We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hotel De Gerstekorrel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel De Gerstekorrel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

443 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 320: English reviews
Start your review of Hotel De Gerstekorrel
 Click to rate
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Read the mixed reviews before we went. This B and B is in the perfect location...very busy just off Dam Square...so ..yes it is noisy at night..but then you can't be in the hub of the city and it not be noisy. The check in went well with very friendly staff. Room was on the third floor in the next...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank heyssuzanne
Gerstekorrel, Front Office Manager at Hotel De Gerstekorrel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our central location and appreciated the classic Amsterdam architecture. We hope that you will visit with us again soon!

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This was mine and my fiancées first time to Amsterdam and we booked this hotel through booking.com 2 days before our trip. We arrived in Amsterdam at 9am, 24/01/17 and although we saw online that the checking in time was 2pm we thought we'd go and ask if there was anywhere for us to leave our bags until the room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steven T
Gerstekorrel, Front Office Manager at Hotel De Gerstekorrel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review of our hotel. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and found the rooms clean and comfortable and the staff welcoming and helpful. We hope you will visit with us again soon!

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 18 January 2017

Our locked room was broken into and robbed on the last night of our stay. The neighbouring room was also broken into. There are only three keys to the room, two in our possession and one with the staff. Over $1500 in cash and electronics were stolen. Police reports have been filed and the hotel is under investigation. The hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
10Thank emilyanne353
Gerstekorrel, Front Office Manager at Hotel De Gerstekorrel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the hotel. Although the alleged theft from your room would be a regrettable experience, we cannot accept liability as is standard hotel procedure internationally. The reason for this is that it is the guest’s own responsibility to make certain they have closed and locked their own room door and...

Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 January 2017 via mobile

I stayed in this hotel with my partner and the staff were very friendly! The hotel is small, but the rooms are adequate and very clean. We don't usually spend much time in our hotel rooms when we visit Amsterdam anyway so was perfect for what we needed. Very good location, just steps from Dam Square, main attractions and transport...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hayley A
Gerstekorrel, Front Office Manager at Hotel De Gerstekorrel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed our hotel and found the rooms clean and the staff helpful. We hope to welcome you back again soon!

Gillingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 January 2017 via mobile

Never been too Amsterdam before so me and 3 friends decided to go for new year. We booked through Expedia and the price was very reasonable. I think for the flights and hotel we paid something like £200 for 3 nights each. As we had paid so little I wasn't expecting much but thought it wouldn't matter as we'd only...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Faye8916
Gerstekorrel, Front Office Manager at Hotel De Gerstekorrel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your detailed review of our hotel. It is always a pleasure for us when our guests enjoy Amsterdam and our hotel as much as your group did. We will pass on your positive reviews to the night porter and receptionist on duty during your stay! We hope that you will visit with us again. Remember...

Skipton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 January 2017 via mobile

This is one of the best hotels i have ever stopped in when coming to Amsterdam. From the moment we stepped inside..very early nothing was too much trouble. Thom was very friendly and gave us a low floor room. Even though we arrived early as soon as the room was ready we could use it. The room was perfect in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank christine209940
Gerstekorrel, Front Office Manager at Hotel De Gerstekorrel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed our location and found the staff welcoming and helpful. We look forward to welcoming you back soon! Contact us directly prior to booking so that we can make certain you are booked to the room of your choice.

Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 December 2016 via mobile

Two of us stayed here in December. Its a VERY central location, round the corner from the red light district and a 10 minute walk from the train station. Its nicely decorated and modern. We were on the top floor (4th), which was a little knackering as the stairs were really steep. A little difficult when you've had a few...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shadnmeg
Gerstekorrel, Front Office Manager at Hotel De Gerstekorrel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the hotel. We are very happy that you enjoyed our location and found the rooms well decorated and the staff friendly. We hope you will visit with us again!

Malaysia
Reviewed 4 December 2016

Checked this to this hotel with two friends for two nights in November 2016. Stayed in a 3 bedded room on the 3rd floor. Firstly the positives: 1 - Good location - very central, adjacent to Dam Square. Whis means it's really close to everywhere you might one want to go for a short trip to the city. 2 -...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank iestatiptra
Reviewed 21 November 2016 via mobile

The ONLY good part is that the Hotel's Location is great. The biggest negative part is there is staircase only - no lift. We got room at 4th floor so have to climb four floors along with the luggage. Imagine going up and down four floors again & again to carry your luggage piece by piece. They even don't have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Aruj A
Gerstekorrel, Front Office Manager at Hotel De Gerstekorrel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the hotel. We can only assume that our guests have read the description of our hotel on the internet prior to booking their reservation. Especially if the guest has booked a nonrefundable reservation with no special requests (such as a lower floor). Although we do try to accommodate room...

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewed 13 November 2016

This hotel is great value situated in the heart of Amsterdam half way between the Dam Square and Canal Strasse. It is about a 10 min walk from Central Station (or a couple of minutes by tram). I stayed for a week. Rooms were small but were very clean and with an ensuite shower and toilet. All the staff were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MartinBaxter58

142 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (103)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (58)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (39)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Doria Hotel Amsterdam
Doria Hotel Amsterdam
#201 of 361 in Amsterdam
756 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Rho Hotel
Rho Hotel
#135 of 361 in Amsterdam
2,220 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Cordial
Hotel Cordial
#285 of 361 in Amsterdam
525 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Rokin Hotel
Rokin Hotel
#181 of 361 in Amsterdam
458 reviews
Centrum
Swissotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Amsterdam
#52 of 361 in Amsterdam
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Red Light District (De Wallen)

Neighbourhood Profile
Red Light District (De Wallen)
To visit Amsterdam and not explore De Wallen (the Dutch name for this area) or to go only to gawk at its saucier aspects would mean missing the opportunity to view some of the city’s most picturesque canals, historic landmarks, and impeccably presented examples of traditional local architecture – not to mention Amsterdam’s own Chinatown, Europe’s largest Buddhist temple and more local treasures. Sure, there are some less salubrious activities drawing the curious to this age-old part of time. Nevertheless, the Red Light District is still a very safe and incredibly fascinating area where at the turn of a corner you can be transported from the dingy glow of modern day neon red to a glorious 16th century Delft blue dreamscape.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Looking for an excellent central location with friendly service and extras like breakfast in bed? Then choose Hotel de Gerstekorrel, where guests return year after year! Our 32 room hotel offers single rooms, 2 persons rooms, triple rooms as well as four persons rooms - come alone, with a friend, the whole family or a group of friends! Hotel de Gerstekorrel is a popular and modern hotel close to the famous Dam Square, shopping streets such as De Kalverstraat, the canals, wonderful restaurants and unforgettable nightlife. Do you come for a concert in Ziggo Dome or Heineken music hall? Or want to see the Music Awards? Interested in football stadium Arena, Ajax? Stay with us and you easily reach all these places by public transportation.The famous Amsterdam museums - newly opened Stedelijk Museum and new Rijksmuseum, Hermitage, Van Gogh and several other museums and art galleries are also close by. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel De Gerstekorrel

Address: Damstraat 22, 1012 JM Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Price Range: €116 - €261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel De Gerstekorrel 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel De Gerstekorrel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Gerstekorrel Hotel
De Gerstekorrel Amsterdam
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel De Gerstekorrel staff and other travellers.
26 questions
Ask a question
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Swansea, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (26)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel De Gerstekorrel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a very low floor if you are not a climber”
 of 5 bubbles heyssuzanne, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
“The rooms are not secure. Choose a different hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles emilyanne353, 18 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Choose lower floors definitely.”
 of 5 bubbles iestatiptra, 3 Dec 2016 | Read review
“High floor rooms are quieter (but more stairs to climb). Smoking rooms were available when I visited in Dec 2015”
 of 5 bubbles MartinBaxter58, 13 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Must be fine doing stairs. NO LIFT.”
 of 5 bubbles scholesjenny, 29 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5