We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel Abba

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel Abba
Hotel Abba
Panoramas (14)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

446 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel Abba
See the most recent reviews
Showing 232: English reviews
Reviewed 15 March 2017 via mobile

Too much things to complain about!! 1- Its not a hotel, its a hostel. the price not worth it. reasons why: 2-The room smell of smoke. 3-In the bathroom- There was a horrible smell of bleach, - no shampoo, no soap, no windshield wiper to clean the floor, dirty curtain. 4-In the room- cold room, no remote-control for the tv,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nadia F
SorchaDP, General Manager at Hotel Abba, responded to this review

Dear Nadia, Thank you for writing us a review! We are indeed a smokers friendly hotel, this is why, when you made the booking there was no other option than to choose a smokers room. We don't have a lift (like most hotels in Amsterdam) this is also stated on every website we're bookable on. As we are a budget...

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 13 March 2017

Not the most modern hotel but rooms are well furnished and decent quiet location. I always stay here for a night or two when visiting here and well worth a stay. It is a smoke friendly hotel so the place does smell of weed which can be unpleasant for some and perfect for others. Friendly staff and great for friends

 Report
Helpful?
Thank joereilly90
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 March 2017

Great value hotel for a friends get away. Only negative points would be that it would have been useful to have a hand towel and bath matt provided. Larger mugs at breakfast for tea and more plugs in the room. Apart from that the beds were really comfy and breakfast was good.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jemhall2016
Playa Conchal, Costa Rica
Reviewed 3 March 2017

A really good budget option in an expensive city. Receptionist was very friendly and helpful in getting my room made up as I arrived early. Small room in an older building with a very comfortable bed and good shower with plenty of hot water. Room was made up nicely every day, and the breakfast was really good considering the rate...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Simon P
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 February 2017

We booked this hotel last October for us and two friends. On the web site it stated it was a smoking hotel but we were given the option to ask for non smoking rooms. On arrival we were allocated our rooms but told they were not together. in fact they were nowhere near each other. The hotel must have originally...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joany46
SorchaDP, General Manager at Hotel Abba, responded to this review

Dear Joany46, Thanks for writing us a review. We're sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay. We are indeed a smokers friendly hotel, as stated on every website we're bookable on, also does it state that we can't guarantee a smoke free room or certain placement in the hotel. The light was indeed not working, we had maintenance...

Rethymnon, Greece
Reviewed 20 February 2017

Its a very good choice if you are a couple travelling and want some privacy! Its very close to everything by walk and its a nice and calm place! The breakfast was also very nice and simple! I would stay there again!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Μυρτώ Κ
SorchaDP, General Manager at Hotel Abba, responded to this review

Hi! Thanks for writing us such a positive review! We're really happy to hear you enjoyed your stay :) and we look forward to hosting it in future! Kind regards, Hotel Abba

Lisbon, Portugal
Reviewed 12 February 2017

This is not a hotel! This is a hostel. The only thing good its the breakfast but is quite simple as well. The "hotel" need a reconstruction. Its smells smoke since we enter to the rooms. Nice if you go with friends! The tv doesn't work.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rodrrr
SorchaDP, General Manager at Hotel Abba, responded to this review

Dear Rodrrr, Thank you for your review. We're sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your stay. We are indeed a smokers friendly hotel, as stated on every website we're bookable on. We'll try and find out which exact tv isn't working, if we had have known during your stay with us, we could have done something about it. Thanks again....

Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 January 2017 via mobile

Great hotel, central to walk or get the tram, breakfast basic, friendly staff very helpful only down fall is steep stairs and no lifts, no hairdryer in room as advertised, excellent place to visit, would recommend, clean rooms

 Report
Helpful?
Thank weelou
Reviewed 30 December 2016 via mobile

Staff is very friendly. Breakfast is good (from 8-10). It's possible to walk from the hotel until center without problem. It's perfect! My room has nicely bed, the toilet is fine and the shower is OK and one terrace with nice views to one garden!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jesus G
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 December 2016

Great budget hotel, 5 people in 2 rooms. very convenient for the tram line number 1. excellent breakfast, very friendly staff. room was ok, had shared bathroom in corridor but this was not a problem. would stay here again.

Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter R
SorchaDP, General Manager at Hotel Abba, responded to this review

Hi Peter, Thanks for taking the time to write us a review! We're really happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to host your stays in future. If next time you would prefer a room with a private bathroom, we do have them available, at €10 extra per night! Thanks again! Hotel Abba

505 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (148)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (39)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (58)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (331)
Viewed
Double Room Private Facilities (40)
Viewed
Family Room Private Facilities (64)
Viewed
Dining (47)
Viewed
Single Room Shared Facilities (47)
Viewed
The Hotel (99)
Viewed
Triple Room Private Facilities (34)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Plantage & the East
Hotel Hortus
Hotel Hortus
#235 of 364 in Amsterdam
430 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Rembrandt Square Hotel
Rembrandt Square Hotel
#219 of 364 in Amsterdam
268 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Internationaal
Hotel Internationaal
#171 of 364 in Amsterdam
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stadsdeel Zuid
Euphemia Hotel
Euphemia Hotel
#262 of 364 in Amsterdam
199 reviews
De Pijp
easyHotel Amsterdam
easyHotel Amsterdam
#208 of 364 in Amsterdam
1,015 reviews
De Pijp
Bicycle Hotel
Bicycle Hotel
#201 of 364 in Amsterdam
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
Room types
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hotel Abba is a one star budget hotel located smack bang in the middle of all the action. We are within walking distance of the main going out area Leidseplein, the museum district, the famous canals and Amsterdam's largest park the Vondel park. So wether you're here to party, explore Amsterdam's culture, stroll along the scenic canals or relax in the park along side the locals, you're in the right place for it! Hotel Abba has been offering proper Dutch hospitality with an international touch for over 20 years! Our selection of 38 rooms offers the perfect base to explore this wonderful city. All prices include a fabulous breakfast served from 08:00am until 10:00am. We offer FREE Wi-Fi throughout the hotel and have kettle's, hairdryers, irons and ironing boards available in reception. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Abba

Address: Overtoom 118-122, 1054 HM Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Price Range: €70 - €131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Abba 1*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Abba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abba Hotel Amsterdam
Best Western Amsterdam
Hotel Style:
#18 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Abba staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question
Colorado
5 months ago

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Abba staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms on the back of the hotel are good .”
stastavro, 23 Apr 2017 | Read review
“If you want super quiet (for Amsterdam) ask for a room that does not face the street...BUT facing the street is cool, too...”
bimmerfun, 21 Apr 2017 | Read review
“room at back quieter”
Joany46, 23 Feb 2017 | Read review
“higher rooms are bigger but have lower ceilings”
924SueW924, 4 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a quiet room away from the street. Be aware that my room at least had thin walls, so you hear much next door, including noisy keys opening/closing doors. ”
VancouverTraveller1, 4 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5