on arrival some people get overwhelmed with its size and that characteristic may require much walking around but this is what makes our resort unique for many other guests. However, we do understand that families with children might find challenging to access some facilities/other parts of the resort. Kindly be informed that our resort provides a diverse accommodation types near to the facilities such as restaurants, beach and others that can be more suitable for families that want to be closer, you can enquire with our reservation department. We regret to learn that we failed to deliver our services not meeting your expectations for that, please accept our apologies. Thank you for your compliments on our associates and the hard work they do. Please be informed that your suggestions and comments are very important to us and that they will be shared with our management. Your suggestions and comments are very important to us and that they will be shared with our management. As a Luxury Collection Resort we are continuously looking to improve our services, having therefore, appreciated your contribution. We hope to welcome you and your family back at our Resort in the near future. Yours sincerely Guest Relations Team
Read more
malgorzatakarwacka wrote a review Aug 2021
Warsaw, Poland3 contributions
I am delighted to recommend Pine Cliffs Residence, a Luxury Collection Resort (Marriott chain) in Algarve, Portugal to all my Family and Friends and Co-workers too. As every year, I am happy to visit Portugal, unfortunately in 2020 the pandemic situation prevented me from implementing my tourist plans, but this year I caught up. I highly recommend to all guests, both business and individual guests, a stay at Pine Cliffs Residence, a Luxury Collection Resort in Algarve. This was my first time staying at your hotel but not my first time staying at Marriott hotels. I knew that I can expect only positive experiences from the stay, but this hotel exceeded the quality and care of the guest above all other hotels in which I have had the opportunity to stay so far during my last 12 years of experience with Marriott Family. Already at the Reception, after the first words of Mr. Paulo (probably the Reception Manager), I knew that I had come to a wonderful facility and my stay there would be exceptional. Paulo, a very nice in 100% full of professionalism person, told us about the entire facility (the facility, the entire complex occupies a huge area and has a lot of attractions on offer for guests), gave us a map and told us in detail how we can spend our vacation at Pine Cliffs Residence, how to easy access to the beautiful, guarded hotel beach, where you can eat great local dishes and where you can try dishes from other regions of the world, how we can spend our free time and relax. With his warm voice, Paulo with passion recommended us the next advantages of the hotel and we were more and more convinced that we had made a great choice of the hotel. I am very attentive to taking particular care in terms of health and safety, especially now while still in a pandemic. The hotel meets the highest hygiene /sanitary /cleanliness and security standards, from reception to every car entry into the property /hotel/residence area . Everywhere in the hotel there are signs informing about the necessity to wear masks and disinfect hands. There are disinfectant dispensers in all public areas of the residence. The rooms are very clean and the employees take special care and care for the health and safety of guests and co-workers, which can be seen at every step. Observing the guests moving around the premises, it was clear that they enjoyed all the services offered by the hotel staff and the owners with joy and satisfaction, the air was filled with the scent of joy, relaxation and fantastic Portuguese dishes and wine... The breakfasts offered at the hotel were excellent, a wide range and selection of bread, cold cuts, cheeses, regional fruit and desserts, it was difficult to pass by pastel de nata, which almost said to the guests from the buffet, eat me, try ... enjoy the moment .. During our stay, we had the opportunity to enjoy fantastic breakfasts and also went for an amazing dinner at the Piri Piri Steak House restaurant .The food there was amazing.. heaven in my mouth .. also the food was served everywhere with the highest safety standards and passion. Employees and guests had plastic gloves at their disposal wherever recommended and required but maintaining hygiene standards was still elegant, professional, not intrusive .. it's an art to make it so nowadays ... the whole of the extraordinary positive impressions we experienced in your facility allowed us to forget about stress and pandemics. I especially remember one lady at the breakfast restaurant (near the swimming pool and near the reception) at Pine Cliffs Residence - Mrs. Luisa. This woman is a real angel, smiling, charming, even from a distance, despite wearing a mask on her face, we could see joy and energy in her eyes and the body language and voice only confirmed our belief that choosing this place for vacation was a shot at 10. I will not forget neither Paulo nor Luisa, because the people create this place and they give that first impression, which for this hotel is perfect from start to finish. This was my first stay at Pine Cliffs Residence and I was not disappointed, I will keep coming back there every time I travel to Portugal. I will highly recommend the hotel, both for couples, families with children, but also for the elderly and people on a business trip. The apartments are large, with terraces overlooking beautiful gardens and well-kept greenery. The view from the terrace next to the elevator leading to the beach, unforgettable. The wonderful Paulo from the reception and the singing Luisa from the restaurant are 100% professionals in their field, top of the top service, the best ! A warm welcome and then a friendly farewell when checking out ... in this hotel I didn't feel only as a guest ... but I had the impression that I was visiting good friends or family. I recommend highly your Pine Cliffs Residence.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: The apartment on ground floor with amazing garden view and beautiful terrace
See more room tips
Response from Manuela Malveiro, Guest Services / Front Office at Pine Cliffs Residence, a Luxury Collection Resort
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear malgorzatakarwacka Thank you very much for your glowing review concerning your recent stay at Pine Cliffs Residence. We are delighted to learn that you have enjoyed your accommodation, our facilities, including our beautiful beach, and our restaurants delivering great gastronomic experiences to our guests. It is also a pleasure to know that you felt safe during this pandemic and that you were happy to see that the resort is complying with the Portuguese regulations on this particularly actual worldwide situation. Our team is very proud to learn that all their efforts to provide an excellent service were recognized with the special mention to Paulo from Front office and Luisa from O Grill. On behalf of them and all of us, please accept our deepest appreciation for your encouraging words. Thank you so much! Thank you for your recommendation, and we look forward to welcome you and your family in the near future, please do not hesitate to contact us for any queries you may have. Warm Regards Guest Relations Team
Read more
PortugalAlgarveFaro DistrictAlbufeira
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Pine Cliffs Residence, a Luxury Collection Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Pine Cliffs Residence, a Luxury Collection Resort?
Nearby attractions include Praia da Falésia (0.7 km), Praia do Barranco das Belharucas (0.8 km), and Cork World (0.7 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Pine Cliffs Residence, a Luxury Collection Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Pine Cliffs Residence, a Luxury Collection Resort?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Pine Cliffs Residence, a Luxury Collection Resort?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Pine Cliffs Residence, a Luxury Collection Resort?
Yes, free parking and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Pine Cliffs Residence, a Luxury Collection Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Taste of Punjab, Al Quimia, and Restaurante Pizzaria Salt & Pepper.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Pine Cliffs Residence, a Luxury Collection Resort?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Does Pine Cliffs Residence, a Luxury Collection Resort have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Pine Cliffs Residence, a Luxury Collection Resort offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Pine Cliffs Residence, a Luxury Collection Resort?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Pine Cliffs Residence, a Luxury Collection Resort offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to Pine Cliffs Residence, a Luxury Collection Resort?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Jardim Dos Amuadas (13.9 km) and Convento de Santo Antonio (13.6 km).