We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,726 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,243: English reviews
Start your review of Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam
 Click to rate
Groningen, The Netherlands
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

Key words for this hotel are: clean, renovated, modern and a nice feeling to it. The room we had was large enough for two persons, although we did have two separate beds where we opted for one kingsize. Apart from that the beds were ok. There is a minibar as expected and a small oldish tv. Didn't use the wifi....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KevinDamman
hampshire
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

Nephews 30th birthday group of us including mum and Aunty (moi ta da) All went to surprise him. He was Very surprised putting it mildly. Cold and wet weather didn't stop us enjoying the delights of Amsterdam. Beer bike tour ride around the city Red light district Museums Restaurants "Cafes" Bars And our hotel great location for everything. No lift...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank holidayaddict5862
Lawrenceville, Georgia
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

It is outdated with gray scale kind of depressing colors. Rooms and bathrooms are small and can hear some hallway and room noises. But you are in historic Amsterdam, what do you expect if you want to be able to step out the doorway and have the beauty of walking the canals and historic Amsterdam. This hotel was the designate...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nancy D
Western Ireland, Ireland
Reviewed 1 week ago

Whilst in a good location, just off Rembrandt Square in the centre of Amsterdam, this hotel has seen better days and would benefit from some investment. The room was adequate. The walls were 'scuffed' and in need of a paint job. There was a blanket on the end of the bed (blankets should be banished from hotel rooms) with a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lainer168
New York City, New York
Reviewed 1 week ago

Good: Location, location, location. Right on RembrandtPlein. So, there's plenty of restaurants. Coffee shops, tram stops and people all time of the day and night. Bad: The staff are rude and not helpful, rooms are extremely small even by Amsterdam standards and the wifi extremely slow.Room are extremely small, but that is a typical Amsterdam issue.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ahmed061986
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My girlfriend and I were unable to receive a double bed room on either of the nights of the trip, I had checked again on the second morning and was told no. So on a romantic getaway we had two single beds. The towels were that of a low brow hotel and the room key stopped working. The online offer...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SClelland5
P S, Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. It is only through guest comments such as yours that we can constantly improve our service. I am sorry we did need meet your expectations and I apologise for not giving you the attention you deserve as a guest. Your comments will serve...

Reddish, null, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Well we stayed here for 3 nights and it was £420 which we thought was so dear Good location We arrived and our very small room Smelt of paint, my friend could not breathe properly so she complained and we got another room which was better and bigger We went out round square for drinks and clubs We came back...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gemma S
P S, Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear Guest, First of all thank you for taking the time to write this review. Although our location was very convenient for you I am are very sorry to see that we did not meet up with your expectations. I hope that the room you switcht to was convenient for you, our apologies for the smell of paint in the...

London
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This place is not flash but it had all the bases covered: Good staff Reliable wifi (not that quick but easy to set up and stable) Clean Good nights sleep It's location is very good however and is walking distance from most things that you might look for on a work trip to the city - good bars for a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank coops9999
haifa
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

was staying in the hotel for 2 nights in February, the receptionist was really nice. got a room facing the street, which was ok. room was average size, you had everything you need. TV didnt work at the room, was thinking if i should call someone, but decided not to as i had my computer. wifi was excellent. the room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bdelad
Bingley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Great central location, right in the centre of Amsterdam but the hotel itself is a letdown. The rooms were quite small and shabby, the bathroom was tiny and a bit mouldy, we travelled as a group of 20+ people for a business meeting in Amsterdam and over half of us had to change our room. Mostly because of the size...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 3Lions66
P S, Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review, and for sharing your experience with us. It is only through guest comments such as yours that will help us to improve our hotel and service. I am sorry that we did not meet up with your expectations. Kind regards, The Management

498 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (482)
Viewed
Room/Suite (137)
Viewed
Bathroom (67)
Viewed
View from Room (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (75)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
0:59
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (178)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Amsterdam Caransa
NH Amsterdam Caransa
#105 of 362 in Amsterdam
898 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Amsterdam Schiller
NH Amsterdam Schiller
#151 of 362 in Amsterdam
1,441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Albus
The Albus
#64 of 362 in Amsterdam
1,820 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Royal Amsterdam Hotel-Restaurant
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Carlton Amsterdam
NH Carlton Amsterdam
#238 of 362 in Amsterdam
2,271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)

Neighbourhood Profile
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
This UNESCO World Heritage Site is as historically significant as it is perennially popular. Whether you’re a history buff, architecture enthusiast, shutterbug, or fashionista, odds are you’ll find the Amsterdam you're looking for while roaming around the Grachtengordel (Canal Ring). A brilliant place to get lost in a moody meander and a key component to any sightseeing trip to Amsterdam, this area's major draws include the Anne Frank House, the Bloemenmarkt floating flower market, an enviable assortment of independent boutiques along De Negen Straatjes, and of course all of Grachtengordel’s lovely canals and bridges.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Are you ready for Amsterdam? At Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square on the famous Rembrandtplein, everything Amsterdam has to offer is on your doorstep. The ideal starting point for a day visiting museums (Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh Museum and the Hermitage), wandering over Waterlooplein, cycling through the seventeenth century city centre, sailing through the canals, sitting at one of the pavement cafes on Rembrandtplein and visiting trendy local bars and clubs. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam

Address: Amstelstraat 17, 1017 DA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Price Range: €149 - €320 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 166
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eden Rembrandt Square Amsterdam
Hotel Eden Rembrandt Square
Eden Rembrandt Hotel Amsterdam
Eden Rembrandt Square Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel Style:
#92 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam staff and other travellers.
26 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (26)

Questions? Get answers from Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“My room looked into a dark courtyard of buildings which was my view from the desk. There are rooms over the canal but I did not see them.”
 of 5 bubbles 227nancyd227, 22 Mar 2017 | Read review
“0176 is a big rom but cold”
 of 5 bubbles JuliobravoLuna, 12 Jan 2017 | Read review
“don't expect a double bed & coffee were like world war rations ”
 of 5 bubbles 448libbyc, 9 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Master suite”
 of 5 bubbles , 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
“ask for a quieter room”
 of 5 bubbles ferrosario66, 3 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5