MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam West City
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam West City

Vista exterior del Hotel
Traveller (755)
MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West Double Room
Room & Suite (305)
Meininger Hotel Amsterdam West City
Videos (1)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.0
#184 of 411 hotels in Amsterdam
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Value
Booking is subject to availability. Style and atmosphere of the hotelThe new MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West offers a very special atmosphere for your stay: people of all different ages and origins meet here in an unusually relaxed international atmosphere. They communicate with one another, relax, work or simply take a peaceful break. Opening July 2012.Unique aspects of the hotelWe have a breath of Amsterdam flair in store for you here, with distinctive art in the lobby. With a nod to the Old Masters, details from the great works of the golden age of painting are located throughout the hotel. The 232 comfortable non-smoker rooms offer an own bathroom with shower, toilet and hairdryer as well as a television and air conditioning. The hotel boasts spacious public areas such as lobby, bar and guest kitchen, in which use of W-LAN is free of charge. Our lavish all-you-can-eat-and-drink breakfast buffet gives you the ideal start to your day and is available at a small extra fee. Cars can be parked in the hotel underground garage, also at a charge.Location of the hotel, surrounding area and sightsThe MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West lies in the corridor between city centre and Schiphol Airport, directly by the Sloterdijk transport hub. From here it is just a 5-minute ride with the urban railway to Centraal Station at the heart of the Old Town and ten minutes to Schiphol Airport, with Utrecht less than an hour away by train. Whether you want to travel round the canals, visit the Rijksmuseum, stroll through the flower market, have a stopover in a coffee shop or complete a business appointment, the Dutch metropolis receives its guests with welcoming openness. Additional rules applying for minors traveling without parent/guardian. Please check terms and conditions of the hotel when traveling with underage person or on your own when under 18 years old. Our rooms are professionally cleaned and disinfected before every arrival. Please note: With our initiative "Mindful by nature" your room is only being cleaned upon request during your stay. If you wish to have your room cleaned, simply let us know at reception. Shared rooms are being cleaned daily.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Game room
Baggage storage
Shared kitchen
24-hour front desk
Parking
Wifi
Coffee shop
Breakfast available
Snack bar
Vending machine
Billiards
Shared lounge / TV area
ATM on site
Self-serve laundry
Room features
Blackout curtains
Soundproof rooms
Desk
Housekeeping
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
Modern
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, Dutch and 3 more
Hotel links
Special Price:Book direct & save up to 20%

Location

Orlyplein 1-67, 1043 DR Amsterdam The Netherlands
Name/address in local language
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 78 out of 100
78
Amsterdam Airport Schiphol
10.6 km
See all flights
Rotterdam Airport
Sloterdijk
2 minAmsterdam Metro
2,651Reviews172Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 909
  • 1,100
  • 389
  • 109
  • 144
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Enrico F wrote a review Nov 2022
Krakow, Poland7 contributions3 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Very friendly service. Free coffee for this review. We'll definitely come back. Amaretto col caffè gratis . Guardando argentina Arabia Saudita. Rooms are cozy enough for a hostel. Check-in easy. Close enough to the center and the metro station
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from MEININGER CITY WEST, General Manager at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam West City
Responded 22 Nov 2022
Dear Enrico, Thank you very much for your review and amazing rating! It is nice to hear that you liked our services, location and rooms! We are more than happy to hear that you will come back and we cannot wait to welcome you again! Kind regards, MEININGER Amsterdam City West.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Latye95 wrote a review Jan 2020
Poringland, United Kingdom9 contributions14 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed here in December with jy partner and his sister for a little wekeend away before the new year.

We only wanted something cheap and easy as we knew hardly none of our time would be spent inside the hotel itself.

This hotel is absolutely brilliant, and well worth the money. It has everything any sort of traveller could possibly need from communal kicthen, bars, vending machines, breakfast buffet, luggage storage, shared rooms, private rooms, family rooms the lot! Also as you walk in to the right near reception they have a wall of various coupons for money off for Amsterdams biggest attractions (super handy!)

The staff were all so friendly and all spoke at least 3 different lanagues.

The hotels location was prefect as you were literally one train stop away from Amsterdam Central with trains coming in and out literally every 5 minutes.

The rooms were all Morden, tidy and practical. Big enough bathrooms with hair dryers included. A TV with various channeles, self controled Heater and aircon. And even though you're right beside a train track the noise cancelling is amazing, didn't wake up once because of if.

100% recommended from us three and if I ever go back to Amsterdam I'll be sure to check into here again.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from MEININGERhotels, Leiter Front Office at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam West City
Responded 9 Jan 2020
Dear La1995, Thank you very much for providing us a well detailed review of your experience and for highlighting the areas that made your stay enjoyable. Your compliments are really encouraging us to keep delivering genuine hospitality both in products and services to our guests. Rest assured that your kind compliments will be shared to the entire team. It is such a pleasure to know that we can contribute to make your stay a great experience. We value your feedback and look forward to welcoming you here in Amsterdam again. Your MEININGER team Amsterdam
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Krissy M wrote a review Jan 2020
6 contributions18 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
My friends and I stayed 2 nights here in January. Clean and comfortable. The staff was very accommodating and helpful - our shower drain was clogged, and staff got it promptly fixed for us the next day. Great location as well. Right next to the train station and a main tram stop which made getting to the airport and center of the city very easy.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from MEININGERhotels, Leiter Front Office at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam West City
Responded 9 Jan 2020
Dear Kmons17, Thanks for taking the time to leave us your review. Many thanks for leaving such positive feedback on your recent stay with us. We are delighted to read how much your enjoyed your stay with us. It will be our pleasure to share your feedback with our team and we hope to welcome you back soon. We value your feedback and look forward to welcoming you here in Amsterdam again. Your MEININGER team Amsterdam
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Roving794392 wrote a review Feb 2020
3 contributions7 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I was here with 4 Kids and it was the worst experience. The waiters stand and keep an eye onyou to re ind you take yo dishes in the mashine . And All the tales have that picture of a customer with plates the line at dish washing is longer than ever.
Terrible, NOT RECOMENDED FOR SMALL KIDS.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from MEININGERhotels, Verkaufsleiter at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam West City
Responded 24 Feb 2020
Dear guest, Thank you for leaving us your feedbacks on your recent stay. We could not be more disappointed by your comments and ask that you please accept our most sincere apologies for the issues you experienced during your recent visit. It is always our goal to deliver exceptional service to all our guests and should we learn of any inconsistencies in the level of service, we are always eager to address them promptly. We appreciate the time you have taken to alert us to your experience. Thank you for reaching out to us and for your review. Kind regards,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
David S wrote a review Oct 2022
North Walsham, United Kingdom12 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Fantastic place! It's clean it's quiet and in a perfect place! Train station right next door. Under 5 minutes to get into Amsterdam city centre.
Breakfast was included plenty of choice (no full English tho)
Staff were happy upon arrival
Quick easy check in and out
The bar unfortunately closed at 4pm but the shop sells bottles at same price and can still go sit at the bar. Pool table , football table , air hockey and arcade games.
Room a tad small for 4 full grown men but managed easy enough (I probably could of booked bigger)
beds extremely comfortable
Separate toilet
Shower was perfect.
And very clean
Definitely will stay again!
(Buy a train card from the station next door ours lasted 3 days and you can use on trains,trams,busses) 3 minutes and your at Amsterdam City centre and runs like every 5 minutes.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Keep your key card handy! You need it to enter after 10pm -6am and for closed doors before you...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from MEININGER CITY WEST, General Manager at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam West City
Responded 13 Oct 2022
dear David, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us, what a great review! It is very nice to read that you were happy with the location of our hotel and the breakfast. We appreciate your feedback and hope to welcome you again soon at MEININGER Amsterdam! Cordially, Your MEININGER
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
karnik_abhishek wrote a review Apr 2022
Taguig City, Philippines22 contributions10 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here with family and kids and experience wasn’t very nice. Firstly the attitude of front desk isn’t that friendly. Importantly the price we paid for private room wasn’t worth at all as there was no cleaning or towel change done for 3 days. For cleaning, we requested front desk and they confirmed it will be done, but was never done throughout our stay. The house keeping person said they were never informed by front desk so internal co-ordination wasn’t great surely. From property perspective the location room size and bathroom is nice, but what’s more important is how welcomed you feel staying and that wasn’t great at-least for us.

Thanks
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from MEININGER CITY WEST, General Manager at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam West City
Responded 4 May 2022
Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. We are sorry to read that your stay was not up to your expectations. You should always feel welcomed and taken care of. Therefore, We apologize for not having been able to assist you. As for the cleaning, you are absolutely right. Although we chose to adopt a 'mindful by nature'policy, requesting cleaning is always possible at reception. We are sorry that we were not able to meet your requests. In any case, we wish you a nice day ahead. Best, Your MEININGER Amsterdam City West team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Hannah W wrote a review Jan 2020
Dundee, United Kingdom26 contributions46 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Very nice hostel with lots of great facilities including a cafe and pool tables. Rooms were modern and clean. Hostel is situated right next to the station and it is only 3 stops from the city centre. Would recommend the 3 day ticket that allows you to travel unlimited on any form of transport for around 30 euro. Very useful as busses run throughout the night so we were never stuck for a way to get back to the hostel late at night.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from MEININGERhotels, Leiter Front Office at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam West City
Responded 20 Jan 2020
Dear guest, Thank you very much for providing us a well detailed review of your experience . We are very happy to hear that you had a nice stay at our hotel and that you liked the facilities and services we offer. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back another time again in Amsterdam. Your MEININGER team Amsterdam
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
vickylou11 wrote a review Apr 2022
Swansea, United Kingdom87 contributions9 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I visited this hostel with my husband for 3 nights for spring break. I was dreading staying in a hostel, but our time here was great.
Our room was very spacious, shower was powerful and always had hot water. Cleaners came everyday to empty the bin and give us fresh towels.
This hostel is very modern and even though it was full of youngsters for spring break, we never heard any noise at all.
Very easy to travel all over Amsterdam from the station next to the hostel.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from MEININGER CITY WEST, General Manager at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam West City
Responded 13 Apr 2022
Dear Vicky, Thank you so much for the amazing review. It is great to hear that you fully enjoyed your stay with us, and that our staff was able to assist you and make you feel welcomed. Also, we happy to know that you were able to relax and feel at ease in your room. We hope to see you again in the future. In the meantime, we wish you a lovely day ahead! Best, Your MEININGER Amsterdam City West Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Suncatcher26 wrote a review Jan 2020
Istanbul, Türkiye116 contributions65 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I would certainly recomend this hotel.
Very modern and most importantly very clean.
FREE Guest kitchen is a fantastic idea where you can cook your meals/snacks. The kitchen has everything you need oven,hob,fridges (where they supply paper bags and lables) for you to store your food.

The hotel is on the outskirts but the metro no 52 will take you to the Sloterdijk stn when you exit the stn hotel 20m on the right.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from MEININGERhotels, Leiter Front Office at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam West City
Responded 29 Jan 2020
Dear Sir/Madam, Thank you very much for providing us a well detailed review of your experience and for highlighting the areas that made your stay enjoyable. As you have highlighted, our location is excellent – just 1 stop (5 Minutes) away from Amsterdam Central Station and just a very short stroll to either bus, metro and tram services at the station next to us. We're especially glad you enjoyed our guest kitchen so much. We love being able to share this delicious convenience with our guests! Come back soon, we’d love to have you for another visit. Have a great day! Your MEININGER team Amsterdam
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The W wrote a review Jan 2020
1 contribution2 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Breakfast buffet was terrible paid nearly 10 euro for what was left overs, staff were incredibly rude to us when we simply tried to clear our plates etc just not what u expect from meinenger I’ve stayed here 4 times. Pregnant lady was very short with us. Were rushed to eat our breakfast even though there was next to nothing left. Left over food in the room from previous occupants.will not be returning.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from MEININGERhotels, Manager at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam West City
Responded 10 Jan 2020
Dear Madam/Sir, We are deeply regretful for the ill-fated circumstances you had be part of ,when partaking to our breakfast buffet. As a loyal guest ,moreover, you should have been served with the best of our serving and the quality you paid for. To begin with , allow us to reinforce the fact that Meininger does not stand for such standards as described , on contrary ,as you also mentioned , we always push our limits to reach your expectations or even exceed them . That being said ,in exchange of the reasonable price of 10 euro per person , put at your disposal a continental breakfast buffet ,with a variety of fresh ingredients. Therefore , we kindly inform you that ,under no circumstances, leftover food is reserved to our guests , that stands against our integrity and , most importantly , the in-house Hygiene Regulations , which we strictly follow. What we are guilty of is the incivility with which you were treated by our service colleagues, for which there is no excuse. Our guest must always be treated hospitable and polite, regardless of the agglomeration of the breakfast time ,or what not. We will assure to adress such behavior as soon as possible , to prevent such incidents in the future. And we thank you for being alert and informing us , so we can shortly improve on it. Similarly , our management team would have instantly reacted to your situation , should you have reported it at the moment of the incident , they are always willing to attend our guests with such issues. All in all, despite such unfortunate situation , we hope that Meininger will still be your host , and that you will give us the chance to prove ourselves to the best of our abilities. Kind Regards, Meininger Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from Arron S
Grays Thurrock, United Kingdom114 contributions23 helpful votes
The tram station is located 2/3 minutes walk from the hotel. The tram journey takes approximately 20/30 minutes from the hotel into the centre. The ticket I bought lasted 24 hours, however I can’t recall how much it cost. I can tell you that it’s great value in comparison to London Underground fees :)
Answer from Arron S
Grays Thurrock, United Kingdom114 contributions23 helpful votes
The hotel does provide maps however if at all possible, it’s always great to use mobile data if your using a smart phone. Important notice: make sure your mobile provider offers you an international travel bundle otherwise you can incur roaming charges. You can take advantage of the nearby tram service with is a short walk from the hotel. It takes you into Central. Day tickets for tram use is approx 3/4 euros.
Answer from calatorprintara
Craiova, Romania54 contributions44 helpful votes
It is s transit hotel, there is no safe deposit box în the room, I have no idea if the reception can provide you with one. Enjoy Amsterdam!
Connector34536972531 wrote a tip 10 May
4 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Lots of young people, expect those kids to run wildly in the corridor...."
Read full review
trevort wrote a tip Jul 2023
9 contributions7 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Book a private room if you can swing it or stay somewhere else if you enjoy some privacy while sleeping"
Read full review
Tim S wrote a tip Jul 2023
1 contribution1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"There is a guest kitchen in the hotel, where you can cook your own food. Food cooked by the hotel cooks is quite literally disgusting."
Read full review
Allen C wrote a tip Jun 2023
3 contributions3 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Budget hostel with a 5 star pricing. Dont even think of getting your refund. They even charge you for luggage storage "
Read full review
Yubby-Inns wrote a tip Apr 2023
Woodstock, United Kingdom21 contributions1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Quick I to city, only one train stop but nothing much around the hotel itself. Noise is main problem"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Amsterdam area.
PRICE RANGE
€56 - €154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
The NetherlandsNorth Holland ProvinceAmsterdamTeleport / Amsterdam New West / Bedrijventerrein Sloterdijk / Geuzenveld-Slotermeer / Sloterdijk
NUMBER OF ROOMS
1
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

MEININGER HOTEL AMSTERDAM WEST CITY | UPDATED 2024 Reviews & Price Comparison (The Netherlands) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam West City
Which popular attractions are close to MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam West City?
Nearby attractions include Logic Locks (0.9 km), Amaze (1.0 km), and Holland Casino Amsterdam West-Sloterdijk (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam West City?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a lounge, and self serve laundry.
Which room amenities are available at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam West City?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, blackout curtains, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam West City?
Guests can enjoy a lounge, breakfast, and a snack bar during their stay.
Is parking available at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam West City?
Yes, paid private parking on-site is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam West City?
Conveniently located restaurants include La Casa Di Michael, Grandcafé Hermes, and Wissenkerke.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam West City?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, German, Italian, Portuguese, and Dutch.
Are there any historical sites close to MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam West City?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Concertgebouw (4.7 km), Portuguese Synagogue (5.2 km), and Museum Het Rembrandthuis (4.9 km).
Is MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam West City accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Amsterdam HotelsAmsterdam Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in AmsterdamHotels near MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam West City
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire