We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

VidaMar Algarve

Save
Share
Rua Boca da Alagoa, Lote 1, Albufeira 8200-424 Portugal
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Booking.com
Official Hotel Site
eDreams
Priceline
Agoda.com
Pierre & Vacances
View all 11 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (1283)
Room & Suite (146)
Dining (99)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Daily temperature and symptom checks for staff
Updated 08/04/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 08/04/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#41 of 154 hotels in Albufeira
VidaMar Resort Algarve is an excellent option for an Algarve holiday, at just steps from the ample sandy stretch of Salgados Beach! The surrounding area is uniquely interesting, mixing proximity to Salgados Lagoon’s Nature Reserve, overlooking the Atlantic Ocean and just a few minutes' drive from a golf course! As the name suggests, this resort is much more than just a beach holiday destination! The idea is patently clear in the resort’s, which combines “Life” and “Sea”, added to a complete range of services! The rooms are well equipped, with balconies, free WiFi and plenty of comfort. Each unit comes with a bathroom — featuring plenty of natural light — including a flat-screen TV, air conditioning and a minibar. A tasty daily breakfast is included in the rate, with the hotel also including restaurant options for lunch and dinner within it. VidaMar Algarve also includes bars, a Kids Club, and an exclusive area for guests over 16 years old.
Read more

Location

Full view
66Somewhat walkable
Grade: 66 out of 100
0Restaurantswithin 0 km
0Attractionswithin 0 km
Contact
Rua Boca da Alagoa, Lote 1, Albufeira 8200-424 Portugal
Name/address in local language
Getting there
Faro Airport33 kmSee all flights
Portimão Airport24 kmSee all flights
See all nearby hotels
1553Reviews290Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 754
  • 473
  • 189
  • 72
  • 65
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
bonne_voyage24 wrote a review Jun 2021
55 contributions40 helpful votes
Room was a decent size, but when we arrived the temperature was set to 10C and actively cooling, so the room was like walking into a fridge. On top of this what they had as a duvet was barely thicker than a duvet cover. We had to request another (no extra anything in the room) and double up. Also room service didn't ever remove or replace our used water glasses, we had to ask for extra shower gel when it was obviously empty, and also for removed towels (side note: grey and worn) to be replaced. Not very 5 star (I actually had to verify the hotel has 5 stars writing this). Other niggles - - There is no iron available at all (they told us it was a "safety hazard") so it's creased clothes or very expensive laundry prices for pressing. - The bathroom has no door, just frosted glass on the shower and toilet i.e. forget privacy. There is also one small bath mat but an expanse of slippery floor. - The buffet was very blah both for lunch and dinner (dinner was included in our rate but after the first night we ate elsewhere). Coffee is bad from a automatic machine. - You can kinda see the sea from the hotel, but it's a bit of a walk to the beach - not super far, just annoying if you want a drink / bathroom to make a 10min roundtrip. The beach is lovely though. - The only open bar was the check-in / lobby area. This was just weird and had no atmosphere. There are 2x kids pools (both of which kept changing colour due to the chemicals being out of whack with the quantity of urine), a main pool and an adult pool. The adult pool was easily best and in a separate area, however we never worked out how it operated, partially because there seemed to be no communication between the staff there - first we were told we had to reserve the evening before which worked once, the next day they didn't have our reservation but still found us a bed, the last we were told all the beds (mostly empty) were automatically reserved for premium rooms until after lunch (we had reserved the eve before but apparently that no longer counted, but also if we'd know this system even existed when booking, we would have just taken a premium room). They were very understaffed in this area too, resulting in queues to order and long waits for drinks and food. Overall, it was okay but I wouldn't go back.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Joao Cardoso, Diretor-Geral at VidaMar Algarve
Responded 1 Jul 2021
Dear Sir/Madam, We truly appreciate the time you spent to share your experience in our resort hotel. We are disappointed to read we haven't quite met your expectations in some areas of our service. Nevertheless, there are a few notes we would like to point out: .Room Service does not remove your water glasses, they are washed by housekeeping during the daily cleaning service; .Housekeeping also replaces the towels only if you place them on the floor - if you hang them, towels will not be replaced and advertised; .Yes we do not have not advertise anywhere that there is a iron/ironing board in every room - it is indeed a safety hazard and yes we do have our laundry service available for ironing any clothes at affordable and fair prices; .We do have a frosted glass door in the shower and toilet - although you cannot see through from either sides, yet it let's some extra light in; .Our Hotel is operated on Half Board basis (buffet breakfast & buffet dinner, both in the Ocean restaurant) and Guests also have the choice of an Italian à la carte restaurant, where they enjoy an immediate food credit should they chose to go to this restaurant; coffee for breakfast is available is different machines however, there is espresso coffee available on demand; .The Vidamar Resort Hotel Algarve is located on the sand dunes of a 7km sandy beach, about 200m metres from the shore through a pleasant wooden flat walkway; .Throughout the day, we offer the Sunset restaurant and Bar and lunch, snacks and drinks, and the Mar Club cocktail bar in the Adult's only private area; at night, we have Live Music entertainment 3 times a week in the Lobby Bar; .We offer 3 outdoor pools, all by this long beach, served by many free wooden sun lounges and free towel service; additionally, for adults only, we offer an exclusive area in the garden by the sand dunes, which includes one outdoor heated pool, one cocktail bar, a light meal menu and Bali Beds for two people - this exclusive area has a small entrance fee which is deductible in the daily consumption in this area. We hope we have clarified any possible misunderstandings and still we hope to be at your service sometime in the near future. Thank you and warm regards.
Read more
paulamargaridaf wrote a review Jun 2021
Coimbra, Portugal139 contributions37 helpful votes
I returned to vidamar in June 2021. The hotel has undergone some changes and renovations. This is perhaps the least positive aspect. I didn't like the bar being at the hotel reception, the dark tones of the decor or the lack of light in the corridors of the rooms. The rooms are big and very comfortable and the outdoor pool area is huge and very nice. The pool bar serves light meals with good value for money. However, the price of cocktails were a little excessive. The dinner buffet is varied and of quality. I missed the Japanese restaurant that once existed in this resort. The proximity and excellent access to Salgados beach is an asset of this hotel. I would like to highlight the friendliness and efficiency of all the staff who made every effort to make our stay during the pandemic period as pleasant as possible. The hotel spa is pretty good. I found the gym too small for the number of hotel guests. Without a doubt, it is a very good choice for those who want a few days of rest with their family.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Joao Cardoso, Diretor-Geral at VidaMar Algarve
Responded 11 Jun 2021
Thank you for sharing your recent experience in Vidamar Resort Hotel Algarve. Although the Hotel only opened in May 2013, a complete uplifting of most services and facilities was needed in order to reposition the Hotel in the Algarve, particularly in the 5-star market, and to continue to meet and hopefully exceed our discerning Guests' expectations. This upgrade was extended to every bedroom, including the new Premium Ocean View Rooms, the Osmos Welness Centre, the popular adults' only Mar Club, the Hotel Lobby, etc. We believe we offer a complete all-year-round resort, serving a diversified range of Guests throughout the year. We truly appreciate your kind comments and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you in the Hotel sometime in the near future. Warm regards.
Read more
JoFlynn42a wrote a review Jun 2021
London, United Kingdom35 contributions35 helpful votes
Just returned from a half term week at VidaMar. All in all its a great hotel. Pro's - rooms are recently redone, large, well appointed, spotlessly clean, nice beds and good shower. Pool and garden areas beautiful and well spread out (didn't make it to the Mar Club but that looked lush), the hotel is positioned by a stunning and well kept beach. Stunning spa with really lovely staff. In fact staff all round were all so nice and super friendly and efficient. Good stuff going on for kids, and we loved the guy with the trumpet by the pool. Big thumbs up to the Sunset bar for lovely lunches and great staff. Cons - I've only given VidaMar 4 stars as its buffet restaurant lets it down. This is where you currently go for breakfast and dinner. As before, the staff are great and its very clean but the food is way below 5 star level. Its not bad or offensive in any way its just very basic, bland and not much choice. Saying this we are travelling in the world of covid (well managed by hotel in general) and that may have had an impact, and in generally we don't like buffets. Wished the other restaurants had been open. All in all, fab though- thanks for having us.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from Joao Cardoso, Diretor-Geral at VidaMar Algarve
Responded 11 Jun 2021
Dear Jo, Thank you so much for sharing your recent experience in Vidamar Resort Hotel Algarve. We truly appreciate your kind comments about most of the facilities and we'll make sure your kind words towards our staff are passed on to them. We will take your evaluation about our Buffet into account and will look into it, although, as you point it out, we had to introduce some changes due to the Covid situation we still have to deal with. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the future. Warm regards.
Read more
A S wrote a review Jun 2021
5 contributions
+1
Stay away. The room was full of ants! The hotels answer was to spray these and not even clean up the dead ants which were quickly joined by new ants all over the room. The room door was faulty and locked us in / out. The hotels answer here was to leave it partly open to avoid inconvenience. Despite all this the hotel refused to refund / partly refund payment. In summary - STAY AWAY
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from João Cardoso, General Manager at VidaMar Algarve
Responded 14 Jun 2021
Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your disappointment with the recent stay in our Hotel. We are located in a natural environment, by the beach, very close to a golf course and next door to a Lagoon nature reserve. Whenever there is a sudden change of air temperature and it becomes hot, these unusual phenomena happens, either with ants or even with other tiny living creatures. An outside company comes in and takes care of the situation, which obviously does not get solved instantly. We are sorry for this unforeseen temporarily inconvenience. As to the door, it should have been taken care of more promptly by our services. Your information about our response is obviously a overstatement, as we did suggest to leave the bedroom door open. Nevertheless, our apologies for taking longer then expected to solve the situation. Your comments were duly noted, however, we respectfully feel there is absolutely no reason for a refund. Dispite these two situations occurred during your holiday, we still hope to be at service sometime in the near future. Best wishes.
Read more
charlotteknight12 wrote a review Jun 2021
Brighton, United Kingdom9 contributions3 helpful votes
DO NOT BOOK THIS HOTEL ITS A SCAM.. when we arrived we had to wait 40 mins for our room, elevator weren’t working, got to room was 4 single beds crammed in one small room, (not suitable for a family with older children) ANTS from the balcony going on one bed, LOST our suitcases for over an hour, (said they can’t find them) No running water, the manager said will work soon so we went swimming pool then after about 2 hours still was NO running water, (so couldn’t shower) had to go dinner without washing! Not appropriate for children! Staff were rude, spoke to manager called Luis Camilo and he agreed to pay back our money as we didn’t feel comfortable staying, we booked somewhere else. Shock he didn’t agree after we left and never gave our money back and is LYING to the company we booked it through ! THIS HOTEL IS NOT 5 star at all Food was horrible and cold, my children were starving hungry I would Definitely book somewhere else and save your money, Please don’t make the mistake we did.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Joao Cardoso, Diretor-Geral at VidaMar Algarve
Responded 7 Jun 2021
Dear Mrs. Knight, Thank you for your comments about your brief contact with our Hotel. We are sadden to read about your disappointment and that we have not met your expectations. We had a longer than expected waiting time to check-in on the day you have arrived, this was due to the fact we had an enormous total amount of individual check-in’s that day because of a National Bank Holiday and unfortunately many of these arrived at the same time, jamming the flow of check-in’s despite having every member of staff available and operating every single computer available at the Front Desk. Regarding your luggage, respectfully we disagree as we did not lose your luggage at any given moment; it may have taken longer than expected to get it to your room because of the overwhelming number of luggage but we clearly separate the luggage of those Guests arriving from those Guests departing, plus we have specific locations for both luggage, well apart from one another. Yes we confirm we had a general power cut which interfered with the water pumps and therefore, there was no electricity nor water for a short while in the Hotel. It took us about 30-45 min. to sort it all out. We must also add that we proudly have 42m2 bedrooms in our Hotel, which is an excellent size in any international standard and because of that, we allow 2 adults and 2 children up to 11 years old in the same room. The two children sleep comfortably in a sofa-bed (not an extra roll-out bed), which when ready, provides 2 single beds of 200cm x 90cm each. Again, a very good size bed for a child. If parents are seeking for privacy during their holiday, they must book two rooms altogether, either inter-connecting, side-by-side or close to each other, subject to availability. We appreciate the fact you have spoken to the Duty Manager, Luis Camilo, however, respectfully he did not in any occasion confirmed to you that we would full refund you if you would leave the Hotel. Mrs. Knight your point of view was taken on board, however, we respectfully disagree with your request for a refund and therefore our decision is not to attend your request. We remain available for any other query you may have. Best wishes.
Read more
Previous
123456
LOCATION
PortugalAlgarveFaro DistrictAlbufeira
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about VidaMar Algarve
Which popular attractions are close to VidaMar Algarve?
Nearby attractions include Praia dos Salgados (0.4 km), Lagoa dos Salgados (0.8 km), and First bar (1.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at VidaMar Algarve?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, a swimup bar, and free wifi.
Which room amenities are available at VidaMar Algarve?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at VidaMar Algarve?
Guests can enjoy a swimup bar, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at VidaMar Algarve?
Yes, free parking, a parking garage, and paid private parking on-site are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to VidaMar Algarve?
Conveniently located restaurants include Museu dos Salgados, Prima Pasta, and Bellavita - Ristorante Italiano Pizzeria.
Are there opportunities to exercise at VidaMar Algarve?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Does VidaMar Algarve have an airport shuttle?
Yes, VidaMar Algarve offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at VidaMar Algarve?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does VidaMar Algarve offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at VidaMar Algarve?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, and Portuguese.