We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Angkhang Nature Resort

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Angkhang Nature Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

116 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 68: English reviews
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

Booked online last minute and it was ok We arrived at the end of the day and the staff was friendly and helpfull. We could chose from a couple of rooms and we took the one near the street. The room was clean and spacious. We went later to the Thai/Myanmar border and met the mountain people. Later we went... More 

Helpful?
Thank Roland S
1 review
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The rooms are clean and ok for the price. The landscape around the rooms look amazing and you truely are in nature. It has everything you need for a good stay including electric blankets to keep you warm but there's 1 MAJOR problem... you can hear every tiny thing between the walls. We were unfortunate to have a full family... More 

Helpful?
Thank davidlO9127OM
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Yes it is dated, but for the money, it is clean and conveniently located to the Royal Project. Only a one night stay as part of a bird watching trip so my expectations weren't expecting a luxury resort. The staff seemed out of their depth and maybe their lack of English and my ignorance of Thai didn't help. It took... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lloyd055
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I expected more from this resort for the premium price I paid and given everything I know about it; the history, the tie to the Royal project and etc... It seems that this resort was once upon a time top notch but from my visit it's no longer that. The location is prime as it's within a walking distance to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Unplugged_Vacationer
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2016 via mobile

As the title suggests, the restaurant was horrid. I ordered two tenderloins, one medium, one well done. So obviously you know that I'm talking about beef. Then another guy comes and asks me if I ordered pork. I repeated my beef order. Third time, asked again. I repeated my order! Staff were very unprofessional in the restaurant. Great food, however.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Aiyaphol K
Natthapas, General Manager at Angkhang Nature Resort, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind comment to us and we do apology to you what was inconvenient to team and service during you stayed with us. We do to improve it what you have mentioned and do it all the best for you and all and we hope you be back to revisit the Angkhang in the near... More 

Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2016 via mobile

Spent two nights and love the tranquility, flora and fauna. Rooms are clean and well equipped with wifi and electric blanket. We had the best northern thai food at the resort restaurant. Honest but amazing local food featuring fresh produce that lets you savour the true taste of real food. Not much activities except to drive around Doi Ang Khang... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jacklyn N
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
63 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2016

All the windows did open and the room did not need an airco since u in the mountains it gets cool at night, the antimusquito smell was bearable for the open windows too. Not many amenities but the complimentary MTB kept me pedaling around. I loved the restaurant but made a mistake to order a wine. Cheaper options nearby but... More 

Helpful?
Thank Thoenes
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2016 via mobile

Chose to stay here as part of a birdwatching holiday as it was the best on offer in the area. The Royal Project is very close at hand, and that is just wonderful. The whole area up here is brilliant with all the birds, flowers and scenery. The Angkhang is rather dated. A steep climb up to the rooms, but... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lucylocket24
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 12 February 2016 via mobile

Very good hotel in a middle of natural. If u need to rest and make yourself slow life please! Stay here. We go this hotel almost every year to enjoy with super cold weather. This year 5°c In the room have hot bed and super hot water So! No problem if u want to sleep or Shower. The hotel near... More 

Helpful?
Thank Chalearmpon T
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2016

I and my family spent this report for one night. This place is very close to the Royal project and nigh market. The room has an electronic blanket for a very cold night and surely no air-condition in room. The bad thing is the poor wifi signal.

Helpful?
Thank OPle23
Natthapas, General Manager at Angkhang Nature Resort, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind comment which we do to improve WIFI signal and look forward to welcoming you and your family to revisit the Angkhang. More 

165 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (137)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (31)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (68)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fang City
0.0 km away
Khunyuw Hotel
Khunyuw Hotel
#2 of 3 in Fang City
3 reviews
0.0 km away
Kasarin Court
Kasarin Court
#3 of 3 in Fang City
9 reviews
0.0 km away
Phumanee Home Hotel
Phumanee Home Hotel
#3 of 8 in Fang City
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Viengkaew Resort
Viengkaew Resort
#1 of 8 in Fang City
13 reviews
36.6 km away
Thaton Hill Resort
Thaton Hill Resort
#2 of 2 in Mae Ai
15 reviews
37.7 km away
Khun Mai Baan Suan Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nestled in the midst of a picturesque mountainous countryside in cool climate, Angkhang Nature Resort offers relaxed comfort, for a perfect getaway or honeymoon.This resort has well-equipped guest rooms and suites, with mountain or garden views. The Camellia Restaurant provides great dining options, with delicious Thai and international cuisine. There is also a range of activities to enjoy, such as mountain-biking, hiking, mule-riding and bird-watching.Developed as part of the Royal Angkhang Research Station, under the Royal Project Foundation, Angkhang Nature Resort is situated at a comfortable and scenic three-hour drive from Chiang Mai city centre. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Angkhang Nature Resort

Address: 1/1 Moo 5 Baan Koom | Mae Ngon Subdistrict, Fang City 50320, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Fang City
Price Range: €49 - €133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Angkhang Nature Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Angkhang Nature Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angkhang Nature Hotel Chiang Mai
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Angkhang Nature Resort staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Angkhang Nature Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Choose the rooms at the corner”
 of 5 bubbles Sauter, 23 Nov 2015 | Read review
“Rooms require walking and stair climbing so be prepared.”
 of 5 bubbles to591, 22 Jun 2015 | Read review
“Request a room away from the road to avoid the noise of laboring vehicles early in the mornings.”
  • Early May Flowers
  • Room View
 of 5 bubbles CMBANA, 15 May 2015 | Read review
“Most rooms have steep steps. Ask for one near reception as some can be a long way from there. Beware those near the noisy road.”
  • Steps to bathroom
  • Bathroom
  • Room in a nice location
  • Large airy room
  • Main bedroom
 of 5 bubbles TonyB218, 2 May 2015 | Read review
“Its a big resort; after checking in they will pick you up and drive you with their vehicle to your room. If plan to be in room during day, take rooms on top for better view.”
 of 5 bubbles AlexL573, 22 Feb 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay