We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam

CancelonUS$173*
View Deal
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$200*
US$173*
Great Deal
US$190*
US$190*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Professional photos
Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,727 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,880: English reviews
Start your review of Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam
 Click to rate
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The hotel is big but the rooms are really small. Our bathroom did not have a fan so whenever we had a shower the whole room was became really humid. The breakfast was ordinary. Will not come here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Day88
P S, Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. I am sorry we did not meet your expectations. I appreciate your thoughts regarding the bathroom and i will take this matter up with our technical service. I hope we will have the change to welcome you again in the future. Kind regards, Patricia

Minneapolis
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

This is a hard review to write. The hotel has 2 sides - the Amstel side is a 3 star hotel with small rooms, while the Rembrandt Square side is a 4-star. I stayed in the 3-star side and booked a standard single since I was extending a business trip and wanted to save money. The room was the tiniest...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GWest777
P S, Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear guest, We are happy to read that you had a great stay with us. We are delighted to read your comments; particularly your thoughts on the service you received during your stay. Our team is always at your service to assist you with any future requests. We look forward to welcome you back with your family in the future...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The hotel is well placed to explore Amsterdam. We enjoyed our stay there. Just very narrow staircase up to the rooms, so beware of taking oversize suitcases. Also double check anything to do with excursion costs. We ended up paying double for a taxi to the Keukenhof Gardens, as what was quoted, was apparently only one way. This was definitely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Denise & Brian S
P S, Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear Denise and Brian, Thank you very much for sharing your experiences with us. It is good to know that you found our location convenient for your stay. We will take your comments concerning the explination of excursion options into consideration, as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our hotel. Kind regards, Patricia

Arden Hills, Minnesota
Reviewed 1 week ago

Just ok for the price. Location on the central inner canal was great, but we had a standard room, and had a "view" of the back alley instead. No coffee maker in the room! What is up with that? Ive NEVER been in a hotel ANYWHERE that cost 160 a night , and had no coffee in room or lobby...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elaine F
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

It's such a shame that a hotel with such a nice location and really nice facilities, restaurant etc has such cramped single rooms. The rooms are size of a shoebox with hardly any space to walk. The bathroom being so small that you struggle to take shower or go to the loo. One is constantly banging into walls or objects...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ParvinderSingh
P S, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I am sorry to hear that your room did not meet expectations; upon request we would have been happy to relocate you to another room upon availability. Thank you for sharing these comments and best regards, Sebastiaan van Rijgersma.

espoo
Reviewed 1 week ago

We (a group of 14 couples) stayed for 3 nihgts on Eden - the ***side of this Hampshire-hotelcomplex which has a splendid location nera Rembrant.square. Due to ongoing renovation-works all acorridors etc, were quite dusty etc. but the rooms itself were quit clean. The roons (eg. 344-350) were quite small and poor equipped: no fridge or mini-bar, no hooks for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank EspooHarry
P S, Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. It is only through guest comments such as yours that we can constantly improve our service. We will use your comments to improve the quality of our hotel. Kind regards, Patricia

Santa Barbara, California
Reviewed 1 week ago

I would not recommend staying here, since for the price you can really get something better. If we would not have prepaid everything (we were there for a conference and one of the sponsors had a special rate here), we would have definitely changed hotels. The hotel is in a great location near Rembrandt square, most of the staff is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AnaSaldana
Management-Hampshire, Front Office Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you very much that you have taken the time to inform us of your recent disappointing stay in our hotel. We the managemnet would very much appreciate if you would contact us directly to discuss your comments. You can reach us via the Hampshire Eden Hotel telephone number or alternetively via the Hampshire Eden Hotel email. Kind...

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed at the Eden hotel from the 12th of May to the 15th of May 2017 with one of my best friends. On arrival to our room we found that one of our beds had been slept in and the shower floor was wet as if someone had just been in it. I took photographs of this and took...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cwright98
Management-Hampshire, Front Office Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you for writing us your comments. Once again our apologies for the inconvenience that you had with the first room. It is a pleasure for us to hear that the location and the room ensure that we hope that we may welcome you again in the futur. Kind regards, Carine Baesch

Rimini, Italy
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel is in a good position. Staff at the reception and concierge was very friendly. Cleaning service works not so good. Dust anywhere and the bathroom was not so clean. However the hotel is a good starting point for visiting amsterdam

Review collected in partnership with Hampshire Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank ghembu01
Management-Hampshire, Front Office Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you for writing us your comments. It is pleasure for us to hear that our hotel is very well located. Our apologies for the inconviences you had about the cleanliness of the bathroom. We will discuss this matter with our housekeeping. We hope to welcome you again. Kind regards, Carine Baesch

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed in the Eden hotel from May 1st to the 4th (3 nights). I was on the fifth floor in room 527. I travelled alone for a relaxing break and to take photographs of the always exciting Amsterdam. I have stayed at the Eden every year for many years now (12 I believe). It is an excellent hotel in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank DaveinSurrey
P S, Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear Dave, Thank you very much for sharing your experiences with us. We are delighted to hear you had such a good stay with us! We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind regards, Patricia

764 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (750)
Viewed
View from Room (58)
Viewed
Room/Suite (204)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (71)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (99)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
0:49
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (298)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (5)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Amsterdam Caransa
NH Amsterdam Caransa
#120 of 365 in Amsterdam
926 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Amstelzicht
Hotel Amstelzicht
#185 of 365 in Amsterdam
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Amsterdam Schiller
NH Amsterdam Schiller
#151 of 365 in Amsterdam
1,490 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Carlton Amsterdam
NH Carlton Amsterdam
#243 of 365 in Amsterdam
2,340 reviews
Plantage & the East
Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)

Neighbourhood Profile
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
This UNESCO World Heritage Site is as historically significant as it is perennially popular. Whether you’re a history buff, architecture enthusiast, shutterbug, or fashionista, odds are you’ll find the Amsterdam you're looking for while roaming around the Grachtengordel (Canal Ring). A brilliant place to get lost in a moody meander and a key component to any sightseeing trip to Amsterdam, this area's major draws include the Anne Frank House, the Bloemenmarkt floating flower market, an enviable assortment of independent boutiques along De Negen Straatjes, and of course all of Grachtengordel’s lovely canals and bridges.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Eden Hotel Amsterdam – Hampshire Eden is in a unique location. Right on the Amstel and with an abundance of hot spots within easy reach: Rembrandtplein, the Stopera, Waterlooplein, De Kleine Komedie and Theater Carre. Various museums are close by including Rembrandthuis Museum and Foam photography museum. The area is also teaming with options for dining out as well as fantastic shopping streets, such as Kalverstraat and Leidsestraat. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam

Address: Amstel 144, 1017 AE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Rembrandtplein
Price Range: €114 - €258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam 3*
Number of rooms: 218
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Eden Hotel
Eden Hotel Amsterdam
Best Western Eden Hotel
Best Western Amsterdam
Best Western Eden Amsterdam
Best Western Hotel Amsterdam
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam staff and other travellers.
52 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (52)

Questions? Get answers from Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a room away from the alley where the garbage cans are.”
ElaineF137, 18 May 2017 | Read review
“maybe the ****-side is better”
EspooHarry, 17 May 2017 | Read review
“Executive rooms have a lovely view of the Amstel canal.”
DaveinSurrey, 12 May 2017 | Read review
“Room 24 is on the ground and near the street, therefore loud.”
V1506HNadrianb, 7 May 2017 | Read review
“Don't book a standard room”
thomasvK9789EF, 1 May 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Cancelon
US$173* /night
View Deal
Expedia.comUS$190
Orbitz.comUS$190
HotelQuicklyUS$200
View all 12 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates