Hotel Sol e Mar
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Hotel Sol e Mar

Traveller (1383)
Panorama of the Indoor Pool at the Hotel Sol e Mar
360
Panoramas (11)
Hotel Sol E Mar Gallerywebpnet Resizeimage
Room & Suite (313)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.0
#34 of 149 hotels in Albufeira
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Located directly on the beach in the centre of Albufeira, the 4-star Sol e Mar Adults only features 2 restaurants, 2 bars and a heated indoor pool. The Sol e Mar rooms benefit from private balconies with sea views, as well as a TV with satellite channels. Every room has a refrigerator and an en suite bathroom with a hairdryer. Sunrise Restaurant serves lavish buffet meals accompanies by sea views; Sunset Restaurant offers a la carte regional and international cuisine. There is also a cocktail bar, an ice cream parlour and live evening entertainment. Hotel Sol e Mar is just 3 minutes' walk from Albufeira's Archaeological Museum. Bicycles can be rented from the hotel - perfect for exploring the old town and picturesque clifftops. Free Wi-Fi is available in its public areas. Faro International Airport is 30 minutes' drive from Hotel Sol e Mar. On-site car hire is available. Free public parking is available within 400 metres from the hotel
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free internet
Indoor pool
Bar / lounge
Beach
Game room
Airport transportation
Adults only
24-hour security
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Vending machine
Hiking
Evening entertainment
Water park offsite
Board games / puzzles
Car hire
Baggage storage
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun terrace
First aid kit
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Safe
Telephone
Bottled water
Laptop safe
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Great View
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, German and 1 more

Location

Rua Jose Bernardino de Sousa, Albufeira 8200-146 Portugal
Name/address in local language
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 100 out of 100
100
Faro Airport
26.3 km
See all flights
Portimão Airport
30.2 km
See all flights
4.0
4.0 of 5 bubbles1,841 reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Reviews summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI

Hotel Sol e Mar's beachfront location garners praise for its breathtaking sea views and proximity to Albufeira's old town. Guests enjoy spacious rooms with oceanfront balconies and a varied breakfast, although some mention firm beds and noise. While the cleanliness and friendly staff are highlights, there are mixed reviews regarding the value due to extra charges for beach services. The hotel offers a blend of lively entertainment and tranquil scenery, but evening atmosphere and room ambiance receive varied feedback.
Location
Beachfront
Atmosphere
Lively
Rooms
Spacious
Value
Expensive
Cleanliness
Mixed
Service
Friendly
Amenities
Satisfactory

Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or the opinions in it. For more information, please read the traveller reviews and learn more about how the site works.
1,841Review231Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 646
  • 760
  • 270
  • 94
  • 72
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Kathryn7xpk wrote a review Jan 2020
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
4.0 of 5 bubbles
What a great location, on the edge of Old town overlooking the sea, so close you can hear the waves and have direct access to walk along miles of sandy beach.

The hotel is upside down with reception, bar and buffet restaurant on the top 5th floor (which is actually street level due to it being build into the hill) and underneath are the rooms down to the ground floor which is beach level. Here you can find a small indoor pool and beach restaurant / kiosk. You can access the beach via lift to the ground floor and get in and out using your room key, or you can exit via street level and walk under the tunnel to the beach.

Parking can be difficult but we always managed to find a space somewhere on the streets and there is a large carpark about 5 mins walk away. Tons of restaurants on your door step - just bear in mind that much of Albufeira takes a holiday in Jan / Feb and many places are closed until early March.

The hotel itself has been recently refurbished and the rooms were great, all with sea view. A good size, private balconies, shower rather than bath, decent fluffy towels, good comfortable bed with quilt, air-con, all good.

Bar area was spacious, beer wasn’t too expensive, and we thought the food was good quality. We did hear people moaning about the food but I think that is unfair. Each night you had a choice of soups, at least one meat dish, fish dish, a pasta dish and often a veg dish. Always rice, chips, veg, salads, fresh fish like mackerel / sardines, as well as the hot food. During our week long stay we had salmon, tuna, codfish, beef, chicken, pork dishes etc. Replenished regularly and as hot as it could be as a help yourself buffet set up. Breakfast was also good - selection of fresh fruit, cold meats, cheeses, fresh bread & rolls, croissants, the usual fry up staples, fruit juice and even the coffee machine gave you a decent cup of coffee. No complaints from us and I’d recommend going half board as it’s such good value. Drinks are not included so you’ll pay extra if you want a drink with your meal. Thanks to the hotel staff, we didn’t go hungry on our first night even though we arrived after the restaurant had closed, as they kindly plated up some cold meats, fish and salad for us and left in the room. Thoughtful touch and we were really grateful.

The staff work hard, they are very friendly and make you feel welcome. Efficient and hard working, a credit to the hotel.

We would definitely return but probably out of season when its nice and quiet!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: All rooms have a sea view
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Hotel Sol e Mar... H, Manager at Hotel Sol e Mar
Responded 29 Jan 2020
Thank you very much for your nice feedback and for publishing such as motivating words on TripAdvisor!!. I have shared your amazing comments to all the team who will take great pride in the level of service that they provide to our guests. We will be delighted to welcome you back and do our best to make your stay a very pleasant stay! Looking forward to welcome you again soon, I remain at your complete disposal. kind regards,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Eleanor Magin wrote a review Oct 2021
Ryton, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel is situated right on the beach, it is close to restaurants, bars and shops. The Marina is a 20 minute stroll away and the Strip isn't much further also the tourist train goes to both now if you don't fancy the walk! The hotel itself has been upgraded to a very high standard, (loved the walk in shower) rooms were cleaned every day, towels were changed every day and bedding was changed every other day. Although we only stayed B&B this time the choice of food available was huge, and always piping hot. Due to Covid we had to wear disposable gloves (only right) which wasn't an issue. Overall had a wonderful time, felt very safe and the staff were always happy to help. The staff in the restaurant were very efficient and very pleasant. A great holiday and can't wait until we return next year. A big thank you to Luis and all the staff.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Hotel Sol e Mar H Hotel Sol e Mar, General Manager at Hotel Sol e Mar
Responded 29 Oct 2021
In my name and in the name of all staff Thank you very much for your nice feedback and for publishing such as motivating words on TripAdvisor!!. I have shared your amazing comments to all the team who will take great pride in the level of service that they provide to our guests. We will be delighted to welcome you back and do our best to make your stay a very pleasant stay! Looking forward to welcome you again soon, We remain at your complete disposal. kind regards,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
A lot to digest? Read an AI-generated summary of recent traveller reviews.
chrissie231154 wrote a review Jun 2022
London, United Kingdom
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Just returned from another trip to the Sol e Mar, which has been upgraded since our last visit. All rooms are facing the sea and are spotless and nicely decorated. The door into your room is quiet hard to push open especially if you have bags and kids etc in tow and they tend to shut really quickly and makes a very large bang which is quiet annoying late at night or early morning as people don’t think about other residents. The staff every single one of them are EXCELLENT all so very helpful, the waiters and waitresses can’t do enough for you always polite and up for a laugh or too😂 There is plenty of choice at breakfast with the usual cold meats, yoghurts and fruit, cakes and the usual hot English tho the sausages were quiet over cooked and same with the eggs, tho it is very difficult to judge how much to put out at any one time. The evening meal was mainly cold to tepid with just 2 choice’s one meat one fish for main vegetable soup for starters and then there be some salad and cheese and the puddings were the same every night so if I go back I wouldn’t go HB again. the hotel is in a prime location 2 minutes walk to the restaurants and bars but away from the loud music. I would recommend this hotel to everyone if u want to go to the Old Town Albufeira 👏👏👏👏
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: 2nd or 3rd floor rooms away from the tunnel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Hotel Sol e Mar H Hotel Sol e Mar, General Manager at Hotel Sol e Mar
Responded 14 Jun 2022
First of all we thank you for having spent, again, your holidays at the Hotel Sol e Mar. Your kind words are an incentive for all of us in our daily efforts for improving quality and service. Thank you very much for your special mention to all the staff. They will appreciate it. You can be sure that we have taken good note about your concerns If you are planning to come back to Hotel Sol e Mar, please, do not hesitate to tell us and with a great pleasure we will do all our best to ensure a pleasant stay with us. kind regards
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lauren wrote a review Oct 2021
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Me and my husband were looking forward to trying a new area of Portugal after staying in Portimao in other years. We could not wait to see the hotel and see what they had to offer.

On arrival we were very happy with where the hotel was situated as the location is perfect. However; the hotel lacked the professional approach that we had received in 4* hotels on our previous stays in Portugal. There was no one to greet us at the door to welcome us or to help with our luggage, the girls at the desk were quite unapproachable and not overly helpful or friendly.

We made our way to the room and the hotel had given us a bottle of champagne for our stay which was a nice touch. The views from the hotel are fantastic and the room was very clean and all Covid measures were in place which was important for us.

On arrival we thought we had a pool at the hotel but this was not the case (we should have checked this previously even though it said pool and indoor pool on booking.com we thought we were going to be able to relax at the pool most of the week).

On the first night in the hotel we woke up the next day very un-rested and agitated; the bed was extremely hard and the pillows were terrible (our heads just sunk to the mattress). With this being our honeymoon we were very disappointed with what we had come to. It was also very frustrating that we had to pay an additional £15 per day to stay at the beach.

I phoned our travel agent and discussed that we were not happy. The hotel refused to give us any money back to change our stay (we were staying with them for 9 nights so a few nights of a refund would have been nice). They had told our travel agent that the mattresses were new but I would definitely beg to differ.

They did however offer that we could stay in one of their sister hotels and on looking at these; they also didn't seem that great. We went to one not so far away to use their pool and when entering we swiftly left (there was a terrible smell of weed and we could not even order a drink at the pool bar).

We decided to just make the most of our honeymoon; so in doing so I rang a hotel outside of Albufeira and they were more than happy to have us as customers to use their pool with no extra charge. In comparison the staff in this hotel were fantastic, offered us towels and could not do enough for us. They offered us to look around their rooms and welcomed us and for us this is how customers should be treated on their stays. We were able to get a Bolt/Uber taxi to this hotel for our stay.

In the hotel we also had a number of simple issues when trying to get water and getting towels etc. Everything seemed such a hassle for the staff at reception especially and looked at us as if we were stupid. In previous hotels we had been to; water was provided in the rooms, towels were at reception and things were just simple. We had to go to numerous different places to get water and pay for towels to then go to the beach to lift them etc. Staff on each of these occasions were extremely rude and unhelpful.

To conclude we will never be staying in this branch of hotels again. The staff definitely let the hotel down; however a number of positives include:
1. Covid Measures were great
2. Location
3. Views of the sea and access to the beach
4. The cleaners were very friendly
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Hotel Sol e Mar H Hotel Sol e Mar, General Manager at Hotel Sol e Mar
Responded 25 Oct 2021
We're sorry to hear that the service provided was not to your but we did everything we could to make it work for you. Our staff has always been attributed the maximum rating from our guest's and agencies as you can find through the various reviews. We hope you are very happy at your wedding but life is not always as we hope, We wish you all the best for your life as a couple. Kind regards
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Thepope75 wrote a review Sept 2021
england
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Hotel Sol e Mar

Albufeira

If you value your sleep book another hotel.

812067017

Just got back from Sol E Mar Hotel.
The Hotel states the rooms are soundproofed, but clearly they are not.
I booked for 10 days but had to leave after 8, I tried to move hotels earlier but other hotels were all booked up.
The room doors are banging constantly throughout day and night which stops you sleeping, you can hear everything!!
The hotel reception staff don't care about your complaint probably because there is nothing they can do if the rooms are so bad that you can hear every noise.
The manager is arrogant, clearly out of his depth.
The hotel think jet washing outside your hotel room, at 5:30am is acceptable, when I called the reception to complain they simply turned off the lights for the guy working so no one could see him (brain dead!!) But continued jetwashing.🤦
The food is very basic not 4 star!! As soon as you get up to get another terrible coffee, the waiting staff clear your table, talk about wanting you out the door!
The hotel pool was closed, the staff tried saying it was due to covid but had painting materials inside the pool.

YouTube sol e mar and see staff jet washing at 5:30am / also hotel doors loud banging when closing.

Avoid at all costs!!!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Hotel Sol e Mar H Hotel Sol e Mar, General Manager at Hotel Sol e Mar
Responded 28 Sept 2021
We're sorry to hear that the service provided was not to your liking. Thank you for your comment.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mark S wrote a review Apr 2022
Liverpool, United Kingdom
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We have just returned from a 5 night stay at the Sol E Mar Hotel. The hotel is in a fantastic location with every roo have a sea view. However you should be aware if you have mobility issues that the airport transfer couch could not get dir3ctly outside the reception, the walk is about 5 mins down hill going to the hotel but up hill when returning to the airport. The rooms are lovely and have a fridge, kettle and tea/coffee aswell as a safe. Rooms were very clean but we stayed in rooms 415/416 and although these rooms have great views they are very noisy when the breakfast service starts at 7am till 10.30am so no good if you like a sleep in. I feel the hotel could resolve this issue by putting some felt pads under the table and chair legs in the breakfast restaurant on the floor above. The restaurant on the ground floor is very good with lovely views over the beach and the buffet breakfast was good.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Avoid rooms 410-417 if you don't want to woken up by the breakfast service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Hotel Sol e Mar H Hotel Sol e Mar, General Manager at Hotel Sol e Mar
Responded 25 Apr 2022
We would like to thank you on behalf of all the Hotel Sol e Mar staff for your kind feedback. It is a pleasure for us to know that you have had a perfect and lovely stay in our hotel due to our service. Regarding the transfer, is not hotel fault. All transfers booked through the hotel are collected at the hotel's door. Looking forward to welcome you again for your next visit to Albufeiral!!! Kind regards
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ristiina wrote a review Dec 2023
Helsinki, Finland
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Excellent location near the old town. All rooms have a sea view and they are a good size. Bed was nice and comfy, two 90cm beds put together as a double. Good sized balcony with a nice open view, we stayed on the 3rd floor which was high enough. You have a big beach right in front of the hotel. In our stay in December beach was fairly quiet, but still you hear pretty loud music from the cafe right below the balconies. Music stops thankfully by 5.30 p.m. but I expect this location being quite noisy in the peak season.
Bathrooms have a very good shower, no shortage of hot water and the water pressure is excellent. Rooms are cleaned daily, towels were changed at least 5 times a week. In the room you get a nespresso style coffee maker, but complimentary coffee and tea bags are provided only on the day of arrival. In any case, I would prefer ordinary kettle as I like my hot drinks proper hot!

Breakfast was ok and plentiful, but if you like hot food - not too great selection: same dry cold sausages every morning, bad "sloppy" scrambled eggs..beans, mostly cold as well. I personally liked best fresh bread, yoghurts and fruit selection. Coffee was ok from a machine, also nespresso machine was available.

Big disappointment was the swimming pool, which was located on the ground floor and access in there was through the cafe from the outside of the building! Didn´t use the pool at all, it was so odd place...and small with just couple of plastic chairs around it for you to place your belongings. This wasn´t what we expected at all as we booked this hotel partly because of a indoor pool, it being December and too cold to swim in the sea (for us anyway). As it was a rainy and cool week, walking around town kept us then busy and warm enough.

Staff in the reception and chambermaids were brilliant. Probably wouldn´t stay in this hotel again, though. We like to hire a car and in front of this hotel there isn´t much of a chance for parking. Public transport you don´t get near this hotel, so taxi is almost the only option for getting outside the old town.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Sol e Mar Hotel, General Manager at Hotel Sol e Mar
Responded 17 Dec 2023
We'd like to thank you on behalf of all the Hotel Sol e Mar staff for your kind feedback. Thank you very much for your special mention to all the staff. They will appreciate it. We will check and take your comments into consideration aiming to improve the quality of our services. Looking forward to welcome you again for your next visit to Albufeiral!!! Kind regards
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
carole wrote a review Oct 2022
3.0 of 5 bubbles
So, this was our first time in Portugal. We chose this hotel as it was on the beach and in the old town. We knew there was no outdoor pool but didn’t
reckon on the sunbeds costing 15 euros a day! (2 beds). So we bought an umbrella to take to the beach so we could sit anywhere we wanted. In honesty I missed having an outside pool.

We were on the first floor, the first 2 nights we were kept awake until 2am and beyond by people gathering outside under our balcony. Seemed to be a meeting place for youngsters. Reported to reception, who said dial 9 for reception if it happens again and they would send their security guard to sort out. I imagine this has happened before!. It would have been good to have a manual of sorts in the room that tells you what to do in the event of/things to do…….like you normally get in most hotels.

Breakfast, very basic, the same every day and the evening meal very basic too for a 4* hotel, expected a bit more variety and quality. Food was only warm and not hot. Desserts were almost the same every day and again not much variety. One night there was Jelly cubes placed in a glass as a choice of dessert!!
Waitress's lovely and couldn't do enough for you. Also there was no jug of water given with your meal, you had to pay for any drink you had.

Room - was clean, cleaners came round at different times (very friendly) so you never knew if your room had been cleaned on your return. Room had a fridge but wasn’t cold enough. Room had a safe which was free to use.

There was music on each evening in the main bar (which was shut during the day) which was very loud and seemed to be much the same every night.

If you want an early night, then this is not the hotel for you. The room doors close shut very loudly, so will wake you if this happens in the early hours! The patio doors did not stop the noise outside, only if you turned the air con on full at the same time!

The 'Tuk Tuk' ride was brilliant with Ricardo being great, friendly and very informative, visited a couple of beautiful out-the-way beaches. Well worth going on.

Take your own teabags, we forgot, so bought some from the local Spar shop, over 4 Euros for small box.

Overall I would not return to this hotel, but Portugal is very beautiful, so would choose another hotel next time
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Do not stay on the first floor, it's very noisy from the underneath bar/restaurants
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Sol e Mar Hotel, General Manager at Hotel Sol e Mar
Responded 6 Oct 2022
We'd like to thank you on behalf of all the Hotel Sol e Mar staff for your feedback. We're sorry to hear that the service provided was not to your liking. Kind regards
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
SextonsCork wrote a review Sept 2021
County Cork, Ireland
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Was so pleasantly surprised and delighted with this hotel. We normally stay in Vilamoura and our past few stays have been in the Marina hotel Vilamoura .
This time we were travelling with our sons 21 and 19 and only had 4 nights so decided to go to Albuferia. So happy with our choice. This hotel is perfect. Front door is about 6/7 mins from old town centre which was buzzing and I mean buzzing but lots of quieter streets off it with lovely quiet restaurants / bars. When you come out the back door you come directly onto the most beautiful beach with plenty of sun beds . Hotel beach bar is just there as well.
We dealt with Louisa directly over the phone and she was so lovely and so efficient . Had email confirmation in a few minutes and it was the smoothest hotel confirmation I ever had and I work in travel industry myself .

We did have one negative which did not interfere in anyway with our holiday but did annoy me as I felt it let the hotel down overall and it shouldn’t. The beach hut where you collect your towels after you get your vouchers in reception first , which we weren’t told about but then again we should have asked. The older gentleman on duty was so cross and unfriendly and just very rude . We were party of 4 but I was first to arrive on first morning and wanted to sort out the towels and sun beds . It was a very stressful operation with me obviously being in the wrong as I waited 20
Mins at the hut and then just followed another guys example and left room number / took towels / took sun beds and watched for someone to come back to hut. It wasn’t pleasant exchange when the older man met me. He was really angry even as I showed him my room key and explained I was hotel resident. Same again following day. Day 3 there was a much younger guy on duty and I thought great this will be a dream. He was equally as rude so I just got the 2 beds / 2 towels first as I knew if I mentioned 2 extra beds at that stage I was in big trouble ..later on I went back to get the extra 2 beds and towels and again he just barks room number ? I did say this is my second time here this morning and you have only said 4 words on the 2 occasions. His reply was I’m sick !!
Not a major big deal but such a simple issue as I said earlier it didnt retract from a fabulous stay but when everything else was perfect it made no sense. ( maybe these staff don’t work for hotel ??)

All in all it we had a fantastic holiday mainly because hotel was in amazing location and it’s a lovely hotel .
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Hotel Sol e Mar H Hotel Sol e Mar, General Manager at Hotel Sol e Mar
Responded 28 Sept 2021
Thank you very much for your nice feedback and for publishing such as motivating words on TripAdvisor!!. I have shared your amazing comments to all the team who will take great pride in the level of service that they provide to our guests. Your kind words are an incentive for all of us in our daily efforts for improving quality and service. You can be sure that we have taken good note about your concerns about the beach and we apologize but the people who work on the beach are not direct employees of the hotel. We will be delighted to welcome you back and do our best to make your stay a very pleasant stay! Looking forward to welcome you again soon, We remain at your complete disposal. kind regards,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Krissy24_11 wrote a review Sept 2023
Liverpool, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel is in an excellent location in the centre of Albufeira right on the beach, the views from every room is stunning as all over look the beach. The rooms are spacious and have great storage space, we didn't spend much time in the bar but when we did there was little going on and no atmosphere. The buffet breakfast gave a wide choice and also a good time range 7-10.30am, thanks to Eduardo for his cheerful greetings each morning and his help with the coffee machine.
The only negative is if you happen to be in room 412-417 be prepared to be woken by the sound of chairs scraping loudly above you as the breakfast is served right above these rooms and this sound is constant for three and a half hours. I suggested that the hotel apply the pads to the feet of the chairs and tables as it is quite intrusive into the rooms if you are a light sleeper.
The indoor pool has to be booked per room for half an hour, the sun loungers on the beach are associated with the hotel and are €20 a day no matter how long you use them for no concessionsfor hotel guests, towels can be hired from the hotel this is explained on arrival. Would stay again but not in 412-417 too noisy at breakfast fix that problem and a perfect stay.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: There are no parking facilities and the roads are very narrow and difficult to negotiate around...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Sol e Mar Hotel, General Manager at Hotel Sol e Mar
Responded 15 Sept 2023
Thank you very much for your nice feedback and for publishing such as motivating words on TripAdvisor!!. I have shared your amazing comments to all the team who will take great pride in the level of service that they provide to our guests. We will check and take your comments into consideration aiming to improve the quality of our services. If you are planning to come back to Hotel Sol e Mar, please, do not hesitate to tell us and with a great pleasure we will do all our best to ensure a pleasant stay with us. kind regards
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from valueformoney2014
London, United Kingdom21 contributions6 helpful votes
600 mtrs away from the centre of the beach free car park we used it for for 8 days no problem uphill but then this is an old town you can unload baggage out side hotel
Answer from algarveaddict2015
East Anglia, United Kingdom20,834 contributions224 helpful votes
Sunbeds start to appear on the beach, when there’s sufficient customers to make money, so a bit dependent on the weather. Possibly around Easter if the weather is good, could be May, if not.
Albufeira, Portugal1 contribution1 helpful vote
Yes you still can smoke on the balcony, there is a coffe machine.
Albufeira, Portugal1 contribution1 helpful vote
We just have a small indorpool no area for sunbathing with sun beds
Devon wrote a tip 13 Jul
21 contributions23 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Very hilly area"
Read full review
Ann S wrote a tip 2 Jul
Isle of Man, United Kingdom7 contributions1 helpful vote
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Next to the beach - inside pool but did not use it "
Read full review
Mandy W wrote a tip May 2024
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Overpriced Service non existent Food Awful Staff and management do not care Toiletries Coffee and water are one per stay "
Read full review
Alluska P wrote a tip May 2024
Ottawa, Canada1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Great location, very clean hotel, really nice, kind reception managers and staff. It is close to everything. Right on the water!"
Read full review
Mónica N wrote a tip Apr 2024
11 contributions1 helpful vote
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Be aware of lack of parking!! "
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Albufeira area.
PRICE RANGE
€185 - €345 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
sol e mar hotel, hotel sol e mar albufeira
LOCATION
PortugalAlgarveFaro DistrictAlbufeira
NUMBER OF ROOMS
68
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HOTEL SOL E MAR - UPDATED 2024 Reviews & Price Comparison (Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Sol e Mar
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Sol e Mar?
Nearby attractions include Sherry's Irish Bar (0.3 km), Sal Rosa (0.06 km), and Pau da Bandeira Viewpoint (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Sol e Mar?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel Sol e Mar?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Sol e Mar?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Sol e Mar?
Yes, free public parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Sol e Mar?
Conveniently located restaurants include Indian Ocean, Spice Lounge, and Jaipur.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hotel Sol e Mar?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool during their stay.
Does Hotel Sol e Mar have airport transportation?
Yes, Hotel Sol e Mar offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Hotel Sol e Mar located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.3 km away from the centre of Albufeira.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hotel Sol e Mar?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel Sol e Mar?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, German, and Portuguese.
All Albufeira HotelsAlbufeira Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in AlbufeiraHotels near Hotel Sol e Mar
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire