We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

New Hotel Charlemagne

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
New Hotel Charlemagne
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

300 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for New Hotel Charlemagne
See the most recent reviews
Showing 147: English reviews
Province of Barcelona, Spain
Reviewed 28 October 2015 via mobile

I just arrived the hotel and can't wait till I leave to express how nice it is to be here. I recommend this hotel to anyone whether here for business or pleasure. The reception was nice even though I arrived earlier than scheduled, my luggage was kept in a safe place while I did a quick tour of the city.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anthony O
Hans_Rientjes, Gérant at New Hotel Charlemagne, responded to this review

We thank you for your comment and we are really happy to read that you appreciated your stay at the Newhotel Charlemagne. We hope to see you soon.

Reviewed 15 October 2015 via mobile

I've been here for 3 days during a business conference. I do recommend it for its proximity to most of the European buildings. Notwithstanding its 4 stars, I find that rooms are ok, but toilets are ugly: old, not very stylish, and with a "not-very-hot" hot water in the shower. Due to the cold weather, I do think it is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paolo N
Hans_Rientjes, Gérant at New Hotel Charlemagne, responded to this review

Thank you for your comment. We take into account your remarks. We hope to see you soon for your next trip in Brussels.

Rome, Italy
Reviewed 8 October 2015

Terrible hotel with very high price tag - paid almost 300 euro for one night without breakfast and hot shower did not work. Only advantage is the vicinity to EC buildings for work. Reception person not particular welcoming or helpful. Try to stay somewhere else for 1/3 of the price even if it requires to go 2 metro stations away...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank OdysseusSi
Hans_Rientjes, Director at New Hotel Charlemagne, responded to this review

Dear, During congress periods hotel room in Brussels are far more higher than in a regular period. Our sales-policy is based on the period. In regular periods the rates are really lower than the rate you had to pay. About the warm water difficulty, indeed we had a failure in the warm water supply. I regret that this happend. Best...

Reviewed 5 October 2015

On the positive side, the front desk clerk was very friendly upon arrival. Other than that it was a bad stay. Hot water doesn't last long enough for one shower. The air conditioner didn't work and it got hot a couple of times. The biggest problem was the cleaning staff coming in when we left the "do not disturb" sign...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Clayton B
Hans_Rientjes, Director at New Hotel Charlemagne, responded to this review

Dear, I have read your comment with great interest. I can understand that you were not satisfied about our hotel. In the first week of October some technical problems occured. Today these problems are solved. I really feel sorry about what happend. The staff is trained not to disturb clients or to go inside rooms specially when the client is...

Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 October 2015

Just returned from a very nice 3 night stay at this lovely hotel. It is ideally located near to the main EU buildings, and only a 5-10 minute Metro ride from the city centre. Schuman Metro station is only a 2 minute walk from the hotel. The room itself was spacious and clean, and the staff were very friendly and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lucacsp
Hans_Rientjes, Director at New Hotel Charlemagne, responded to this review

Thank you for your fantastic comment Lucacsp. We are really happy to read that your stay was great among us. We hope to see you soon for your next travel in Brussels. Best regards.

Brussels, Belgium
Reviewed 5 October 2015

I had booked two rooms for our interpreters via the website. That went fine and e-mail response when requesting a confirmation was also very quick. But once they had checked in, the trouble began. I wasn't aware I hadn't booked a breakfast. The interpreter asked me to notify the front desk, which I did in person, but that wasn't good...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank christina_b_business
Hans_Rientjes, Director at New Hotel Charlemagne, responded to this review

Dear, I regret the misunderstandings between the hotel, the person who made the reservation and the clients who came in to stay in our hotel. In our confirmation forms we always are mentioning all the details including breakfast and also including the city tax from the city of Brussels. When in the reservation demand is not mentioned that breakfast and...

Reviewed 8 September 2015

The room had a large depression in the floor under the carpet like the cement was crumbled away or something. The fire alarm went off at 11 PM and no one was in charge or directing people as to the status. The room was extremely dated and the tub wouldn't drain. The shower curtain wouldn't go past the 'side' faucet...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tom S
Hans_Rientjes, Director at New Hotel Charlemagne, responded to this review

Dear, I feel really sorry for you that your visit to the hotel did not meet your expectations. Normally the surrounding of the hotel is calm. Unfortunately during you visit to Brussels there where demonstrations near the headquarters of the EU. Indeed our garage is limited in his size. We can park 8 cars in our covered underground private parking...

Vienna, Austria
Reviewed 5 September 2015 via mobile

Nice hotel in the EU quoter. Free wifi and breakfast is great (standard continental breakfast). The rooms are spacious and clean. There is also a nespresso machine kn every room but they want to charge 2.5 EUR per coffee, so bringing you own nespresso cups pays off. It is worked to say that kn the afternoon works an employee from...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Senad975
Hans_Rientjes, Director at New Hotel Charlemagne, responded to this review

Your comment is our reward. We are really happy to read that you appreciated your stay among us. We hope to see you soon in Brussels.

Uxbridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 August 2015 via mobile

A pleasant modern clean hotel, free wifi, good location. Very close to restaurants and the EU commission. Has local shops around the corner. A new metro is nearby We had good service from staff Parking is limited - you may struggle But it's free on weekends outside

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Aman K
Hans_Rientjes, Director at New Hotel Charlemagne, responded to this review

Dear Aman, thank you for your comment. We hope to see you soon. Best regards.

Castellon de la Plana, Spain
Reviewed 23 August 2015 via mobile

We had a great stay in this hotel, the staff were very attentive and the room was comfortable. The general cleanliness is good, however we were let down in the bathroom. The bath did not drain properly meaning that water would flow into the sink, also when in the bath some unsightly things would appear from the drain, not very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kirklbts
Hans_Rientjes, Director at New Hotel Charlemagne, responded to this review

Thank you for your comment. We apologize for problem you encountered during your stay. We take note to improve them. We hope to see you soon in Brussels.

76 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (59)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brussels hotels
0.1 km away
First Euroflat Hotel
First Euroflat Hotel
#115 of 200 in Brussels
310 reviews
0.0 km away
Hotel Silken Berlaymont Brussels
0.1 km away
Martin's Brussels EU
Martin's Brussels EU
#51 of 200 in Brussels
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Chelton Hotel
Chelton Hotel
#76 of 200 in Brussels
368 reviews
0.5 km away
Holiday Inn Brussels Schuman
Holiday Inn Brussels Schuman
#82 of 200 in Brussels
445 reviews
0.5 km away
Thon Hotel EU
Thon Hotel EU
#12 of 200 in Brussels
1,297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about New Hotel Charlemagne

Address: Boulevard Charlemagne 25-27 | Brussels, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Brussels
Price Range: €56 - €173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — New Hotel Charlemagne 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Fastbooking, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your New Hotel Charlemagne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Hotel Brussels
Hotel Style:
#59 Luxury Hotel in Brussels
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from New Hotel Charlemagne staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from New Hotel Charlemagne staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Top floor are quieter”
 of 5 bubbles Sarpa74, 5 Oct 2016 | Read review
“I would suggest contacting the hotel before booking if you are travelling with pets. Not really a problem though if they don't see the pet!”
 of 5 bubbles 271MarkW, 3 May 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room at the back”
 of 5 bubbles Walter_Oostelbos, 1 May 2016 | Read review
“Fifth floor rocks.”
 of 5 bubbles decommman, 15 Dec 2015 | Read review
“Choose another hotel.....”
 of 5 bubbles tomsP2885IU, 8 Sep 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay