We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw

Agoda.comUS$241*
View Deal
May 7 May 8
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$276*
US$241*
Great Deal
US$252*
US$245*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

933 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw
See the most recent reviews
Showing 694: English reviews
Newport, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 May 2012

Recently spent a long weekend in amsterdam. The hotel was 5 minutes walk from the train station, along the main road. Excellent location, close to all the bars, resteraunts, shops. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean, and well furnished, with a privet bathroom. The rooms were a little small, but had everything you needed.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank NRWilliams_12
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this review

As you state it, our rooms are not the biggest in town but that is something we can not change in our over 100 years old building. But our location is ubeatable, within walking distance of Amsterdam Central Station, opposite Hollands' most famous department store "De Bijenkorf" and the Stock-Exchange and in the middle of the historical center. We were...

Maasmechelen, Belgium
Reviewed 8 May 2012

I'm a professional incentive consultant but was asked by my rotary club to organise a weekend Amsterdam. It is not easy to find a place in the city centre where one can sit with a group of 32 "with the locals" and not somewhere stashed away on a second floor! And have a decent dinner. But "de roode leeuw" totally...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank brigitte778
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this review

We were pleased to learn that we fulfilled your expectations. As we do not have any other facilities, with the exception of 2 Board-rooms, we cater all lunches and dinners in our restaurant and this seems to be appreciated by many persons as we have often dinners organised by reputed companies and as you state it, it is a mix...

Bethesda, Maryland
Reviewed 26 April 2012

One cannot beat the location of this hotel! Six blocks from the main train station, one block from the major shopping street, two blocks from the Red Light District (quite safe these days as it is swarming with tourists and police) and 100 yards from the city central square. The rooms are a bit on the small side by American...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MikeE73
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this review

We value your review and thank you that you took the time to comment on our property. We value it even more because you seem to be a very experienced traveller who knows what hotels look like nowadays. As far as pricing is concerend, it is true that our rates vary according to period and occupancy. On our website you...

Perth
Reviewed 24 April 2012

We stayed here in January and booked a twin share room, however as they were renovating the hotel they moved us into a suite. New, clean, friendly staff. Will definitely stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank msjess4444
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this review

We thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay. We are pleased that you liked our refurbised room as we have done this project without any help of an interior architect. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future although we realize that this will probably not be very soon as you live "down-under" Yours...

Chur, Graubunden, Switzerland
Reviewed 22 April 2012

We had a great trip to Amsterdam and enjoyed our stay. The Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw is in the center and very well located. We can really recommend it. If we travel to Amsterdam again, this hotel will be our accommodation again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Didi1962
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this review

Also we look forward to welcoming you or your friends in the future. It is our aim to make the stay of our guests as pleasant as possible and we were pleased to learn that we succeeded in your case. With best regards Rene Wildeman, General Manager

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 April 2012

just returned from a short break to celibrate the wifes 60th the hotel is in a great location , almost on dam square , walking distance to most of central amsterdam the staff were very friendly and the room we had was on the front overlooking tram stop ,great views , but did not hear much noise at all ,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kbgas
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this review

We were pleased to learn that we contributed a little bit to making the birthday journey of your wife an enjoyable one. Unfortunately we have to inform you that the smoking rooms will be phased out at the end of the year. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future Yours sincerely Rene Wildeman, General Manager

Palm Beach, Florida
Reviewed 18 April 2012

I had a weekend off during a 3 week European business trip and choose this hotel based on price (under $200) and location. It is about 700 metres from Central Station and right off of Dam Square. When I booked the room I requested a room facing Damrak and when I checked in I was extremely pleased as the room...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Pistolpjh
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this review

We were happy to learn that you have enjoyed your stay despite the fact that you were sick when you arrived. We were pleased that you liked the refurbished room. We have played our own interior designer and we get many positive comments of our guests. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the future and...

manchester
Reviewed 16 April 2012

Good location, central to main attractions. On arrival, Virginia greeted us and checked us in. Very friendly, quick and efficient. We had a smoking room and it was as expected. Quite small, tiny bathroom but clean. Tea and coffee making facilities aren't the best. Room was tired, dated and old looking however hotel lobby was nice. Mediocre at its best...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bubblegum5131
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this review

Let me begin with presenting my apologies for the fact that you had to wait 10 minutes before the door was opened when returning at night. We shall look into this matter as this is not acceptable. We fully agree that the room on the "smoking" starts to look dated. All our rooms were refurbished 10 years ago so we...

Haslemere, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 March 2012

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank S H
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this review

glasgow
Reviewed 25 March 2012

Excellent base for exploring. Only ten mins walk directly down from Central Station. A haven of tranquility on a really busy street! Not the largest room to move around in but very modern and clean.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank julesmayb
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this review

We were pleased to learn that you had a pleasant stay. Yes, our location can not be beaten and due to our double-glassed windows the interior is quiet. We hope to see you again With best regards Rene Wildeman, General Manager

531 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (256)
Viewed
Room/Suite (75)
Viewed
View from Room (19)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (32)
Viewed
2:48
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (96)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (234)
Viewed
Amenities (2)
Viewed
Comfort Room (42)
Viewed
Economy Single Room (39)
Viewed
Junior Suite (50)
Viewed
Dining (27)
Viewed
Superior Room (42)
Viewed
The Hotel (32)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (41)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (25)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
May 7 May 8
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Swissotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Amsterdam
#51 of 364 in Amsterdam
487 reviews
Centrum
Die Port van Cleve
Die Port van Cleve
#104 of 364 in Amsterdam
1,797 reviews
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#117 of 364 in Amsterdam
1,155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Centre
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Collection Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Centrum

Neighbourhood Profile
Centrum
Amsterdam’s buzzing hub, with its sprawling network of tram rails and a seemingly constant flow of tourists and commuters, yields convenient access to some of the best sightseeing, shopping, and street life in Europe. Closest at hand are the Royal Palace, the quaint shops of Haalremmerdijk, the pedestrianized zones Kalverstraat and Dam Square with popular neighborhoods such as the Red Light District, and the Canal Ring hardly more than a moment’s stroll away. With the well-connected Centraal Station as Centrum’s base, it's easy to travel farther afield via one of the city’s iconic trams.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Great central location, affordable rates, clean & comfortable rooms and friendly & attentive hospitality. In an amazing location, just off Dam Square and right in the middle of Amsterdam's city center, you'll find Hotel Amsterdam De Roode Leeuw. This is where you want to stay if you're coming to Amsterdam. We offer authentic friendliness and true hospitality with rooms that are comfortable, well maintained, and always spotlessly clean. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw

Address: Damrak 93 - 94, 1012 LP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Price Range: €167 - €355 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Roode Leeuw Amsterdam
Hotel Amsterdam De Roode Leeuw
Hotel Style:
#63 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#85 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#107 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw staff and other travellers.
20 questions
Ask a question
Fort Worth, Texas
over a year ago
Alabama
3 months ago
London, United Kingdom

See all questions (20)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Choose an alternative hotel,”
PhilipB596, 12 Apr 2017 | Read review
“No lower floors in summer (noise)”
MuellerAndrew, 27 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Best location; great value”
LenaBoh, 12 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Superior rooms, although much more expensive, would be larger and better for a long stay.”
colleens983, 11 Dec 2016 | Read review
“superior room,facing the front of the hotel, with a balcony.”
evans333, 10 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Agoda.com
US$241* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$252
Hotels.comUS$245
HotelQuicklyUS$276
View all 13 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates