We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Bulldog Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expert photos
The Bulldog Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

946 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 617: English reviews
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Well, it's a hostel with a smoking-coffee shop downstairs, and some kind of iconic brand place. Quite touristry though but fair enough start for the fun-looking people. Quite more expensive than average for my taste but if it's your first time in the city it's ok.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank The_Web_archive
BulldogFrontOffice, Front Office Manager at The Bulldog Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the review. I am sure if you are to do a quick search, you will find us very competitively priced. I think you will find other hostels at a very similar price but I am sure you will also find things, like taxes added, no free breakfast or luggage storage. it is for these reasons that we...

Mumbai
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

We had booked a canal view room (with ensuite bathroom) at the Bulldog hotel for 5 days. The stay started well, however on the first night at 3 am while we were in deep sleep - some jerk in another room on our floor left his bathroom door open while showering with hot water, and hence caused the SUPER LOUD...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank moonrover77
BulldogFrontOffice, Front Office Manager at The Bulldog Hotel, responded to this review

Hello, This was some time ago that you stayed! We can see form your comments that had this not occurred on your first night, that you would have enjoyed your stay with us. It is a shame that you left so quickly. I do not need to explain the entire fire system here but please be aware that these systems...

Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

I've been to Amsterdam on numerous occasions, but the last 2 trips we've stayed at the Bulldog. Friendly staff, clean rooms and just a really good environment. The bar/lounge area is pretty good, as is the rooftop patio.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Beerzerkr
BulldogFrontOffice, Front Office Manager at The Bulldog Hotel, responded to this review

This is really nice of you you to say. We will be happy to add you to our list of regulars! We will hope to see you again soon and make sure you tell the reception that its not your first visit!

wigan
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

This was my second stay at the bulldog my brother has been several times we got the private rooms tho not the hostel rooms although I believe these to be very clean also. We had a private room with views of the canal. The rooms are very clean and comfortable. And the location is perfect for seeing everything in Amsterdam...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sammy1987
BulldogFrontOffice, Front Office Manager at The Bulldog Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for the kind words. We do maintain all of our rooms equally. Regardless of room type or price, everyone deserves a clean, safe place to enjoy our fantastic city. We hope to see you again.

Takeley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here in February 2016 with my boyfriend for my birthday had the best 3 days! Our flight landed at 8am so we got to the bulldog very early but thought we'd go and check in anyway! The very helpful guy on the desk checked our room for us and it was ready so he let us go straight in...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Amelia_W_1992
BulldogFrontOffice, Front Office Manager at The Bulldog Hotel, responded to this review

Wow , almost a year on from your stay. We are really pleased to have left you with such pleasant memories. As your arriving again as i write this, I am going to try and find you and thank you personally.

Milan, Italy
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Excellent location in the middle of the red light district in the center of the city, good value, nice atmosphere both in the hotel and bar, friendly staff, comfortable beds and a fantastic breakfast! We stayed for three nights and definitely recommend it!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anna G
BulldogFrontOffice, Front Office Manager at The Bulldog Hotel, responded to this review

We are really happy you had a nice time. We will hope to see you again soon :)

Lyon, France
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Postive side of the place is the perfect location, security is also good. But far from a 5 stars hotel. We booked the deluxe room, which was also far from deluxe. We stayed for 3 days, no cleaning was done at all. The room was ok, beds ok but dirty carpet and old armchairs, not the ones on the pictures...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Aurelie R
BulldogFrontOffice, Front Office Manager at The Bulldog Hotel, responded to this review

Hello thank you for the feedback. Our first point is that we are not a 5 star hotel. We are a hostel and we believe that service and kindness are not related to the price one pays. We offer budget accommodation but we always try to provide service that goes well beyond what one would expect from a hostel. We...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This is a great place to chill and have a drink and smoke. Great staff and very helpful, me and my wife were here a few times because the atmosphere is nice and chilled, didnt wait to get served at the bar either! I'd definitely go back here! Thanks Bulldog!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kev P
BulldogFrontOffice, Front Office Manager at The Bulldog Hotel, responded to this review

its we that should thank you! See you again sometime :)

New York City, New York
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

If you want to be in the heart of Amsterdam this is truly a great hostel for its location. It was clean and orderly when I got there. The shower was a little weird but fine. I just really didn't like that it reeked of smoke everywhere. I was on the third floor and you could smell the smoke from...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer A
BulldogFrontOffice, Front Office Manager at The Bulldog Hotel, responded to this review

Hi There, Glad you found the hostel ok. As for the smoke, We really do limit this to the bar, but of course there can be some smell around. Of course, smoking is what made The Bulldog famous! Thank you kindly for your feedback. Safe Travels

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The best thing about this hostel is you're right in the city centre, not so far from the train station and close to everything you need to enjoy the city! The price I think is suitable with the location and service. Buffet breakfast in the morning is ok

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Simone M
BulldogFrontOffice, Front Office Manager at The Bulldog Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. Enjoy the rest of your travels.

598 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (263)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (53)
Viewed
Room/Suite (40)
Viewed
Dining (19)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
1:20
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (127)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (325)
Viewed
Amenities (20)
Viewed
Dorm (55)
Viewed
Luxury Twin Room (43)
Viewed
Dining (21)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (45)
Viewed
Standard Quad Room (52)
Viewed
Standard Twin Room (48)
Viewed
The Hotel (41)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 361 in Amsterdam
2,421 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Centrum
Swissotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Amsterdam
#51 of 361 in Amsterdam
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
Centrum
Flying Pig Downtown
Flying Pig Downtown
#11 of 221 in Amsterdam
1,179 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
St Christopher's at Winston Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Red Light District (De Wallen)

Neighbourhood Profile
Red Light District (De Wallen)
To visit Amsterdam and not explore De Wallen (the Dutch name for this area) or to go only to gawk at its saucier aspects would mean missing the opportunity to view some of the city’s most picturesque canals, historic landmarks, and impeccably presented examples of traditional local architecture – not to mention Amsterdam’s own Chinatown, Europe’s largest Buddhist temple and more local treasures. Sure, there are some less salubrious activities drawing the curious to this age-old part of time. Nevertheless, the Red Light District is still a very safe and incredibly fascinating area where at the turn of a corner you can be transported from the dingy glow of modern day neon red to a glorious 16th century Delft blue dreamscape.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Wake up in one of the highest rated hostels,located in the middle of one of the most visually stunning cities in the world! The Bulldog Hostel Amsterdam is loaded with that typical international and liberal atmosphere that makes Amsterdam so special... besides other things. Choose to stay in a dorm, private room or in our cool private suite whenever you come stumbling back from your Amsterdam adventure! We will make sure it will feel like your home away from home! ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Bulldog Hotel

Address: Oudezijds Voorburgwal 220, 1012 GJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Price Range: €52 - €104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your The Bulldog Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Bulldog Hotel staff and other travellers.
25 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (25)

Questions? Get answers from The Bulldog Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Book a private suite if you are over 35.”
 of 5 bubbles livinlrgtraveler, 10 Nov 2016 | Read review
“get private room however the dorms are cool aswell.”
 of 5 bubbles raheelk206, 13 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Centrally located, easily accessible”
 of 5 bubbles B898PQadams, 11 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Canal view room”
 of 5 bubbles Jusso1, 9 Sep 2016 | Read review
“You can't lose but the girls dorm was definitely a bit nicer lol”
 of 5 bubbles mollym352, 31 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay