We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Pousada de Beja, Sao Francisco

Show Prices
#1 of 9 Hotels in Beja
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Pousada de Beja, Sao Francisco
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

324 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 142: English reviews
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

What more can you say about staying in a convent turned military base turned hotel. It is massive with cute cozy rooms but with large bathrooms you can't go wrong. The staff are so professional and friendly. I feel like a celebrity.

Helpful?
Thank Jennifer A
Manager_Beja, Gerente at Pousada de Beja, Sao Francisco, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Jennifer, Thank you so much for your comments about Pousada Convento de Beja. We were pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, namely our location, and staff friendly. Is very important for all team, know that we have reached the client expectation, I am certain that this will serve us as a source of inspiration... More 

Martley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This pousada is located in a former convent near the centre of the City of Beja. This is probably the most beautiful building in the City, and the gardens, cloister, guest rooms and public spaces are of a very high standard. There is free and secure parking. The restaurant serves excellent food characteristic of the Alentejo Region. Most important of... More 

Helpful?
Thank stuartcumella2016
Manager_Beja, Gerente at Pousada de Beja, Sao Francisco, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you very much for your helpful review. Our goal is always to have the highest quality, and your feedback help us to improve our services in future. However, we were pleasure to hear that you enjoyed our location, decoration and restaurant services. We really expect to receive you again at Pousada de Beja in your next visit... More 

west yorkshire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2016

A beutiful place with pleasant gardens & Pool good service a good restaurant serving a very good selection of hot & cold food at breakfast. The evening meal was also buffet, Soup was OK the cold food excellent & hot food good & very adequate quantity the desert's were interesting too. The room was spacious but a little dark owing... More 

Helpful?
Thank ovalball13
Manager_Beja, Gerente at Pousada de Beja, Sao Francisco, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you very much for your helpful review. Our goal is always to have the highest quality, and your feedback help us to improve our services in future. However, we were pleasure to hear that you enjoyed our location, decoration and rooms. We really expect to receive you again at Pousada de Beja in your next visit to... More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2016 via mobile

The pousada is a former monastery beautifully restored. The reception rooms and corridors are atmospheric. Our bedroom was good and so quiet. Very different from normal town centre hotels. Food was a little disappointing although this may be due to mid week out of season.

Helpful?
Thank Andrew C
Manager_Beja, Gerente at Pousada de Beja, Sao Francisco, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Andrew, Thank you very much for your helpful review. Our goal is always to have the highest quality, and your feedback help us to improve our services in future. However, we were pleasure to hear that you enjoyed our location, decoration and rooms. We really expect to receive you again at Pousada de Beja in your next visit... More 

Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 October 2016 via mobile

This is a lovely and unusual place, and the perfect base to explore Beja. It has a stunning interior, with vast, high ceilings and a huge entrance hall that make for an unforgettable first impression. The building has been carefully and stylishly restored, and the rooms, although a bit dark, are very comfortable. There's a lovely outdoor pool in the... More 

Helpful?
Thank sarabdavies
Manager_Beja, Gerente at Pousada de Beja, Sao Francisco, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your helpful review. Our goal is always to have the highest quality, and your feedback help us to improve our services in future. We really expect to receive you again at Pousada de Beja in your next visit to Alentejo, Portugal. Best regards Marco Madaleno | Unit Supervisor More 

Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
381 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2016

This converted convent right in the heart of Beja far exceeded our expectations (our third Pousada-Parador of the trip). Check-in was easy and because we were early, we were given a map to go explore. Beja is a great place with lots of history but wandering around this pousada, we felt the same. How many hotels have their own chapel?... More 

Helpful?
Thank DavidTAC
Manager_Beja, Gerente at Pousada de Beja, Sao Francisco, responded to this review

Dear Mr. David, Thank you very much for your helpful review. Our goal is always to have the highest quality, and your feedback help us to improve our services in future. However, we were pleasure to hear that you enjoyed our location, decoration and rooms. We really expect to receive you again at Pousada de Beja in your next visit... More 

Diss, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2016

Superb restaurant, great food & staff. Nice room, bathroom a tad tired. Lovely gardens and pool with bar service. If we stay again, we will ask for garden view bedroom. Hallways and relaxing areas are very interesting. Reception staff very helpful and friendly. Pousada in a good location for sight seeing. Would stay longer next time

Helpful?
Thank Robert J
Manager_Beja, Gerente at Pousada de Beja, Sao Francisco, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Robert, Thank you very much for your helpful review. Our goal is always to have the highest quality, and your feedback help us to improve our services in future. However, we were pleasure to hear that you enjoyed our location, decoration and rooms. We really expect to receive you again at Pousada de Beja in your next visit... More 

The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2016

Nice Pousada, very nich staff. It is a big building and we had to walk severall extra miles to find everything. There was a very big wedding and some parts of the hotel were closed. But everyone was very nice and helpfull, although they could have warned us about closed exits to the Parking. Diner was nice, great dining hall,... More 

Helpful?
Thank MariaBeKend
Manager_Beja, Gerente at Pousada de Beja, Sao Francisco, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Maria, Thank you very much for your helpful review. Our goal is always to have the highest quality, and your feedback help us to improve our services in future. However, we were pleasure to hear that you enjoyed our location, decoration and rooms. We really expect to receive you again at Pousada de Beja in your next visit... More 

Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights and were given a warm welcome by the receptionist who spoke excellent English and showed us to our room. The room was comfortably furnished but I would not rate it as a five star hotel. We ate in the restaurant on our first night but we were disappointed by the standard of the food.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mary A
Manager_Beja, Gerente at Pousada de Beja, Sao Francisco, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Mary, Thank you very much for your helpful review. Our goal is always to have the highest quality, and your feedback help us to improve our services in future. We really expect to receive you again at Pousada de Beja in your next visit to Alentejo, Portugal. Best regards Marco Madaleno | Unit Supervisor More 

Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2016

having travelled down from Porto and seeing the 31.5 C on the dashboard of the car it was great to find the room was spacious with good aircon and very clean. The swimming pool was again great in the temp with a bar facility close by and little noise. The breakfast was extensive and very good quality, a great place... More 

Helpful?
Thank philleeds2015
Manager_Beja, Gerente at Pousada de Beja, Sao Francisco, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you very much for your helpful review. Our goal is always to have the highest quality, and your feedback help us to improve our services in future. However, we were pleasure to hear that you enjoyed our location, decoration, rooms and us breakfast service. We really expect to receive you again at Pousada de Beja in your... More 

294 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (225)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (14)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (45)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (13)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (117)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (69)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Other (25)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beja
19.8 km away
Vila Gale Clube de Campo
1.5 km away
BejaParque Hotel
BejaParque Hotel
#4 of 9 in Beja
99 reviews
0.3 km away
Residencial Bejense
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Hotel Melius
Hotel Melius
#8 of 9 in Beja
50 reviews
29.5 km away
Pousada Castelo Alvito
49.4 km away
Hotel Sao Domingos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Pousada de Beja, Sao Francisco, is a hotel right in the centre of the city, in an old XIII century convent, the result of which is a majestic, impressionable architectural work, which represents religious and gothic architecture. The first registers of the convent date back to 10th November 1268, a date which marks the emergence of the S. Francisco Community in Beja under the initiative of the Captain General Lopo Esteves and the Councillors Diogo Fernandes and Vasco Martins. Opened in 1994, this historic luxury hotel in Beja has kept the original features of the old building, containing many spacious areas, high ceilings with predominating white walls and decor of local crafts and antiques, giving it a warm welcoming to visitors of the Pousada. In the old central nave, contemporary art expositions give life to the walls. The hallways, ample and stripped, connect the old monks' chambers which have been remodelled and transformed into welcoming bedrooms with an inviting view of the pool and garden. Nserted in the heart of Alentejo, the Pousada can help their guests plan a number of diverse activities including bicycle rides, horse treks and hikes. The Beja Castle is only 700 metres from the Pousada de Beja and the Queen Dona Leonor Museum is found a mere 300 metres away. The Pousada de Beja is a true oasis in the Alentejo plain. Come and relive these old memories, with almost 800 years of history, in a real haven in the Alentejo plain. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Pousada de Beja, Sao Francisco

Address: Largo Dom Nuno Alvares Pereira, Beringel 7800-018, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Alentejo > Beja District > Beringel > Beja
Price Range: €69 - €139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pousada de Beja, Sao Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Pousada de Beja, Sao Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada De Hotel Beja
Pousada De Beja, Sao Francisco Portugal
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Pousada de Beja, Sao Francisco staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms overlooking the garden.”
 of 5 bubbles stuartcumella2016, 10 Nov 2016 | Read review
“our room overlooked the garden and pool area but has the opening times were controlled no issues with parties disturbing the tranquility”
 of 5 bubbles philleeds2015, 3 Oct 2016 | Read review
“All rooms on upper floors probably at the back best”
 of 5 bubbles terrym795, 24 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Rooms of the higher booking class are very big”
 of 5 bubbles Bjoern_from_Faido, 20 Aug 2016 | Read review
“I would think all the rooms are good Beja is quiet and there are no particular noises or poor views”
 of 5 bubbles Riccch, 9 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay